Customer reviews for Epic EPIC A30E Elliptical

Epic EPIC A30E Elliptical

Like every product in the EPIC line, the EPIC A30E Elliptical gives you a personalized, interactive workout to keep you motivated at every stage of your fitness regimen. Enjoy 30 pre-set workouts and iFit® technology, which simulates racetracks and displays your stats. ActiveAdjust lets you adjust the position of the handlebars, pedals and console, and SafeZone senses anything approaching the machine and shuts down to give you peace of mind.
Overall rating:
3.304 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
13
294663%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Review 1 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is better than expected.

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMonroe, NY
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our workout is like combining a step master and elliptical machine in one.
The programs are rigorous enough for advanced and easier for older ambitious competitors. The options are expansive, set up well and easy to use.
I don't know why I waited so long to purchase this machine but I'm very happy we did.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Problems with Electronics

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBaltimore MD
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I purchased this elliptical last year and it was working great until a few weeks ago when the elliptical display began to freeze. We tried everything to reset it and get it to work. Currently it only displays the time and everything else fails to display. Very frustrating!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

poor factory quality control

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLas Cruces, NM
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I purchased a display model EPIC A30E from Dicks at a significant price reduction. It may have been a return. The problem it had was what is mentioned in most of the poor reviews. Clunking and grinding noise and in some cases freezing. It took me less that an hour to figure out the problem and fix it myself. The heavy inertia flywheel was coming in contact with the bottom end of the bracket on the right side. I loosened the two nuts holding the flywheel in place. These nuts where very loose. I raised the left side so that the right bottom pulled away from the bracket and re-tightened the nuts at a much greater torque. I was worried about belt alignment among other things but the adjustment was so slight that there seems to be no affect. It now works very well and with no noise. I'm assuming the proper nut tightening for the flywheel was overlooked at the factory. If you chose to purchase the EPIC A30E re-tighten the flywheel nuts before using. Image included is a rough representation of the problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLouisiana
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Just spent 3 hours assembling only to have it not work. Going to Dick's customer service now to determine the path forward. The wheel has an internal issue making it very difficult to turn. Making grinding noise. This is something that comes pre-assembled. Not a happy customer
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good elliptical, bad pre-assembly.

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVirginia
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The elliptical oddly came with a right roll-arm inverted and place in left roll arm housing, causing the underside to hit the buttom bar. Thus making the elliptical inoperable. Had to call company, finally they sent left roll arm. All this took a month from time of purchase before I can use machine. Hope this was just a one time pre assembly mishap.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

EPIC FAIL if you ask me

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromClarksville, TN
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased this so called EPIC system and within 2 days this unstoppable squeeking noise started and has continued to ERK everyone in the house whenever anyone attempts to do a bit of cardio. We greased it and very well I might add and still squeeks. Left foot holder broke off twice, and took weeks to get the parts in. Now the right side keeps falling off the railing and it happens alot. I instead have to use the elliptical at my office and do my cardio after work instead of starting my day right. EPIC keeps telling us to get a Kit that will fix it but I refuse to get another lego system and try putting it together while waiting weeks on end for a piece that will only work for 2 weeks. I Have never felt the need to write a negative review however, PEOPLE DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. Spends more time waiting for parts than actually using the system. STAY AWAY!!!
NOTHING AGAINST DICKS SPORTING GOOD!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Robust Exercise Equipment

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFairfax County, VA
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to assemble -- though very heavy.
Easy to use and has many features. The whole family enjoys it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't do it!

