Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe

Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe

Obtain peace of mind when you secure your firearms in the Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe. The safe can hold up to 16 long guns and has a fully convertible, carpeted interior that can be customized to accommodate your gun collection. The safe has a 3 number combination lock and a drill-resistant steel plate behind the lock to add security. The Field & Stream® Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe is ETL verified for 30 minutes at 1400 degree Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.27 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (37 reviews)
5 Stars
(19)
4 Stars
(12)
3 Stars
(4)
2 Stars
(1)
1 Star
(1)
353795%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Review 1 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Appears solid

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
FWAGunLover
fromIndiana
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I hope I never have to test the fire resistance of this safe, or the durability of its lock and hinges, but this unit appears to be solid. The installed hardware that holds interior shelf brackets are not level with the opposing side's racks, so the shelves cannot be truly level. It's a small discrepancy that may or may not bug some people. This product arrived boxed on a pallet, so it's best to unpack it outside (if weather permits). If you arrange for delivery, it might be delivered by just one person (driver) who might not be able to deliver it INSIDE by himself. My driver volunteered to call for another helper (time delay) but gave it a go himself and was ultimately able to deliver it inside to my preferred spot with just a little help from me. My driver did not have a mover's dolly, so it would be helpful to have a strong dolly or "magic mover" silicon disks on hand at time of delivery, or if you move it yourself. I recommend this product if you can get it on sale.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works just fine for our needs.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Cathy
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Good quality. Seems to be heavier than what was stated. Shipper had a higher weight but that didn't effect quality, just needed more muscle to move it.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

a value for the price

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
jim
fromcentral n.j.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
this safe has good quality for the price.i am very satisfied.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good for the money

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
arby70
fromArizona
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I got this safe by an online purchase and free shipping. Loved that deal. Safe appears to be quite heavy duty. Plenty of room inside for all that I wanted to be in the safe. Glad that I bought it.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe for Price

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Machete1
fromEliz NJ
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
purchased this safe and I'm very satisfied... well built.. took three of us to get this thing upstairs.. lots of room for guns and valuables. The shelves are practical and like the fact they are adjustable to your needs. Carpeting at the floor is sloppy but does its job. Definitely would recommend this product.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

appears to be nice

PostedNovember 27, 2014
Customer avatar
consumer
fromct
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
i recently bought the field and stream 16 gun safe its got plenty of room for my needs and the outside looks sharp three locking bolts and some fixed dead bolts seems like a good amount of locking power i like the dial combo. door is very heavy and the metal appears to be heavy duty which is why i finaly decided to buy this safe well and the price got it for 450 the only thing i can really say otherwise is the inside carpet they were alittle sloppy with the glue but over all nice middle of the road safe
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the safe is very well made for the price

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Customer avatar
rick
fromnew jersey
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
safe has good weight to it and holds my guns and other equiptment well. i guess all the safes out there arn't made to hold what they say but for all the stuff i have in it its perfect.i also like the fact its only has a comination lock no key or electronic lock. for the money i think this safe is a very good buy
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good safe for the money

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
RustyBolt
fromMidlothian, VA
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Safe is solid and lock works great. Did not have the problem with uneven shelves as others have described. If you want to use all of the shelves for storage on one side, you really only have room for about 6 long guns on the other. I think it would be pretty tough to get 16 guns in this safe and you definately would not have room for any shelves.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Built Safe

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Customer avatar
Shotgun Panda
fromSan Ramon, CA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Great safe for the money with a sturdy build. A little lighter than I would prefer, so floor mounting or concrete bags will make it a little more hard to steal. Other than the shelves not being level, it is perfect for my needs and the money I was willing to spend. The sale at Dicks and the option to open a credit card with additional savings made it an excellent deal.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gun Safe won't open after less than two years! Don't buy it!

