Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe

Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe

Obtain peace of mind when you secure your firearms in the Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe. The safe can hold up to 16 long guns and has a fully convertible, carpeted interior that can be customized to accommodate your gun collection. The safe has a 3 number combination lock and a drill-resistant steel plate behind the lock to add security. The Field & Stream® Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe is ETL verified for 30 minutes at 1400 degree Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
262893%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Review 1 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gun Safe won't open after less than two years! Don't buy it!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Lable 1 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this safe from Dick's about a year and a half ago. Now it won't open after regular use. I have to spend $300 to have the safe drilled to get my guns out and I can't get any response from the manufacturer to honor the warranty. Now I have to buy another safe and I will not buy another Field & Stream or Stack-on product after this experience.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Buy

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIllinois
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This safe is a great buy. Bought it at Vernon Hills store. Ken was very helpful and knowledgeable about the product. With friends and family discount coupon and taking out a Dick's charge paid just $405 for it. Fit is very good and the shelves fit level. I was going to get the 10 or 14 gun safe but this one affords more room and fits my needs perfectly. With three guys it was fairly easy to move. Picked it up myself and brought it in the house. Great safe for the money spent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gary - SAT

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poor 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just like everyone else said, good safe for the price but the shelves are not level
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Now Have 2.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a good fire safe that Dicks will promote from time to time at a great price. Yes, the shelves sometimes are not perfectly level, but, we humans are creative, get something like washers and ducttape and put it on the bottom of the shelf! You can do what i did in 5 minutes to the couple of them. Its a very simple shelving system. It's heavy, the combo works like the one you had for your locker in high school, always works. It comes with anchoring bolts to screw it to the floor. We use them for more than ammo rifles and pistols. The door is heavy and secure. Only issue with me is, why not make these in the USA? Got to be expensive to ship these from China.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great buy

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGrayson GA.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
its a great price easy to put where you want it. the inside is easy to put the shelfs where you want them. good for guns and papers you need safe. the person at dicks sporting good was a great help when showing it to us.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great safe

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWV
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I originally bought the 10 gun safe since i only had 4 long guns and a few pistols. i couldn't get my two shotguns and two rifles to sit in it correctly so i brought it back a week later and got this. so far i'm very pleased with it. almost the same weight, 5" deeper, and 5" wider. everything fits perfect. you can also have something hang off the shelf a little and it won't hit the door. something you can't do with the 10 gun. save the extra $100 and get this on over the 10 gun. you won't be disappointed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Safe

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBoston, MA
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
I was looking for a decent safe but didn't want to spend a large sum of money. It's not your top of the line safe, but it will do the job. It does exactly what I need it to do. The only issue I had was the same as some other previous reviews had mentioned. The shelves are a little uneven. It is a heavy safe as well. Make sure you have some friends around to help you out. Don't try to move it up stairs by yourself like I did. All in all, I'm happy with this purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

New Safe

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Lable 1 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poor 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Got it home, unpacked it, loved it until I had the same issues Chuck stated: the shelves are not level and never will be as the runners on the sides aren't. The shelves them self are also cut too small. about 1/4" room on both sides. A .22 shell would fall through. All and all it's a safe and will do the job. It's heavy as all get out, and was a trip getting it up some stairs. You either have shelves on one side, cutting your gun holding to 8 or you don't use the shelves and you can fit 16.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shelves are out of level.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Lable 1 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just bought a Field and Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe. After getting it home into the house and tucked neatly into a closet, I began to set the shelves in place. The floor is level, the top of the safe is level, but the shelves will not become level. The standards that were installed were out of level with one another by 3/8 of an inch across the 10.25 inches left to right for all shelves. Contacted F&S/Stack On via their site email - 2 weeks no reply - disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Safe

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was very pleased to find a moderately-sized fire safe for such a decent price. This safe has good fit and finish (not to a level I'd call refined, which I'd expect of higher-priced safes) for its price point, which makes it an excellent value. I opted for the white glove delivery service, and aside from a very broad time frame, the service was great. I'd like it if Dick's would list more detailed dimensions. I needed the safe to fit into a small area, so the difference between carcass depth and overall depth (including the combination dial) makes a difference. I had to hope for the best, since no one at Dick's could tell me what the listed "depth" pertained to, even suggesting that the dimension for depth referred to interior depth. Packaging dimensions and weight would be great, too, since it can make a difference for delivery.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are very happy with our safe purchase. Also has room for personal papers and items.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCoumbus, Ohio
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a great value and is exactly what I needed . A little heavier than I expected, I wouldn't suggest moving it down stairs by yourself like I did.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Be Frugal

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought mine on sale and recieved a discount for buying the floor model. Was everything I expected. Only wish door would shut a little tighter. I know that the "fire tape" expands for protection during a fire, but then again its not a refrigerator so I should be ok with a little door movement. My combo works every time. I should have bought one sooner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNorman, OK
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent safe for my needs. Delivered and carefully placed in a designated location.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Strong Safe, Very customizable.

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This safe is sturdy and allows you to bolt it to a wall for added security. The shelves are modular and can be configured for your liking or removed to add additional rifles. The only drawback is a combination lock that seems a bit finicky and won't always accept the combination. Overall it is a great product at a good price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Safe

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHattiesburg, MS
Lable 1 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased a floor sample. I am very happy with the product. The Assistant Manger Cristy was very helpful with the purchase. I have purchase a couple of items from Dicks and am happy with the items I purchased.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-8points
4of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good choice

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromKent, OH
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Lable 1 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poor 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had been shopping gun safe's for sometime; I needed to have something secure and spacious but not over sized.
I chose this particular model for it's appearance and space; it proved to be just what I needed.
Quality is good for the price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price, spacious interior, great fire proof rating.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromChicago, Il.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great safe for the money. I looked and looked. The space I'd allotted for a safe was not very big, and yet I needed something with good amount of interior room, as well as good theft and fire protection. Wanted a safe with an electronic lock, but the 3 number dial is very easy to do.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great value

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromtampa, fl
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Lable 1 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poor 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the security it provides, as well as the brand that i like.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great safe for the money spent

PostedMarch 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHenderson, NV
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Lable 1 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poor 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A good, heavy quality product. Keeps my guns and other valuables locked away in a safe place.
Very good safe for the amount of money spent. Very heavy, so it cannot be moved away by would be thieves. Combination lock mechanism works right every time.
A fireman friend of mine said a house fire would never reach that maximum temperature, so the items inside will survive a house fire.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>