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMooresville,NC
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Female
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My husband and I searched for weeks to find the right elliptical and with the mixed reviews on most of them it's pretty difficult to make a decision. We ended up going with this one because we loved it in the store and if anything happened we would be able to take it back. Set up took a couple of hours, but was not a difficult process. After workout number 2, the noises started. First a clicking, then followed up by a grinding. We took it apart and regressed it. The noises stopped....for 10 minutes. We called out the service technicians 3 times with multiple diagnosis. Each time it takes them about 10-15 days to give you an appointment time that is a 4-6 hour window during the week. After two months and no fix we packed it up and took it back. The key indicator was when the service company arrived the second time and said "Oh no not another EPIC." We are currently looking to replace it with a Sole machine. Do yourself a favor and listen to the reviews!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Would be great if everything worked.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
frompittsburgh pa
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is a nice model but unfortunately mine has several frustrating problems. The incline doesn't work automatically with the workouts. Ifit is a nice feature if It worked consistently. Most of the time my machine is not connected and I need to get yet another token. Only for my workouts not to download, And none of them are logged in ifit. Epic customer service is a joy to deal with. Had to redo all of the same things I've done dozens of times over the past few weeks before she believed it didn't work, Ran nearly a mile while she listened to prove the incline doesn't work. So after an hour on the phone they are sending a new console which will resolve the Incline issue, but probably not the Ifit issues. But she was kind enough to tell me I'm welcome to call back again when the new one doesn't work. I heard a lot of excuses instead of getting the issues resolved. Too much frustration for the price.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great workout

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSouth Lyon
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this elliptical. I have lifted weights, done some aerobics, treadmills and stationary biking. I have to say that nothing has ever kicked my butt like this elliptical machine. It has been fantastic. We have had it for about 2 months. It's makes some noise but not too bad. My wife and I spent about an hour at Dick's trying out different ones. This one felt most natural and we haven't regretted our decision one bit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Customer avatar
fromnc
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Only had this a few days and has already stepped 44 miles! Took about 3 hrs to put together. We went by the how to video to put together, I would highly recommend. So far no problems, just make sure u greased the correct parts especially the track that the feet glide on. I've connected the machine to ifit thru internet and has been to Paris! If u purchase this on dicks credit card, you will get $100 off! I have no regrets so far...enjoy your elliptical:)
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with purchase.

PostedMay 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDayton, Maryland
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this elliptical about two months ago and we have been very happy with it. Delivery was great - good automated system to arrange a delivery time. The guys came right on time and took it downstairs were I needed it. Assembly was pretty straightforward, and the couple of times I didn't completely understand the printed directions I just watched the corresponding portion of the assembly video and it cleared it right up. Good advice from other reviewers about applying the supplied grease liberally has really helped - we have had no squeaking at all, it is very quiet.
I haven't made too much use of the iFit software, but I did create a course of my old neighborhood and downloaded it to the elliptical and it executed it properly (i.e., it adjusted the resistance properly for hills and tracked my progress along the streets well).
My wife and I each use it 4-5 times a week and it has been great. I like that the readout shows everything without having to toggle through displays while running - this is much better than the treadmill we replaced with this elliptical. The only issue I have is that when I go much over 7 mph the machine shakes a little - probably just because I have it on a rug rather than a completely flat surface. If I routinely went much faster than this I'd probably do something extra to stabilize it, but since my typical sustained speed is seldom more than about 6.7 mph I just don't worry about it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible on knees. Not Good.

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This elliptical is hard on the knees and it's movement is not smooth. It feels more like a stair-stepper than the gliding movement of an elliptical. I have used many cheaper ellipticals which have given me a much better work out. You are not paying for the workout you are payin the 1000 for all the extra electronics that come with it. Overall, I find it not worth the money and an easy way to hurt your knees.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be, Should be Better

PostedMay 4, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLoves Park, IL
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This machine looks great, and has great features! But, we've had to call the manufacturer to have a serviceman come out to repair it twice, and we've only owned it for about 2 months. The first repair was to have all of the factory assembled parts tightened. It was making a loud clunking sound, and didn't feel as stable as it should. The first repair visit took care of this fairly well. The second repair visit hasn't actually taken place yet, but what we have found is that the incline does not adjust automatically with each workout. The incline works only if you manually adjust it using the buttons on the handle. We are hoping the second repair visit will fix this.
Now, the machine is also advertised as compatible with iFit. The deal we purchased included a free year of iFit membership. It's a good thing it was free (usually $100/year), because the machine is not fully compatible with the iFit Live feature that allows you to follow your route in Google Street-view. In fact, iFit has failed to update my stats at all. It shows that I have used my machine negative 1 hour and 59 minutes (apparently, as I use the machine, I am traveling back in time).
Forgive my sarcasm, but I wish my $1000 purchase worked right the first time. If there are fixes for the troubles that I have described, I will be a happy customer. If not, I will return the elliptical for a different product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The product is defective and I have had to call the company and I'm trying to fix it!!

