Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe

Field & Stream Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe

Add secure protection to your home with the Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe. With the ability to hold up to 24 long guns, and a convenient adjustable and carpeted interior, you can organize your guns into one safe location. The easy to use three number combo lock includes a drill-resistant steel plate behind the lock for added defense. The Field & Stream® Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe is ETL verified for 30 minutes at 1400 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
505296%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
Review 1 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FOR the Money Awesome Safe

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFarmington, MN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I also bought this safe on Black Friday. The weight is there over 400 lbs can move it with a friend empty with a good 2 wheeler. Now with it full of ammo and such it would be a hard move. Its good enough for the average hunter looking for some average protection. I love it. Fire rating is not the best but it works for me where I live an all. (Townhouse close to fire station).If I were a coin collector or had a lot of cash in it, I would buy one that had a 1 1/2 hour rating for fire. And weighed 800 lbs. Anything bigger you cant move.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FIELD AND STREAM 24 GUN SAFE

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSAN DIEGO
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice safe, rubber finger dial has a smooth precise movement, nice large black handle, black/silver trim, adjustable shelves with carpeted lining, padded floor, overall a nice safe for my objective.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good safe for the money

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this safe on Black Friday and I am not disappointed. The only minor thing is that the dial is a bit rough.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Safe for the Price. Modified it to a nice 18 Gun safe

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Alright we all know this is not a top notch safe. If you have a organized burglars targeting your stuff this is not the safe for you. Go get a $4000 Fort Knox safe or something that will keep them out. Even the browning 11 gauge safes can be easily broken into with normal tools. If you want to keep kids and the average smash and grab burglar out, this is a great deal for the $399 sale price. The body is 13 gauge steel (measured it) with 1 inch bolts. I took the long rifle rack from the back and moved it to the outside wall and transferred the rack from the outside wall to the inside. Now if fits my rifles much nicer and will hold 18 comfortably. I mounted the 3 gun rack (removed from my modifications) and mounted it lower for my carbines. I did only use one screw on the outside rack mount because of the drywall anchors they used and I didn't want to mess with the warranty.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Gun Safe

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I found the Safe to be less quality than I had thought upon purchase. The combination is in reverse to other safes that I had purchased making it awkward to open. I feel that the price was good just lacking quality. I would recommend that you spend more and get a better safe.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Field & Stream 24 Gun Safe

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCenterville, Ohio
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product looks great. Would recommend it to anyone needing a gun safe with fire protection. The delivery guy was right on time and very helpful and friendly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Black Friday Purchase

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromTexas
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this safe while it was on the black Friday deal. This will be the only review that you people will need that are thinking about buying this safe.
They will load the safe in your truck for you. When you get home make sure you have a hand truck/dolly. You will need three people to safely move it to the house. Two will work if there both big guys. Make sure you load the safe on the dolly sideways so it can get it through doors.
Now onto the safe itself. The combination lock is much more sturdy than the one in the store, there is no wobble at all on it. I really like the 4 adjustable shelves, I spaced them apart and put different types of ammo on each shelf. Small nitpick, the carpet at the bottom of the safe is weak, its not secured like the rest of the carpet. When your guns are sitting on it, its scrounges up and looks bad. The only thing that really bothered me about the safe is when I open it, the door it so heavy that it basically tips over but the door props it up. I ended up fixing this by sticking a small children's book under the front of the safe. Now it opens up like you would expect.
At this price there is nothing in its class, I am very frugal and would consider this a good buy even at a higher price, which I think they do a couple times a year.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal!!!

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOntario, Ohio
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been looking at safes for 5 months, waiting for the right opportunity. I went to Dick's for another reason and while in the store, happened to see the safes. A young man in the gun department had been very attentive and once he saw I had an interest, he gave me a thorough explanation of the various safes, and pointed out the "Field and Stream" 24-gun safe. This safe was, by far, the best deal I had seen on comparable gun safes. Important to me was the exterior hinge allowing full access to the interior. He also explained the additional 10% discount I could receive by signing up for a Dick's Credit Card. I bought 3 of these safes and was informed by the cashier that I would be receiving an additional $80 in the mail in award points. I am very pleased with the deal and the safe. Better safes can be purchased for significantly more money. If this one will fit your needs, this is the time to get one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

You get what you pay for!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Absolutely a great deal at $399. If I paid anymore I might be crying, but this safe at this price is well worth the money. It will definately protect my guns from the typical teenage burglars that typically hit my area and I still have money to buy my fishing kayak.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

399.99 Black Friday Sale Item 2013

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, Ohio
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First safe I have ever purchased and going into the field of law enforcement, you cannot beat this price for what you get! By far the best deal for this season and you have to pre order it before a certain date. 2 thumbs up for offering this price for the working class!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought mine today a week early and For the black friday price $399.00!!!!!!!!

