Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack

Fitness Gear Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack

Take weight training to the next level with the Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack. The multi-functional, heavy-duty steel frame supports up to 600 lbs and offers 28 levels of adjustability. Designed for the home power and olympic lifter, this half rack maximizes training with multiple grip positions. It also features six horizontal posts for olympic plate storage. Build muscle and strength in your own home gym with the Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack.
Overall rating:
4.756 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (78 reviews)
5 Stars
(65)
4 Stars
(10)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(1)
1 Star
(1)
777899%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Review 1 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Rack

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
sleepingweasal
fromCalifornia
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Awesome half rack, don't buy the full rack if you're looking for something at home. This half rack holds 600 pounds, the same as the full rack model. Why pay more money? I've been using it at home since I got it, it's very sturdy, and it looks good too. It doesn't look as ugly as some other home fitness products up may find. I'm 5'7" and the pull up bars are at a perfect height, I don't have to jump to reach them, nor fall several inches to get off.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rack

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Lifter15
I recommend this product.
This is all around a great quality piece of lifting equipment, for a great price too. The adjustment pieces are very quick and easy to move and are very sturdy when in place. I have dropped 405 on squat and the spotting bars didn't even budge. I saw one review that said the rack tips when doing pull ups, but when I do pull ups the rack doesn't tip at all, even if I start swinging a little bit get my last rep in. Also, I recommend to get a bench to put under it. this is a great rack that gives you a great full body workout and I recommend it to anyone looking for a good quality rack for a cheap price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the Money

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Scott784
fromBig Rapids, MI
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Bought this on Black Friday for a great deal. So far I love this thing. It does everything it is intended to do. Built well, and handles heavy weight just fine. You can not go wrong with this for the money.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
jfconlee
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this on Black Friday, saved $100, so essentially it cost me $249 vs. the $349 I have been seeing. Was easy to put together. Make sure all the washers are where they need to be. The only thing I did not like was I had to figure the order of assembly which ultimately worked out. You can't beat the price and this thing seems sturdy. I have much more expensive equipment in my home gym, but glad to add this to make it look like a commercial gym at home.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Dirt
fromColorado Springs, CO
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I purchased to get ready for Ranger School, and it is worth it.
Does anyone know of any accessories that go with this?
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic product with little complaints. The price is excellent too!

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
sjpm03
fromClaksville, TN
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I purchased this product in August and until now, only have one complaint about the product. The only gripe I have is the width of the actual rack. There is little room for any right to left movement while lifting or returning a full-sized olympic bar to the rack after a set of squats or bench press. Although it is my only complaint, its definitely something heavier lifters should take into consideration. Other than that, the quality of the product is fairly good. The thickness of the steel is not as thick as most well-known racks such as a roque, but I have had zero issues with any type of warping of the metal with 300 lbs on it. The rack has more than enough adjustability for all heights of lifters, plenty of storage for weights, and allows for additional workouts to be done with it such as pull-ups and olympic rings.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Art
fromTampa Florida
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Haven't had it very long and haven't even put weights on it yet but I'm enjoy the pull ups and the easy installation
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Sturdy

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
rmuff7101
fromTonawanda, NY
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Very sturdy, easy to put together. Only problem was one of the bars had holes that were misaligned, but i brought part back to Dick's and they swapped it out right away. Other then that, product is great.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!!

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
WillNCALIFORNIA
fromCalifornia
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I purchase this product to have the convenience of doing my workouts at home. I researched pretty much everything that was available for a reasonable price and this by far was the best deal on the market. If you have a small space then this is the way to go. Very easy to put together 1hr. Approximately. Happy with my purchase.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this half rack is very sturdy and easy to use.

