Customer reviews for Potomac Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak

Potomac Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak

Stay comfortable on the water with the Potomac ® Pathfinder 100 Kayak. This sit-in kayak features a molded seat, adjustable padded backrest and seat cushion, providing ultimate paddling comfort. Ram-X ™ hull material glides effortlessly across the waters' surface and delivers an enjoyable ride every time. Includes bow and stern carrying handles, drain plug, adjustable foot pegs and more!
Overall rating:
4.011 / 5
4
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (89 reviews)
5 Stars
(37)
4 Stars
(33)
3 Stars
(5)
2 Stars
(11)
1 Star
(3)
758984%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Review 1 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pathfinder - Catalyst comparison

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Zoomer167
fromPA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Ok - so reviewed the Path100 about 3 months ago and have since bought a Cat100. We now have a 'fleet' of 2 Path100s and a Flagship Cat100. I have used both - this is for those of you tying to decide between the 2. I am 6 ft. 200 lbs. and use them on lakes and < Class 3 rivers.
Hull - The Path100 has a more 'V' shaped hull which tends to be a little tipsier than the Cat100 whose hull is more of a flat 'U'. Both handle well in the water but you must sit lower in the Path100 to get the same stability as the Cat100. The Path 100 is definitely more tipsy upon getting in and out of the boat. The Cat100 hull also has a more defined keel which means it does track better. The Cat100 handles better with motorboat traffic #always paddle into the waves# the Path100 feels like you are more of a fishing bobbin bouncing up and down.
Storage - The Path100 has a single storage container in stern but it is not waterproof at all - although you could use some silica compound to make the seal more waterproof. The Path100 has storage in stern and bow that are both very water resistant - but not airtight waterproof. According to specs you can carry 50 more lbs. on the Cat100 and I believe it.
Seating / comfort - Both the Path100 and Cat100 have good open space for your legs and body. You will not feel cramped at all in either. The Cat100 does have a much better seat that is more durable and comfortable - especially good for longer trips or picky people! The Path100 seat has torn from attachments already but is still in place and functional for now. I use / recommend a cushion with both boats.
Build / amenities - The Cat100 definitely feels more ridged and stable but it weighs 10 lbs. more than the Path100. Both are 10 feet long. Both can be carried like a suitcase to and from the water. A reasonably strong person can get them up on the roof of a vehicle, both the Path100 and Cat100 can easily be handled by 2 people.
The Cat100 also has deeper cup holders and designated places to mount fishing hardware. Cat100 is definitely has more and better options and stability when it comes to fishing if that is your thing.
A spray skirt could be put on the Cat100 but I don't think the Path100 is cut deep enough to do that.
10 feet is a good length for recreational lakes and up to class 3 rivers. I have no idea about class 4 or 5 and do not care to go there. Longer kayaks go faster and ride smoother but are not as nimble . . .shorter ones are more nimble but slower and do not ride as smooth. It is a tradeoff you must decide . . .
Both these Kayaks float when submerged #not all kayaks do# but I added a noodle to each just bc they are cheap and flex and fit easily and add more floatation without compromising space - a good thing.
Is the Cat100 worth $150 more than the Path100? If you have the $ and think you want to get kindof serious with trips, tougher water and value comfort or fish then definitely yes. If you are just going to be an recreational occasional user then the Path100 is a fine inexpensive boat to get started in then upgrade to Cat100 later.
Hope this helps - Zoomer.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+47points
47of 47voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For $150 stop whining...

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Brown Floater
fromPayson, AZ
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is obviously an inexpensive entry level kayak that is excellent if you are just getting into the sport. All of the gripes below may be true, but it floats and moves when you paddle it, so what do you expect for $150. All of the issues with tracking, tipping, etc. will only make you a better paddler with practice. So if you are physically fit and new to the sport, this is a great kayak to learn on for two reasons: 1) If you find out you don't like the sport or do not have time to put into the process (transportation to the lake, setup, etc.), then you have not wasted much money with the experiment, and 2) The shortcomings of the design will force you to overcome them by learning how to paddle efficiently and keep your weight balanced while in the cockpit. Regarding the premature wear and tear issues, this product is just like any other in that it will do just fine if you take good care of it.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product at a Great Price!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Charlie
fromCentral PA
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have purchased 3 of these in the past 4 years, and will continue to buy them in the future! I use them a lot and have never had a problem with any of them.. My only complaint that I have is that the dry box does not keep water out, but for what the kayak costs, what do you expect? Just keep your stuff in a ziploc bag and then it will stay dry in the dry box.. I would recommend this product to my friends, it's a great buy!
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Timers