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
frommaryland
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome price, Got helped buy a young man that helped me get %10 more off so I walked out getting a 24 gun safe for the price of the 10 bun safe.. I call that a deal....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value and Well Made!

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBangor, Pa.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is very well made. Looks good, very secure, and while there are others out there that cost much more, this one is a great value for the money, and Dick's service and in-store help was outstanding too! A win - win all the way around.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great safe

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromgrove city
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bought from dicks. staff in gun department was very helpful. helped load in van. heavy safe phew wee. had to have friend help with it. anyway had for awile now and very pleased with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMaryland
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had been looking for a safe to comfortably store a few rifles and handguns for around $500. I wanted something that was stronger than a cabinet or locker. This safe seems to be built well for the price range and meets my needs and has a sleek look. Keep in mind that it is not a x-thousand dollar safe. It should do a good job to keep smash and grabbers out, but with a bit of time and tools could probably be defeated. I am keeping mine secluded and bolted down.
I will add that the lock mechanism was damaged in transit to the store at some point as it was very hard to turn. Stack-On who builds these safes for Field and Stream had a safe technician out within 2 DAYS to resolve the problem. Great customer service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good safe for the price IF YOU GET IT ON SALE

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Customer avatar
fromApex, NC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This safe is regular price $649. For that money, it is NOT a good deal. There is a nicer Winchester 24-gun safe for the same price at Tractor Supply with the same fire rating - my father in law has that one, and it is a little bigger, nicer looking outside, higher quality inside, and comes with a door storage system to store handguns and other small items on the door. But I got this Field & Stream safe at Dick's on sale for $499, plus a 10% discount for signing up for their credit card, so I could not pass it up. For that money, it is a good basic safe. It will NOT comfortably hold 24 long guns. You would have to jam them in there. I would say 10-15 long guns is more realistic, using both vertical sides, with just a few shelves above them. Then you would still have room to take guns in and out without banging them together. As another review mentioned, the carpet on the shelves does not fully wrap around them, so there is a 4-6 inch gap on the bottom of each shelf with no carpet - that is weird, but not the end of the world. The shelf rails in my safe where not installed evenly, so on one side, the shelf doesn't sit level. Also, I un-screwed the shelf rails from the area where I store the long guns, because the guns could bump into the metal rails and get scratched. For $450 I would say this is a great value for that money, even with the issues I mentioned. But at $650, I'm going to deduct 1 star for being over-priced and another star for quality control.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
This review is fromField & Stream Sportsman 24 Gun Fire Safe.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Review on field and stream 24 gun and fire safe

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHenderson Nevada
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have been looking for a safe for awhile. This safe for the money is awesome!! I wanted a combination safe for reliability. This safe has everything I needed with great space. I do understand that sometimes corners are cut to save on price.the interior on the safe was a little disappointing. The shelfs we're not full carpeted kind of disappointing because the rap on the bottom dost cover all of the wood, and the plastic clips to hold the shelfs were cheap. Over all happy with the purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What A Safe!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSun City Center
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I went to Dick's looking for a smaller Stack ON model safe and, because of the price, came away with a larger and better quality Field and Stream model! It is a quality item that more than meets my needs for security of my firearms and personal items! Thank you Dick's!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Safe

PostedJune 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHenderson NV
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fills all my needs of a gun safe & personal paper work.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

24 F&S gun safe

PostedJune 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAyden, NC
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value, good price, good quality and appearance. I have had good service with everything I have bought from Dick's. Some prices seem a little high to me but I have learned over the years that it is worth the difference to buy quality products. The things I have bought from Dick's have all been of good quality. I will continue to shop your store!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Field & Stream 24 Gun Fire Safe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Field&Stream Safe - 24

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSouthern, NJ
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product and value. Size 55h x 20d x 24w. Lots of interior room and flexible shelving arrangements for smaller items. Seems much heavier than the advertised 250lbs and is very solid with a high quality fit and appearance. Pre drilled holes on rear wall for bolts so as to attach to wall (would recommend this as door is very heavy and when opened safe leans slightly forward but not enough to tip over.) Nicely finished interior (gray carpet material) on floor, walls and shelves with 1" foam liner on floor under carpet. On sale for $549 down from $600 and no sales tax in NJ on safes. Researched this purchase for several months and found this safe to be the best size and quality and finally the sale price from Dicks's made it a win win.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>