Customer reviews for Barnett Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow

Barnett Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow

The Barnett® Recruit Compound Crossbow provides the reliability and strength any hunter desires. The Recruit features custom composite, laminated limbs and the ADF (Anti-Dry Fire) trigger safety system that prevents the crossbow from firing without an arrow. It also has a CNC-machined 7/8" picatinny rail for mounting accessories. The Recruit crossbow allows for the integration of a crank cocking device so you can shoot the crossbow with ease.
Overall rating:
4.176 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (34 reviews)
5 Stars
(23)
4 Stars
(5)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(1)
1 Star
(5)
273479%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Review 1 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good for the money

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
badtothebone
fromindiana
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Bought this at dicks and have had no problems did,put a nikon bolt xr on it,shots well out to 40yards,put limb savers on riser and limbs,made a big diff on vibrato and noise,wasn't to loud but any thing to make it quieter helps on any xbow,so I'd give barrnett a thumbs up on this one,small light and good to forty yards,great bow so far
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ready to go.

PostedNovember 18, 2014
Customer avatar
uruysal
fromfulton, ny
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Easy to use and effective . Seems to be accurate at 30 yrds. I like the fact that it is a combo and ready to use out of box.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

An easy 4 for me.

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Ragouel
I recommend this product.
Was quite simple to set up and sight in. Once sighted in it shot accurate every time without and stray in the bolt. Only thing i learned make sure your bolt is places firmly against the string before you shoot and never never never dry fire a crossbow...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great crossbow

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
riverbait
fromSlocomb,Al
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
You don't need to go spend a lot of $$$ for a crossbow,this one does all you need.I have killed plenty of deer,wild hogs and turkey.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

best thing was scope

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Jimshady
fromRoyal Oak Mi
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
Product string broke 1st day I used it releasing sn arrow because was cocked back aprox 3hrs an manual said no longer than 4hrs tops
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Crossbow

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Customer avatar
SRB2003
fromChesapeake, Virginia
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Read a lot of reviews on crossbows and for the price and quality this is the best crossbow. Barnett also backs their product and has a great reputation. This crossbow is accurate light weight, and not bulky when going through the woods. Should consider this crossbow if you are just starting out and don't want to invest too much. Great price Great quality and Great product!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bow looked as described

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
kris
I do not recommend this product.
Bow looks great however second shot fired string broke. Very disappointed.. reviews I saw were excellent.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not legal in NYS

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Not in NYS
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
I just called my local Dick's sporting goods and asked if it was legal to use this crossbow in NYS and he said NO because it falls a 1/2" short on the required limb width! The recurve version of this crossbow is legal to hunt with!
-6points
7of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIrst Cross Bow

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeremy
fromsapulpa, ok
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Me and my buddy both bought this bow. I got a better deal buying it at Dicks then him buying it at basspro. Easy to set up and easy to sight in. My buddy had a few issue of not being able to shoot but he didn't have his arrow seated all the way each time. I have not had a single issue with it yet. Keep the strings waxed as recommended and you shouldn't have an issue.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Xbow for the money

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
B
fromKansas
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Easy assembly, accurate out of the box, Crisp trigger pull.
I was shooting 1in groups at 20yds. in 15 minutes.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexperienced reviewers

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer avatar
pberry
fromPuerto Rico
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
If you load the bolt the wrong way, the safety will lock up, its a it's part of ADF, be thankful because you probably loaded the arrow with the wrong fletching and would have had a dry fire and broke your bow. Strings break because people don't use wax. I have had no problems with this bow if you handle it right and take care of it. For 300 bucks you cant go wrong, the scope is really good and the bow is super light and easy to cock, and its shooting at 300 fps, you can go buy an excalibur that shoots at that speed and it will cost you about 600 give or take 50 bucks. Broke off cement when I hit my cement wall with this thing, this thing hits hard for a little bow, plus axle to axle it is only about 16 inches, this bow is great.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, Amazing Weapon

