Customer reviews for Old Town Canoe Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak

Old Town Canoe Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak

Plan on a great catch in a great Old Town® fishing kayak! Featuring a stable efficient hull, a foot brace system and a comfort flex seat, you'll be ready to reel in the big one while enjoying your favorite lake or river. The Trip 10 Angler is packed with features like flush-mount rod holders, large camlock hatch, stern day well and molded-in cockpit tray with cup holder. Spend an afternoon on the Old Town® Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak!
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (45 reviews)
5 Stars
(39)
4 Stars
(3)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(1)
1 Star
(1)
424593%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Review 1 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent buy

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHauser, Idaho
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I have been using this kayak to fish a local lake. It moves across the water smoothly. I have even used it with a small child sitting in front of me. Comfortable and easily moved in and out of the water. The rear compartment is pretty water tight. I have not had any water enter even on choppy days. I purchased online and picket it up at the store and saved was able to use online discounts.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCritz Va
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is my first kayak, but I have tried others. I'm 6'5" 300 pounds and I fit great. Paddled 12miles on my first trip and was comfortable, thanks to the adjustable back pad and the large opening( the opening is so big i can hang my legs off the sides in calm water). I have now put a bunch of trips on it since and still no problems. Were we ride is very rocky with lots of shallow water and its not showing any more wear than all my friends who wiegh alot less than me's kayaks. been down some stage 3 rapids with it and thats its limit for my size.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This yak fits the bill.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSouth West Alabama
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I purchased my kayak from Dick's last summer. My reason for purchasing it was to make trips with friends down the small backwoods rivers in SW Alabama. Works great with lots of storage space. Now I have been using it for inshore fishing in NW Florida. It does a excellent job. Last week I landed a 34" Redfish after he towed me for over a mile. Well pleased with this yak.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old Town sets the bar for this class of kayak.

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Customer avatar
fromN.N.E.
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This boat is so great that I immediately purchased another to have for family and friends. Dick's had the best selection and price and made it so easy to get exactly what I wanted.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Be wary of Old Town kayaks

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCalifornia
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
After reading several good reviews I purchased two of the trip 10 anglers. Big mistake. One came without the seat bungee draw ball; the other came with a broken drain plug, and both ends and hull scratched and cut up. How they got out of the factory this way is unbelievable. When picked up at store they were wrapped in plastic...my mistake was not cutting them out before accepting them. Once I got them home, 30 miles from the store, I found the problems. I contacted the old town rep and explained the problems, after multiple emails, sent pictures the rep agreed to send the broken and missing parts. He chooses to totally ignore the scratches and cuts in the hull....and will not even comment. I then sent an email to johnson outdoors board of directors, the parent company, and they have not responded at all. 3 weeks later I have yet to even receive the broken and missing parts. I am buying 4 more kayaks, which will I assure you will not be manufactured or sold by Johnson outdoors. I will be dumping these two old towns as well. If a product has cuts and scratches, broken and missing parts, I want to be responsible. New products should come in pristine order. Old Town doesn't seem to care about product quality and customer service.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+11points
19of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boat

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFort Walton Beach, FL
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I'm not an angler. I'm a photographer and was looking for a boat to get out on the water with my camera gear. This one really fit the bill. The cockpit size and configuration is perfect for the waterproof cases I carry my gear in and the large opening makes it easy to lean forward to stow and retrieve gear at the bow. I really like the dry hatch although I wouldn't trust it by itself to keep critical equipment dry. I have seen a bit of water in it after washing down the boat with a garden hose. But more than adequate for carrying the other personal items I take along. Right now I'm working on creating a couple of supports out of 1 1/4" PVC that will insert in to the rod holders that I can then lash other larger items to, like my tripod. The seat is very comfortable. The boat handles and tracks well. It is very stable. It is definitely at it's best on calm, smooth water. If the current, wind and waves kick up you'll get a bit of a workout, depending on your heading. Like the previous poster, I have found that the supposedly heavy duty plastic tends to scratch and gouge pretty easily. I've only had mine out 4 or 5 times and there are already some pretty deep gouges in the bottom from contact with rocks or shells near my launch point. No big deal as long as they don't come close to penetrating. I figure this is made to be used in the outdoors and evidence of encounters with nature is the price you pay. Like others I also found the drain plug to be in a curious and less than optimal position. But overall I'm very happy with the purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Delicate