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Diegos14ss1le
fromOrange
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I love being able to do the exercises that I could only do at the gym. Not having to drive to the gym or wait in line is awesome!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All you need in a rack, at a fair price

PostedNovember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
BradC
fromAtlanta, GA
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Was looking all over for the best fit for our basement. Needed functionality, but not junk or components that would break within a year. Picked up in store and box fit in my Passat with backseats down and passenger seat slid up. Assembly was quick, even by myself. I have been with a few gyms over the years: big, small, crossfit, etc.. NO, this is not a $1,500 - $3,000+ rack/rig that you will find in some of those places, but you wouldn't expect it to be for $350, right? The safety bars are made to be a last ditch effort for safety, NOT to do 500+ lb rack pulls or drop the bar repeatedly (get bumper plates).. but again, why would you expect that in this price range? The pull-up handles allow for a few different configurations, depending on how wide you want them. Rack is solid when properly assembled.
All-in-all, I am quite happy with the purchase. This rack is well suited for a home gym. If you are benching 315 or less and squatting 455 or less, this will work just fine. If you plan on doing more than that, then spend the money on proper equipment.
Get creative. You can replace a lot of unnecessary equipment that you use in the gym and work on true, FUNCTIONAL lifts.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Seth
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this product, weld quality in jpegs and and safety pins was very poor. I would not feel safe dropping 300lbs in them let alone the 600 they are rated for.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect size and very durable

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Jvitto64
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age25 - 29
I recommend this product.
Awesome rack bought the adjustable bench with it. One of the best purchases I have made!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great Half Rack at an excellent price

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Customer avatar
Will
fromGraham, WA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This rack is easily adjustable and built tough. I only have a set of bumper plates and the only complaint I have is with the weight racks. My bumper plates are just big enough that they rub each other a bit when in the rack. This wouldn't be a problem if the racks were spaced about 1/4 to a 1/2" further apart. If it weren't for this small issue I would have given it five stars because of the value. This is a great rack for the price! I wish this thing was around for this price years ago.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muscle building with convinince

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Peter
fromMiami, FL
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This product is strong, flexible yet small enough to help me get back in shape, back to my Military days.
Not only was it affordable, it has the ability to give me a FULL body work out. From Military presses, Squats, bench, pull-ups, and much more. Also, it allows me to keep my weights well organized and not laying on the floor.
LOVE THIS PIECE OF EQUIPMENT!
Peter Colon
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Half Rack

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Davis459
fromFayetteville, NC
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I purchased the Half a Rack for its safety features, durability and style, with teen age sons who like to lift, I feel so much better with its safety catch bars in place in an event they can't return the bar to its cradle, with this rack, recommend getting the heavy duty adjustable bench as a complete package..
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Customer avatar
trbo
fromLaguna Hills,CA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have been very happy with this product. I assembled it by myself in about 1 1/2hrs. I find it very easy to adjust settings.it is not rock solid but it fine for home use.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this rack

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
EricNM
fromLas Cruces, NM
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this rack to basically replace my gym membership. I was paying 40 bucks a month for a membership that I hardly used. I have a very busy day and while spending an hour at the gym doesn't sound like a whole lot you still have to get ready, drive, work out, possibly wait for machines, and drive back. I didn't have the time to spend 1.5 to 2 hours of my day trying to stay healthy. I bought a fully adjustable bench and the 300 lb barbell and weight set made by this same company. NOW I can just workout at home, cut out the time waste by having to drive and wait on other people. I am back to being decently muscular and feeling good. I can challenge myself to failure knowing that even doing flat bench press I won't strangle myself because of the bottom guard rails. I love it. Would recommend it to anyone, easy to setup, very good price. Just don't cheap out on the bench or weight set. Invest in solid equipment and you will enjoy working out.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its great for home gym where u can bench n squat pull up i also bought a bench with leg n preacher curl so u can just keep building

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Gsxr
I recommend this product.
I love the built in spotter when u dont have a friend to help get it back uo let it down get out from under it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great in concept, poor in quality

PostedOctober 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Diesel_Crossfitter
fromPflugerville, Texas
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
At first glance this was perfect for my weight training and crossfit needs. It's very light and easy to assemble and move around even after assembly but that's part of the problem. It's not very stable, even with plates stored on it. Kipping pull ups or any other variation will rock this rack back and forth and essentially really only good for strict pull ups. The support bars have rubber tracks on them for padding and decoration but after dropping a few deadlift loads on them, they began to shred and fall apart. The rubber pads on the load hooks warped during heavy benching as if the adhesive they used wasn't good enough or barely held. During heavy squat sessions, even racking the bar caused a bit of rocking of the cage and I'm not entirely sure if the support bars will be able to support even 300-400lbs with out bending or warping to some degree, seeing as how they have already bent a bit at lower weights.
Over all it meets my minimum requirements but for it's price, it should have been capable of much more.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-13points
6of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>