Customer reviews for Epic EPIC A30T Treadmill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Epic EPIC A30T Treadmill

Like every EPIC product, the EPIC A30T Treadmill combines reliable equipment with interactive, cutting-edge technology. The A30T's 3.0 continuous horsepower (CHP) motor is powerful to support your most intense workouts, while 30 pre-set workouts feature iFit® technology to simulate racetracks and display your stats. ActiveAdjust lets you adjust the position of the console, and SafeZone senses anything approaching the machine and shuts down.
Overall rating:
2.179 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
17
82829%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Review 1 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

There's a reason this is discounted

PostedJune 10, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPeoria IL
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Without repeating what has already been said, I would agree the other reviews about lack of quality in this product. I have shopped at Dick's for a long time, and had great experiences. That is why I went to them to look for exercise equipment. Honestly I am very surprised that Dick's still sells the Epic brand (owned by Icon). Its really that bad as the other reviews have stated.
The service from Dicks has been decent but in the end that can't make up for a bad product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beware of this Treadmill but good service at Dick's

PostedMay 27, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMuscatine, IA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased this treadmill in September of 2013 and had one problem after another ever since.
1. The IFit function only worked properly for about a month and then would load workouts but wouldn't update information back to the IFit Site. Getting service from IFit or Epic was difficult to say the least and this problem went unresolved.
2. Console stops working in the middle of a workout, it seems like a static charge builds up and causes it to stop working. After an hour on the phone, Epic sent me a ferrite wire a week later that helped but didn't solve this problem.
3. The rubber protectors around the springs on the bottom of the treadmill sheared off after about 3 months and the treadmill began squeaking loudly even when walking on it. This problem was never resolved.
4. The console stopped working and was in constant "boot-up" mode. After trying three times over two days to get ahold of Epic Customer Service (waiting 20 minutes on the phone without ever getting anyone to answer each time), I emailed the service company they use online (ICON Fitness). Two days later I got a response stating they couldn't call but could troubleshoot the problem via email (seriously?). After replying that this wasn't sufficient and I needed a technician to come fix "ALL" the problems I had with the treadmill, I received an email 5 days later asking me to take a picture of the console and send it to them to verify the problem.
In the meantime I called Dick's Sporting Goods to see what they could do and Ryan in the Davenport, IA store agreed to let me return the treadmill and use the cost towards the purchase of another brand. I did that today (5/27) and I will post a review for the Sole F63 in a month or so after I've had a chance to use it for awhile.
I will not be purchasing anymore products from Epic, but will continue to shop at Dick's in Davenport as they were very helpful and prompt in resolving my issue.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We were very hesitant to purchase this treadmill as it was new to the market and didn't really have any reviews yet. We were told by the Dick's sales person that if we had any issues at all...they would replace.
Thank god we sprung for the extended warranty...because we have had problem after problem after problem. We have barely owned it a year and have barely been able to use it. It stopped working 3 days after it was delivered and assembled and needed a new console. We have continued to have issues, but the manufacturer gives us the run around every time we call in. They refuse to send another console due to the cost. For the issues we have had, we have also had to act as our own service technician as they manufacturer won't even send anyone out.
We are going to the store this evening to try and return this machine...and we will NOT replace it with another Epic.
Bottom line - don't waste your money. The brand is garbage and the manufacturer warranty customer service is even worse.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Buyer Beware

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNoblesville, In
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We are very disappointed with this treadmill. It will speed up to 11.0 for no reason. It is extremely dangerous and unpredictable. The screen will also go blank for no reason but the motor will keep going. Then you have to stop running and restart the machine which will then recalibrate and take more time out of your workout. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Mine broke like the others

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
fromIndianapolis,IN
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
As other reviewers have stated, the computer on this machine likes to freeze and no longer work. Epic will send a new console if you hassle with them and can convince them of the problem. They kept telling me to do a firmware update even though the machine was frozen. They also expect you to install the console and its HARD. You have to completely disassemble the existing console. I had to cut wires and reconnect new wires into the computer board. Not sure how the average joe can do this themselves. I would advise against this machine given the problems noted in reviews and Epic's very poor customer service and failure to honor the labor warranty.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Speeding & Slowing

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We are having trouble with the A30T keeping a consistent speed as well. Seems that the faster we are going the more drastically it will speed up and slow down. We checked the manual & performed the troubleshooting suggestion of tightening the belt but thought that may have intensified the problem a little so we giggered around with it a little more... Still the problem persists. We then called the customer care number on the front page of the manual. The young lady who assisted us was very helpful & gave step by step directions on attempting to "re-boot" the circuit panel. Unfortunately all attempts failed (taking approximately a half hour) & they are sending us a new circuit panel (which is currently backordered) to our home for us to install... Fingers crossed this works.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Suddenly Speeds up to Speed 11

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We purchased this treadmill a week ago. I noticed on the three workouts that i did that the speed suddenly goes up to 11.0 by itself. The first time the machine did this, I thought I inadvertently pressed the up arrow on the panel and kept my finger on it and the panel was ultra sensitive. The second time, I definitely wasn't touching ANY part of the panel and the third time again I wasn't. Today my workout was with a lot of trepidation. My husband said it happened to him once. He works out a lot more than I but it is at a higher inclination and I wonder if there is a pattern to this. In either case, calling customer service tomorrow for repair. I want to know if this is happening to anyone else?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Speed up without touching the buttons, very scary watch out!!!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromShakopee, MN
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
look very solid nice design but there is a big problem with the speed. It will change from 3 speed to 11 without notice. My mom almost fall many times. we are scare to walk on it. It speeds up when you spend 15min sometime 20min or 1 hours so we have to jump out of the machine when it roars. so watch out. I called in and they send out the unit hopefully it will eliminate the problem. I haven't install that part yet. if you wonder what it is check the picture I include in the review.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVermont
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this in October 2012. It never worked well- kept slowing down on its own. Over the course of a month, three repairmen came out and were unable to fix it. Because it was still so new, Dick's finally gave me a new one. The new one has lasted seven months. The console is stuck in reboot mode. Epic customer service is not open on weekends, so I have to wait two days to call. Based on past experience, I'm guessing it'll be at least a month for a repair....
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK Treadmill, but incline seems to be off

