Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe

Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe

Add secure protection to your home with the Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe. With the ability to hold up to 24 long guns, and a convenient adjustable and carpeted interior, you can organize your guns into one safe location. The easy to use three number combo lock includes a drill-resistant steel plate behind the lock for added defense. The Field & Stream® Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe is ETL verified for 30 minutes at 1400 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (63 reviews)
5 Stars
(38)
4 Stars
(17)
3 Stars
(7)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(1)
616397%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Review 1 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gret safe getting a second!!!!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromtoms river nj
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
good safe lots of room for average stuff. holds a good amount plus ammo. weight is 420lbs,, and fire rated to 1400 for 1/2 hour.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall for the Price Point

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromEast Coast North Carolina
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
The safe was ordered on line and was ready for pickup at the nearest store in a matter of a couple hours.
The packaging was torn and scraped but the safe was intact and unharmed.
after unpacking and placing the safe next to another 24 count safe from Stack-on I realized that there is a definite size difference in Height.
This diminished height translates to a loss of shelf space and/or ability to hold longer guns such as many black powder and muzzle loaders.
The fit and finish are fine and the combination lock works easily and is exact.
The gauge for the metal casing I suspect is a slight bit on the thin side with it flexing when being moved.
I would recommend the safe as a storage safe for temporary use and would urge people to check for a better safe if a fire rating is crucial.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this produce is well built

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromPerry , Fl
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I was pleased with the safe and its construction. price was competitive with others I seen. warning it is very heavy for two people.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what I need

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
It says it will hold "24 long guns" but I don't know how. It's not that big inside but it does what I need. The delivery man was friendly, took it down the drive way and put it in the garage where I wanted it. I still had to get help moving it and setting up the final installation. Not something one person can do. I'm satisfied but if I had to do it over again, I would get a bigger one.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't expect Sentry quality

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOklahoma
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. For the price, it's adequate. Mine had some paint flaws that I touched up. Locking it does not seal it. I had to shim the front to put a slight lean in it to assure a seal when it's closed. Like all gun safes, the capacity is way overrated.
For the price, not a bad deal...
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTom's River New Jersey
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This is my first safe, I got the 24 gun safe because all of my friends have purchased smaller safes first time out and have since outgrown them. The safe is roomy, with plenty of shelving, (you have to install the shelves), but that is pretty easy. The safe is fire rated @ 1400 degrees for 30 minutes and weighs 418 pounds so once loaded its not moving. the only thing I think they overlooked is that its not waterproof, a problem I solved for ten bucks at home depot for a self adhesive rubber weather strip 3/16 of an inch thick I put around the edge of the door any thicker and it will cause it to be difficult to close door. I look forward to filling this safe, and buying a second. I hope this helps your search, good luck!!!!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poorly packaged, slight dmg.

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I own two of these. My first has been fine, no problems. Second one I just bought had the corner dented in slightly and the black paint scratched off pretty good.
If you get one, look at box first, if dmg, get another one. Didnt take it back cause it was such a pain to get into the house.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromWI
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This gun safe is exactly what I needed. Although there is no possible way you can fit 24 guns in there, it is perfect for my purposes.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGerald, MO.
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Great value! In comparison, to safes of the same size and quality, this safe has a great price. I only gave this 4 stars, because the combo is only 3 digits, Imo 4 would be more secure. However, I would recommend the product.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK Safe 24

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAR
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Bought it on sale for $549.00. Next week it was $499.00. Dick's was good to issue me a $50.00 credit. It's OK for $499.00 but it's 14 gauge steel (Stack On China is the manufacturer), kind of thin. Most entry level gun safes are 12 gauge steel. Still Ok for $499. I didn't open the Dick's credit card for that discount because I prefer to pay cash and didn't want the credit score to drop based on a new charge account. If you want heavier gauge steel, look at the Holland, it's 8 gauge. My shelves are level.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromLake Charles, La.
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Bought this safe, great value for the price. Held all my guns and ammo. Would recommend this safe highly. Great item.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FOR the Money Awesome Safe

