Customer reviews for Barnett Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow

Barnett Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow

The Barnett® Recruit Compound Crossbow provides the reliability and strength any hunter desires. The Recruit features custom composite, laminated limbs and the ADF (Anti-Dry Fire) trigger safety system that prevents the crossbow from firing without an arrow. It also has a CNC-machined 7/8" picatinny rail for mounting accessories. The Recruit crossbow allows for the integration of a crank cocking device so you can shoot the crossbow with ease.
Overall rating:
4.296 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
222781%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Review 1 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIrst Cross Bow

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromsapulpa, ok
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Me and my buddy both bought this bow. I got a better deal buying it at Dicks then him buying it at basspro. Easy to set up and easy to sight in. My buddy had a few issue of not being able to shoot but he didn't have his arrow seated all the way each time. I have not had a single issue with it yet. Keep the strings waxed as recommended and you shouldn't have an issue.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Xbow for the money

PostedJune 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromKansas
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Easy assembly, accurate out of the box, Crisp trigger pull.
I was shooting 1in groups at 20yds. in 15 minutes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inexperienced reviewers

PostedJune 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPuerto Rico
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you load the bolt the wrong way, the safety will lock up, its a it's part of ADF, be thankful because you probably loaded the arrow with the wrong fletching and would have had a dry fire and broke your bow. Strings break because people don't use wax. I have had no problems with this bow if you handle it right and take care of it. For 300 bucks you cant go wrong, the scope is really good and the bow is super light and easy to cock, and its shooting at 300 fps, you can go buy an excalibur that shoots at that speed and it will cost you about 600 give or take 50 bucks. Broke off cement when I hit my cement wall with this thing, this thing hits hard for a little bow, plus axle to axle it is only about 16 inches, this bow is great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad crossbow

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHaddon heights
Age:Under 18
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
At first thought this crossbow was great. Great scope awesome feel and accurate. Second day shot it and the arrow holder down broke. Returned it and got a new one. Had it for about 3 more months and then one day with my friend we where shooting I cocked it and all of a sudden the trigger and Safty locked up and was in hang fire for 1 and a half hours. It then broke the string and flew back and almost hit me. Not safe and a price t don't buy any barnett product same experience will occur. Not good for hunting
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, Amazing Weapon

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my third crossbow, I liked the compact limbs and lightweight design for cruising through the mountains. Also shoots FAST and ACCURATE, very dependable. I use Skorpion polymeric bow-string fluid and rail lube, treat this crossbow like the high performance equipment it is, and it treats you good right back. Had to replace my plastic thing a ma jigger that holds the arrow too, but that was my fault as I would pull the arrow out far enough to engage the dry-fire safety mechanism, (Read: Remove arrow completely from bow if not shooting.) but not all the way so only the clip held it. I Need a link to a manual if any one knows one, I'd like to order a couple of those to have as back-ups.
So yea, 5 stars for this baby. She is a sweet one, and remains my go to crossbow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice little crossbow

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromcentral PA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bought it just before archery season. Had it shot in just minutes. In tree stand 10 minutes before shooting my buck with it. It served its purpose. No string problems
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dont do it!!!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromYulee Florida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We bought the Recruit online from Dick's because the Raptor that we purchased at our local store BROKE after 30 shots.. Barnett is having string issue's because the Recruit string BROKE after the 4th shot!!!!! Dick's went out of there way to help anyway they could the shipping was amazing i had the bow the second day!!! Both Barnett bows had bolt speed but if you cant keep the string on its useless...After talking to some of my sons friends that hunt I found that they also had STRING issues. Come on Barnett you get a Star and its a gift Dick's gets 5 stars!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cross bow

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
frommichigan
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this to get my wife and kids out there to see if they would like hunting as much as i do. I brought it home and shot it in the yard to get it sighted in, wow, what a nice little bow. Light, small and perfect for them. Cant wait to get them out there this year. when they are not with me ill use it myself lol
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine Crossbow

