Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack

Fitness Gear Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack

Take weight training to the next level with the Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack. The multi-functional, heavy-duty steel frame supports up to 600 lbs and offers 28 levels of adjustability. Designed for the home power and olympic lifter, this half rack maximizes training with multiple grip positions. It also features six horizontal posts for olympic plate storage. Build muscle and strength in your own home gym with the Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack.
Overall rating:
4.729 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (70 reviews)
5 Stars
(57)
4 Stars
(10)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(1)
1 Star
(1)
697099%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Review 1 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
WillNCALIFORNIA
fromCalifornia
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I purchase this product to have the convenience of doing my workouts at home. I researched pretty much everything that was available for a reasonable price and this by far was the best deal on the market. If you have a small space then this is the way to go. Very easy to put together 1hr. Approximately. Happy with my purchase.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this half rack is very sturdy and easy to use.

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Diegos14ss1le
fromOrange
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I love being able to do the exercises that I could only do at the gym. Not having to drive to the gym or wait in line is awesome!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All you need in a rack, at a fair price

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
BradC
fromAtlanta, GA
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Was looking all over for the best fit for our basement. Needed functionality, but not junk or components that would break within a year. Picked up in store and box fit in my Passat with backseats down and passenger seat slid up. Assembly was quick, even by myself. I have been with a few gyms over the years: big, small, crossfit, etc.. NO, this is not a $1,500 - $3,000+ rack/rig that you will find in some of those places, but you wouldn't expect it to be for $350, right? The safety bars are made to be a last ditch effort for safety, NOT to do 500+ lb rack pulls or drop the bar repeatedly (get bumper plates).. but again, why would you expect that in this price range? The pull-up handles allow for a few different configurations, depending on how wide you want them. Rack is solid when properly assembled.
All-in-all, I am quite happy with the purchase. This rack is well suited for a home gym. If you are benching 315 or less and squatting 455 or less, this will work just fine. If you plan on doing more than that, then spend the money on proper equipment.
Get creative. You can replace a lot of unnecessary equipment that you use in the gym and work on true, FUNCTIONAL lifts.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Seth
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this product, weld quality in jpegs and and safety pins was very poor. I would not feel safe dropping 300lbs in them let alone the 600 they are rated for.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size and very durable

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Jvitto64
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age25 - 29
I recommend this product.
Awesome rack bought the adjustable bench with it. One of the best purchases I have made!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great Half Rack at an excellent price

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Will
fromGraham, WA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This rack is easily adjustable and built tough. I only have a set of bumper plates and the only complaint I have is with the weight racks. My bumper plates are just big enough that they rub each other a bit when in the rack. This wouldn't be a problem if the racks were spaced about 1/4 to a 1/2" further apart. If it weren't for this small issue I would have given it five stars because of the value. This is a great rack for the price! I wish this thing was around for this price years ago.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muscle building with convinince

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Peter
fromMiami, FL
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This product is strong, flexible yet small enough to help me get back in shape, back to my Military days.
Not only was it affordable, it has the ability to give me a FULL body work out. From Military presses, Squats, bench, pull-ups, and much more. Also, it allows me to keep my weights well organized and not laying on the floor.
LOVE THIS PIECE OF EQUIPMENT!
Peter Colon
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Half Rack

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Davis459
fromFayetteville, NC
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I purchased the Half a Rack for its safety features, durability and style, with teen age sons who like to lift, I feel so much better with its safety catch bars in place in an event they can't return the bar to its cradle, with this rack, recommend getting the heavy duty adjustable bench as a complete package..
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer avatar
trbo
fromLaguna Hills,CA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have been very happy with this product. I assembled it by myself in about 1 1/2hrs. I find it very easy to adjust settings.it is not rock solid but it fine for home use.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this rack

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
EricNM
fromLas Cruces, NM
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this rack to basically replace my gym membership. I was paying 40 bucks a month for a membership that I hardly used. I have a very busy day and while spending an hour at the gym doesn't sound like a whole lot you still have to get ready, drive, work out, possibly wait for machines, and drive back. I didn't have the time to spend 1.5 to 2 hours of my day trying to stay healthy. I bought a fully adjustable bench and the 300 lb barbell and weight set made by this same company. NOW I can just workout at home, cut out the time waste by having to drive and wait on other people. I am back to being decently muscular and feeling good. I can challenge myself to failure knowing that even doing flat bench press I won't strangle myself because of the bottom guard rails. I love it. Would recommend it to anyone, easy to setup, very good price. Just don't cheap out on the bench or weight set. Invest in solid equipment and you will enjoy working out.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its great for home gym where u can bench n squat pull up i also bought a bench with leg n preacher curl so u can just keep building