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromVermont
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I purchased two of these kayaks. I am 6'1 and 250lbs. It fits me great and it is a joy to use. However, I am really surprised at how easily these boats get damaged. It's not just scratches, either. It gets abraided. If the kayak rubs against anything, the side of the trailer you are hauling it in, for instance, the area gets sort of "furry". The material is very soft; it feels almost like wax. I have a kayak from a job lot type store that was half the cost and its been through amazing abuse and it has held up remarkably well. These will need periodic touch up with fiberglass resin or something. Just something to keep in mind.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old town vs field and stream kayak

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromJacksonville nc
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
You can't go wrong with this kayak! It has all the bells and whistles. My neighbor owns the field and stream eagle run and I have been using it for a long time but I wanted to try the old town so I purchased it and it is totally worth the money! You can't go wrong with a old town.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kayak !!!!!!!!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromArkansas
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This kayak works perfectly for lake fishing. It's lightweight so I can haul it from my truck to the water easily. It paddles easily. I have the drywell full with everything I might need out on the water. The paddle holder and rod holders are great. It's comfortable. Just an overall great boat.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Boat

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Georgia
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought two of these because I'm a big guy 6-4 260 and the reviews sold me. My wife and I just got back from our first outing on the river and it was awesome. I was a little concerned at first but 5 minutes in they were gone. We went up stream 3 miles, then floated back past our landing and went back up again to get out, these boats were stable and reasonably fast for not being a $1200 boat. I'm really glad I didn't spend $2000 on two boats when the $900 I spent on this pair was all we needed. the seat is easily adjustable and very comfortable compared to some others I've been in. I thought about another review where they said they would get a stadium cushion, I thought about that and will dry it when I go on an all day trip.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well suited for a big man with long legs

PostedMay 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorthern Indiana
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
My hubbs and I received two fishing kayaks as gifts for xmas and were excited to finally get them out on the water after a very long and harsh winter. He is a tall man at 6'5" and was not able to extend his legs in the 12ft Excursion, his knees felt like they were at his chin! The opening was too big for me at much closer to 5' tall.
We loaded them up and took them back to our local Dick's store and the manager was very helpful in finding him the perfect fishing kayak that fit him well and kindly exchanged them.
The Old Town Angler has a nice large opening for his legs and a very comfortable seat with great back support for long days on the water. Molded from solid, quality material and has a large, locking dry well at the rear. It maneuvers easily and he is very pleased with it! Thanks to Dick's for the knowledgeable manager who helped him choose this great kayak. We are looking forward to years of adventures in our awesome new water rides!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST BEST BEST BEST

PostedApril 21, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPoconos, Pa
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Okay
I've bought this kayak I would say the beginning of last year of 2013 and I love it. I used it in lakes, big rivers etc. and it comfortable. There's only one thing that I've noticed but isn't so bad. When paddling fast or slow, I noticed it would pull a little to the right but again that's not a big deal with me. All my life I wanted to buy a boat but with this you can go in small streams and hard to go places that you can't do with a boat. I've picked the camouflage color which I don't see them having anymore on the site but with this kayak any color would do. DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS............. YOU ARE GOING TO LOVE IT. Having 2nd thoughts?, Youtube it and you will see how much fun it is.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stable, Thk Hull, Nice Angle Kayak

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCranston, RI
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this kayak as my first dip into the kayak world. I paid about $500 for it at Dicks Sporting Goods at the time. The rear compartment does a good job of keeping water out which is nice when you need to have a change of dry clothes or whatever you need to keep dry. I keep my wallet in a waterproof container just to be extra safe. I bought another kayak that was about $200 less that doesn't have the rear pole holders, the front tray for holding your lures, or a compartment that keeps water out and has a thinner hull for my daughter. I like them both. The cheaper one cuts through the water a little faster when paddling, but sits slightly lower to the water line than the Old Town. So if you're in riffled water a lot, you might want the Old Town Trip 10 Angler and even purchase a skirt if you get in a little more serious water. If you're in open water or lakes, the kayak will do the job, but you're going to work at it paddling harder than you would with a longer Kayak. And it becomes unreasonable if there's windy chop. The smaller length makes it ideal for turning on small rivers. It's stable in the riffles or chop, but I wouldn't do any serious rapids in it, certainly not without a full spray skirt.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice boat for the money

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBattle Ground WA
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I sold my wilderness systems tsunami 120 and bought this boat. It has a ton of leg room and serves its purpose for fishing and is built really well. It's seat is comfortable because of the adjustable back. Only been out 3 times on it but so far I like the way it tracks on a lake.It is well worth the money.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Yak for your money

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromYork, Pa.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I'm 65 years old and was looking for a kayak I could handle by myself. This fit the bill perfectly. It's light enough to carry and very easy to get in and out of. I have had surgery on both shoulders and one knee replaced and still have no problem with handling it. I can fish out of it for 10 to 12 hours a day and be comfortable in the stock seat that it has. I did buy a pair of seal skin socks which are waterproof so I can stand in the water for easier entering and exiting the yak. It tracks well and is roomy enough for a tackle box right in front of you for easy access. I would highly recommend this yak for anyone.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Go To Day Fishing River Kayak.

