Customer reviews for Potomac Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak

Potomac Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak

Stay comfortable on the water with the Potomac ® Pathfinder 100 Kayak. This sit-in kayak features a molded seat, adjustable padded backrest and seat cushion, providing ultimate paddling comfort. Ram-X ™ hull material glides effortlessly across the waters' surface and delivers an enjoyable ride every time. Includes bow and stern carrying handles, drain plug, adjustable foot pegs and more!
Overall rating:
4.035 / 5
4
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
10
1 Star
3
738784%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Review 21 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased.

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromUpstate, N.Y.
Bought two of these yesterday and spent the morning on a reservoir, today. They were everything we had hoped. They handled well, were easy to paddle, and moved quickly on quiet water (which is what we bought them for). We are hoping to take them camping, soon. I'm hoping we can transport some gear in these.
Pros: Good Maneuverability, Easy to Paddle, Stable
Cons: Not Enough Storage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Having a great time in mine

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSussex county, NJ
I am a beginner, but have had great experiences in mine. I use it in quiet waters in northern NJ so far. Mine does get some water inside, usually from the ungraceful way I get into it. Not enough to worry about sinking. I do have trouble keeping it going straight, thought it was my lack of paddling ability. Saw an eagle yesterday, wish I started kayaking years ago.
Pros: Stable, Easy To Lift
Cons: Poor Tracking
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Value!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWentzville, MO. 63385
I don't believe the story a guy wrote on here about the foot rests breaking off and the kayak sinking to the bottom. What a jerk! This has flotation built in and would not sink in any circumstances! He swam an hour to save himself! What baloney! I purchased this kayak about two months ago and have had it out on the water probably ten times. When you very first get in; it does feel a little tippy. But it really isn't. If you don't over-react and shift all your weight to the other side, it simply rights itself and within five minutes I caught on and have never noticed it since. I bought this kayak because of the very low sales price, realizing that I would need to buy a life preserver and decent double paddle. I got a nice paddle set for about $30.00. I use it for nature photography and fishing and just general exploring around. I have bad arthritis of the knees and when I reach a certain point in squatting down I just fall the rest of the way. I pull the kayak into shallow water on a gravel bar, plant one foot inside the kayak and one on the gravel and then half way down I just "fall" into the kayak. I made a pine board and sealed it with a couple of coats of Valspar Gloss Enamel and attached it to the kayak with small bolts and thumb screws. I makes a nice little "table top" for my tackle box or other gear and has a 1 1/2" hole on each side to hold a fishing rod. And, the best part is that I can put the back seats down in my 2004 Nissan Maxima and slide the kayak in and bungee the trunk lid to transport. It only sticks out about 30". I bought a couple pieces of foam for hauling on the top if I'll be traveling in rain. So, I know there are lots better kayaks out there for lots better prices and maybe some day I'll buy one. When I do I will know exactly what I want from my experience with this kayak. P.S. I only use it on lakes where power motors are banned and I easily pass boaters using trolling motors. I am 66 years old. So, if you are short on funds or don't want to invest much until you know more about it, you should buy one of these! I give it five stars! And if I decide to buy a better one in a few months I can easily sell this one for $100.00. So for the few dollars a month it cost me it is quite a bargain!
Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Good Maneuverability, Stable, Easy To Lift, Easy to Paddle, Comfortable, Compact
Cons: Not Enough Storage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect day on the river kayak

