Customer reviews for Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels

Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels

The Abu Garcia® Cardinal® SX Spinning Reel is designed to perform season after season. With 5 ball bearings and 1 roller bearing, this reel has a smooth retrieve and a lightweight graphite body and rotor that are easy to handle. The machined aluminum spool provides extra power without added weight, and the slow oscillation provides even line lay for all types of line.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (39 reviews)
5 Stars
(25)
4 Stars
(8)
3 Stars
(4)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(2)
333985%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Review 1 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Abu garcia SX reel

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSC
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I was needing a reel for a rod I had an picked up this Abu Garcia. It's a great reel for the price!
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
I recommend this product.
I purchased a Garcia spinning reel in 1965 and am still using it today. It is showing some wear however, so I bought this Abu Garcia. I love it. The action is smooth as silk and I love the instant anti-reverse.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing reel

PostedSeptember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromsouth carolina
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have had my Cardinal reel for a good while now and I love it, its my go to reel for anything and can take a hit ive dropped it on land and water and it works just fine.Its even great for saltwater fishing. but I use mine with 14 pound nano fil line. it cast so smooth and far and retrieve so smooth. I love it I deffinetly going to get another one soon maybe bigger I have the small one. But I deffinetly recommend this reel to anyone.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good bang for your buck

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMami, fl
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Handles braid well.good drag and a smooth retrieve. Only issue is the handle works itself a little loose. Not bad but need to check on it occasionally. Ive owned over half a dozen Abu spinning reels, all under the 40 dollar range. This one may be the best one yet. Cant stop fishing, wont stop fishing !
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it to the max yo!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromScranton nepa
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I actually love this reel! I dropped it in the water already and it actually still works! It casts super fast and far, even with small weight on it. . reliable, sturdy, great price
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great reel

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This reel has worked flawlessly for me matched with one of the Fenwick eagle rods.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always priced right

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOrient, oh
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Abu reels have always been a favorite of mine. As good if not better than the higher priced reels.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good value

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromflorence ky
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
not as quiet as other reels I have in same price range. Purchased cardinal because have owned before and lasted and took abuse.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

wife loves it

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCT
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Lightweight and smooth action. Can't give it 5 stars until I see how it holds up.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

so so

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
I do not recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. ... To much plastic on this real.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great reel

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWisconsin
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Great reel for the price! Shopped around and Dicks had the best price!!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The reel cast great with 4lb test.

PostedApril 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I brought one of these reels last year because it was on sale. My plan was to use the reel for crappie and white bass. I hit a 4lb saugeye while wishing for crappie one day. To my surprise, the reel held up well.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap reel for great quality

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
AgeUnder 18
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this primarily for my ugly stik and it works great. I use this reel for trout fishing but it could be used for any fresh water fish. I really like it and recommend it for anyone. With 6 ball bearings it makes it reel real smooth.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPennsylvania
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Have two of them and there both perfect!! Very smooth!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of line,money,and time

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromillinois
AgeUnder 18
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
It was a waste of money every time i casted it would birds nest my line it terrible i'm better of going with shakes spear please listen to my review don't waste your money please
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-17points
1of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Mediocre.

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFL
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I'm a big time Abu Garcia fan, but this reel was mediocre at best. Bought it about a month ago and I'm already replacing it. Has a very "plastic-ie" feel to it. The arm that connects the reel seat to the main body of the reel and crank bend (more like twist) when fighting big fish. And when they say this is a freshwater reel, they mean it. Fished two times in saltwater and the main shaft started building up rust (yes, i wash my equipment when im done saltwater fishing). The shiny (i guess you can call it [wanna-be] chrome) parts already started flaking off on the bottom and the bail arms. It does have a smooth drag and good brake system, but that's really the only upside to this reel. Maybe if you're fishing for blue gills, bream, etc, it can get the job done.However, i won't give this reel a poor rating because i suppose its not really the right reel for the situation.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product Abu Garcia SX

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPompano, Fl,
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Abu Garcia makes a good prooduct. Smooth reeling, long casting, and effortless. Almost as good as Pfleuger reels. Equal to reels costing 2 to 3 times as much. I have several of these reels and they all perform well. Great buy for the money.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good reel

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromManhattan, KS.
AgeUnder 18
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
When I went to Dick's and decided to buy a rod, I knew exactly what I wanted. My dad has a similar Abu Garcia reel and I preforms very well. I wasn't disappointed, It works very well, I even caught a 20' wiper with it in the rapids, and it worked flawlessly.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent UL reel

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBerwyn, Illinois
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Abu Garcia continues to put out a great reel at a great price, made very well as all Cardinal series Spinning Reels.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abu Garcia Cardinal SX Spinning Reels
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome reel

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromnew york
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Great product and a great value. Reel has worked flawlessly and has a very smooth drag. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this reel to anyone.....
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>