Customer reviews for Epic EPIC A30T Treadmill

Epic EPIC A30T Treadmill

Like every EPIC product, the EPIC A30T Treadmill combines reliable equipment with interactive, cutting-edge technology. The A30T's 3.0 continuous horsepower (CHP) motor is powerful to support your most intense workouts, while 30 pre-set workouts feature iFit® technology to simulate racetracks and display your stats. ActiveAdjust lets you adjust the position of the console, and SafeZone senses anything approaching the machine and shuts down.
Overall rating:
2.269 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
15
82631%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Review 1 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product is in constant need on repair

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNarragansett, RI
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This treadmill has been broken since the day I got it, about a month and a half ago. The company continuously sends the wrong parts, or parts that are defective. When I called to complain to them they had no satisfactory answers to my questions and were quite rude in general. I am warning people to stay away from Epic products if you are looking for quality workmanship and decent customer service.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+41points
54of 67voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Suddenly Speeds up to Speed 11

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We purchased this treadmill a week ago. I noticed on the three workouts that i did that the speed suddenly goes up to 11.0 by itself. The first time the machine did this, I thought I inadvertently pressed the up arrow on the panel and kept my finger on it and the panel was ultra sensitive. The second time, I definitely wasn't touching ANY part of the panel and the third time again I wasn't. Today my workout was with a lot of trepidation. My husband said it happened to him once. He works out a lot more than I but it is at a higher inclination and I wonder if there is a pattern to this. In either case, calling customer service tomorrow for repair. I want to know if this is happening to anyone else?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Speed up without touching the buttons, very scary watch out!!!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromShakopee, MN
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
look very solid nice design but there is a big problem with the speed. It will change from 3 speed to 11 without notice. My mom almost fall many times. we are scare to walk on it. It speeds up when you spend 15min sometime 20min or 1 hours so we have to jump out of the machine when it roars. so watch out. I called in and they send out the unit hopefully it will eliminate the problem. I haven't install that part yet. if you wonder what it is check the picture I include in the review.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

there are better

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
fromChristiansburg
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
is good robust equipment, although, the price is marked up really high and gives you the impression that is a very good purchase and there are better units. The staff at the store did nothing but read the manual. They were very kind, but not that helpful. They did not give me my number for my ifit account so had to go twice. Instructions for Wifi setup are unclear and confusing. The company hired to deliver and assembly did not finish the installation, they did not even removed the store mode. I have not been able to use the ifit work outs yet and the unit keeps getting ofline and have to load my user again and again. on top of that if I use manual workout, the machines goes to 12mph without even pressing a button. I have been really close to have a couple of accidents.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 consoles later and back to the store it goes

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOlathe, KS
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After paying for delivery and set up they wanted me to install the new consoles as they shipped them out. I have had this 5 months and it has spent more time in the basement waiting for repair than being used.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mine broke like the others

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
fromIndianapolis,IN
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As other reviewers have stated, the computer on this machine likes to freeze and no longer work. Epic will send a new console if you hassle with them and can convince them of the problem. They kept telling me to do a firmware update even though the machine was frozen. They also expect you to install the console and its HARD. You have to completely disassemble the existing console. I had to cut wires and reconnect new wires into the computer board. Not sure how the average joe can do this themselves. I would advise against this machine given the problems noted in reviews and Epic's very poor customer service and failure to honor the labor warranty.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWorcester, MA
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ablsolute disaster from the day it was unboxed....Ifit interactive wifi connections never stayed connected and never functioned properly when connected, machine would change speeds on its own (very unsafe) and machine would lock up in reboot mode (changed out three consoles) . Absolutely the worst experience ever working with the ICON fitness customer service organization. Dont answer the phones, dont return calls, rude, lack of knowledge relevent to the equipment they rep.. Never resolved the above mentioned issues and machine was returned after 4 months of countless phone calls and non effective fixes....
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVermont
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this in October 2012. It never worked well- kept slowing down on its own. Over the course of a month, three repairmen came out and were unable to fix it. Because it was still so new, Dick's finally gave me a new one. The new one has lasted seven months. The console is stuck in reboot mode. Epic customer service is not open on weekends, so I have to wait two days to call. Based on past experience, I'm guessing it'll be at least a month for a repair....
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great as a basic treadmill.

