Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack

Fitness Gear Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack

Take weight training to the next level with the Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack. The multi-functional, heavy-duty steel frame supports up to 600 lbs and offers 28 levels of adjustability. Designed for the home power and olympic lifter, this half rack maximizes training with multiple grip positions. It also features six horizontal posts for olympic plate storage. Build muscle and strength in your own home gym with the Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack.
Overall rating:
4.787 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
4747100%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Review 1 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Half Rack

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromJacksonville, FL
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've put the half rack together about a week ago. Couldn't be a happier. I feels solid and was easy to put together. Total purchase price was 353.00. That include free shipping and 20.00 off online purchase.
Pros: Price, Quality, Easy to Assemble
Cons: Don't over tighten the bolt. It will cave in the metal. I tightened it until i felt resistance then gave it 1 to 2 turns. It was perfect that way,
I'm using bumper plates so all of them are the same size no matter the weight. I would recommend installing the two center storage poles pointing inward. I'm able to store 460 lbs of bumper plates.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome piece of equipment

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIllinois
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to replace an olympic bench set I received for Christmas last year that is already breaking. This rack has quality construction and was very easy to put together. Took about and hour to assemble it. This rack should last a long time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vary sturdy.

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFort Bragg
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Has ample space for weight storage, no foreseeable weak points in its construction, and easy to assemble. A around excellent product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bang for the buck, you cannot beat this purchase. Straightforward assembly directions took about an hour or so. Can hold more weights than you'll ever need and allows for a multitude of different squat/bench heights for your workout. The pullup bar is a hair lower than I would like but not a big deal considering I can still manage to bend my knees. It accommodates all these things while remaining sturdy and balanced. I'd highly recommend this to all my garage fitness swolemates.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great rack for the money

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAsheville NC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have only had this rack set up for a little over a week, but are thrilled with it so far. Assembly was easy and took about 2 hours. The rack is very sturdy and easy to adjust. It is perfect for squats, bench presses, and shoulder presses. The safety bars allow us to work out safely alone, without a spotter. Our store associate, Chris P. was very enthusiastic and helpful with the purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great piece of equipment

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Great piece of equipment. I especially like the pull up bar option.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWalnutport PA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great frame picked up in store my son and I put together in 40 minutes great way to store plates easy to adjust bar height multi grip pull up bars heavy duty frame good price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Myrtle Beach Staff are Amazing!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMyrtle beach SC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent squat rack! Very sturdy! Also, very friendly
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good rack for the price

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I paid $300 Tax, so not a bad deal. If you are like me, who can lift no more than 300 lb. for either bench press or squat, then buy it. If you are a power lifter(handles upward of 300 lbs or more), don't bother.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great item

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCanton
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to assemble, however; I wish they included a wrench.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromYork PA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got this, and I love it. Fits in my basement with plenty of room to do pull ups. Taking weights on an off the pegs is easy. The construction is very sturdy. As I lift, it does not move at all. Super easy to work out with. The only exercise I am not able to do with this, is the raised press. The metal arm in the back of the rack will not allow my bench to sit over it. Perhaps a different bench will work better? I have the Fitness Gear Bench. If you can afford this rack....get it!
IMPORTANT NOTE: If you get this, be careful to NOT over tighten the bolts as the metal will distort somewhat.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this for my husband for fathers day. I didn't choose to have it delivered for an additional 91 dollars. We fit the box into our Nissan Rogue and put it together in about an hour. As long as you have two adults this can easily be assembled. It went together perfectly and works great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for Home Gym

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This half rack is perfect for a home gym. It has everything you need, plus it does not take up a lot of real estate. After a week of use, I see no structural issues. You can't ask for more for the price paid.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedJune 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTennessee
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The assemble was simple. All the hardware was included and labeled. I just started using this rack, seems solid and doesn't take up as much space as a full power rack would.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it for the price

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just got it, so have not really put it to the test yet. Assembly was not too bad. Took probably 2 1/2 hrs. The biggest problem was mounting the pull up bars. You have to put the end bolts through the frame and into the threaded hole. Since it is on the inside you cannot see the hole, so you have to do it blind. One side was no problem, but the threads on the other side were not machined very well and it took me a while to get it started into the threads. I am pretty sure it stripped the threads, so if it is ever taken out it is not going back in. The safety bars seem to be a little on the thin side. It is rated at 600 lbs, but I am not sure I would want to slam that much weight down on it. Although, as I said, for the price I think it is an excellent choice considering most commercial racks will set you back $1,200 or more.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

You get what you pay for

PostedJune 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOrlando, FL
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this yesterday at Dicks in Orlando, at Father's day sale for $300. Took me about 3 hours to assemble. Assembly instructios were straightforward and easy to follow. All the hardware was complete, and nicely packed. Here is what I found during assembly and testing:1) Metal is of a low quality, and bent easily. Do not tighten the screws all the way or you will put a dent in the metal.2) Some pieces were scratched with tiny dents, and paint was uneven in some places.3) This rack is ok if you are not a power lifter, or don't lift too heavy. For me the heaviest I press is 315 in bench. I think the weakest point are the bar hooks. They rattle a lot if you slam heavy bar on them. 4) I found the rack to be more stable if I store plates on the storage bars. This makes the rack feel sturdier.5) Rack is too wide. So be careful when you re-rack the barbell after finishing your set of bench press. You may miss one side, and barbell will be sitting uneven.6) Good deal for $300. What more can I expect.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedJune 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArkansas
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Was easy to assemble. Looks good,and has no problem holding my weights. Doesn't take up a lot of room either. My one and only complaint is some of the welds aren't particularly attractive. I'm a certified welder,and look at things like that. But that said,the welds are solid,and will hold up for years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fitness rack

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product - very reasonably priced - very sturdy
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A full cage took too much space and had height limitations that prevented me from doing the overhead press without exiting the cage. However this half rack allows me to squat, bench, press, and easily move the bar to a deadlift position. With a 600 lbs capacity, this rack should sustain me for two years of training minimum, and if I become super serious, I would need to upgrade anyways. However if I simply decide to maintain a moderately serious maintenance or perhaps I will peak under this, 600 lbs seems fine. The rack is sturdy and should easily hold up the 600 lbs. I actually bought the floor model because they were not receiving any more units in the store, perhaps discontinuing it. Taking it apart and assembling it again in another location was easy to do. I am very happy with my purchase and recommend this as a more flexible alternative to a full cage for getting started (and possibly a lifetime of use).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fitness Gear Pro Half Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product.

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBloomington,IL
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unit is sturdy and easy to setup. Good unit for cost and fit the bill for using in basement. Bought for Grandson in football training and he feels very functional in helping him get and stay in shape for football in Fall.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>