Customer reviews for Epic EPIC A35E Elliptical

Epic EPIC A35E Elliptical

Treadmill Doctor's Best Buy Winner for best new elliptical, the EPIC A35E Elliptical provides an interactive experience to keep you motivated during your workout. The 45 pre-set workout options and Google satellite, street and map view (powered by Google Maps™) simulate a real-life ride. ActiveAdjust lets you adjust the position of the handles, pedals and console, and SafeZone senses anything approaching the machine and shuts off.
Overall rating:
2.414 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
16
122941%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Review 1 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great machine...poor build quality....Really dissapointed.

PostedApril 12, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCovington, LA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Today is April 12, 2014. We bought the unit toward the end of Nov 2013. We had the unit delivered and professionally installed by Dick's. The machine worked great for a few weeks but sometime in December 2013, it started squeaking and knocking. There have been a number of issues...loose bolts, bearings going bad, improper installation, etc.
Epic walked me thru troubleshooting in the beginning but that didn't solve the problem, After some more contact with Epic Customer service, they dispatched a technician. The technician has been here twice, and Epic has shipped parts twice now. As of today, the tech is unable to repair the machine due to additional issues; he can't remove a part because a bolt is stripped. It appears as though the bolt was stripped by the installer from Dicks or it could have come like that...either way its an issue. There may be more parts that need to be shipped.
I feel horrible about this because of all the money this unit cost us. I am waiting to see what Epic Customer Service will do about this. We LOVE the machine...It really is a fantastic piece of equipment...just wish it would stop squeeking, knocking and creaking.........
If it wasn't for all of these issues, I would have given the equipment a fantastic review..and am still willing to do that if everything gets fixed....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

OMG!! IT SQUEEEKS!!!!

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHouston, Texas
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Model Number: A35E
Just had this elliptical delivered last Thursday and got to use it today for the first time. This is a replacement of a different brand that quit working after 7 months... This unit squeaks like its about to fall apart... The installers did leave three screws behind so, I'm wondering if that's the problem... Coz they greased the unit at installation time. This unit is horribly noisy and wobbly .... Hope they will send someone to fix the problem ASAP. For now, I'll give it one star, thumbs down, poor reviews and ask that before you buy this unit, you check back to see if they fixed this baby coz at this point, this unit is a terrible choice.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

got a Great Deal. works great so far

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColorado Springs, Colorado
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm not sure why the poor reviews however so far -be it 4 days in I've only done 10 miles to see how its going. after the first 3 I stopped to handle the squeaky wheel on the track other than that this machine is great. The extras far as software were not a deciding factor in my purchase. I'm not to keen on exploring the internet during my workouts.
map options are limited unless you use iFit I will look into this later.
I look forward to years of solid use of this machine.
I had originally had my eye on the SOLE E95 however after a talk with the manager I could not walk away from such a deal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We bought this machine over a year ago and it had problems from the beginning. The right foot pad jumps off the track and cracked several pieces of the plastic on that side. It is not a one time occurance but rather it happens almost everytime we used the elliptical. Then just after the unit was a year old and the warranty expired the system won't even boot up, so no screen, not able to adjust up and down, or resistance. Just a screen with a white line that cycles through like something is waiting to load but the machine never comes completely up. Very disappointing, now we have this huge useless piece of junk taking up room in our home gym.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls off the track!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We've had the EPIC A35E Elliptical for less than 2 months and haven't been able to use it for more than 10 minutes because the right side falls off the track every time! I see the complaint in other comments and am wondering if it's a flaw!!!! We had it put together by DIck's, so that shouldn't be the issue. So very disappointed!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so hot

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this machine 1 year ago. It has actually worked only 1/3 of the time. Even then, it had problems. Just finally got the issue figured out. It has a bent frame causing things to rub and break. Working with Epic now to resolve.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You expect it to work...that's why you buy it!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOregon
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
1st workout was great, I couldn't have been happier. 2nd workout, the whole right side came off the track and scratched up the whole side after 10 minutes. We put it back together, thinking it had something to do with being jostled with deliver. Nope, 3 minutes in to workout number 3, it happens again. It's now back at Dicks...dang it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great experience with EPIC Elliptical

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Not sure what the issue is with other reviewers. I bought a 32E this summer and had it professionally assembled . . . it has been fantastic. Everything works great, the internet connection is strong and allows streaming content while I work out. My whole family (from 11 yrs to adult) enjoys the workouts with the maps and videos. We liked it so much we bought a 35E this month and it also has been flawless to date.
I've lost 16 lbs and counting to date, and feel in much better shape. So it works too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money it's Junk

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTulsa,OK
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Don't waste your time or money on this machine. I bought the item spent several hours putting it together and the monitor didnt work. Took it back payed and extra $120 to have another one delivered and the 2nd machine had a bad monitor also. The Dick's in Tulsa gave me a refund right away. They need to stop selling the brand, it looks really nice and durable but its Junk if it wont work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Stay away from this Garbage unless you are just looking for a clothes rack.

