Customer reviews for Future Beach Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak

Future Beach Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak

The Future Beach® Trophy 126 Kayak has the smooth ride you need and amenities you want when adventuring outdoors. The roto-molded dihedral hull provides optimal stability and tracking while the adjustable seat back and cushion keeps you comfortable. This kayak also features two flush mount rod holders, along with front and rear carry handles.
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 123 reviews
5 Stars
77
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
11412293%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Review 1 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very stable

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
used this all last summer. great kayak for beginners because its so stable. if you are a big dude 250 I would not recommend this kayak.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this kayak

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAlbuquerque new mexico
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought two of these kayaks 2 years ago and love them. Husband and I are mid 50 ' s and can easily get in and out. Tracts straight and turns easily. Great to fish from. Stable even in choppy water. Not super speedy like longer kayaks but good enough and much easier to carry and load. Handles make carrying and loading a breeze. Writing this review while waiting for hubby to hurry up so we can get out on the water. K peterson
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kayak

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRedwood, NY
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We own 3 Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayaks. We are coming up to our 3rd year using them and we LOVE them. We use them on the lakes and they are so easy to use. We had never owned Kayaks before and these are so easy to handle and get in & out of. They are NOT tipsy at all. My husband actually stood up in his and paddled to prove how sturdy they were, he's no spring chicken 40yrs. old. I do NOT recommend standing in them ever, but it proved his point to a friend who owns another brand kayak that is very tipsy. Future Beach kayaks are made of very strong material that is nice and thick and will take a beating. My only complain is over time the rear compartment area allows any water you get inside the boat ,due to water paddle fights out on the lake, to leak into that back compartment the seal with clear caulk simply doesn't hold over time due to stepping on the floor getting in & out. You could always reseal it or use water proof bags. We would never own another kayak these are the best for a family! Looking to purchase another, soon AD 86 which is 8'6", found it on Future Beach's website.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stable and no regrets buying!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought a set of these 3 years ago for my son and I and not disappointed at all. They track straight, the hull design makes them very stable (I've stood in mine) and there is plenty of room for gear in the "dry bays" and under the bungee nets. There are SOME accessories available on Future Ocean's website, but not a lot. The "dry bays" do NOT keep things dry. The rubber lids do a good job of keeping most water out, but they are not water-tight (but I don't know of any 'yaks that actually are) so you must still stow gear in dry bags. We've used them in level 1 & 2 rapids and open water. As far as the 2 types of water go, this is a darn good "one size fits most" model. It's also light enough that 1 person can lift it and place it on the roof rack, but solid enough to be sturdy for years of use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSafety Harbor, FL
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The thing I like about it is it paddles straight . some of the lighter kayaks turn when you paddle, this one stays in a straight line and it is very fast on the water. i was impressed with the quality of the boat.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kayak

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNorth Texas
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first kayak and it is every bit as fun as I expected. It cuts through the water and is very stable. I was out in it one day this summer and it was very hot outside, I got out of the kayak and swam and was able to get back into it fairly easily. I still haven't taken it fishing but that will happen this spring. I will be buying a second one for my teenaged son this Christmas. The only thing I don't like is that the rear compartment is not sealed from the rest of the craft.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trophy 126 kayak

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAlabama
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this kayak yesterday during the big sale they where having, I took it out on the lake today , caught my first bass and had a great time , the boat us stable and easy to maneuver ! I am 205 and 5'11" easy to get off my truck and a fun boat for the price
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

smooth stable good storage

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first kayak so I was really unsure but this thing is great handles really well. Im 5'11 180lbs can get in an out very easily no problems been out at least 10 times couple hours each time I can move around put my legs up top an chill out if I want I can reach what ever I have in the rear hatch without to much trouble. Its not as fast as the swifty 9.5 that I also bought so I can bring a friend but its much more comfortable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would buy again

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPainesville, OH
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had been taking about getting kayaks for 2 years, then after we got married, decided we would purchase them with the money received from our wedding gifts. We had talked to the same sales associate the previous 2 years, and then made sure we were able to talk to her again, and make the purchase from her. We were told from one associate, "she is not a kayak-er...she watched the same video as I did" but to my husband and me, her knowledge was more than just watching a video. She answered our questions, made sure we had everything we needed, and even gave us extra info and guidance on the kayaks. The Trophy 126 is stable, I feel safe in it...I can even rock from side to side without feeling like it is going to roll or tip. My husband and I got matching ones, but mine will be decked out in pink. We are planning on fishing with them eventually. My husband took our oldest son (15) and went out on the river, they had a blast, and know he wants one also. Absolutely love it...we went out Sunday, Monday, and I wanted to go tonight, but we didn't get to...this is a very addicting sport/pastime, and I just want to be able to have all my housework done so we can be out on the water....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Kayak