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
First Time Kayaker
fromBend, Or
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Purchased two of these because they were on sale. Read the reviews once we got home and became very nervous. I'm 6'-2" and 260lbs and many reviews stated these would tip easy and not handle waves and they don't track well. Took them out this weekend and these are amazing! Tracked well, handled my size well and got into rough water and no problems, very stable kayak. My wife and I are first time kayakers and we both thought these were great. Lite weight enough to maneuver in and out of the water. Excellent purchase.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a stress free and fun little kayak this is!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Pakkratt
fromTrenton, Ohio
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I was looking for a low cost, lightweight, throw in the water n go kind of boat, and this kayak met all of my expectations. This my second kayak. The other one I have is a sit on top ocean kayak trident 11 that is totally rigged for fishing...a true fish hunter. But all of its gear and weight doesn't allow it to portage well for casual fun on the river. Thus enter the pathfinder. Its 35lb weight makes it an absolute pleasure to carry on my shoulder to and from the water. Its simple no nonsense design is sturdy and well made. The tuff RamX hull is harder than roto molded boats and is far more scratch and stain resistant. Also the hull does not warp like roto molded poly boats do. On the water the pathfinder performs like I would expect a 10ft light weight kayak would. It is surprisingly nimble yet stable. I have read other reviews stating that the pathfinder is "tippy" but that sensation quickly goes away as your hips reflexes adapt. The first time you're on the water with it just rock your hips back and forth and you will discover the kayak has a very stable edge to it. On the water the pathfinder tracks as I would expect a 10ft kayak would with this hull design. It does coast straight on flat water and its light weight allows you to paddle up to speed quickly. Proper paddling greatly enhances its performance but don't expect to win races. I'm 5' 11" and weigh 210 lbs. Sitting inside the pathfinder is surprisingly comfortable and there is plenty of leg room. The foot pegs are sturdy, comfortably wide, and easily adjust. There is plenty of room to store a dry bag or two in the bow and there is a bungee tie down on top of the bow. There is built in cup holder in the dash with plenty of room on each side of it to mount rod holders or other accessories of your choice. There is a stern hatch storage area but I think it could have been larger. Also a dry bag is needed there as the stern hatch cover is not water proof. In conclusion, I paid only a 150 bucks for my pathfinder off the showroom floor, I could not have found a better kayak for the money. I'm very pleased with it and would highly recommend this kayak for the beginner or for anyone who just wants to throw a boat in the water and go have fun. Happy kayaking!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Boat

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
King
fromMt Alto, WV
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
We bought a few kayaks before finding a line we liked. I bought two of these at $199. I'm 6' & fit well in this boat. I found it to be fast, track well, & stable. My sons 10 & 7 move through the water with no problems in these boats. I think I'll add some weight to there kayak just so I can keep up in my slow one that I paid 3 times the price for.
The light kayaks are also really easy to load on top of the van or over the side of the truck by myself also.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We bought 2 and LOVE them

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
B
fromMass
I recommend this product.
Novice (been kayaking a couple times) kayakers and today we bought 2 of these and took them to the lake for a spin. FOUR hours later I still did not want to get out of the water but my arms were basically telling me I had too. This Kayak is smooth, stable, and we really put it to the test. We took them across the open part of the lake with 2 foot swells and the boat handled great then we entered the mouth of a winding river off the side and went through a narrow path and it handled just as well. We honestly spent four hours our first day in these and they are very comfortable. Adjustable foot pegs are a nice plus as well. HIGHLY recommend this kayak for anyone interested in getting started out.
Pros: Comfortable, Smooth, Stable, Easy To Lift
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Tim
fromWest Virginia
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I read some negative reviews on here but after buying this and taking it home, I can't seem to find anything negative to write about. This is my second kayak, the first is a Lifetime sit on top fishing kayak that has simply become too much of a burden to load and unload alone. My wife occasionally goes and I will keep it so that she can go with me but I wanted something to take fishing that was easy to load and unload, I could use my microlight reel inside of, and something that wouldn't be too terrible to paddle. I hit a home run with this one on all counts and I can't imagine anyone being unhappy with this item except maybe someone who wants to flip it around rocks and whitewater, which I know nothing about. It paddles easy and straight, at least on flat water and has lots of room inside. very comfortable to sit in as you lean back and float. I'm very pleased with it as well as the Dicks experience.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great deal