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromManhattan, KS
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I like all of the options, but as a beginner runner, there are too many features for me. I should have picked a lesser one. Also, the incline seems to be way off. I would expect 0 incline to be level, but I have to put it on -2.5 to run a flat ground. So when the program takes it up to a higher incline, it is like a running a steep mountain. So I have to keep changing the incline to my specifications.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

3 consoles later and back to the store it goes

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOlathe, KS
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After paying for delivery and set up they wanted me to install the new consoles as they shipped them out. I have had this 5 months and it has spent more time in the basement waiting for repair than being used.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brenda

PostedApril 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this product! It is my favorite treadmill, I bought this to practice for the half marathon.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this treadmill

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromEmmaus,Pa.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All the features are great.I use the iPod connection,the fan,and the controls for incline and speed for my workout.I also like the space for putting water bottle or anything else you may want.The large screen is nice also to watch you time and distance plus calories burn.Great treadmill and worth every $.Got it on sale at a good savings.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bargain - shopped around

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWashington, DC
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased my A30T at the store, sales guy told me it was on sale $100 cheaper than they normally have it, plus it had free delivery, which was a nice little bonus since I drive a Honda Civic! Has several features on it that when I shopped around at Sears and online, actually were better than other brands. That being said, my favorites are the cushion, which was quite soft and comfortable. I also love the colors, I didn't like some of the others I saw that had bright red or yellow colors, this fits in a little better with the décor of my home (yeah I know, probably dumb but I want it to look good in my little apartment too). The motor is another thing I really liked after trying it out in the store, cause it was so quiet and doesn't use a lot of electricity like I thought it would. Started out pretty slow, using the workout apps that are already programmed, which give me something to do and help get me through the run since I'm not quite in the shape I used to be and feel like quitting half way through. Thanks Epic for a sturdy machine- here's your review you asked me for- happy customer in DC!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

When assembled there were a number of defects,

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCumberland, RI
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
One leg could not be secured due to no threads for the bolt, the board could not be anchored, the heart rate did not work, the fan did not work, I'm not sure what else was wrong. It is being removed tomorrow.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Treadmill Used By The Whole Family

PostedApril 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMeriden CT
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are happy with our Epic A30T treadmill in that it is a very high quality machine and is suited well to our whole family. The best testimony is that it is being used regularly by folks age 66 to 16 and has not been turned into a laundry rack like so many home exercise pieces.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never again

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWorcester, MA
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ablsolute disaster from the day it was unboxed....Ifit interactive wifi connections never stayed connected and never functioned properly when connected, machine would change speeds on its own (very unsafe) and machine would lock up in reboot mode (changed out three consoles) . Absolutely the worst experience ever working with the ICON fitness customer service organization. Dont answer the phones, dont return calls, rude, lack of knowledge relevent to the equipment they rep.. Never resolved the above mentioned issues and machine was returned after 4 months of countless phone calls and non effective fixes....
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Epic Treadmill

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVictorville, Ca
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product runs smoothly and quietly. I have been having some trouble connecting it with my Wifi, which is troublesome because the warranty depends on its ability to sync the miles logged on it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"more enjoyable winter in Utah"

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHolladay, Ut
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I refused to have another winter where I sit on my tail and feel sorry i live in a cold weather place. Sooooo... i bit the bullet, glad I did, and it has been quite an enjoyable winter despite the inversion we've had here! i've been able to consistently hit 15-18 miles a week and actually improved my per mile time vs my summer training, so i'm feeling GREAT! The main "positives" for this are 1) quiet, actually super quiet, 2) big running area and really soft cushion, and 3) tilting console since I cant run without watching Modern Family on my ipad. I opted for this model because I already have an ipad and dont need a touch screen since all i do is turn it on one of the calorie or incline features and go. The only negatives I see are 1) doesn't decline like the models above this one, but that is my fault for not spending the extra $$, and 2) the fan is not that powerful and a little more noisy than I would like. Overall, would recommend for sure to a runner. in fact, I did to a couple of friends! Does Dick's Sporting Goods offer referral rewards??
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for EPIC A30T Treadmill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy This. Or try to talk to the manufacturer. Neither one works.

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromErie, PA
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
It seems like such a good deal, and it feels like a decent treadmill while you're in the store. I bought it on sale 12/20/2012, put it together 2 days later and used it for 1 week. Then i caught the respiratory flu that was going around and took a week off of my workout schedule. I worked out for another week then was pulled to Army training for 1 week. So in the little over a month I've had this machine, I've used it a little less than 3 weeks. During my workout 4 days ago, it beeped at me and quit working. A call to customer service netted me a confused technician that first told me I needed a new computer for it, then told me a needed to wait for a software update. He said he didn't know when the update would happen. So the $949.00 treadmill sat useless. The company then called me to "help" me and told me my "elliptical" needed a few things done to it. I told them it was a treadmill, they said they'd be happy to help with my A32 treadmill, I told them it was an A30t treadmill. He put me on hold and transferred me. His supervisor said I needed a port opened on my computer, to call my ISP and when that was done, call back and let them know. I did, the ISP says they can't do it without an IP address for the treadmill. I tried calling them back to get it and have heard nothing from them. So it sits, unusable. Don't waste your money. Don't waste your time trying to talk to the manufacturer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>