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRed Wing, MN
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this from dicks sporting goods about a week ago while it was on sale, and they were having a free shipping promotion, so It was an excellent deal at the time. They shipped it to me and assembled it two days ago and thus far I have no complaints. It has a good incline, and goes way faster than I need it to. The deck might be a little weak for a hardcore runner, but at this price that's to be expected. I jog no more than 7mph, and I'm a heavy guy and its quite steady. The adjustable console is great,and the speakers are loud enough to hear over the (fairly quiet) treadmill. For walkers and joggers Id say this seems to be a good unit mechanically.(keeping in mind that its still new)
The only drawback I see is that the ifit stuff is a little buggy. Ive had to use my laptop to logon to ifit every time I start the treadmill, and some of the ifit features aren't working right now. I understand the website is undergoing a revamp right now, so maybe it will get better. At the moment the option to watch google streetview live on a laptop isn't working, but the fact that there is a free ifit basic version right now(which I had no idea about) kinda offsets that. I do love designing my own programs for the treadmill, it makes it possible to build just about any kind of you could want, and with ifit basic I record each of my workouts and look at my progression.
Once they get the ifit website working right, I won't have any complaints, assuming it holds up as well as I expect it to.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer beware!!!!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromQuad Cities, Iowa
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband found this amazing treadmill at Dick's on sale and I was thrilled with it. It is a great looking treadmill and has lots of great perks with it! I was in love. We got it home and he put it all together and I used it daily. The problem....it was different every time I used it. I never knew what to expect. I logged on using the Ifit web stuff but it needed me to do it every time. I was told this great app existed that let you pick anywhere you wanted to run with google maps and you could watch the scenes as you ran...sounds too good to be true right? Yep...it was...app never worked and it was a $20.00 download! Next...it would slow down in the middle of a run for no reason. We tried all the stuff the book told us to do to problem shoot and it never worked. One day I got on it and it started doing the incline up and down without me even doing anything! Basically it's a great looking product that doesn't work. The brains of the machine are crazy! They don't have it all together and the customer service...oh my goodness....impossible and NOT helpful. Actually told my husband at one point a rep was going to come look at the treadmill but we told them we didn't want any strangers in our home. Total lie! Don't waste your time with this product. The best thing that came from all of this was Dick's stepped up and let us bring this treadmill back and then gave us a better one by a different company to replace it! I am thrilled with my new treadmill and their willingness to make right a wrong! Read all the reviews before you purchase this product...I read them after we purchased it and saw many of the people has similar problems.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brenda

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product! It is my favorite treadmill, I bought this to practice for the half marathon.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Big machine great so far!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGreeley, CO
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got the free delivery promo, glad I did. This thing is big. That is what convinced me to buy- has bigger running area than the other models at this price. I like the ifit service, had to do a full update when starting but once I read the manual it wasn't too hard. I've done a couple of routes in ifit and it's pretty slick. I got this anticipating snow but haven't used as much as I thought yet cause I can still run outside. Cushion is nice, will definitely be easy to run on once it does get cold.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Smooth operation, but faulty electronics

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBloomington, il
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Within ten days, the electronics would not allow me to power on the unit, it was stuck in "boot-up" mode, and was unusable. After waiting 20 days for the entire console to be replaced, the first time I used it the unit will now randomly max out the speed or incline during the workout. While waiting for this to be fixed, the entire console unit failed again. It will not turn on again, it's stuck in the boot-up mode, just like the original problem. Working with Dick's to get my money back. Don't even consider this unit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor treadmill

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWestfield, IN
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this treadmill in early October and since then I've been able to use it maybe 15 times and am now on the third control console and second computer board of the unit. Terrible customer service as it took them 3 weeks to send the third console and get someone out to fix it. Now the unit won't connect to iFit. When it does work I can get a good workout but I wouldn't recommend this treadmill to anyone. Save your money and get something else.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy This. Or try to talk to the manufacturer. Neither one works.