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Steph
fromPlymouth, MA
Age18 - 24
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I purchased this as the first kayak I have ever owned, though I have kayaked several times in my life.
Some basic fact about me:
5'3", 135 lbs, 19 years old, female. Athletic.
I purchased this mostly because I love the outdoors and love exercise, and didn't want to drop over $250 on a kayak. I read up on several, both used and new, and I was wary of this Potomac because of the scarce bad reviews it got.
After going into Dick's and looking at several, I decided on purchasing this one. I am SO happy that I did! I am surrounded by lakes and ponds, and it handles so well on them. It moved perfectly and I found it incredibly stable. I'm sure if you stood up or rocked violently, it would rock, yes, but for general kayaking, this is perfect. It also has floatation in the back and I believe the front so it would be difficult to sink.
Just for reference: my father is 5'7"-5'8" and around 200 lbs, he tried it and could maneuver easily, and did not tip or anything. However, he said that if he were to purchase one for himself, he would probably buy something a little bit longer.
Such a great deal, and I am absolutely ecstatic that I didn't spend more - this is a great little boat for paddling around!
TRANSPORTING IT: I drive a tiny subcompact car - a Saturn SL1, 1999 - and this fits very well with the back seats down and jammed in the back. I have rigged up a rope system where I can close the trunk over it, and it only sticks out a couple of feet #I mark it with an orange flag#. I was also able to take it home in my father's Chevy Impala #though it didn't fit as well#.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great beginner's Kayak

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Big Nate
fromMontgomeryville, PA
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've had a Pathfinder for about five years now, and while I've long since replaced it with something a little more my size, I still use it as a loaner for novice kayakers on day trips. Its design, quality and affordability make it the perfect beginner's kayak. It tracks well on smooth water, manuevers easily in fast-flowing streams, and best of all, it floats even when its full of water. If you're looking for an inexpensive kayak in which to test the waters, this is the craft for you.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Value/Great for Beginners

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Ryan86
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
So clearly there are alot of mixed reviews about this product. I purchased mine last summer and quickly fell in love. This is a great kayak for all novice kayakers. This was my first one and I purposely purchased a less expensive one because I have never kayaked before. I was expecting alot less than what the Pathfinder gave me. The tracking is pretty poor, but the hull is almost flat so it should be expected. Water does easily get inside (from paddeling, not water splashing up). Other than those two things, this kayak is great.I have even gone out in the ocean a couple of times with it. It wasn't easy getting through the surf ( I sank alot), but once I got through it was great. If you try hard enough to get through the surf then this kayak can have you out in the ocean with the dolphins. I am always out in the inlet and on the rivers and never have any problems. Spacious opening to get in and out. The adjustable foot holds are very convenient. Very light weight.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unstable for a Big Guy!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Slingshotz
fromAlabama
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this kayak because two friends had Pathfinder's and loved them. The Pathfinder is rated up to 275lbs. I'm 6'3" and weigh 240 lbs so I assumed the Pathfinder would work for me since I was under the limit. However, I soon realized once I was in the water that the closer you are to the weight limit the more unstable the kayak became. My friends had no problems with theirs and they average 170lbs. If you are close to the weight limit I would suggest getting a different kayak you can enjoy rather than having to struggle all day to keep it up right.
Cons: Cheap handles, Unstable at greater weight, Thin hull
Pros: Good Price, Good leg room, Lightweight
Bottom line: If you are under or around 200-210 lbs and want a cheap kayak to get on the water with this will work for you. If you are over 200-210 lbs buy another kayak.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great first buy!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
NewKayak
fromColumbia, SC
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've rented kayaks before but this is my first one purchased. Took it out for the first time on Lake Murray on a windy day and it was great! It's not perfect, of course, and tracking was a bit off but the water was choppy and it was quite windy, so no big surprise. Stable? Yes! I never felt like it was going to dump me out. I'm 6' tall, 225 lbs and I was comfortable for the 2 and half hours I was on the lake. The adjustable foot pedals are a nice option to have (I didn't even have to have them all the way to the end; had one or two notches to spare). I was quite impressed with such an economy model kayak. It is wonderful for beginners and I can't wait to get it on a river. Will I be taking it on through rapids? Of course not. But then that's not the kind of kayak you get at these prices. But for cruising on the lake or riding down a calm river, this fits the bill.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
cher420
fromvermont
Age51 Plus
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I am new to kayaking and this kayak is great for the beginner, the foot pegs adjust easily , nice little storage area , very comfortable seat , so far so good... I have enjoyed several peaceful moments on the calm waters with this kayak, My daughter and I each purchased one of these at the great price at 179.00 plus we got 10% off the price of the paddle. I am looking forward to kayaking alot this summer and I am glad to have purchase this at such a great price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and awesome Kayak