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRomeo MI
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I would never buy another one of an Epic product again!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but have reservations

PostedApril 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPalm beach, Florida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We purchased this a week ago, so this review is preliminary. We paid for the delivery and install which I would recommend. Just watch them to make sure they are doing their job , and remind them to GREASE ALL the joints. We used it for only three days and the unit started knocking in the front and squeaking in the back. same "clicking" noise that all these reviews are giving. We were 10 seconds from calling and having it taken back and get our money back, but my husband decided he would take apart the joints and try greasing them. With a good quality grease. not the cheap stuff that comes with it. Once we got them apart, we saw that there was NO grease. NONE. We greased it up and put it back together and all the noise and knocking and squeaking went away . It is as quiet as a lamb. Now, if you have one and continue to use it with the clicking and noise, try greasing it on all the joints ASAP. If continued use without grease , you will grind down the bearings and the parts and they will have to be replaced. Also, check the bolts. We found many bolts that were loose. This also, over time, will damage your parts if not tightened properly. All in all I am glad I got the install cause they did the bulk of the work, but the quality was terrible. I still worry about what ELSE they did not do. Time will tell. I am glad it was just a greasing problem and not a product defect problem. Not yet anyway.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Only average due to noise

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWilminton De
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Looks to be well made, but looks can be decieving. Took about 2-1/2 hours to assemble by myself. Not a difficult task. Really liked the "survivability" profile of the unit. It is more more robust appearing than other units of the same price
Overall, the unit provides the workout profiles you would expect in a home unit...it's comfortable and smooth #so far#. Wheels will slip on rail if they get wet, so if you perspire considerably, make accomodations to deal with water hitting the rails
Problem with noise however. Squeeks and squeels from area near flywheel. This despite re-assembling and re-lubricating owner assembled connections. Unit is usable, and noise is more of an annoynace than anything else...but hey, it's a new unit. I'd expect these types of noises after it's been beat up a bit
Bottom line will be affected by response from EPIC. If they send a tech and fix the issues promptly, the unit will rate 4. If they do what I expect and delay response, then unit will rate a 2
BTW- sales experience was good at Dicks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pay to Get It Delivered and Assembled

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAustin, TX
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The $69.00 to deliver and set it up is well worth the headache and frustration! Dick's should just build it into the final price, deliver it, and put it together.
It took 3 grown people to carry it up a flight of stairs to the work-out room. It took me (and a second person) over 4 hours to put it together. My 4 hours would have been better spent somewhere else! The hardest part of the assembly was figuring out if the wires were connected properly.
I will write another review in about a month after I have been using it to get the results I am after: weight loss and strengthening.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

everything as it should be

PostedApril 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNorthern Virginia
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased our Epic A30E about 5 months ago. Everything went very smoothly with delivery. The shippers assembled the elliptical in about 90 minutes, and everything was as it should be! We use the elliptical 4-5 times week for a combined time of about 75-90 each of those sessions. So far everything has been top notch with the A30E. It's very quiet, in fact you can't hear someone using it in the next room over... I would highly recommend the epic A30E, and also recommend springing for Dick's Sporting Goods" delivery/assembly which was very reasonably priced!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EPIC A30E Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Epic A30E Elliptical

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this item when it was on sale. Should have gotten the financing, it is a better deal than using gift cards from the grocery store for gas credits.
Had it delivered and assembled, guys who did it were very fast and did a good job.
Elliptical itself is easy to use, but you need to read through the manual at least once so you don't frustrated setting it up. Overall feels stable, no noises or rail issues yet, but I will update if they occur. Motion is smooth, and the adjustments are very helpful for both myself and my wife to adjust to our different heights. I really appreciate having the resistance and angle controls on the heart rate sticks, pressing the main panel in the middle of a workout can be tricky.
iFIT looks like it works well, I was able to create a custom run in Boston, and using an iPad, I could get the Google streatview to make me "feel" like I was actually there. Definitely better than getting the touchscreen models, since it would have cost $300 more for the same functions my iPad gives it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>