Customer reviews for Barnett Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow

Barnett Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow

The Barnett® Recruit Compound Crossbow provides the reliability and strength any hunter desires. The Recruit features custom composite, laminated limbs and the ADF (Anti-Dry Fire) trigger safety system that prevents the crossbow from firing without an arrow. It also has a CNC-machined 7/8" picatinny rail for mounting accessories. The Recruit crossbow allows for the integration of a crank cocking device so you can shoot the crossbow with ease.
Overall rating:
4.026 / 5
4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (39 reviews)
5 Stars
(24)
4 Stars
(7)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(1)
1 Star
(7)
303977%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Review 1 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
SlimJim
I do not recommend this product.
For now, that's all I can say.
We bought the kit that came with a scope, sling, and quiver.
The quiver bracket was not included, so the quiver could not be attached.
But the most disappointing was the construction. The 4 small allen screws that mount the foot handle would not thread into the designed holes. It seems they were not threaded properly.
So now we have to return it all and either take a chance with another one or try a different brand. Not sure yet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality for the price.

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Oneeye
I do not recommend this product.
It took 1/3 hour to find the price $299. And the box. When I got to the front to pay it was $329. I decided to pay the extra $30. Because of the hassle. But I ended up returning the bow because of poor quality. :( :(
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good for the money

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
matt
fromvincennes, in
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Got this for my brother for Christmas , loves it. Easy to set up right of box.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny.

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Btay1112
fromKentucky
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Picked up this past Thursday during Black Friday Doorbuster Sale. VERY easy to set up. Had it assembled and taking shots at a 3D target in less then 10 mins. Sighted in in less then 4 shots. The multi-retinal scope was dead on the yardages listed with the manual. After another practice session, I took to my tree stand Saturday night. 5 mins before last light had a nice 8pt walk out and take a dirt nap. The Easton bolt cut thru him like a hot knife thru butter. I hope to have many many more years of enjoyment from this Xbow. But so far it has been worth every penny spent.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great crossbow

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Stevens
fromRhode Island
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This crossbow has great power, went right through my bow target haha, had to go and buy a special crossbow target to sight it in. Still working on getting shot placement down so I can take it in the woods. All in all a great xbow,easy to put together, scope was only about a foot off at 20 yards when I started sighting it in.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good for the money

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
badtothebone
fromindiana
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Bought this at dicks and have had no problems did,put a nikon bolt xr on it,shots well out to 40yards,put limb savers on riser and limbs,made a big diff on vibrato and noise,wasn't to loud but any thing to make it quieter helps on any xbow,so I'd give barrnett a thumbs up on this one,small light and good to forty yards,great bow so far
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ready to go.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
uruysal
fromfulton, ny
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Easy to use and effective . Seems to be accurate at 30 yrds. I like the fact that it is a combo and ready to use out of box.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An easy 4 for me.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Ragouel
I recommend this product.
Was quite simple to set up and sight in. Once sighted in it shot accurate every time without and stray in the bolt. Only thing i learned make sure your bolt is places firmly against the string before you shoot and never never never dry fire a crossbow...
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crossbow

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
riverbait
fromSlocomb,Al
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
You don't need to go spend a lot of $$$ for a crossbow,this one does all you need.I have killed plenty of deer,wild hogs and turkey.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

best thing was scope

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Jimshady
fromRoyal Oak Mi
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
Product string broke 1st day I used it releasing sn arrow because was cocked back aprox 3hrs an manual said no longer than 4hrs tops
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Crossbow

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
SRB2003
fromChesapeake, Virginia
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Read a lot of reviews on crossbows and for the price and quality this is the best crossbow. Barnett also backs their product and has a great reputation. This crossbow is accurate light weight, and not bulky when going through the woods. Should consider this crossbow if you are just starting out and don't want to invest too much. Great price Great quality and Great product!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bow looked as described

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
kris
I do not recommend this product.
Bow looks great however second shot fired string broke. Very disappointed.. reviews I saw were excellent.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not legal in NYS

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Not in NYS
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
I just called my local Dick's sporting goods and asked if it was legal to use this crossbow in NYS and he said NO because it falls a 1/2" short on the required limb width! The recurve version of this crossbow is legal to hunt with!
-15points
7of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIrst Cross Bow

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeremy
fromsapulpa, ok
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Me and my buddy both bought this bow. I got a better deal buying it at Dicks then him buying it at basspro. Easy to set up and easy to sight in. My buddy had a few issue of not being able to shoot but he didn't have his arrow seated all the way each time. I have not had a single issue with it yet. Keep the strings waxed as recommended and you shouldn't have an issue.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Xbow for the money

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
B
fromKansas
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Easy assembly, accurate out of the box, Crisp trigger pull.
I was shooting 1in groups at 20yds. in 15 minutes.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexperienced reviewers

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer avatar
pberry
fromPuerto Rico
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
If you load the bolt the wrong way, the safety will lock up, its a it's part of ADF, be thankful because you probably loaded the arrow with the wrong fletching and would have had a dry fire and broke your bow. Strings break because people don't use wax. I have had no problems with this bow if you handle it right and take care of it. For 300 bucks you cant go wrong, the scope is really good and the bow is super light and easy to cock, and its shooting at 300 fps, you can go buy an excalibur that shoots at that speed and it will cost you about 600 give or take 50 bucks. Broke off cement when I hit my cement wall with this thing, this thing hits hard for a little bow, plus axle to axle it is only about 16 inches, this bow is great.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, Amazing Weapon

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
BuckHunter68
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This was my third crossbow, I liked the compact limbs and lightweight design for cruising through the mountains. Also shoots FAST and ACCURATE, very dependable. I use Skorpion polymeric bow-string fluid and rail lube, treat this crossbow like the high performance equipment it is, and it treats you good right back. Had to replace my plastic thing a ma jigger that holds the arrow too, but that was my fault as I would pull the arrow out far enough to engage the dry-fire safety mechanism, (Read: Remove arrow completely from bow if not shooting.) but not all the way so only the clip held it. I Need a link to a manual if any one knows one, I'd like to order a couple of those to have as back-ups.
So yea, 5 stars for this baby. She is a sweet one, and remains my go to crossbow.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little crossbow

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeremy38
fromcentral PA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
bought it just before archery season. Had it shot in just minutes. In tree stand 10 minutes before shooting my buck with it. It served its purpose. No string problems
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont do it!!!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Mark
fromYulee Florida
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
We bought the Recruit online from Dick's because the Raptor that we purchased at our local store BROKE after 30 shots.. Barnett is having string issue's because the Recruit string BROKE after the 4th shot!!!!! Dick's went out of there way to help anyway they could the shipping was amazing i had the bow the second day!!! Both Barnett bows had bolt speed but if you cant keep the string on its useless...After talking to some of my sons friends that hunt I found that they also had STRING issues. Come on Barnett you get a Star and its a gift Dick's gets 5 stars!!
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cross bow

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
rover
frommichigan
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this to get my wife and kids out there to see if they would like hunting as much as i do. I brought it home and shot it in the yard to get it sighted in, wow, what a nice little bow. Light, small and perfect for them. Cant wait to get them out there this year. when they are not with me ill use it myself lol
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>