Customer reviews for Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Shakespeare Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods

The Shakespeare ® Ugly Stik ® Spinning Rod has been America's choice for decades. With the Unique Howald Process ™ design, graphite and fiberglass combine to produce a strong and sensitive rod. These rods feature durable, lightweight EVA grips with graphite twist-lock reel seats and black stainless steel frames/guides with aluminum oxide inserts. Ugly Stik ® continues to provide the most dependable rods available.
Overall rating:
4.808 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (26 reviews)
5 Stars
(21)
4 Stars
(5)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(0)
252696%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Review 1 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromJackson
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Awesome product. Only one thing wrong. I couldnt find a second one in 5'6" for my younger cousin lol definitely get it
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rod

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
Great rod For The Money. Sensitivity Is Good. The Extra Length Makes Casting Longer Distances A Breeze.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy use! Very affordable! Reel Not so great!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWheeling, IL
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The reel that came with my new rod and reel was not very good. However, the men in the hunting and fishing department were very knowledgeable and friendly!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ugly schtick

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLisbon, Maine
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
In past years Ugly Stiks have been a staple of our fishing gear. Although the warranty needs to be supplemented by an in-store warranty for one to take advantage of the guarantee, the Dicks in Augusta has never let that stop me from trading in a broken Ugly Stik as they value my business. The Topsham store was the same until recently.
The rod itself is as claimed, almost indestructible unless you shut a trunk on it. It is fairly sensitive, having a soft action tip, but backbone sufficient for kids to horse in fish after they have monkeyed w/ their drag. The ferrule rings have always been prone to breakage by boys who carry their rods tip first thru the "puckabrush" but now the ferrules have become brittle and less well anchored to the rod so our older rods are outliving our newer rods.
All-in-all, these rods are the only ones I buy for my rough bunch of boys. They outlast any other rod and are a must for those with rambunctious kids.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rods

PostedMay 28, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOrlando, FL
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've used Ugly Stiks for years they last, they're durable and they come in variety of lengths and strengths.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great stick for the price

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLyons , NJ
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This ugly stick's performance is fantastic for the price. If you need a reliable and cheap rod, this is it. Fantastic product.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fishing rod

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh Pa
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This rod was a good buy for the price. I looked at different store and found the Shakespeare ugly stick is what I wanted.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

7' Ugly Stik Spinning Rod

PostedMay 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromhaymarket, va
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've used Ugly Stik's my entire life. I have never been disappointed with one. I have all the different weights. They are extremely durable and yet sensitive/agile at the same time. I've only broken one and it was because it got slammed in the car door.
The feel of reeling in a good size fish on an Ugly Stik cannot be beat.
The price on these poles is always very reasonable.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ugly Stik

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLong Island NY
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I have owned many rods in my lifetime but I always seem to come back to the Shakespeare Ugly Stik. This one I purchased is the 9' medium action version which I use for stripe bass fishing. This rod hooked up with a Daiwa bite and run reel is the ultimate fishing combo. No problems with No Worries on this rod. I highly recommed this product to all anglers.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The pole performed exactly as the salesman said it would

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMonaca, PA
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The pole had very good action to it and it performed exactly as it should
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRockland County NY
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I caught a 40 lb catfish on day in the Hudson river w/ a 6' ugly stick only pole I've ever seen hold up to that kind of stress this is the best pole for anybody from the most experienced fisherman to the newest beginner
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Rod EVER

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew Hampshire
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
An Ugly Stik will never let you down plane and simple. Got a 6ft 6in rod and love the size and feel better than a 6ft rod that I used for years. I have one Ugly Stik that is over 25 years old and it works as good as a brand new rod.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a rod

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
fromColumbus,Ohio
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The only thing better than a ugly stick is two ugly sticks.They have the feel you want with the flexibility you need. Why buy anything more expensive and get less??
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good value

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPA.
I recommend this product.
quality 4 price is Great.
Pros: Easy To Transport, Sensitive, Durable, Good Tip Action, Flexible, Accurate Casting
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The only rod I will ever buy

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromchatham, NC
I recommend this product.
This is the best rod I ever had. no other rod can compare to it. Mines be through everything. I had it for 5 years now. Caught 40lb fish, turtles, and even 6 ft snakes with it.
Pros: Sensitive, Lightweight, Easy To Transport, Durable, Accurate Casting, Flexible, Good Tip Action
Cons: None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i'd get another one no questions asked

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromnew jersey
I recommend this product.
this is a great pole, strong and made well
Pros: Durable, Accurate Casting, Lightweight
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good action as described. Quality made

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHuntington, WV
I recommend this product.
Use in retirement
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

6'6" medium action

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh
I recommend this product.
River bank fishing. Caught 5 lb channel cat with it off an old barge dock. The rod was undersized but didn't break.
Pros: Easy To Transport, Lightweight, Good Tip Action, Sensitive, Flexible, Durable, Accurate Casting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice rod

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromState College, PA
I recommend this product.
Nice, durable rod.
Pros: Accurate Casting, Easy To Transport, Flexible, Durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shakespeare Ugly Stik Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

loved them for years

PostedJune 11, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
I recommend this product.
Great rod for the local pond or for the lake. Duaable and has a great feel. Hane bin using ugly sticks for years.
Pros: Sensitive, Good Tip Action, Lightweight, Easy To Transport, Durable, Accurate Casting, Flexible
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>