Customer reviews for Moultrie Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera

Moultrie Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera

The Moultrie® MLB 800I Trail Camera allows you to keep track of deer patterns and wildlife out in the field. This trail camera features 4 operational modes so you can decide the best way to capture images of big game. Its trigger speed is less than 1 second and has a night range up to 100 feet so you can view activity at night.
Overall rating:
2.714 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
10
102148%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Review 1 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Died the first timie out

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWV
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Well after reading the reviews, I thought I bought a quality product. Loved the size of it, the few pictures it did take were good, good distance, clear day pictures, but it only lasted 1 night then died. Really, yes changed batteries, etc... dead. Thanks to Dicks, no hassle returns, I ended up with a wildview black ir on sale considerably less and it works fine. Great battery life, night pictures not as clear as this one, but its been over a week and it still works. Needless to say, I was dissapointed with this camera. Maybe I just a lemon, but I could not bring myselft to chance it again.
Happy Hunting.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Trail Camera except for 1 issue

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCalifornia Bay Area
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this camera. The size is fantastic. The resolution is just right. The range is exceptional. I really like this camera. But, it has one huge issue that was a deal breaker for me. The camera has a feature called "Event Delay" just as most all trail cameras have. That is the duration of time from when the camera detects motion to when it takes a photo. You can scroll through delay times from as short as 10 seconds to as long has 1 hour I believe. I can't remember the longest delay options. The problem for me is I need a shorter delay then 10 seconds. The area where I want to use this camera has a narrow trail that would allow subjects to walk in and out of view in less than 10 seconds. So, unless the game stops walking, I miss the shot. Other cameras have shorter delay options and that is what I need. I love everything else about this camera and wish I could have kept it. Dick's allowed me to return it without any fuss. I would recommend this camera to anyone as long as they understood all the features, like Event delay.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Trigger happy

PostedJune 9, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMaine
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Takes hundreds of pictures of grass growing. The pictures that are triggered by animals and birds are nice but I can't get past all the false triggers. I like the moultrie m-80s but now I'll be going with some other brand.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

trail camera

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPanama City Beach fla
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product. Had a little problem with the scan disk the start up menu not clear as what to do.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Camera

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I put this camera out in a blizzard and came back a month later. It had taken over 1300 pictures with only a few blanks and still had 91% battery life. Highly recommend!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best on market

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromApex nc
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best camera for the money on the market and dicks will carry them consistent. Thanks dicks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad night photos and too complicated

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSouthampton,Ma.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Wanted a blackflash trail camera and thought I would try Moultrie. Its a great looking camera but it took grainy white streaked photos at night. It was a nightmare to have to reprogram the camera everytime I changed the sd card. Shouldn't have to do that. The camera took great day time pictures. It is too complicated a camera to program in the field. Had to remove it from the tree to have it infront of me with the book to reprogram it. It also had too many modes and the booklet was not good at explaining the modes and how to set and use them. Too busy for a trail camera.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for deer and catching thieves!

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want to see what is eating in your food plot or who is stealing copper wire from a home under construction, then buy this camera. exceptional picture and battery life. worth the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNH
Age:51 Plus
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wish I had read reviews for this camera before purchase. The only time I got pictures at night was with the cover open and then they were not particularly good. Lots of pictures of nothing because of the sensitivity. I wasted an hour today trying to change some settings from the defaults - particularly the exposure time and interval settings. Good luck! The manual does not correspond to the menu selections - among other things. I have 8 Lithium batteries that will be recycled to other gadgets when I take this product back tomorrow. I have another camera 6-7 years old that was cheap and takes far superior pictures, day and night!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product has clear pictures.

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVirginia
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'v had this camera for 3 months and it took good pictures but I got a lot of non pictures from grass moving in the back ground from the corner of a field, I also had a limb moving on a real windy day that took several pictures. Make sure you check after a couple of days if you are planning leaving it setup for a while so you don't have a lot of nice pictures of grass or limbs. I also own the older Moultre M80X-BLX which I had setup in the same field and it didn't pick up as may pictures as the new camera.
The only problem I noticed with the new camera was on some nights the pictures had white line streaks in the video that would start and then black the whole picture out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Camera

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew Hampshire
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I only had this out in the woods for a week or so but the images / videos are very clear. Had a good number of false trips but I think this was due to location and my setup. Overall a good product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great trail camera

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
fromShreve, OH
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Takes great day time and night time pictures. Very happy with this camera.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality photos.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was pumped about this camera but was thoroughly disappointed when I seen the quality of the night photos. There are zero details, night images have terrible quality. The delay is really slow as well, you have to be directly in front of the camera for it to engage and snap a photo. I have a Bushnell and its way better than this, the Bushnell pictures have great quality for both night and day, plus it activates from an angle as you enter the area and not just in front of the camera. Don't waste your money, mines going back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I would not buy again

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSouth Carolina
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The picture quality is horrible. Utterly disappointing. It will be going back to the store.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not this Moultrie

PostedNovember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you're considering this, spend the money on the 990 instead. Photo quality was decent, but I couldn't get it to take more than 500 pictures on brand new lithium batteries in a 7 day period without the batteries dying. Went to give it a second chance before returning and got less than two days on standard batteries. Maybe I got a lemon, but I sent it back and got another 990. The extra money is worth it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Customer Service Support from Moultrie

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVA
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
If you have a problem with this camera do not expect assistance from Moultrie Customer assistance. Tried the Custromer assistance line 6 times. Each wait was longer then 15 minutes. Upon finally reaching the assistance technicain, referred to another technician and on hold for 22 minutes. Then they want $25.00 to change the password code. To make it worse, they will then call back in 5 days.......Untimely and very irritating customer support procedures.
Do not buy this camera unless you anticipate never needing customer support.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromboston, MA
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
I purchased this camera to monitor for night time backyard activity. The pictures were fine for the beginning part of the shoot, but progressed to grainy light streaked patterns quickly. There was no way to interpret what the pictures were showing. The batteries were new, but the SD card wasn't, and it was only an 8, so I purchased a 32 MB card, only to have the graininess show up on the pictures within an hour. Oh, and did I mention that no matter the setting, it seems to want to shoot at will? Over 700 pictures when set to motion and heat within an hour. I'm bringing it back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DONT BUY

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMI
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't Waste Your Time!!! This camera has horrible night time pictures! I ran a older Moultrie camera I have(I-35) in the same spot and caught deer movement that my new MLB 800i did not. It's a crying same! I was really excited when I bought this camera, now I'm really disappointed!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Took a chance

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromUp State
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
Did all the home work researching cameras but had a hard time finding this one online. Used a Coupon on the purchase so made the value even better.
I am very impressed with this camera. Small but well put together and sets up in a snape. I have gotten some great pictures on this camera although the night pics may leave a little to be desired. I like the fact that it has worked every single time with out issues, I have had a few other slightly cheaper camers and they are just awaste of money with inconsitante results.
The biggest sell to me is that the camera is absolutely silent and no flash = no spook. I may not have much to compare to but this one is a winner in my book and I will be getting another.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Moultrie MLB 8MP 800I Black IR Trail Camera
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than prior reviews

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWestminster, MD
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The reviews on this product were less than encouraging. I decided to get this camera because my other camera is also a Moultrie. I had great success with my old camera, and have gotten the same reliability from this new one. The camera has a very nice and bright resolution during the day. At night is also takes fairly clear & still pictures, a fast moving critter appears as a blur, but that is fine for my purpose.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>