Customer reviews for Nikon Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Nikon Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black

Calculate the exact distance to your target with the Nikon® Prostaff 3 Laser Range Finder. It features 6x21 multicoated optics for bright and crisp viewing. This range finder allows you to shoot distances up to 550 yards. It is easy to use with single button operation and the LCD display and large ocular are easy to view. This rangefinder is compact, waterproof, fog proof and a great choice for many hunting seasons to come.
Overall rating:
3.842 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (19 reviews)
5 Stars
(12)
4 Stars
(2)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(5)
141974%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Review 1 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

May want to get the warranty if you purchase

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
outdrsmn
fromMaryland
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this range finder based upon my neighbor really enjoying his for bow hunting. So I decided to purchase one and I admit it was nice for the 2-3 months I used it. Well this season I took it to the field to test it out while I was deer hunting with my rifle. The range finder could never get the range of any deer or turkey past 50 yards. I even tried trees or other objects and it was very inconsistent!!!!
Took the time to call the store to return and they have a 1 yr. return policy. Well so does Nikon. Just in case they would have mercy on my, I mailed it to Nikon anyway $25 bucks. They get the unit in and indicate that is will cost $177 bucks for repair...LOL. So long story short, if they don't replace it then I won't be purchasing another Nikon. I have better luck with higher end optics and them standging behind their products.
FYI...come to findout my neighbor did send his back a couple of times.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very usefull

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
chuckers
fromemden ill
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
this product is very easy to use and works very well i recommend it to anyone
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as it Should

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Buck Fever
fromNJ
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The ProStaff 3 is a great product. It works as it should by giving accurate and clear yardage. I was in the market for a good over all rangefinder and did not want to break the bank. I do various types of hunting from; archery to rife. I was looking at the archers one with the ID feature but it only extended to 100 yards and thats great for archery as it is intended for but what do you do when you want to rife hunt?
So I felt that I could like with out the ID and increase my yardage. I was very satisfied with the results. The first day I was out I used it on a few deer and it worked great. In the morning I had a doe come in at 156 yards and it was a perfect opportunity to test it out. It worked perfectly. Later that evening I had a wide 10 come in at 50 yards but it was to thick to even take a shot at the buck for all I saw was his rack. But the ProStaff 3 was able to see the deer and range it for me if he in fact did poke his head out.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good range finder

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
JIMBOB27
fromNJ
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
bought a halo first, broke after a week, took back to dicks and got the nikon.
nikon much better product, bigger number display, clearer , and good on batteries so far
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Product

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
GP100
fromRI
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I picked up the Prostaff 3 Rangefinder because its a quality product that has all of the features I need for the kind of hunting I do. I typically bowhunt on relatively flat terrain from a tree stand. When you do the math, at bowhunting distances you aren't buying much more accuracy with a rangefinder with ARC technology so why pay more for it? This rangefinder does a great job at distances that would serve me well even for rifle hunting.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very accurate and good price

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Darren
fromWV
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I couldn't be more pleased. The prostaff 3 is extremely clear, very accurate and returns yardage quickly.Seems to be well built and durable. The battery also has a long life. This is defiantly the quality you expect from Nikon.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it is supposed to do.

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
washtub
fromBelleville, KS
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I have used Nikon cameras for years and was pleased to find a rangefinder built by them that would do what I needed done at a price that wasn't like buying a new car. Turkey season starts in a couple of weeks but the field testing I have done so far has made me confident that it will work should a turkey wander by.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice rangefinder; great value for the money!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Matt S
fromPittsburgh
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I got this at DSG the other day and it is my first rangefinder. I was looking for something of good quality mainly for archery hunting, as well as rifle hunting and shooting my bow on the range, without spending $200+. This unit is perfect for that! It is very light, sturdy, accurate yardage, has an excellent crystal-clear display, and easy to read yardage display. I will see how it holds up over time, but it has been a very good rangefinder for a good price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product, Great Value

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Casual
fromSwansboro, NC
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I am very pleased with this rangefinder. It will fit into a large shirt pocket with ease. Simple to operate and easy to read.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Surprised

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
JFM
fromFreedom, PA
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Having used survey grade, expensive, laser distance meters for years I was surprised at the accuracy and ease of use of this product. I bought it as an aid in setting the correct elevation on my rifle scopes when shooting at unknown distances. So far it has worked very effectively for my needs. It far exceeds estimations of distances made using the scope cross hair.
Pros: Simple use, bold easy to read screen, light weight, accurate on measured test distances, good carry case, manufactured by a company known for it's optics and digital photography products, and in my case, a Nikon price incentive and free shipping from Dick's had it in my hands in 2 days.
Con: As with any telescopic device, it is difficult to hold steady and the effect increases drastically with distance and smaller targets. To trigger the measure button amplifies the effect. Every push on the button throws the aim off target and gives varying distances. A distance of +/- 200yds on a sitting black lab was difficult. Needed a solid support to get a consistent distance. A touch sensitive button to trigger the measurement instead of pushing down and releasing a button would a great improvement to this unit.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works better than I thought it would

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
BCON84
fromRochester, NY
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This is my first rangefinder and I am pretty impressed by it. The yardage is pretty good the magnification is excellent. I bought this for hunting to plan out my attack on the game. Only down side is that you have to keep the rangefinder really steady to get a read, I have had to take a couple different looks to see what the yards were but other than that I give this a 5* rating
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for golf

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
chip914
fromPhoenix
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
This rangefinder should not be purchased if it is for golf use. It works well on large objects only...not flags
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nikon Quality

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Customer avatar
first knight
fromspokane, wa
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This Nikon Rangefinder works great for determining distance for target shooting. I tried at shorter distances like 40 feet to check to see how accurate it is and found it was off a couple of feet but for my purpose it is perfect for the money spent.
I didn't want to spend anymore money for a more accurate one. I also can understand the issues if trying to use while golfing as that is not the intended purpose of the 3 lazer unit.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice unit

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
jpatcher
fromnc
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Well designed and built unit light and compact and easy to carry bought as a gift and it was a big hit
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
HuntinJeep
fromQueen Creek,AZ
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This is a great range finder for the price. Very easy to use. It even comes with a belt case.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
salas503
fromHillsboro OR
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This unit gets all the qualitys of the higher end models but at a good price... ivy not used it for hunting yet. but it worked bountifully at shooting 3D archery!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It didn't work for me!

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Richard7
fromGreenville, SC
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
This product was sold to me as a distance finder for golf. Anything out of 100 yds and the product's crosshairs could not zero in on the flag. It did zero in on any trees in background but that was of no help. It just didn't work for the reason I purchased it therefore I returned it for a refund.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-16points
4of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a fan

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
DD
fromNY
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
This product arrived in a manilla envelope (not a factory box). It was very hard to get an accurate reading. It appears I was 183 yards from everything. I am returning it today.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nikon Prostaff 3 Laser Rangefinder - Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Simply doesn't work

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
rob81
fromNew Mexico
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
I bought this rangefinder 2 weeks ago for my recent elk hunt and it worked great in my driveway at home. I ranged cars, houses, trees and light polls from 100yds to 490yds.It worked great for anything over 100yds, it didn't pick up items less than 100yds which isn't an issue. However, once I got out into the field to hunt it wouldn't register the ranges from any items; rocks, cars, trees or elk. It's in the mail going back and I'm hoping for an exchange. I'll give this rangefinder another chance in hopes that it was simply a malfunction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.