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMorganton, GA.
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently bought this Kayak with high expectations for it's performance. I was not let down. It tracks straight in the lake and in the river. It is a very stable boat. I took it down the Taccoa river about a 6 mile trip it was very comfortable. The dry storage in the front kept everything nice and dry. I love this boat.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

a few design flaws

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRidge Manor, Florida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
On a positive note, the Trophy 126 has a sturdy construction and decent overall performance for general kayaking use.
Drawbacks are: A) very flimsy handles, If you pull even slightly hard on them, you will likely have no more handles. They aren't very strong for tying down to a vehicle or for carrying. B) The inside edges of the kayak are too uneven to make for efficient sideways carrying. It works but not very well. The weight isn't balanced very well either,also making for inefficient carrying compared to a lot of other kayaks. C) The design inside the kayak is such that objects placed in front of you can roll back behind the seat and be very difficult to recover without taking the kayak out of the water and lifting the ends back and forth until the object rolls out. This design feature also makes it hard to get water out that splashes in.
I own 4 different kayaks, each a different brand. This is in my top two out of these for how it performs on the water but is the most annoying of all of them with some of these design flaws.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
23of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Trophy 126

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromKingsport, TN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought the kayak on sale in the store after searching for a while and reading countless reviews. This is my first water craft of any kind, and am happy with the price. The performance of this product is excellent. Kayak is stable, comfortable enough with plenty of leg room, seat lacks padding but thats not a big deal for me. Has good cargo areas, the back is easy enough to get to while in action, not 100% water tight, but that doesnt matter if you are just carrying a cooler or equipment in a dry bag. Some reviews say that it is a bit sluggish, not having anything to compare the boat to, I think it gets around just fine. Took a few test runs on a local lake to become comfortable with it, and recently made a 9 mile run on the Nolichucky river with no trouble at all. Now that was a great time! Have not fished from it yet but I am excited and proud to have to own this kayak.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fishing kayak!

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMaryland,St.marys county
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wasn't going to by a kayak because I had a canoe. But when trophy 126 kayak went on sale for $299.99 I had to go buy one. Man what a buy, I should had bought one along time ago. Best fishing kayak easy to use very stable lots of features loved it so much went and bought my wife a kayak. Great buy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Starter

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMaryland
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just bought 2 of them this past weekend. No complants other then on of the strapbroke the first time trying to adjust it. First time kayaker and this is a good starter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Get it while its on sale!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNewnan, Ga
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Just picked up this kayak today in my local store. The last time I looked at it it was $350. Not a bad price for the sale they have going on during the Fourth Holiday week. This is my first kayak and I am thoroughly pleased with my purchase. I was also looking at the Potomac Catalyst but they did not have one in the store. Here are the reasons I chose this kayak:
The seat is comfortable and there is plenty of room for my frame. I'm 6'1 180lbs and there is still more leg room available if needed (someone at 250 might be pushing it). I was able to get in and out with no problems. I love the two hatches. The one up front is watertight and big enough for your valuables that may need to tag along. The rear hatch has plenty of space but isn't watertight. There is also a ton of space between your legs and under the front hatch. The rubber hatches themselves are a little snug to get on and off, but i guess thats what makes them effective. The build quality seems great so far and every thing is nice and snug. The rod holders are a plus and I will definitely be using them in the future. The only things I added were a clip on cup holder and a paddle clip.
I took it out for about an 1.5 hours today in some very calm lake water and loved it. Buy it while they still have all the sales going on.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Kayaks!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSaratoga Springs, UT
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought two of these 1 year ago. Have used the heck out of them and can say they are some of the best investments I have ever made. While they are not $2000 fiberglass sea kayaks, they do work great at your local lakes and especially work well for fishing. Added a few extra accessories to mine to make fishing more comfortable (and the wife happy, hence the pink), but overall they are of great quality. Seat can get a little uncomfortable after a few hours on the lake, but a small pad or upgrade of the seat fixes that issue. Plenty of storage in the compartments, however your need to order the bulkhead if you want a sealed compartment because Future Beach apparently stopped selling the bulkhead (with) these items. It Is considered an extra accessory. Dicks offers a great price on these Kayaks and are a great buy to anyone looking at doing some kayaking or fishing!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kayak

