Customer reviews for TaylorMade TaylorMade R1 Driver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

TaylorMade TaylorMade R1 Driver

Maximize your distance from the tee by using the R1 Driver. 7 standard and 5 upright loft options, along with 7 face angle options, allow you to meticulously customize this club to fit your swing. Adjustable shot-shaping weights promote neutral flight or distance-enhancing draw that provides golfers with trajectory options. The thick-thin crown with a lower and forward Center of Gravity gives the TaylorMade® Men's R1 Driver incredible power.
Overall rating:
4.605 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (253 reviews)
5 Stars
(197)
4 Stars
(34)
3 Stars
(8)
2 Stars
(6)
1 Star
(8)
23525393%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Review 1 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ireally enjoy hitting this club.

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Customer avatar
papabill
fromholland, oh
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
So far I have found the club to live up to all advertising claims. Although I have only played a few rounds I find I have increased distance and consistent ball flight.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

little heavy head

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
justpar
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
didn't have the black one available. the sale person was very helpful.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this driver

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Eric
fromWest Virginia
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Finally graduated to a new driver from the hand-me-down my older brother gave me many years ago. What a club to move up to. Still tweaking it a little here and there, but hitting way better than before. Only problem I have with it is that it's almost too pretty to hit with.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

its great to use

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
mgase85
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
i just use mine today. i was driving 280 yards. i improved my yards by 60 yards more
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BELIEVE

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Chet
fromPittsburgh Pa
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I am in my 50's with a swing speed in low 90's and was driving 235 yards on a good day with my R9 taylormade driver. Purchased R1 driver at a great sale price and not a single regret. I was usually 10 yards behind my buddies but no more. I hit my first 300 yard drive and driving the ball consistantly 50 yards further. My mishits go the distance of my good drives with my old R9. Golf is fun again.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great club, great price.

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
ThatDamnSasquatch
fromWest Chester, OH
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Played with this new driver thee other day. Took me some getting used to, but once I got it locked on I was hitting the ball pretty much straight every time. The adjustments on the driver are very easy to do with the included Taylormade torque wrench. The price I got it at was unbelievable too... $150 dollars for an originally priced $400 driver was a deal I couldn't pass up.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good choice

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Hacker54
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I had searched various stores for this product looking for the best price. Most locations were selling it anywhere from $250 to $300. Dick's price was $200 and at the time of my purchase they also had a sale with free shipping. I ended up getting this product from them for about half of what I saw from other stores. The product is great and does as advertised, (adjust both loft and for fade/draw). I received the product within 3 days of purchase, and should I be in the market again for a club like this I will definitely look at Dick's.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Immediate Imporvement

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave M
fromMillville, NJ
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I've had a bad slice for some time and had trouble getting the ball to travel at a decent angle. I turned it in 3 degrees...cranked-in 12 degrees of loft...moved the weight to the toe. That immediately helped my drive straighten with improved elevation and the addition of 20-30 yards.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The R1 is a winner!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Nole1
fromFl
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
After playing the R7 Superquad for four years figured it was time to upgrade. Got the club at a great price during the Fathers Day sale. After three rounds have definitely picked up yardage. Not quite as straight as my R7 but getting better each time. Zach the golf pro at Dicks in Panama City was great at helping me pick this driver out and checking me out on the computer.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Driver

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Mr. Opey
fromWashington D.C.
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I upgraded from a Nike SUMO driver to this. I can't say how pleased I have been. I know my old driver was outdated by several years.
The club makes very smooth contact with the ball and the sound is great!
I have not changed the weights in the head of the club, nor do I plan to, so I cannot comment on that.
Highly recommend this Driver!
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome driver!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Vern
I recommend this product.
Fixed my slice/fade and added 10-20 yards on my drives. Sounds too good to be true but it's not. It's more forgiving on mishits and sounds amazing when you hit it perfect. I should have upgraded sooner! Can't beat the price!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LONG

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
kda1024
I recommend this product.
Easy to use adjustments..great length and shot shapes..excellent versatility
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice!

PostedJune 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Weekend Scratcher
fromColumbus, Ga
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I easily get 20-30 more yards out of my drives with this club. It took a few trips to the range to get it setup to my swing, but now it's just right. I would definitely recommend it!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice club

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Jimmy
fromShreveport, LA
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
For some reason I have problems hitting Taylor Made Drivers; slice. Having said that this is a very nice club. It is weighted nice and feels awesome when you swing. The drives I hit straight are nice and long.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love Taylormade Clubs. The R1 is no Exception

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Bogeybob
fromWoodburn, Or.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
A friend of mine let me try his R1 while we were playing golf. I liked the feel of the club so I bought one. I have only played 3 rounds with the R1. I started out where my 2.0 Superfast was set with the R1 which was 9.5 and 1 degree closed. I tend to swing back a little flat so those shots went right but still in play. On plane swings produced the longest drives I have ever hit and straight. To me the R1 feels powerful and lively. I compared the R1 to the new SLDR and the SLDR felt dead to me and was not a good fit for me.
The sales staff at Dick's was awesome. They held the last stiff flex R1 till I got there and taped it up so I could test it since the one I tested on the golf course was a regular flex.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

no pop

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Happy father
fromtexas
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
This club has no pop. I was hitting my 3 hybrid longer than itjQuery111007814791770651937_1403647496710? Maybe just a dud but didn't wanna take the chance on a second one. So I returned it and bought a cobra bio cell. The sound of this club is awful also.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Customer service award deserved

PostedJune 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Kamikaze
fromFlorence, AL
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Purchased this club at the local store. Was assisted by Trey. The driver had a different price from the previous day he adjusted this. A week later I am in looking at fairway woods and I see that there is the 25% off sale going on for this club. Again Trey was there and had the sale refunded and resold to me at the lower price. Its not that I do not see this at other stores it is the speed and concern he showed in getting me the lowly customer satisfied. Of course I bought the 3 wood.
As for this driver. I had used a friends R11 and was amazed at how well it hit. The R1 was on sale at a lower price and was supposedly the upgrade to the 11R. I am overall quite pleased with it, I just need to tweek it some more, as well as my swing to get it where I am getting the same results as I was with the 11R.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

many adjustment to get cought up in

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
9 level fusion
fromSouth Bend, In.
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Needed a new driver and for the cost I couldnt pass it up. I also needed a adjustable driver because I have multiple levels fused in my back and my swing is totally different now. From the start I go caught up in trying to many set ups which landed me up back at the original factory set up and working from there now. Overall happy with the driver, just wish Dicks would of put the black colored ones on sales right away because I would have choosen the black colored one instead of white. Now the black colored ones are on sale for the same price. Disappointed in Dicks about the color issue.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Jim44
fromFort Worth , Tx.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
If sound is important, this is not club, has loud ping sound. I have been unable to adjust so as to hit with consistency. Plan to return for some type credit.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for TaylorMade R1 Driver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A definite upgrade

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
JAG
fromTexas
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This driver is a slight step up from the R11 and R11s drivers. The biggest difference is in the additional adjustable degree settings. The heads of all three drivers are similar in shape and size. The additional settings provide more options to dial in for optimal performance. Plan to spend some time on the range and course to find the best set up. It took me three rounds to find my settings.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>