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought the Epic A35E at a Dick's in Union, NJ. The machine looked like a lot of machine for the money. Fancy touch screen display, iFit, weight capacity was great and it seemed to have everything you would want for a good workout. I took it home the same day and assembled the machine the following day. The first couple of weeks it worked great. Internet connectivity was a plus. Then the squeeks began, then the knocking, then the foot pads began wobbling, then during an exercise I almost injured myself when the right pedal completely fell off the guide rail and ended up cracking the incline meter panel near the lower rear portion of the machine. The machine is cheaply made, probably the worst exercise machine I have ever owned in terms of quality and construction. It knocks, bangs, pings and most of the time that I or my wife uses it it sounds like a popcorn machine. DON'T BUY THIS GARBAGE UNLESS YOU HATE MONEY AND OWNING GOOD MACHINERY. I usually don't write reviews but I feel I must warn everyone. You may twist an ankle when the pedal flies off the rail Garbage, garbage, garbage. What else can I say? Oh yeah, this machine is garbage. DO NOT BUY, DO NOT BUY. STAY AWAY. YOU WILL REGRET IT. If you still want to buy, I will sell you mine for 50% off-as is.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine for the money

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
frommilledgeville, ga
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
because i'm 20 minutes away from the closest gym thought I would invest in an elliptical found a wide assortment of ellipticals and prices. Tried this one and several others liked the feel of the machine it moved smoothly in the store. one negative it comes needing to be assembled it took a whole day to put it together, but it works just like the one in the store
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSauk City, WI
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It is a great, challenging, and very fun machine to take advantage of. Everybody at home loves it and feels motivated to spend quality time working on it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is great

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFortson,GA
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this product.Like the Epic Reward Warranty.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Second Time's the Charm!

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSpokane WA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The first A35E we received had issues with the flywheel, but Dick's (Specifically Roxie at Dick's in Spokane, WA) worked with us to get it right and even found a new machine for us in record time. This second machine has performed fine and we have no complaints. If it wasn't for Roxie's outstanding customer support and follow up, we would have returned the machine and been a very unhappy and unsatisfied Epic customer as some of the other reviewers have stated. Epic is lacking in knowledgable tech support and customer service responsiveness, but Dicks seems to be making up for it since they back their products. Therefore, I would HIGHLY recommend getting the Dick's Extended warranty - NOT Epic's.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great piece of equipment

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWeare, NH
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The A35e is a great piece of equipment. Unfortunately I am technology illiterate and need more detailed instructions in order to fully utilize all of the features. I am unsure whether to call ifit or epic to discuss how to utilize different features. Logging workouts to take advantage of maintenance...how to use the map feature (Google) to draw a route to a nearby friends house or to conduct a workout at locations throughout the world...its a solid piece of equipment and I am getting a great workout but I need an idiot manual if its out there.......
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good machine

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGreen Brook, N.J.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This A35E Elliptical is a good mechine, I was looking for a quality built mechine that can handle 1 -3 hours a day 365 days a year. the warranty 2 years labor 5 year part are unbeatable in this market. I did have a few issues with the first machine when I was delivered so they replaced it. I believe it was damaged on the delivery, so the second machine had a issue after the first month but all is fixed and running like a horse.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice!

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromEllicott City MD
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Machine works very well and the Dick's support team met all expectations. The first machine was delivered and had major issues so the delivery team simply returned the machine. Dick's quickly delivered a new machine and we have been very happy with the product. Strongly recommend this Elliptical.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am so tired of trying to log into iFit, the squeaky wheels, sending me grease. I hate this machine and hardly use it. Want to buy one? $800 and it's yours. I'll go somewhere else and buy a cheapy one. Dick's should stop selling this brand.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible Quality

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew York
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We purchased this machine several weeks ago from Dick's. While Dick's service was outstanding - the quality of this machine was sub-par. The first machine arrived on the scheduled delivery date. We paid Dick's to deliver and assemble and once assembled it was obvious that this machine had problems. There was a grinding noise coming from the flywheel and the machine squeaked on both pedals. The tech told me they would call in for a repair - I refused this - I would not accept a repair to a brand-new, ~$2,000 machine.
I called Dick's and advised the only acceptable solution was a new replacement machine. Dick's was supportive - they contacted head office and after approx 2 weeks we received approval for a machine swap. This was then scheduled another week later.
Unfortunately, although the flywheel didn't make that grinding sound and the pedals didn't squeak - the new machine didn't incline. The techs tried to troubleshoot it by swapping out the consoles, but that didn't work.
I called Dick's immediately and advised I wanted both machines taken out and I wanted a full refund. They did not give me a problem - we did have a slight problem getting the techs to take both machines but Dick's sorted this out within minutes and both machines are now out of my house and I have been given a full credit.
So now - the next decision is which machine we will purchase - we will be avoiding Epic to be sure.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for EPIC A35E Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving It

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGreenville, NC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this machine because I knew it was time to change and because of our busy lifestyle a gym membership could go to waste. The machine works wonderfully and the fact that it has Wifi capability is such a plus. It works the arms and legs at the same time. I have no regrets with the purchase at this time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>