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Just having fun
fromIllinois
I recommend this product.
Unstable - NO,may take a little to get used too, but all in all a great ride. I used this kayak in a lake with wave coming from all over. This thing is a blast Fast - This thing moves with little effort. Nimble - very easy to control in waves and flat water. Again this may take about 30 seconds to get used to however after that its a fun kayak. All you babies saying its hard to control should stick to floating in your bathtub ;)
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheapest for a reason

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Colonel Mustard
fromIn the Kitchen
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
When other reviewers say that they think the Pathfinder 100 tracks well and is stable, they just don't have experience with better kayaks.
.
If you've used other yaks, you'll notice when you first get in the Pathfinder 100 that it does indeed tip more than most - which is manageable for agile people with a decent sense of balance, and may not cause you to flip the boat (I haven't) - but the smooth, relatively non-keeled bottom allows the kayak to also quickly slide sideways away from you, and torque, in addition to the tipping, making entry even more difficult.
.
Once out on the water and moving, the lack of a defined keel makes tracking (moving in a straight line towards a target destination) very difficult. You find yourself fish-tailing on every stroke, (your butt swinging out on the side you paddled on), which changes your orientation, and causes you to have to do more work to course-correct.
.
In addition to the fish-tailing, you are also tipping a little to the opposite side of your paddle. Not that you'll capsize, but tipping does further the tracking problem. (When tipping is done intentionally to aid in course-correction, it's called "edging". Unfortunately, this kayak wants to edge without you telling it to.) I've never been prone to motion sickness, but this boat can sure make you dizzy... unless you LIKE the feeling of tipping AND fish-tailing side-to-side at the same time. Compensating to prevent the tipping/edging causes more of a work-out, too. How much work do you want to do compared to just having a relaxing trip?
.
If you stop paddling, at first you'll notice a slight bit more drift to the side opposite your last paddle than most kayaks do (although they all do this to some extent), but then a second or two later, as your forward velocity begins to slow, you all of the sudden take an unexpected 90-degree turn to that side, much quicker than you usually see with other kayaks.
.
Any waves you encounter will also cause you to slide in their direction, which a better keel would help to prevent.
.
Beyond tracking and stability issues, I found the foot room to be lacking, due to a shallow body cavity / fuselage depth. I like to use the ball of my foot to push against the footrest, but in this kayak, doing so would cause my toes to be mashed against the roof of the shell. In order to use the foot rests at all, I had to angle my heels inward and press with more of my toes. This uses your leg muscles in a whole new way, which is rather awkward, but besides that, having your heels in and knees outward against the hull isn't all that natural feeling, unless your a frog. I believe this is also why the cockpit port is so large, to accommodate the fact that your legs are going to have to stick up above it somehow due to the shallow fuselage. Legs sticking up like this, by the way, will hinder use of a splash guard. Although wait!! - the lip around the cockpit is straight and small, so any guard, skirt, or cockpit cover will easily slip right off on it own.
.
The back stow compartment is not at all water tight, just a loosely resting cap, held down only by the bungee straps. Those straps are also attached to the cap by clips (so that the cap won't blow or wash away), but having them clipped on prevent you from using the straps to hold anything else down except small items half the width of the body at that point. Definitely not enough room for a life preserver.
.
If you don't care about any of that stuff... well, the Pathfinder 100 DOES float... so it's got that going for it.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+21points
30of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect day on the river kayak