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLouisville, Ky
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first kayak. Got it on sale $150 off. It is a very stable and comfortable boat. Only 1 fault I find with this fishing Kayak. If you are fishing trees and stumps, the rods stick out at such an angle that your rod in the holder can get pulled out of the holder and fall in the water. My solution was to take the cover off the back compartment and shove the rod in there so it stuck out straight behind me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

luv this boat

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromst louis
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was skeptical at first because of the price of this boat, but after a full season of use, I have to say I'm very happy with this purchase. I only take it off my Jeep to put it on the water. I've had it on several large lakes and rivers with never once a fear of tipping regardless of the water conditions. Even in a heavy squall with 3ft waves. It gets me to some of the most remote and hard to reach places, and floats me in under 5" of water. I had to seal the rear hatch as it wasn't completely waterproof, but that was an easy fix. I definitely reccomend this boat to anyone considering buying a kayak for fishing. Not the best whitewater boat, yet I feel safe in moderate current in it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome fishing 'yak

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHainesport, NJ
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this kayak during the annual boat sale after taking a four year hiatus from paddling due to balancing my busy school schedule and work, following service and a deployment overseas. Prior to this, I was a summer camp kayaking instructor, and paddled a 10' Potomac and a 9.5' Perception Sport Swifty. Having always fished out of my kayaks anyway, I figured I might as well purchase a boat dedicated to the purpose. After careful deliberation (and deciding that the F&S Eagle Run was sadly not in my budget *tear*), I decided on the Trophy 126. This kayak is worth every penny, and delivers solid performance and quality at a reasonable price. Everything is built to last, and nothing feels "cheap".
------------------------------------------------
It tracks VERY straight with high angle paddling (my personal preference most of the time), and is only slightly nosey when paddling at low angle.
------------------------------------------------
It IS slower than a kayak with a traditional hull, but that can be expected with the dihedral design and it's two hard chines. The trade off between speed and stability (especially for a fishing craft) was worth it for me. I can honestly say I've tried to flip this kayak just to see if it was possible, and short of shifting serious weight or standing up in the boat (which I don't recommend, personally) you will have a very hard time turning her over. I have gotten the gunwale (edge of the cockpit) to within a couple inches of the water without feeling like it was going to tip. In fact, I could even feel the boat almost RESISTING my efforts to try and cap her.. pretty cool.
------------------------------------------------
This kayak also provides a TON of flat as well as angled surface to modify/add accessories. Some of mine include:
------------------------------------------------
-Two soft mounted rod leashes
-GPS hard mount
-iPod speakers (not hard mounted, but attached)
-Front tie-off strap
-Front hard mounted fishing rod turret
-Spray foam/caulk to form a SEALED rear bulkhead
-Front flotation block in case of swamping
-Anchor trolley system (on it's way, not yet mounted)
**NOTE: The pirate fish did NOT come painted on the boat. It was added personally, as I have had it painted on ALL my kayaks!
------------------------------------------------
As for the seat, many reviews state the seat becomes uncomfortable after lengthy trips, but I really haven't noticed. After four hours of fishing at a 250 acre local lake, I felt fine. Maybe my bottom end is a bit more tolerating than others, but it wasn't that bad. No lower back pain, either (I have the seat all the way back, with just enough support to stay 1/2 an inch from hitting the bulkhead).
------------------------------------------------
I would definitely recommend at least a 230cm paddle, as the boat is pretty wide, and low-angle paddlers could have some difficulty with hitting the sides of the boat and not getting enough "bite" out of the paddles. If you ONLY use high-angle paddling, paddle length doesn't really become an issue. Also, if you can spare it, spend the extra bucks on a fiberglass paddle. Your arms will thank you after four hours on the water!
------------------------------------------------
Some interesting things I noticed:
-My friend has the same exact 'yak, but his lacks the dashboard in the forward cockpit with the tackle storage. His was purchased no more than three months prior to mine, but mine seems to have come with the added dashboard, tackle storage, and two pockets up front.
-My rear bulkhead is NOT sealed, despite what the company's website and others say, but some spray foam and caulk fixed that, and now it's just as dry as if it were an integral bulkhead.
------------------------------------------------
-Overall, I would rate this kayak a 4.5, but I gave it 5 stars because it's definitely earned more than four, if only the rear bulkhead were sealed and it had standard flotation blocks in case of swamping. I have been out in local lakes (up to 1,200 acres), creeks, and even the Delaware river and this 'yak has performed admirably, and has always kept me within my comfort limits. It's toughness is a testament to it's roto-molded construction as I have been over/on rocks, dragged it across sunken stumps, and even had it fall off of my truck (7 foot tall GMC Yukon) when I slipped off a wet bumper with only minor superficial damage, scratches, dings, etc.
------------------------------------------------
Definitely recommended!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+36points
39of 42voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Future Beach Trophy 126 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kayak

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOmaha NE
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this kayak I would recommend it to anyone that is getting into the sport. I have a group of about 10 friends that have this same model. It is very comfortable in any conditions we have put it through weather floating down a river or to fish in a lake.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>