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromErie, PA
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It seems like such a good deal, and it feels like a decent treadmill while you're in the store. I bought it on sale 12/20/2012, put it together 2 days later and used it for 1 week. Then i caught the respiratory flu that was going around and took a week off of my workout schedule. I worked out for another week then was pulled to Army training for 1 week. So in the little over a month I've had this machine, I've used it a little less than 3 weeks. During my workout 4 days ago, it beeped at me and quit working. A call to customer service netted me a confused technician that first told me I needed a new computer for it, then told me a needed to wait for a software update. He said he didn't know when the update would happen. So the $949.00 treadmill sat useless. The company then called me to "help" me and told me my "elliptical" needed a few things done to it. I told them it was a treadmill, they said they'd be happy to help with my A32 treadmill, I told them it was an A30t treadmill. He put me on hold and transferred me. His supervisor said I needed a port opened on my computer, to call my ISP and when that was done, call back and let them know. I did, the ISP says they can't do it without an IP address for the treadmill. I tried calling them back to get it and have heard nothing from them. So it sits, unusable. Don't waste your money. Don't waste your time trying to talk to the manufacturer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Speeding & Slowing

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We are having trouble with the A30T keeping a consistent speed as well. Seems that the faster we are going the more drastically it will speed up and slow down. We checked the manual & performed the troubleshooting suggestion of tightening the belt but thought that may have intensified the problem a little so we giggered around with it a little more... Still the problem persists. We then called the customer care number on the front page of the manual. The young lady who assisted us was very helpful & gave step by step directions on attempting to "re-boot" the circuit panel. Unfortunately all attempts failed (taking approximately a half hour) & they are sending us a new circuit panel (which is currently backordered) to our home for us to install... Fingers crossed this works.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

When assembled there were a number of defects,

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCumberland, RI
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
One leg could not be secured due to no threads for the bolt, the board could not be anchored, the heart rate did not work, the fan did not work, I'm not sure what else was wrong. It is being removed tomorrow.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"more enjoyable winter in Utah"

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHolladay, Ut
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I refused to have another winter where I sit on my tail and feel sorry i live in a cold weather place. Sooooo... i bit the bullet, glad I did, and it has been quite an enjoyable winter despite the inversion we've had here! i've been able to consistently hit 15-18 miles a week and actually improved my per mile time vs my summer training, so i'm feeling GREAT! The main "positives" for this are 1) quiet, actually super quiet, 2) big running area and really soft cushion, and 3) tilting console since I cant run without watching Modern Family on my ipad. I opted for this model because I already have an ipad and dont need a touch screen since all i do is turn it on one of the calorie or incline features and go. The only negatives I see are 1) doesn't decline like the models above this one, but that is my fault for not spending the extra $$, and 2) the fan is not that powerful and a little more noisy than I would like. Overall, would recommend for sure to a runner. in fact, I did to a couple of friends! Does Dick's Sporting Goods offer referral rewards??
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Epic A30T Treadmill

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLayton, Ut
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this treadmill in November 2012 and am thoroughly disappointed. When the treadmill was delivered one of the gentlemen bumped the treadmill into the wall causing a hole. First, the motion sensor in the back kept beeping and the belt would stop. Was able to fix that in settings. Second, the fan stopped. Third, the speed will increase without any human intervention. Thus, you better be able to run very fast or you may fall. Called customer service and they were aware of the increased speed issue and sent a part to fix the problem. Waited two weeks for the part and then had to call for a repair man to come to the house. Just got a new fan in the mail and have to call for another repair man to come and put the fan in. Additionally, it was very difficult to connect the treadmill to Ifit as the website was down for many days. I would not recommend buying this treadmill.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this treadmill

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromEmmaus,Pa.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the features are great.I use the iPod connection,the fan,and the controls for incline and speed for my workout.I also like the space for putting water bottle or anything else you may want.The large screen is nice also to watch you time and distance plus calories burn.Great treadmill and worth every $.Got it on sale at a good savings.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>