Customer reviews for Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels

Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels

The Abu Garcia® Cardinal® SX Spinning Reel is designed to perform season after season. With 5 ball bearings and 1 roller bearing, this reel has a smooth retrieve and a lightweight graphite body and rotor that are easy to handle. The machined aluminum spool provides extra power without added weight, and the slow oscillation provides even line lay for all types of line.
Overall rating:
4.379 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
242983%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Review 1 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWisconsin
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great reel for the price! Shopped around and Dicks had the best price!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The reel cast great with 4lb test.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I brought one of these reels last year because it was on sale. My plan was to use the reel for crappie and white bass. I hit a 4lb saugeye while wishing for crappie one day. To my surprise, the reel held up well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap reel for great quality

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
I bought this primarily for my ugly stik and it works great. I use this reel for trout fishing but it could be used for any fresh water fish. I really like it and recommend it for anyone. With 6 ball bearings it makes it reel real smooth.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPennsylvania
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have two of them and there both perfect!! Very smooth!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of line,money,and time

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromillinois
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It was a waste of money every time i casted it would birds nest my line it terrible i'm better of going with shakes spear please listen to my review don't waste your money please
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mediocre.

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFL
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I'm a big time Abu Garcia fan, but this reel was mediocre at best. Bought it about a month ago and I'm already replacing it. Has a very "plastic-ie" feel to it. The arm that connects the reel seat to the main body of the reel and crank bend (more like twist) when fighting big fish. And when they say this is a freshwater reel, they mean it. Fished two times in saltwater and the main shaft started building up rust (yes, i wash my equipment when im done saltwater fishing). The shiny (i guess you can call it [wanna-be] chrome) parts already started flaking off on the bottom and the bail arms. It does have a smooth drag and good brake system, but that's really the only upside to this reel. Maybe if you're fishing for blue gills, bream, etc, it can get the job done.However, i won't give this reel a poor rating because i suppose its not really the right reel for the situation.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product Abu Garcia SX

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPompano, Fl,
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abu Garcia makes a good prooduct. Smooth reeling, long casting, and effortless. Almost as good as Pfleuger reels. Equal to reels costing 2 to 3 times as much. I have several of these reels and they all perform well. Great buy for the money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good reel

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromManhattan, KS.
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When I went to Dick's and decided to buy a rod, I knew exactly what I wanted. My dad has a similar Abu Garcia reel and I preforms very well. I wasn't disappointed, It works very well, I even caught a 20' wiper with it in the rapids, and it worked flawlessly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent UL reel

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBerwyn, Illinois
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Abu Garcia continues to put out a great reel at a great price, made very well as all Cardinal series Spinning Reels.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome reel

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromnew york
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product and a great value. Reel has worked flawlessly and has a very smooth drag. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this reel to anyone.....
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNY
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Really a plastic, cheapo reconstruct from art deco. I threw in the lake after about ten costs. Not like the old steel Abu Garcias.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reel

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDe Pere, Wisconsin
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel so far. Had no problems in many different fishing trips.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great spinning reel

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSan Antonio, TX
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paired with a new St. Croix Triumph rood. Works great. Smooth casting and retreival.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Value - Excellent Reel.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromUtah
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This reel has a great feel and is smooth. The bail is obviously more substantial than most. - strong construction and reliable. In fact, the bail is a major reason I bought a small size (05) to use for ice fishing ( I already owned a SX20).
There are touches such as the design of the spool lip on the SX20 for smoother, longer casts, the slow oscillating line winding, and a reasonably fast retrieve ratio.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMexico NY
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Works well for what I use it for. Easy casting and smooth reeling.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel!

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For a $40 reel with a $10 mail-in rebate, you can't get a better reel than this one. It works great for catching small and large fish and is very smooth. I just purchased a second one for my other rod.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Reel

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGraham, NC
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb reel for the price. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Cast and retrieve are very smooth.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia Cardinal - economy & performance

PostedJune 18, 2013
Customer avatar
frommonroeville
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
as a tournament angler on a budget, i'm always looking for value at a good price without sacrificing performance along the way; the Cardinal series of spinning reels gives me that and then some! light weight and a smooth drag are just two of the features they offer at a VERY reasonable price coupled with outstanding performance and durability!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Bucks

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromdanbury, CT
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Reel Is Great! Ultra smooth, far casting, just everything about this reel is great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels Great for the Money

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOcean Springs, MS
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light weight, excellent smooth action. Durable. I have pulled in some amazing fish with this Reel. Paired with a Cherrywood rod with excellent flex to it. Definitly recommend for guys fishing on a budget!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>