Customer reviews for Marmot Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent

Marmot Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent

Two will sleep comfortably in the Marmot® Aspen 2 Person Tent. This durable tent features a lightweight aluminum pole frame as well as two built-in doors. The seam-sealed fly provides waterproof protection from the elements, while built-in netting offers ventilation free from insects.
Overall rating:
4.46 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
485096%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Review 1 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap and Solid Tent

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took it camping for a very rainy week and the only time any water got in was when one corner was actually held underwater for an extended period of time
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tent

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBoston Ma
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
My son and used this ten on a 12 day hike in Philmont NM. It held up great and had ample room for us and our gear. It handled hail the size of golf balls and wind that flattened other tents in our group. Great value for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Two nights in the Tetons

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tent is excellent quality both in design and construction. It kept us warm and dry in high winds and light rain at 10,000 ft. I do wish it was lighter though. Not the best solution for long hikes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Inexpensive Tent, but a lot of compromises to hit price point.

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCosta Mesa, CA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The design on this tent is nice, but it is an inexpensive tent that has a lot of compromises to hit the price point. Marmot has a nice design, this is basically a watered down version of the Limelight 2P. Limelight 2P comes with gear loft, footprint, better poles (DAC press-fit), and a more waterproof floor (3000m), the Aspen has none of those things, but the tent body is patterned on the Limelight.
The Aspen 2P tent has Aluminum poles, but they are not DAC hard anodized poles, so they will be more subject to stress cracking, so this tent is not going to last as long as more expensive tents with better poles such as Easton, DAC, DAC pressfit, DAC DA17,DAC featherlight, etc. poles. Poles are not DAC press-fit, so the weight is a bit heavier on this tent as well.
It is less waterproofed. The fly is a 1800mm hydrostatic pressure raring, and so is the floor with a 1800mm PU water proofing level. Better tents have 2000mm or 3000mm coatings on the floor. 1800mm is a little light for floor waterproofing. If using a footprint, I would make sure to either get the one specifically designed for this tent, or else take care that NONE of substitute footprint, or tarp based footprint sticks outside of the tent footprint boundary, because if water gets trapped between tent and footprint, it will come through this floor with only a 1800mm PU coating. Setup your fly so it is an inch narrower all around than the tent, not an inch or two wider.
2 doors is great.
The end (narrower) of the tent fly needed guy points to make sure that the fly doesn't sag. To compensate, make sure the corners are taught in the staking, and use the fly guy lines and set them to pull out towards the door faces more than you would naturally do, this keeps the cross poles taught, can helps keep the fly from sagging.
All mesh sides is going to be cooler/colder. than even the Limelight. That is nice in the summer, and not so nice in rainy/colder weather.
At a low price, this tent is a good bargain.
If you want a few-times a year backpack tent, at a middle-high weight, with above average roominess, this tent is a good buy. Certainly lighter, for more money, or strong, for more money, or more waterproof, again more money, tents are out there.
For mostly summer backpacking, this tent is likely going to be fine, if you handle the footprint situation properly, and you do not get water saturated ground, you will be fine in this tent. But heavy rain, or saturated ground, water will probably come through the floor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tent

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
This tent took about 5 minutes to set up and it was so easy. The zippers are great and very easy to use. There are sewn in hooks for a gear loft and one in the center of the roof for a lantern. There a 3 mesh pockets the throughout the inside edges of the tent so very well done on storage. Having two doors is a plus too. The rainfly and it's two vestibules work great. Sadly I learned that when I got caught in a thunderstorm. Overall great tent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tent, not a lot of specs/information about it.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBay Area, CA
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tent itself is very good. My wife and I used this on a car camping weekend trip. I have been trying to compare price/specs with this tent against the Limelight 2P after buying and using the Aspen 2P and feel happy with our purchase. Sure the Limelight 2P comes with a free gear loft+footprint but from the specs, it's slight shorter L+W and only has 1 door.
Getting the Aspen 2P on sale for about $100 less than the Limelight, is a great buy I feel. Evidently Dick's does indeed have a $30 Aspen 2P Footprint #28620 and it's UPC code is: 7 85562 08162 8.
I do have a slight concern since the brow pole, that makes the door nearly vertical, is pretty tight fitting. Will see over time how the seams hold up.
My wife and I are under 5'6" and this tent was definitely spacious enough for our 2X 66"x20" sleeping pads + backpacks at our feet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Tent

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just ordered this on-line recently and other similar terms go for much more. Everything from Dicks Sporting Goods went flawlessly. Marmot makes great tents and I don't even have a single complaint about this product. Went camping over the weekend and got to use the tent. Very roomy compared to other tents of similar size. I'm 6'1", slept with another person and had plenty of room. Small and light enough to pack on a motorcycle or kayak to. Great tent. I got 25% off and free shipping. You won't be ďissapointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tent