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Choctawhatchee Outlaw
fromDothan, Al
I recommend this product.
Picked it up during the father's day sale for a great deal at dicks. This is my first kayak. I have never canoed or kayaked in my life. Im a big guy also, 5'11" 265#. Other than the initial first 10 minutes of ungracefully falling in it and losing 2 beers after almost tipping, I have had zero complaints. Comfortable seating area even after 5 hours on the water. But i took a break every hour or so to stretch. Doesnt leak. Sure it will tip if u are an unbalanced person, but i have had no problems tipping after the initial period of getting used to it. My first trip was 5 hours down a small river with a decent current. Turns very well. It doesnt track straight at all, but that is to be expected due to the hull shape and lack of fins or rudders. Sits low in the water so you need at least a good foot of water to stay moving without rubbing aground. I bottomed out and ran aground numerous times on the limestone bottoms of my local river and there is no damage and very minimal scratches. the storage area in the rear hatch is just big enough for my drybox from dicks which i keep my pistol, phone, cigs, and keys in. The hatch is not waterproof, but works perfectly for me. I plan on coming up with a solution for it to make it more waterproof in the future. i use a soft-sided cooler up front under the bow bungees, and i am able to carry 12 beers no problem. the most storage on it is past the foot pegs under the bow of the boat. i use a dry bag from a discount store that i keep a change of clothes, food, and anything else i need. and there is plenty of room for it up under there. If u are in the market for a good small pond, small river boat, this is perfect for you. Another thing i love is how light it is; i can throw it on my shoulder and carry it no problem. its also easy to load on top of my suv also. i bought some pool noodles and zip tied them to my luggage rack and the kayak rides up there wonderfully. In conclusion, i love this thing and everyone who has rode it has loved it too. This suits me perfectly and gets me on the water in a very very reasonable way. do yourself a favor, and go buy this one and see if u like it before spending big bucks on one. worst case scenario is you find out kayaking is not for you and sell it on [@]and lose a little money. but if u like it, you will be kicking urself for not getting it sooner!
User submitted photo
Pros: Stable, Easy To Lift, Comfortable, Good Maneuverability, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle
Cons: Poor Tracking
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for recreation!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Kevin
fromBuffalo NY
I recommend this product.
Great stability, has a convenient beverage holder, light weight and maneuvers well! Not so great at tracking but this is not built to do that. back storage is just big enough to accommodate a pair of size 12 mens shoes. Front storage is plentiful but there is no divider/separation between your legs/feet and the open area. Foot pegs adjust far enough to accommodate me wearing shoes (I'm 6'1) and feel stable. Overall, this a a great kayak for first timers or people on a budget and are tall!
Pros: Stable, Easy To Lift, Good Maneuverability, Easy Entry & Exit
Cons: Poor Tracking
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT BUY!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
KGB
fromWaterloo, Iowa
I recommend this product.
I am by far an experienced kayak'er. But i take my boat out once a week and go down the local river. There isn't anybody anymore uncoordinated as me, and i've never tipped over in this boat. I've used a friends 8 ft kayak and went over 3 times. She is a stable boat. And for those reviews that say its 'unstable' or 'hard to track'....they need lessons in keeping their balance and/or how to use an oar. its not hard to steer. Sure, if you stop paddling, and drift, the boat will start to yaw. thats called "current" people. Those reviews who say this is a bad product might be better off floating around in an innertube. The stern compartment isnt watertight, but it does the trick. I put my Xicar travel humidor in there, and my cigars stay dry (i also put my phone in there inside a baggie...no problem) Overall, its a great boat for the money. Dont want to spend $400-500 on a "pro" kayak? This one will fit the bill.
Pros: Stable, Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle, Easy To Lift, Good Maneuverability
Cons: Not Enough Storage
+18points
26of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works for us

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
I sail too
fromIndianapolis
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Bought two of these 4 summers ago. Used them probably 150 times. Rugged, light, Great toy. No need for us to go with the expensive yaks since we just use them for lake and back water excursions. Our kids just love them. Even with my 200# frame, they have held up well. Great introduction yak to see if you will actually use them before making a more major purchase. With what I can see, I could still get $150 a piece for them if I decide to move up. Paid $179 on sale 4 years ago.Great fun investment!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+13points
16of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>