Customer reviews for The North Face The North Face Recon Backpack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

The North Face The North Face Recon Backpack

On the trail or on your way to class, you'll be noticed in the popular, lightweight and functional The North Face® Recon Backpack. This daypack meshes form and comfort with function using a padded, winged stowable hipbelt and FlexVent™ injection-molded shoulder straps plus many other comfort-oriented features. Its large main compartment includes a padded laptop sleeve and hydration clip/port.
Overall rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (17 reviews)
5 Stars
(13)
4 Stars
(2)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(1)
151694%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for The North Face Recon Backpack
Review 1 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ripped in a week

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Annabana
fromWest Lafayette , IN
Age18 - 24
I do not recommend this product.
I love the style of the backpack. However, lining on straps ripped within the first week of using the backpack. And one of the water bottle holders also ripped within the first week. Returning when I get the chance to go home. Really disappointed with north face here I usually think they're better quality based on their jackets.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Customer avatar
aly.smith10
fromSalem, Alabama
The North Face Recon backpack is great if you want a very small bag, but is not efficient enough to carry the load of a Junior High student. This backpack won't even fit four binders, let alone fit binders and books. It is very stylish and comfortable, but small.
Pros: Highly Adjustable, Comfortable, Good Padding
Cons: Zipper Snags, Small Capacity
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I would buy this product again.

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Trafficguy
fromColumbia, SC
I recommend this product.
Very durable. Using it as a backpack for school.
Pros: Large Capacity, Highly Adjustable, Good Padding, Easy To Load, Comfortable
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Backpack!

PostedApril 11, 2012
Customer avatar
CJDB
fromMaryland
I recommend this product.
The backpack is very sturdy and has a lot of great pockets!!!
Pros: Easy To Load, Lightweight, Sturdy
Cons: Small Capacity
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product meets all needs

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Nova62
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I purchased this bag to serve as my diaper bag/beach tote/carry all.
I pack my kids diapers, juice boxes, and extra clothes when we go to a baseball game or to the park. It is large enough to fit all I need to carry yet lightweight and comfortable enough to not load me down while I carry my child. I am very happy with the quality construction and the many compartments. The outside mesh compartment is very handy for things I need to get quickly such as tissues, sunscreen, and hand sanitizer.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Recon
fromCali
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Bought this about 5 years ago and I use it heavily everyday and pretty much take it with me everywhere. I've never had a problem with it. I feel like I could use it for another 5-7 years before it would be good to replace it. Recently the zipper got stuck on the zipper overlay and I tried to cut it to slide the zipper off but accidently cut the zipper as well. Rather than getting it fixed, I'm going to buy the exact same backpack
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
therese12
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age18 - 24
GenderFemale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I bought a black north face recon two years ago and I couldnt have asked for a better back pack. It is very durable with undeniably great quality. It was very worth the money I spent on it. I use it for school, camping, and hiking. I love this recon so much I am getting another one in a prettier color. I highly recommend this backpack even though it might be a little expensive.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedFebruary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Kelly69
fromSummerville, SC
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Love this backpack. Looking forward to using it for years.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
cr7
fromsan jose,CA
I recommend this product.
this is the best backpack ever and for a reasonable price it holds everything i 100% recomend it
Pros: Comfortable, Large Capacity, Good Padding, Lightweight, Highly Adjustable, Easy To Load
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great backpack for school

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
Erik
fromIowa
I recommend this product.
I am currently using this backpack for school, and its great.It fits all of my books and homework.Also the black color looks really good. :)
Pros: Large Capacity, Good Looking, Comfortable, Good Padding
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Backpack

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Adventure Dad
fromDana Point CA
I recommend this product.
I use this backpack for day trips to parks and local hiking trails. Works well for carrying an extra fleece or two, water botles and snacks for the kids.
Pros: Large Capacity, Lightweight, Highly Adjustable, Good Padding, Easy To Load, Comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly functional backpack!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Gee
fromDallas TX
I recommend this product.
This is one of the most useful backpacks that I have owned. It is very well built, and has a variety of pockets for organization. While it does have padding for your laptop, it isn't too heavy, and for anyone that is a plus. Incidentally, ended up in a rainstorm, and the rain just beaded up and ran off. I was surprised, as there wasn't an indication that it was waterproof, and probably isn't if submerged -- but nothing on the inside got wet including my wallet and cell phone. High quality product, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!
Pros: Large Capacity, Highly Adjustable, Easy To Load, Good Padding, Lightweight, Comfortable
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bag!

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Ty the Schoolkid
fromTopeka, KS
I recommend this product.
Used for school and travel. So far, I have had no problems with this bag and the extra straps used for adding in the weight carry have proved invaluable!
Pros: Easy To Load, Good Padding, Comfortable, Highly Adjustable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product from a great company

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer avatar
Danica the cool parent
fromCary, NC
I recommend this product.
Bought it for my son and he loves it. It is comfortable to wear and has a lot of room to carry various items.
Pros: Comfortable, Large Capacity
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around backpack

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Customer avatar
Steve
fromKentucky
I recommend this product.
Great backpack for a college student or for the weekend outdoor bag. Very durable and a great value. Highly recommend!
Pros: Size, Durability
Cons: None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

North face back pack

PostedSeptember 25, 2010
Customer avatar
You know who.
fromCedar Rapids, IA
I recommend this product.
It has a whistle on the front strap!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The North Face Recon Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the amazing backpack

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Customer avatar
Emily
fromWisconsin
I recommend this product.
all i can say is AMAZING!!!!!
Pros: This backpack is amazing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.