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromms
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have two Old Town Trip 10 kayaks, Pungo 120, Plamilco 120, Perception Conduit 13, Perception Rhythm 11, Emotion Fisherman 14, Pelican Castaway 116 DLX, Field and Stream River Run 12, Old Town Vapor 10, Plamilco 120, The Trip is my go to kayak for day fishing on this old river. It is easy to get into and out. It is very stable, tracks good with enough speed for the river. It handles good around the fallen trees and goes over shallow places with ease. I can even go up river with high water conditions with ease. Some of the other kayaks I have can do the same but not for the price of the Trip. It is a great kayak for the price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fished it very hard for 3 years now.

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBeverly MA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
This is a very versatile platform for small lakes, ponds, rivers etc. I wouldn't recommend it for larger bodies of water, but it's not designed for that. Very stable roomy and comfortable. It's very easy to maneuver and you can get it very shallow and through a lot of muck. I've been in kayaks that track better, but for it's size and design I have no problems with it.
If you don't have a truck or can't afford better options, I highly recommend this as an alternative. You can carry it on your shoulder and strap it on top of a Corolla with a couple pool noodles and some tie-downs. You can take this thing anywhere with minimal effort.
The trolley system only extends about half the length of the hull from the stern to the cockpit. I modified it to go all the way to the bow and installed a through-hull transducer for my finder. It's pretty sweet. The seat is comfortable, I fish it in it sometimes for up to 12 hours. It starts to get uncomfortable after that long, but so would any seat. you can easily bring everything you need for a day on the water, plus some extra. After 3 years of fishing in it a few times a week, nothing has broken and it performs admirably. I can't imagine a more versatile, easy way to get on the water for the price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+33points
36of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hiii

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromxxxx
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is a very good product ......I am recommending this..........................
.........................................................................
........................................................................................
..................................................................................................
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-19points
4of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDover,Pa
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have always used a canoe to paddle in but to go by myself with a 16 foot canoe is a little too much. My son bought a couple Kayaks so I tried one of his. I feel in love with it the first time. So on 9/11 this year I went out to Dick's and bought the Trip 10 Angler. I read a lot of reviews on various sites and all the reviews were very good on this Kayak. I wanted a Kayak that was set up for fishing. I only wish it had a Scotty Rod Holder in the front of the cockpit. But that can be easily fixed. I found it was really easy to use and very stable. I'm a big boy at 5'8'' and 275# I fit in it very well and have plenty of room. I had a little trouble with it tracking though but after a while I figured out it was me. I have a artificial shoulder and found I was paddling harder with my good arm. After a little correction with that I was doing well. I would recommend this Kayak to anyone. I really enjoy it. Oh for the canoe it will still be used but it will have a much easier life.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Old Town Trip 10 Angler Deluxe Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boat it is.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSpringfield, Ma.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I picked this craft took it out the other day for the maiden voyage with some fishing gear and was very happy with it. A canoe has been my primary craft but the 17' aluminum is a little tough to handle alone loading and to paddle in windy conditions so now its only used when going with someone. The kayak got me upstream against a good current I could not have made it with the canoe alone then a larger area against a brisk wind was no problem. This fits the bill for all the areas off the beaten path I always want to try out for that couple hour after supper trip, toss it on the vehicle and good to go.
Comfort in any small craft after a few hours is a problem but I did put my feet up on deck and put the seat back for a change and it worked like fishing from a beach chair.
I do need a little practice entering and exiting the craft to make it look good for onlookers so a unused beach area will be used to perfect this skill.
The price was right along with the weight, looks and stability it gets you off the boring shore fishing I always did not like without the hassle that larger boats create.
Sorry I did not get it earlier this season and the only thing wrong with it is the cup holder, not deep enough and my arms are to short to reach it so I will need to rig up something more convenient, no big deal.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>