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWhite Bluff, TN
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This little crossbow is perfect for the deer hunter who dislikes the huge heavy crossbows on the market. It's compact, lite, and quite. The bolt speed and energy are shocking and I'm certain lethal. This ready to hunt package by Barnett is ONLY at Dick's Sporting Goods and the addition of the Barnett 4X32 scope, strap, cocking rope and quiver w/bolts round out this package making it a superb value. Assembly and sighting in is simple. Accuracy is dead on. I could not be happier with my purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMinneapolis,MN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great shot and easy to use for me as I am smaller and not as strong. highly recommend for beginners or for people like me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great crossbow

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMccalla Alabama
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pros: solid bow and well made, very powerful, very accurate, quiet when shot.Cons: the bolt quiver is plastic and if u r not carful when putting it on the plastic mount clips will break.(mine broke first attemt to put it on). The only other thing I didn't like was you can't cock it with out the string which makes for a slow reload. Not because it's to hard but for some reason I can't get it to latch when I use my hands.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product; Great customer service!!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGreensboro, NC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first crossbow and I bought it so my daughter could use it as well. After reading reviews I felt like she would be able to use it fairly easily and she is. After sighting it in, which was rather painless, she was able to nail the target at 25, 30, and 40 yards no problem. So far I am happy with this crossbow. The service at Dicks in Greensboro was great. They assembled the crossbow for me and gave me some helpful tips as well. They allowed me to fire it in their archery range before I left to make sure I was comfortable with how it operates. They were also very helpful in advising me in broad heads and extra bolts and other accessories I might need. Some of which they did not carry, so they were not just trying to sell me stuff. I found this crossbow cheaper online, but the customer service I got from Dicks made it worth the few extra dollars. Thanks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Legal in NC

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHubert, NC
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
While this is probably a very good deal for the price, it is not legal for deer hunting in North Carolina. It only has a draw weight of 140 lbs and a crossbow must have at least a draw weight of 150 lbs to hunt deer in NC.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

barnett recruit crossbow

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
frompittsburgh,pa.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is an excellent crossbow ,fast, compact, accurate, low price. mark z.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing bow

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromharrison ohio
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This bow is so worth the money. I used it for the first time in the field and took down a nice buck. Its light weight, compact and has great stopping power. It puts my jackal to shame.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth the money

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromohio
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BOUGHT THIS BOW FOR MY NINE YEAR OLD SON TODAY WE GOT IT SIGHTED IN RIGHT AT THE STORE IN 5 SHOTS .THIS BOW IS FAST AND LIGHT MY NINE YEAR OLD AND I LOVE IT .I OWENED TEN POINTS AND THE GOST 350 AND I REALLY LIKE THIS BOW. HITS A QUARTER SIZE GROUP AT 30 YARDS. GREAT BOW.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BARNETT RERUIT COMPOUND CROSSBOW

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer avatar
fromManhattan, Kansas
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My wife just bought this yesterday for a early Christmas gift. I love it because of the heavy front end that ensures that your target is onsite and you hit it every time. I went out back and hit my target every time and it was center mass.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromhiawatha , ks
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Barnett® Recruit Compound Crossbow provides the reliability and strength any hunter desires.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

50 yr old petite woman

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromConway, AR
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great crossbow. I did a lot of research before deciding on this one. I never bought
One before now because I did not think they made powerful smaller ones. Once I
Read the few reviews on this one I decided to take a chance on it being what I needed.
I got it from Dicks Sporting Goods in central Arkansas. My son put it together in about
10 minutes. I shot it shortly after and was able to use the cocking rope that was
Included without difficulty. I was hitting the bullseye after a few shots and minor
Adjustments to the scope. I love this and am glad I purchased this particular one.
It surprised my son at how accurate, powerful, and quiet it was in comparison to his
Bigger 180 pull one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Barnett Recruit Compound Crossbow
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth the money

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good crossbow at a reasonable price. First time ever using a crossbow had it sited in a short amount of time shooting accurate. Downed a buck the first day of season so I guess it couldn't get any better than that
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>