Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe

Field & Stream Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe

Add secure protection to your home with the Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe. With the ability to hold up to 24 long guns, and a convenient adjustable and carpeted interior, you can organize your guns into one safe location. The easy to use three number combo lock includes a drill-resistant steel plate behind the lock for added defense. The Field & Stream® Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe is ETL verified for 30 minutes at 1400 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.507 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (75 reviews)
5 Stars
(48)
4 Stars
(19)
3 Stars
(7)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(1)
737597%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Review 1 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Customer avatar
bones
fromBethune, SC
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Product is excellent. The shipping was expensive and it was put in the garage instead of in the house. It was a hassle trying to get it into the house due to size, weight and front porch steps. The shipping had on it "Inside Delivery Requested" and it was not. I thought that was why the shipping was so expensive due to the inside delivery.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Safe

PostedDecember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Dave
fromCentral, Virginia
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Nice heavy safe. Very handsome. The 24 gun capacity claim is a bit of a stretch but I knew that going in.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Gun Safe

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
RLO
fromMinnesota
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Bought this safe about a week ago,very heavy,but love it!!!
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

well worth the money

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Joe1
fromSalem, OR
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
couldn't be happier I mean I got it for less than $400 and I just felt that I would never in my life get to that point.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for 399!

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
rjw
Age30 - 34
I recommend this product.
It gets 5 stars at 399. I might pay 450-475 at the most for it, but then it would only get 4 stars. I want to thank the reviewer earlier who said you can easily pull the door off while the safe is open. I would have never gotten it up the stairs with another person. Not even with an appliance dolly we tried, we went huge guys but we aren't small, I was afraid we would have gotten tired halfway and been stuck, so we took the door off that thing weighs at least 150 or so by its self. Once we took door off we easily moved it up the stairs and putting the door back on was very easy. One note: to get the door off we layed safe flat on its back and wiggled till it came off. We could not get it off with door upright for some reason. Hope this helps!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed and nothing even comes close on value!!

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Timbo
fromMentor, OH
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Just brought this home. Bought it on Thanksgiving Night for $399.00. Everything worked perfectly. Others have talked about issues with the door. No problems here!! The safe has more than enough room for what I need, and room to grow. It's not as tall as some of the other brands out there, but no big deal. An electronic door lock and another 5" is not a big deal to me, although my wife might disagree!! I don't need quick access, so the combination lock is just fine. I'll leave the quick access to the GunVault on my nightstand. For the $$$, this is one steal of a deal!! 418# and 3 of us moved through the house and into the basement with no issues.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Field & Stream 24 gun safe great value!!

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Wanda
fromFlorida
Age51 Plus
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Bought the safe for my husband last night at the Black Friday event. Staff at Dick's Davenport Florida store most helpful. Showed interior to us, carted it to door while I paid, plus 2 employees loaded it in van for us. Safe is much better quality than we expected for price. Unloaded by sitting behind safe giving it a foot shove and then just stood it up cutting the box away. Combination works smoothly. When opened, just lift door off (about 150 lbs.# and wheel it in with a light duty hand cart. Then load the rest #about 260 lbs) on the cart and wheel it in. It'll take 2 people to mount the door again as alignment with the hinge pins is a precision deal. When shut, the door has a little play in it so I'll get some thin weather strip for the bottom and sides so it fits tight, but leave the top edge open to ventilate or mold and his buddy mildew will visit. The safe is 4 inches shorter than a Liberty 24 gun safe we have, but found out that may be due to staying within the maximum height of a commercail pallet keeping the price down. We checked it all over and it's perfect, as advertised, and at a price anybody can afford making it a truly great safe for the working man who otherwise wouldn't be safe at all!!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

24 gun fire safe

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
RichieRich
fromgretna,louisiana
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Purchased last xmass on sale, it has worked awesome! I would recommend this safe.I am very happy with it.It does take two people to get it in place.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

field and stream sportsman 24

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Darryl
fromWashingston State
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
You cant go wrong for the price i will get one more field and stream sportsman 24
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great value

