Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak

Field & Stream Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak

The Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak is packed with features that you'd usually find only in much more expensive kayaks. This sit-in boat boasts such extras as fishing rod holders, pads galore for comfort, and even cup holders! Paddle in comfort and style in the Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run kayak.
Overall rating:
4.449 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(294 reviews) 294
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 294 reviews
5 Stars
172
4 Stars
100
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Star
6
27629295%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Review 121 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good buy!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSummerville, SC
My first kayak...but avid canoe'er. The knee pads have too small things that stick through to hold them on...got bigger ones from [@]. Stable, tracks great. Light. Even my "scared of her own shadow" wife loves it! Good boat. Probably gonna get a second one for her.
Pros: Stable, Easy Entry & Exit, Comfortable, Compact, Easy To Lift, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 122 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so-so

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAmston, CT
It's still not long enough for me but it's the biggest I can find with the width that I need. It should also have paddle holders to set it down on. The cup holders need to be deeper. Water bottles just fall out and the store bought water bottle holders will not clip on.
Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Stable
Cons: Not Enough Storage, Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 123 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really good product for it's intended us

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromcincinnati,ohio
I have another fishing kayak , and I wanted to purchase something different.I seen this camo kayak and it turned out to be a really good deal in my opinion.If found on sale it is even a better deal.
Pros: Stable, Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy To Lift, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 124 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

having fun

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromchardon ohio
hi we have been looking for kayaks for a while now, we haved rented 2 different brands, but we settled on this kayak, we are very happy with them, we have used them 5 times now, the last trip was about a 12 mile round trip, very stable, and comfortable. we have read many reviews, but finally just went down to dicks sporting goods and sat in all of them, and this one felt best, easeir to get in and out of, were both in good shape, so being heavy wasnt the issue as just comfort of geting in, ANYWAY, if your reading reviews, i can only tell you were very happy with our choice, and would buy them again p.s. oh we were suprissed that how fast these were compared to other others we rented
Pros: Easy to Paddle, Stable, Comfortable, Good Maneuverability, Easy Entry & Exit
Cons: Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 125 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Value!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRidgeland, Mississippi
Just upgraded to this kayak because I wanted something more suitable for fishing. It has awesome tracking and is very roomy and comfortable to sit in.
Pros: Compact, Stable, Easy Entry & Exit, Comfortable, Good Maneuverability, Easy to Paddle
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 126 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I would buy this product again

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBricj,NJ
Handles very well in still waters...
Pros: Stable, Compact, Good Maneuverability, Comfortable, Easy to Paddle, Easy Entry & Exit
Cons: Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 127 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun yak

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGreen Bay, Wi
Bought this a few months ago and have used it many times. Have been on quiet lazy rivers, open lakes w/ and w/o traffic, as well as lake michigan (upper door county). I really wanted to try this thing out and compair this to sea yaks - before I posted a fair review. This yak does weigh a bit, and can be a bit of a challenge to carry this thing over your shoulder if you have to walk for a while.. along w/ your other gear. Once on the water, it does track fairly well, turns well, and responds very well to the user. For a novice yaker, balance in this thing on fairly calm waters is pretty easy - much more steady than a sea yak, which tend to be 'tippy' if you are not paying attention. The seating is comfortable, and your butt does not get uncomfortable after hours. If you plan to hit the sea/rough waters of major lakes (where there are 3'-4' waves, I would HIGHLY suggest getting a skirt for this beast !! The large open cockpit can both be a pro as well as a con. Large waves will land within your lap/yak and fill up rather quickly.. and believe me when this yak fills up w/ water and you capsize, it is a pain to flip it over and attempt to preform a wet entry as the waves pound you. There is one small bulkhead towards the front - maybe a gallon of air can be trapped there - the rest of the yak is open - this is a lot of area which can hold water. I would suggest a boyancy to the front, and buy an inflatable tire to stuff in the back hull (behind the seat). This at least would displace some water and make this float a bit better - if the worse case capsize would happen. There is a front cup holder in the cockpit - but, because the cockpit os so large, shorter arm length folks (like me) have a difficult time reaching up there. The drain plug in the rear of the yak is nice to drain out the extra water - but before you leave the store, purchase extra plugs, they have a tendancy to fall out after they are unscrewed. Wet exits are fun, and entry (on smooth water) are fairly easy, both side and rear approach - haven't quite mastered the Eskimo roll in this as of yet - may be a bit too long to preform.
Pros: Stable, Good Maneuverability, Easy Entry & Exit
Cons: Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 128 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just say no

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNewport, ME
Have owned numerous kayaks, liked that this one was supposed to be able to hold 500 lbs, don't see how the boat warped after the third use. Called Dick's and they said after one use they don't generally return them. Very flimsy hull. Would not buy another!!!
Cons: Heavy
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 129 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built solidly and still light to Carry.

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRiverbank Ca.
I`m 330lb and 6ft tall and I fit OK in it.It handled nicely.I`m out of shape and Fat so getting in and out was hilarious,but the ladies had absolutely no problem.
Pros: Easy To Lift, Easy to Paddle, Comfortable, Stable, Good Maneuverability
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 130 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lack of accasseries

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
frommanchester, new hampshire
There are no bibs for this product.I went out last week with my son in law .It poured and he got soaked.I just checked on line and with my nearest store and they don't sell them.How can you sell a kayak and not have the proper accessories?
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 131 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent kayak for the average joe.