PostedMay 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromindianapolis, in
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Went 3 day backpack camping in red river gorge in Kentucky with my 6'3" son. Tent fit us both perfect with outside area, under the rain fly, for area to store our backpacks. Purchased Thor 2 Footprint, which is the correct size to fit under this tent. Highly recommend this tent, especially for 2 tall people. Watched youtube video on how to set up, to be sure I had it correct, before heading out. Worth watching video.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good tent for the price

PostedMay 25, 2014
Customer avatar
from11726
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tent is pretty big for a 2 man and seems really well built. It's tall enough that you can easily sit up in it yet low enough that it can handle heavy winds. I only used it on a 3 night er in good weather so I can't comment on the water handling capabilities of it but am impressed with the initial quality.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great design!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMid-Missouri
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Having doors and gear vestibules on either side makes this a perfect two person tent. It goes up in a snap (no threading poles into sleeves) and the spreader at the top gives you lots of headroom. Don't know how it would hold up under a 6" snowfall, but the aluminum poles and full coverage fly should hold up well to most 3-season weather - and it has worked great so far this winter. And if you are looking for a footprint, the 5x7 PU coated nylon tarp they sell at W@lm@rt couldn't be a better fit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent tent!

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromvalencia, ca
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I have used this tent on several backpacking trips, one of which included a night of 70 mph gusts and two inches of snow. I am happy to say the tent held up great. It is very spacious for a two person tent and packs light. Condensation has not been a problem and it breathes very well. I recommend making a footprint from tyvek and upgrading the stakes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light, Easy and user friendly!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMinnesota
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a slightly larger tent but opted to purchase this model because on a bicycle trip weight was a factor. The tent sleeps two quite comfortably. Two doors are fantastic. With the side doors it's so easy to slip in and out and you never have to climb over or bother a sleeping friend. I used it on a hot night without the fly and it breathes real nice. With the fly it comes all the way to the ground providing a sizable vestibule for equipment and good rain protection. It sets up very easy too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tent

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromUtah
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is a nice little tent. It doesn't come with a footprint, which would've been nice, because you'll get wet if the ground is damp. As long as you put something under it, it does wonderful. My wife and I slept through slight rain all night with no problems. We stayed nice and dry, and we love the door on each side!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This tent is very specious and easy to set up!!

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWashington,DC
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a light and easy to carry tent. It also took us less than 10 min to set up. We like that it has two doors and offers great ventilation. The only down side, which it's why I rated the overall product as "good" is that it doesn't come with a footprint. It is very inconvenient because we haven't been able to find the right one for this tent yet. Any ideas/suggestion?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Lightweight Tent

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tent packs up nicely and goes together very quickly with just one person. Plenty of breeze and view up to the sky if you leave the rain fly off. I definitely reccomend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A really nice tent

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromnaperville
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tent was a real ly well made higher end product --- I bought it for my grandson's birthday --- PROBLEM, NO assembly directions included!!! --- I went back the next day --- a sales person and I opened another Marmot Aspen, again, NO directions --- not good
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Marmot Aspen 2 person tent

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromKy
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a very nice, well designed tent.It should be good for warm weather camping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Tent

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTulsa, OK
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just came back from my first adventure with this tent. It performed beyond expectations for numerous reasons. First, it fits great in my backpack. I have to take it apart and store the poles separately from the tent but it works much better that way. Secondly, it pitches fast and easy. Thirdly, it stayed warm. My 8 year old daughter and I slept in 30 deg temp. It was windy yet the tent and rainfly stayed tight through approximately 25 -30 mph windgust as a cold front moved in. Fourth, it had no condensation on the inside when we woke up.
Its just a great tent. I love having it. It makes my trips that much more enjoyable and I didnt have to spend $400.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWest Virginia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tent for my hiker/sports enthusiast daughter and won points for buying the best Christmas present ever. This tent is light and easy to pack on long treks and has the little extras such as side entry, easy set-up and plenty of interior room that are appreciated after a long day on the trail. Can't beat it for the price and shipping was on time as promised.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Marmot Aspen 2 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Star for this price Range

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNewport News, VA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started researching tents when my son bridged over to Boy Scouts and I realized that I would be camping with them monthly. Most of our trips are near our vehicles but we do go on a few backpacking trips so, I wanted a decent quality tent that would not break the bank or be extremely heavy. I actually bought the Eureka Apex2 tent for 99.00 and absolutely loved it except for the fact that it was a little short (I'm 6'2). I like the extra features such as the gear loft and the material that zipped up over the windows.
So, I exchanged it for the Marmot in hopes that the extra three inches would be worth the extra 30.00. I have to admit that I was shocked when I set the Marmot up. There was no comparison when it come to the interior room in this tent. The cross bar on the top of the tent really makes the tent feel more open and spacious. I am extremely happy that I exchanged the Eureka for this one. And it is about a pound lighter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>