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Gsxr
I recommend this product.
I love the built in spotter when u dont have a friend to help get it back uo let it down get out from under it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great in concept, poor in quality

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Diesel_Crossfitter
fromPflugerville, Texas
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
At first glance this was perfect for my weight training and crossfit needs. It's very light and easy to assemble and move around even after assembly but that's part of the problem. It's not very stable, even with plates stored on it. Kipping pull ups or any other variation will rock this rack back and forth and essentially really only good for strict pull ups. The support bars have rubber tracks on them for padding and decoration but after dropping a few deadlift loads on them, they began to shred and fall apart. The rubber pads on the load hooks warped during heavy benching as if the adhesive they used wasn't good enough or barely held. During heavy squat sessions, even racking the bar caused a bit of rocking of the cage and I'm not entirely sure if the support bars will be able to support even 300-400lbs with out bending or warping to some degree, seeing as how they have already bent a bit at lower weights.
Over all it meets my minimum requirements but for it's price, it should have been capable of much more.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-13points
6of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic

PostedOctober 1, 2014
Customer avatar
bam
frombama
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Great purchase. I have had this rack for a year and it has been excellent. Extremely sturdy and I love the spotter arms and included weight storage. Assembly took less than 30 minutes by myself. I use this daily and it has held up perfect over the past year. I was debating between the full rack and the half rack, so happy I went with the cheaper half rack. Smaller footprint and has all the benefits of the larger rack. There is literally nothing I would change about it.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome and everything you need

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Garage Lifter
fromWest Des Moines, IA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This is an excellent piece of equipment without a bunch of additions you don't need or use much and basically get in the way.It assembles quickly and easily. It's does not take up a lot of space and with a bench, you are good to go. Highly impressed on how solid the frame is.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Keith
fromVirginia
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Great product. I am totally pleased for what I can do in my own home with this product. Very easy to assemble and yes, you do need two people to put it together safely but anywhere from 45-75 minutes total time to build. I love it and gives me the feeling of a real fitness center experience at home!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Rack Easy Assembly

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
curtis24
fromSimsbury, CT
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Bought this Rack at Dicks a few weeks ago. It has been exactly what I was looking for.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great at bringing pain

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
tdavis
fromOklahoma
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I purchased this rack when our local crossfit gym closed down. I can honestly say this thing has brought me lots of pain, as well as helped me get my body more in shape. I purchased a bar and bumper weights from Rogue Fitness they play very well with this rack. If you are looking and researching like I did. You can stop and purchase this one, it is worth the little money they ask for.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy One - Now.....and Use it - A Lot. You will love it !

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
DAVensel65
fromBirmingham, AL
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This half rack is great for a home gym and for someone primarily working out alone with no spotter. I looked at about 3 or 4 brands - half racks and full racks and really checked this one out in the store and found it to be the most versatile, well constructed, and the best value for the money.
I have used the half rack for about 6 months with an Olympic Weight Set and absolutely love it. No complaints about quality, functionality, or capacity at all. If you can squat 630 pounds or bench 315, you probably don;t want this anyway. Only thing I can even think to complain about is that it is tough to do chin ups with a reverse grip with the orange handles spaced so far apart...........that is about all I have to complan about. I assembled it and started using it the same day. Highly recommend. However - this equipment - no matter how good it is will not make you ripped if you sit on the couch all the time and use the rack to hang your dry cleaing on. You gotta use it - a lot. Enjoy - I do.
DV
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, So good!

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Little Mike
fromChicago
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I've only had this rack for a couple of weeks, but I can say so far so good. I had m last bench for over 15 years so this is a new relationship, I am very impressed with the stability and versatility of the rack. My transitions from one set up to another has never been smoother or quicker. This is a game changer in my workout future.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Doc
I recommend this product.
Excellent squat rack. Very sturdy and versatile. Best thing you're going to find for a home gym to minimize footprint and still get full function of any gym rack. Had an issue the top crossbars internal threads on the left hand side being stripped but this could have been my own fault. No problem though with the help of staff at Dick's I was able to meet them at the store entrance and swap out parts and still home in time to finsh assembly in 2 hours.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>