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPortland, OR
I bought the "Field & Stream" Eagle Run 12' kayak in red two weeks ago and have taken it out twice, once on the Willamette River and once on the Columbia River here in Portland, Oregon. It handled it's self just fine on both occasions. I found this kayak tracked well and was very stable, also it's rotomolded polyethylene so you know it's gonna take a ton of abuse and last a long time. I've also found the deck strapping to be very handy for keeping my bilge pump and spare paddle at the ready. The 500 lbs. max capacity was a big selling point for me as im not a little guy (seem's like most if not all the kayaks out there are built and geared for twiggy) and it left enough room to add some camping gear so I can overnight on one of the local islands in the Columbia River Gorge at some point. All in all I'm very happy with this Kayak :) Things I haven't liked about this kayak: The seat after a couple hours of paddling is pretty uncomfortable and the cup holders are too shallow and useless (although I did mount a compass in one so I guess it's not completely useless), also there is only one bulkhead and it's far enough foward that the pocket of air must be very small and if the boat where ever to take on water I have little doubt it would sink (I fixed this concern with some float bags by Seattle Sports). Also of note: the cockpit is on the big side so finding a sprayskirt may be problematic for some and while a few people have reported problems with the foot pegs I personally have not had a problem with them but if it does come up i'll swap them out for some after market ones. Lastly the kayak is made by Joy Sports LLC of Bangkok Thailand, who also manufactures "Feel Free" kayaks. A Lot of the online posts I've read about the "Field and Stream" Eagle Run 12' have asked who makes it. So there you go.
Pros: Max Weight Capacity, Stable, Easy To Lift, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability
Cons: Not Enough Storage, Small Bulkhead At Front, Seat needs more padding, Cup Holders Are Useless
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 132 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Stable, Great Price Point

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
This kayak is used in calm water lake locations. Perfect for new and seasoned kayakers. An experienced friend who owns three lighter weight kayaks tried this one and is sold, loves the thicker hull, thigh padding and removable watertight pod. It does weigh 60 pounds but weight is distributed so it is not difficult to load. Inside edges are nicely rounded, we found other brands to have a sharper edge. We were so happy with this one we bought a second one.
Pros: Comfortable, Easy To Lift, Easy Entry & Exit, Stable, Good Maneuverability, Easy to Paddle
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 133 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Starter Boat

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromChandler AZ
Seat is made for wider people I found by adding 2 extra cushions under seat padding one on each side helped alot. I removed the hatch on the pod and cut the lip on the inside,before reinstalling it, to made a larger opening and painted pod white (black gets too hot in AZ) also drilled out front cup holder and inserted a deeper one and put pool toy "noodle" around pod well on the inside for extra floation since it has none in the stern, just a few customizations I've made
Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 134 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Boat!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
fromkansas
As a first time kayaker, I had no idea which one to buy, only that I really wanted one. I purchased the Eagle Run 12 based on the high weight capacity and the fishing rod holders. Never having even been in a kayak, I was paddling like a pro in about 10 minutes. The Eagle Run was very stable, easy to manuever, and pretty easy to get in and out of. I even paddled around with some pretty gals in their kayaks, yak- talking like an old salt. If you want a good recreational kayak at a reasonable price, this is a fine choice. Would it be a good boat to do some mad rapids in? I have no idea, and do not plan to find out. It is great for what I bought it for, some day trips and possible camping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 135 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i would buy again

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromtn
balanced well
Pros: Easy To Lift, Stable, Compact, Easy to Paddle, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Maneuverability, Comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 136 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

F&S Eagle Run Update

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMassachusetts
User submitted photo
I bought this kayak a couple of months ago. Reading the reviews today has prompted me to comment on others who have said that there are no skirts available. The truth is, I have found an awesome half skirt that works great...among other customizations.
Pros: Comfortable, Stable, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability
Cons: Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 137 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent kayak for all around use

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromChelmsford, massachusetts
Kayak alone for exercise. Take grandkids out to teach them how to paddle. They love it. Very stable
Pros: Easy to Paddle, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Maneuverability, Easy To Lift, Stable, Comfortable
Cons: None
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 138 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fine Fishing Yak

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBaltimore, MD
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I live near the Chesapeake Bay and have had my Field & Stream on the Bay as well as many of the local rivers feeding the Bay. I'm a big guy, (5' 11", 285 lbs.)This kayak works very well for me. The adjustable footrests are a joke, don't stay attached, but I really don't use them. I just wedge my toes to the inner top of the Yak. Waterproof pod works well as do the rod holders and paddle straps.
Pros: Comfortable, Stable, Easy To Lift, Good Maneuverability, Easy to Paddle, Easy Entry & Exit
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 139 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made all around Kayak for low price

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromOregon
I fish, use it in lakes and rivers in oregon. Runs straight, handy paddle holder. water tight pod works well. Put in styrofoam behind seat so it would float if swamped. Used for 2 years now. Sturdy. Real good deal. Glad I got this one instead of the basic 10' as I'm 6' and 215 pounds. Thanks Dicks for importing this one.
Pros: Comfortable, Good Maneuverability, Stable, Easy to Paddle, Easy To Lift, Easy Entry & Exit
Cons: Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 140 for Field & Stream 12' Eagle Run Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWest Chester PA
This is my first Kayak, and it is awesome ! Big cockpit makes getting in and out a breeze. This kayak is stable, very important to a novice like me. I would recomend this kayak to anyone starting out !
Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Stable, Comfortable, Good Maneuverability
Cons: Heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>