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFarmington, MN
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I also bought this safe on Black Friday. The weight is there over 400 lbs can move it with a friend empty with a good 2 wheeler. Now with it full of ammo and such it would be a hard move. Its good enough for the average hunter looking for some average protection. I love it. Fire rating is not the best but it works for me where I live an all. (Townhouse close to fire station).If I were a coin collector or had a lot of cash in it, I would buy one that had a 1 1/2 hour rating for fire. And weighed 800 lbs. Anything bigger you cant move.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 13 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIELD AND STREAM 24 GUN SAFE

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSAN DIEGO
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Nice safe, rubber finger dial has a smooth precise movement, nice large black handle, black/silver trim, adjustable shelves with carpeted lining, padded floor, overall a nice safe for my objective.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 14 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good safe for the money

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this safe on Black Friday and I am not disappointed. The only minor thing is that the dial is a bit rough.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 15 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe for the Price. Modified it to a nice 18 Gun safe

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Alright we all know this is not a top notch safe. If you have a organized burglars targeting your stuff this is not the safe for you. Go get a $4000 Fort Knox safe or something that will keep them out. Even the browning 11 gauge safes can be easily broken into with normal tools. If you want to keep kids and the average smash and grab burglar out, this is a great deal for the $399 sale price. The body is 13 gauge steel (measured it) with 1 inch bolts. I took the long rifle rack from the back and moved it to the outside wall and transferred the rack from the outside wall to the inside. Now if fits my rifles much nicer and will hold 18 comfortably. I mounted the 3 gun rack (removed from my modifications) and mounted it lower for my carbines. I did only use one screw on the outside rack mount because of the drywall anchors they used and I didn't want to mess with the warranty.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 16 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gun Safe

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
I found the Safe to be less quality than I had thought upon purchase. The combination is in reverse to other safes that I had purchased making it awkward to open. I feel that the price was good just lacking quality. I would recommend that you spend more and get a better safe.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 17 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Field & Stream 24 Gun Safe

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCenterville, Ohio
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Product looks great. Would recommend it to anyone needing a gun safe with fire protection. The delivery guy was right on time and very helpful and friendly.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 18 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Black Friday Purchase

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTexas
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I got this safe while it was on the black Friday deal. This will be the only review that you people will need that are thinking about buying this safe.
They will load the safe in your truck for you. When you get home make sure you have a hand truck/dolly. You will need three people to safely move it to the house. Two will work if there both big guys. Make sure you load the safe on the dolly sideways so it can get it through doors.
Now onto the safe itself. The combination lock is much more sturdy than the one in the store, there is no wobble at all on it. I really like the 4 adjustable shelves, I spaced them apart and put different types of ammo on each shelf. Small nitpick, the carpet at the bottom of the safe is weak, its not secured like the rest of the carpet. When your guns are sitting on it, its scrounges up and looks bad. The only thing that really bothered me about the safe is when I open it, the door it so heavy that it basically tips over but the door props it up. I ended up fixing this by sticking a small children's book under the front of the safe. Now it opens up like you would expect.
At this price there is nothing in its class, I am very frugal and would consider this a good buy even at a higher price, which I think they do a couple times a year.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 19 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal!!!

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOntario, Ohio
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have been looking at safes for 5 months, waiting for the right opportunity. I went to Dick's for another reason and while in the store, happened to see the safes. A young man in the gun department had been very attentive and once he saw I had an interest, he gave me a thorough explanation of the various safes, and pointed out the "Field and Stream" 24-gun safe. This safe was, by far, the best deal I had seen on comparable gun safes. Important to me was the exterior hinge allowing full access to the interior. He also explained the additional 10% discount I could receive by signing up for a Dick's Credit Card. I bought 3 of these safes and was informed by the cashier that I would be receiving an additional $80 in the mail in award points. I am very pleased with the deal and the safe. Better safes can be purchased for significantly more money. If this one will fit your needs, this is the time to get one.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Review 20 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You get what you pay for!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Absolutely a great deal at $399. If I paid anymore I might be crying, but this safe at this price is well worth the money. It will definately protect my guns from the typical teenage burglars that typically hit my area and I still have money to buy my fishing kayak.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
1 2 3 4 next>>