Customer reviews for Marmot Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent

Marmot Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent

Two will sleep comfortably in the Marmot® Aspen 2 Person Tent. This durable tent features a lightweight aluminum pole frame as well as two built-in doors. The seam-sealed fly provides waterproof protection from the elements, while built-in netting offers ventilation free from insects.
Overall rating:
4.439 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
394195%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Review 1 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great design!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMid-Missouri
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having doors and gear vestibules on either side makes this a perfect two person tent. It goes up in a snap (no threading poles into sleeves) and the spreader at the top gives you lots of headroom. Don't know how it would hold up under a 6" snowfall, but the aluminum poles and full coverage fly should hold up well to most 3-season weather - and it has worked great so far this winter. And if you are looking for a footprint, the 5x7 PU coated nylon tarp they sell at W@lm@rt couldn't be a better fit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tent!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromvalencia, ca
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have used this tent on several backpacking trips, one of which included a night of 70 mph gusts and two inches of snow. I am happy to say the tent held up great. It is very spacious for a two person tent and packs light. Condensation has not been a problem and it breathes very well. I recommend making a footprint from tyvek and upgrading the stakes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, Easy and user friendly!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMinnesota
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a slightly larger tent but opted to purchase this model because on a bicycle trip weight was a factor. The tent sleeps two quite comfortably. Two doors are fantastic. With the side doors it's so easy to slip in and out and you never have to climb over or bother a sleeping friend. I used it on a hot night without the fly and it breathes real nice. With the fly it comes all the way to the ground providing a sizable vestibule for equipment and good rain protection. It sets up very easy too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tent

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromUtah
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a nice little tent. It doesn't come with a footprint, which would've been nice, because you'll get wet if the ground is damp. As long as you put something under it, it does wonderful. My wife and I slept through slight rain all night with no problems. We stayed nice and dry, and we love the door on each side!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This tent is very specious and easy to set up!!

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWashington,DC
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a light and easy to carry tent. It also took us less than 10 min to set up. We like that it has two doors and offers great ventilation. The only down side, which it's why I rated the overall product as "good" is that it doesn't come with a footprint. It is very inconvenient because we haven't been able to find the right one for this tent yet. Any ideas/suggestion?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Lightweight Tent

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tent packs up nicely and goes together very quickly with just one person. Plenty of breeze and view up to the sky if you leave the rain fly off. I definitely reccomend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A really nice tent

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromnaperville
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tent was a real ly well made higher end product --- I bought it for my grandson's birthday --- PROBLEM, NO assembly directions included!!! --- I went back the next day --- a sales person and I opened another Marmot Aspen, again, NO directions --- not good
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marmot Aspen 2 person tent

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromKy
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice, well designed tent.It should be good for warm weather camping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Tent

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTulsa, OK
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just came back from my first adventure with this tent. It performed beyond expectations for numerous reasons. First, it fits great in my backpack. I have to take it apart and store the poles separately from the tent but it works much better that way. Secondly, it pitches fast and easy. Thirdly, it stayed warm. My 8 year old daughter and I slept in 30 deg temp. It was windy yet the tent and rainfly stayed tight through approximately 25 -30 mph windgust as a cold front moved in. Fourth, it had no condensation on the inside when we woke up.
Its just a great tent. I love having it. It makes my trips that much more enjoyable and I didnt have to spend $400.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWest Virginia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tent for my hiker/sports enthusiast daughter and won points for buying the best Christmas present ever. This tent is light and easy to pack on long treks and has the little extras such as side entry, easy set-up and plenty of interior room that are appreciated after a long day on the trail. Can't beat it for the price and shipping was on time as promised.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Star for this price Range

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNewport News, VA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started researching tents when my son bridged over to Boy Scouts and I realized that I would be camping with them monthly. Most of our trips are near our vehicles but we do go on a few backpacking trips so, I wanted a decent quality tent that would not break the bank or be extremely heavy. I actually bought the Eureka Apex2 tent for 99.00 and absolutely loved it except for the fact that it was a little short (I'm 6'2). I like the extra features such as the gear loft and the material that zipped up over the windows.
So, I exchanged it for the Marmot in hopes that the extra three inches would be worth the extra 30.00. I have to admit that I was shocked when I set the Marmot up. There was no comparison when it come to the interior room in this tent. The cross bar on the top of the tent really makes the tent feel more open and spacious. I am extremely happy that I exchanged the Eureka for this one. And it is about a pound lighter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA
My husband and I just went camping a couple weeks ago. This tent was great. If you are looking for a spacious 2 person tent this is not the one for you. It was just enough room for us though. We were able to keep our bag in the corner and we had enough room to sleep comfortably. It rained a little big our second night out and the bottom of the tent was a little damp. I think that might have been because of the tarp we put under the tent though. So overall we really liked the tent and it was really easy to set up.
Pros: Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Lightweight, Comfortable, Sturdy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light and Easy to set up

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fromVirginia Beach, VA
This tent was perfect for our last backpacking trip. Just separate the poles from the canvas in your pack and it packs down plenty small. Our first trip with it was beautiful weather but it sets up easily enough that, in rain or whatever, it should go up quickly enough to keep you dry. It's also big enough to fit me (6'1") and my girlfriend (5'11") comfortably.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Easy To Set Up, Fly Works Well
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Roomy 2 person tent, good value.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGettysburg, PA
Used this tent recently on a 2 night backpacking trip in northern CA. I'm 6'2 and my son is 6'. We both slept comfortably in the Marmot Aspen due to the extra length and width this tent has versus most other 2-person tents. The tent sets up very easily. Had some slight rain the first night and the tent remained dry. Quality of the materials and workmanship seem pretty good for the price. I like the ventalation and that there is a separate door and vestibule for each occupant. Only negative I found was that the stakes bend easily when driving them into rocky soil. Overall, I'm very satisfied so far and think the tent offers a great value for the price.
Pros: Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up, Comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

solid two man tent

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSmithfield, Utah
a relatively easy tent to set up, excluding the cross pole, this tent is roomy and on the lighter side in your pack. The full fly adds a level of protection that is much needed in the wilderness and I really like the double doors and vestibules.
Pros: Comfortable, Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

"quick to set up"

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSan Antonio, Texas
This tent was very light, not skimpy on space for a 2 man, and so easy to set up. We used it in very benign weather so we did not have to use the rain fly or worry about any adverse conditions.
Pros: Easy To Set Up, Comfortable, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought as a gift

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromStreets of BleuJean
My friend and disability assistant needed a two person tent, he studied them all and choose the Marmot. I was happy to buy this for him, for all the helps he provides me in my disabilty.
Pros: Easy To Set Up, Waterproof, Windproof, Lightweight, Comfortable, Fly Works Well, Sturdy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low cost, high quality, reasonable weigh

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSt. George, UT
Great two person backbacking tent. Not the lightest one out there but very reasonable. Super easy to set up unlike more complex brands like SD. Solid three season tent with lots of room.
Pros: Lightweight, Sturdy, Comfortable, Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Philmont Tent

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromKansas City
Tent was purchased a week before going to Philmont Scout ranch in late July 2012. Tent worked out very well with no issues.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy To Set Up, Waterproof, Lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSalt Lake City, UT
We used this 2 person tent to sleep 2 adults and 1 child for a couple of nights backpacking in the Tetons. It did rain one night and we were completely dry! So far very pleased with this product! Great product for a great price!
Pros: Comfortable, Fly Works Well, Sturdy, Easy To Set Up, Windproof, Lightweight, Waterproof
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>