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer avatar
fromDothan, Al
User submitted photo
Picked it up during the father's day sale for a great deal at dicks. This is my first kayak. I have never canoed or kayaked in my life. Im a big guy also, 5'11" 265#. Other than the initial first 10 minutes of ungracefully falling in it and losing 2 beers after almost tipping, I have had zero complaints. Comfortable seating area even after 5 hours on the water. But i took a break every hour or so to stretch. Doesnt leak. Sure it will tip if u are an unbalanced person, but i have had no problems tipping after the initial period of getting used to it. My first trip was 5 hours down a small river with a decent current. Turns very well. It doesnt track straight at all, but that is to be expected due to the hull shape and lack of fins or rudders. Sits low in the water so you need at least a good foot of water to stay moving without rubbing aground. I bottomed out and ran aground numerous times on the limestone bottoms of my local river and there is no damage and very minimal scratches. the storage area in the rear hatch is just big enough for my drybox from dicks which i keep my pistol, phone, cigs, and keys in. The hatch is not waterproof, but works perfectly for me. I plan on coming up with a solution for it to make it more waterproof in the future. i use a soft-sided cooler up front under the bow bungees, and i am able to carry 12 beers no problem. the most storage on it is past the foot pegs under the bow of the boat. i use a dry bag from a discount store that i keep a change of clothes, food, and anything else i need. and there is plenty of room for it up under there. If u are in the market for a good small pond, small river boat, this is perfect for you. Another thing i love is how light it is; i can throw it on my shoulder and carry it no problem. its also easy to load on top of my suv also. i bought some pool noodles and zip tied them to my luggage rack and the kayak rides up there wonderfully. In conclusion, i love this thing and everyone who has rode it has loved it too. This suits me perfectly and gets me on the water in a very very reasonable way. do yourself a favor, and go buy this one and see if u like it before spending big bucks on one. worst case scenario is you find out kayaking is not for you and sell it on [@]and lose a little money. but if u like it, you will be kicking urself for not getting it sooner!
Pros: Stable, Easy To Lift, Comfortable, Good Maneuverability, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle
Cons: Poor Tracking
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best kayak ever!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromnew york
This kayak is very stable and you can even use it in the ocean. GREAT!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Deal !

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMonroe,New york
Bought this on the reccomendation of a friend to use mostly in lakes ,but I vacationed at the Jersey shore and used it in the bay handled very well,actually saw 2 others just like it,must have been a hot item !
Pros: Easy To Lift, Good Maneuverability, Stable, Easy to Paddle, Easy Entry & Exit, Compact, Comfortable
Cons: Not Enough Storage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Deal!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Customer avatar
fromReeders PA
I am new to Kayaking and bought this kayak when it was on sale at Dicks Sporting Goods. I love it and since have had a few of my friends try it and they love it too. They were waiting for the next sale to purchase their own. I think its great for a beginner. Roomy and comfortable! Lightweight too.
Pros: Stable, Good Maneuverability, Easy Entry & Exit, Comfortable, Easy to Paddle, Easy To Lift, Compact
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stable, fun, easy to use

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCentral IL
As a person used to renting kayaks by the hour or by the trip, it wouldn't take much to meet my expectations. At 160 pounds, I found the kayak easy to get in, easy to get out, and easy to keep upright and moving in a straight line. It's a good product for a great price. I'd definitely recommend to others.
Pros: Affordable, Comfortable, Easy to Paddle, Easy Entry & Exit, Stable, Easy To Lift, Good Maneuverability
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Potomac Pathfinder poor tracking

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
fromwhite plains, ny
Got this for mother's day. Went kayaking with others and I had to work a lot harder to keep up. Kayak is not dynamic - slides over surface does not track well. When my husband used it, he had a hard time also. He's 175 lbs and found hard to control (in the sound). Kayak is very light which was initially what I wanted. 2nd time using seat came off base.
Pros: Compact, Easy To Lift
Cons: Poor Tracking
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GREAT BUY!!!

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWaterloo, Iowa
I am by far an experienced kayak'er. But i take my boat out once a week and go down the local river. There isn't anybody anymore uncoordinated as me, and i've never tipped over in this boat. I've used a friends 8 ft kayak and went over 3 times. She is a stable boat. And for those reviews that say its 'unstable' or 'hard to track'....they need lessons in keeping their balance and/or how to use an oar. its not hard to steer. Sure, if you stop paddling, and drift, the boat will start to yaw. thats called "current" people. Those reviews who say this is a bad product might be better off floating around in an innertube. The stern compartment isnt watertight, but it does the trick. I put my Xicar travel humidor in there, and my cigars stay dry (i also put my phone in there inside a baggie...no problem) Overall, its a great boat for the money. Dont want to spend $400-500 on a "pro" kayak? This one will fit the bill.
Pros: Stable, Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle, Easy To Lift, Good Maneuverability
Cons: Not Enough Storage
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
26of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for recreation!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBuffalo NY
Great stability, has a convenient beverage holder, light weight and maneuvers well! Not so great at tracking but this is not built to do that. back storage is just big enough to accommodate a pair of size 12 mens shoes. Front storage is plentiful but there is no divider/separation between your legs/feet and the open area. Foot pegs adjust far enough to accommodate me wearing shoes (I'm 6'1) and feel stable. Overall, this a a great kayak for first timers or people on a budget and are tall!
Pros: Stable, Easy To Lift, Good Maneuverability, Easy Entry & Exit
Cons: Poor Tracking
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great price and awesome Kayak