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
BuckHunter68
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This was my third crossbow, I liked the compact limbs and lightweight design for cruising through the mountains. Also shoots FAST and ACCURATE, very dependable. I use Skorpion polymeric bow-string fluid and rail lube, treat this crossbow like the high performance equipment it is, and it treats you good right back. Had to replace my plastic thing a ma jigger that holds the arrow too, but that was my fault as I would pull the arrow out far enough to engage the dry-fire safety mechanism, (Read: Remove arrow completely from bow if not shooting.) but not all the way so only the clip held it. I Need a link to a manual if any one knows one, I'd like to order a couple of those to have as back-ups.
So yea, 5 stars for this baby. She is a sweet one, and remains my go to crossbow.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little crossbow

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeremy38
fromcentral PA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
bought it just before archery season. Had it shot in just minutes. In tree stand 10 minutes before shooting my buck with it. It served its purpose. No string problems
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont do it!!!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Mark
fromYulee Florida
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
We bought the Recruit online from Dick's because the Raptor that we purchased at our local store BROKE after 30 shots.. Barnett is having string issue's because the Recruit string BROKE after the 4th shot!!!!! Dick's went out of there way to help anyway they could the shipping was amazing i had the bow the second day!!! Both Barnett bows had bolt speed but if you cant keep the string on its useless...After talking to some of my sons friends that hunt I found that they also had STRING issues. Come on Barnett you get a Star and its a gift Dick's gets 5 stars!!
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cross bow

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
rover
frommichigan
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this to get my wife and kids out there to see if they would like hunting as much as i do. I brought it home and shot it in the yard to get it sighted in, wow, what a nice little bow. Light, small and perfect for them. Cant wait to get them out there this year. when they are not with me ill use it myself lol
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine Crossbow

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
RT in Tennessee
fromWhite Bluff, TN
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This little crossbow is perfect for the deer hunter who dislikes the huge heavy crossbows on the market. It's compact, lite, and quite. The bolt speed and energy are shocking and I'm certain lethal. This ready to hunt package by Barnett is ONLY at Dick's Sporting Goods and the addition of the Barnett 4X32 scope, strap, cocking rope and quiver w/bolts round out this package making it a superb value. Assembly and sighting in is simple. Accuracy is dead on. I could not be happier with my purchase.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
TT612
fromMinneapolis,MN
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
great shot and easy to use for me as I am smaller and not as strong. highly recommend for beginners or for people like me.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great crossbow

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Mike
fromMccalla Alabama
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Pros: solid bow and well made, very powerful, very accurate, quiet when shot.Cons: the bolt quiver is plastic and if u r not carful when putting it on the plastic mount clips will break.(mine broke first attemt to put it on). The only other thing I didn't like was you can't cock it with out the string which makes for a slow reload. Not because it's to hard but for some reason I can't get it to latch when I use my hands.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product; Great customer service!!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Dlaw18
fromGreensboro, NC
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is my first crossbow and I bought it so my daughter could use it as well. After reading reviews I felt like she would be able to use it fairly easily and she is. After sighting it in, which was rather painless, she was able to nail the target at 25, 30, and 40 yards no problem. So far I am happy with this crossbow. The service at Dicks in Greensboro was great. They assembled the crossbow for me and gave me some helpful tips as well. They allowed me to fire it in their archery range before I left to make sure I was comfortable with how it operates. They were also very helpful in advising me in broad heads and extra bolts and other accessories I might need. Some of which they did not carry, so they were not just trying to sell me stuff. I found this crossbow cheaper online, but the customer service I got from Dicks made it worth the few extra dollars. Thanks.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Legal in NC

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
NCElkhunter
fromHubert, NC
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
While this is probably a very good deal for the price, it is not legal for deer hunting in North Carolina. It only has a draw weight of 140 lbs and a crossbow must have at least a draw weight of 150 lbs to hunt deer in NC.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>