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
GH from Alexandria
fromAlexandria, VA
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I bought this safe from Dick's about a year and a half ago. Now it won't open after regular use. I have to spend $300 to have the safe drilled to get my guns out and I can't get any response from the manufacturer to honor the warranty. Now I have to buy another safe and I will not buy another Field & Stream or Stack-on product after this experience.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+31points
41of 51voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 11 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Buy

PostedMay 12, 2014
Customer avatar
racecar 43
fromIllinois
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This safe is a great buy. Bought it at Vernon Hills store. Ken was very helpful and knowledgeable about the product. With friends and family discount coupon and taking out a Dick's charge paid just $405 for it. Fit is very good and the shelves fit level. I was going to get the 10 or 14 gun safe but this one affords more room and fits my needs perfectly. With three guys it was fairly easy to move. Picked it up myself and brought it in the house. Great safe for the money spent.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 12 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gary - SAT

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
GRW SAT
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Just like everyone else said, good safe for the price but the shelves are not level
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 13 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Now Have 2.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Russ
fromFlorida
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
It's a good fire safe that Dicks will promote from time to time at a great price. Yes, the shelves sometimes are not perfectly level, but, we humans are creative, get something like washers and ducttape and put it on the bottom of the shelf! You can do what i did in 5 minutes to the couple of them. Its a very simple shelving system. It's heavy, the combo works like the one you had for your locker in high school, always works. It comes with anchoring bolts to screw it to the floor. We use them for more than ammo rifles and pistols. The door is heavy and secure. Only issue with me is, why not make these in the USA? Got to be expensive to ship these from China.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 14 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great buy

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
gary1
fromGrayson GA.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
its a great price easy to put where you want it. the inside is easy to put the shelfs where you want them. good for guns and papers you need safe. the person at dicks sporting good was a great help when showing it to us.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 15 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great safe

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Sean
fromWV
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I originally bought the 10 gun safe since i only had 4 long guns and a few pistols. i couldn't get my two shotguns and two rifles to sit in it correctly so i brought it back a week later and got this. so far i'm very pleased with it. almost the same weight, 5" deeper, and 5" wider. everything fits perfect. you can also have something hang off the shelf a little and it won't hit the door. something you can't do with the 10 gun. save the extra $100 and get this on over the 10 gun. you won't be disappointed.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 16 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Safe

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
NGM5321
fromBoston, MA
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I was looking for a decent safe but didn't want to spend a large sum of money. It's not your top of the line safe, but it will do the job. It does exactly what I need it to do. The only issue I had was the same as some other previous reviews had mentioned. The shelves are a little uneven. It is a heavy safe as well. Make sure you have some friends around to help you out. Don't try to move it up stairs by yourself like I did. All in all, I'm happy with this purchase.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 17 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

New Safe

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
collin84
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Got it home, unpacked it, loved it until I had the same issues Chuck stated: the shelves are not level and never will be as the runners on the sides aren't. The shelves them self are also cut too small. about 1/4" room on both sides. A .22 shell would fall through. All and all it's a safe and will do the job. It's heavy as all get out, and was a trip getting it up some stairs. You either have shelves on one side, cutting your gun holding to 8 or you don't use the shelves and you can fit 16.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 18 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shelves are out of level.

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
chuck
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
Just bought a Field and Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe. After getting it home into the house and tucked neatly into a closet, I began to set the shelves in place. The floor is level, the top of the safe is level, but the shelves will not become level. The standards that were installed were out of level with one another by 3/8 of an inch across the 10.25 inches left to right for all shelves. Contacted F&S/Stack On via their site email - 2 weeks no reply - disappointing.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 19 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Safe

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Chump
fromBaltimore, MD
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I was very pleased to find a moderately-sized fire safe for such a decent price. This safe has good fit and finish (not to a level I'd call refined, which I'd expect of higher-priced safes) for its price point, which makes it an excellent value. I opted for the white glove delivery service, and aside from a very broad time frame, the service was great. I'd like it if Dick's would list more detailed dimensions. I needed the safe to fit into a small area, so the difference between carcass depth and overall depth (including the combination dial) makes a difference. I had to hope for the best, since no one at Dick's could tell me what the listed "depth" pertained to, even suggesting that the dimension for depth referred to interior depth. Packaging dimensions and weight would be great, too, since it can make a difference for delivery.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 20 for Field & Stream Sportsman 16 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Mary M
fromChicago, IL
Age30 - 34
GenderFemale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
We are very happy with our safe purchase. Also has room for personal papers and items.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>