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromIllinois
Unstable - NO,may take a little to get used too, but all in all a great ride. I used this kayak in a lake with wave coming from all over. This thing is a blast Fast - This thing moves with little effort. Nimble - very easy to control in waves and flat water. Again this may take about 30 seconds to get used to however after that its a fun kayak. All you babies saying its hard to control should stick to floating in your bathtub ;)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We bought 2 and LOVE them

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMass
Novice (been kayaking a couple times) kayakers and today we bought 2 of these and took them to the lake for a spin. FOUR hours later I still did not want to get out of the water but my arms were basically telling me I had too. This Kayak is smooth, stable, and we really put it to the test. We took them across the open part of the lake with 2 foot swells and the boat handled great then we entered the mouth of a winding river off the side and went through a narrow path and it handled just as well. We honestly spent four hours our first day in these and they are very comfortable. Adjustable foot pegs are a nice plus as well. HIGHLY recommend this kayak for anyone interested in getting started out.
Pros: Comfortable, Smooth, Stable, Easy To Lift
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

A light two piece hull kayak

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
fromApex, NC
the hull is made of two piece of plastics. the material is thin. however, it is light and you can carry this kayak to the river easily. water can easily get into this kayak.
Pros: Easy To Lift, Easy Entry & Exit
Cons: Slow, Poor Tracking, Unstable
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
11of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product at a Great Price!

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCentral PA
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have purchased 3 of these in the past 4 years, and will continue to buy them in the future! I use them a lot and have never had a problem with any of them.. My only complaint that I have is that the dry box does not keep water out, but for what the kayak costs, what do you expect? Just keep your stuff in a ziploc bag and then it will stay dry in the dry box.. I would recommend this product to my friends, it's a great buy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great beginner's Kayak

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMontgomeryville, PA
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
I've had a Pathfinder for about five years now, and while I've long since replaced it with something a little more my size, I still use it as a loaner for novice kayakers on day trips. Its design, quality and affordability make it the perfect beginner's kayak. It tracks well on smooth water, manuevers easily in fast-flowing streams, and best of all, it floats even when its full of water. If you're looking for an inexpensive kayak in which to test the waters, this is the craft for you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Value/Great for Beginners

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
So clearly there are alot of mixed reviews about this product. I purchased mine last summer and quickly fell in love. This is a great kayak for all novice kayakers. This was my first one and I purposely purchased a less expensive one because I have never kayaked before. I was expecting alot less than what the Pathfinder gave me. The tracking is pretty poor, but the hull is almost flat so it should be expected. Water does easily get inside (from paddeling, not water splashing up). Other than those two things, this kayak is great.I have even gone out in the ocean a couple of times with it. It wasn't easy getting through the surf ( I sank alot), but once I got through it was great. If you try hard enough to get through the surf then this kayak can have you out in the ocean with the dolphins. I am always out in the inlet and on the rivers and never have any problems. Spacious opening to get in and out. The adjustable foot holds are very convenient. Very light weight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

must use otriggers

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
fromkansas
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is the most unstable kayak I have ever been in
No, I do not recommend this product.
-19points
5of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fishing boat

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
fromRaeford,NC
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i purchased this kayak last year, i wanted something simular to a canoe to fish from. My cousin said he had a kayak and i tryed his out, his is deeper than this one and is more stable in deeper water, i love this one because it can go into them creeks that canoes and john boats just cant. great kayak.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great recreational kayak as expected

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVirginia
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Many varied reviews about stability- from my experience those are all false. I felt very stable and it tracks good for an entry level kayak. I own 2 other kayaks and this one met my expectations. Kayak is very light and was super easy to load, unload, and put in the water. Bought it on sale and so far am very happy with the product. The seat is ok- no lazy boy type comfort but was able to be on for over an hour with no issues. Can't wait to take it out again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>