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Bruce
I recommend this product.
At this price point you'll be hard pressed to find this level of quality.
Are there better safes? Sure! But for me, looking to put this on my second floor, With overall weight load a consideration as well as the logistics of getting up one and a half flights of stairs, I'm glad this is the one I chose. A 800 lb Liberty just would not have worked.
TIP: take the door off before moving it... It will lessen the weight by about 125 lbs. simply open the door perpendicular to the front and just lift it up and off.
You will have to relocate barrel supports to accommodate the shorter carbines. Use the screw in type wall anchors with about 1/3 of the tip end cut off as mollies to anchor the support's screws.
Let's face it.... Any safe can be defeated and any house fire can get hot enough to melt the guns in any safe. Insure your guns against theft and fire loss. This safe makes it just hard enough to get into that most thieves wont take the time .
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS BOX

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Mikie5689999
fromIndianapolis, Indiana
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is one "HEAVY MAMA" of a safe. Topping the scales at 400 plus pounds. I bought it so it would give the thief a back problem if he tried to steal it. The construction of this piece is of high quality. Dick's did me right on the price! I even have room for some of my wife's jewelry in there.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good value

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Customer avatar
ralph
fromohio
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
SAFE WAS OF GOOD QUALITY,FIT FINISH LOOKS GOOD,COMBINATION LOCK WORKS WELL,I WILL SAY THIS SAFES FILL UP FAST,SO NEVER TRY TO GET BY WITH THE NEXT SIZE DOWN THAT JUST WILL NOT WORK,ALSO IF YOU HAVE LONG GUNS IN SOFT CASES YOUR SPACE GOES DOWN QUICK,AND YOU WILL NEVER GET IN THE AMOUNT OF GUNS YOU THINK,OVERALL I AM GLAD I BOUGHT THIS SAFE.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gret safe getting a second!!!!

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Customer avatar
tubesock tommy
fromtoms river nj
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
good safe lots of room for average stuff. holds a good amount plus ammo. weight is 420lbs,, and fire rated to 1400 for 1/2 hour.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall for the Price Point

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
gmith53
fromEast Coast North Carolina
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
The safe was ordered on line and was ready for pickup at the nearest store in a matter of a couple hours.
The packaging was torn and scraped but the safe was intact and unharmed.
after unpacking and placing the safe next to another 24 count safe from Stack-on I realized that there is a definite size difference in Height.
This diminished height translates to a loss of shelf space and/or ability to hold longer guns such as many black powder and muzzle loaders.
The fit and finish are fine and the combination lock works easily and is exact.
The gauge for the metal casing I suspect is a slight bit on the thin side with it flexing when being moved.
I would recommend the safe as a storage safe for temporary use and would urge people to check for a better safe if a fire rating is crucial.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this produce is well built

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
bigslick
fromPerry , Fl
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I was pleased with the safe and its construction. price was competitive with others I seen. warning it is very heavy for two people.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what I need

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
KW502
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
It says it will hold "24 long guns" but I don't know how. It's not that big inside but it does what I need. The delivery man was friendly, took it down the drive way and put it in the garage where I wanted it. I still had to get help moving it and setting up the final installation. Not something one person can do. I'm satisfied but if I had to do it over again, I would get a bigger one.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Don't expect Sentry quality

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Crusty
fromOklahoma
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
You get what you pay for. For the price, it's adequate. Mine had some paint flaws that I touched up. Locking it does not seal it. I had to shim the front to put a slight lean in it to assure a seal when it's closed. Like all gun safes, the capacity is way overrated.
For the price, not a bad deal...
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+4points
13of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe!!

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Tubesock Tommy
fromTom's River New Jersey
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This is my first safe, I got the 24 gun safe because all of my friends have purchased smaller safes first time out and have since outgrown them. The safe is roomy, with plenty of shelving, (you have to install the shelves), but that is pretty easy. The safe is fire rated @ 1400 degrees for 30 minutes and weighs 418 pounds so once loaded its not moving. the only thing I think they overlooked is that its not waterproof, a problem I solved for ten bucks at home depot for a self adhesive rubber weather strip 3/16 of an inch thick I put around the edge of the door any thicker and it will cause it to be difficult to close door. I look forward to filling this safe, and buying a second. I hope this helps your search, good luck!!!!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poorly packaged, slight dmg.

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Mazroth
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I own two of these. My first has been fine, no problems. Second one I just bought had the corner dented in slightly and the black paint scratched off pretty good.
If you get one, look at box first, if dmg, get another one. Didnt take it back cause it was such a pain to get into the house.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Field & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Happy

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Survivor
fromWI
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This gun safe is exactly what I needed. Although there is no possible way you can fit 24 guns in there, it is perfect for my purposes.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>