Customer reviews for Potomac Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Potomac Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak

Stay comfortable on the water with the Potomac ® Pathfinder 100 Kayak. This sit-in kayak features a molded seat, adjustable padded backrest and seat cushion, providing ultimate paddling comfort. Ram-X ™ hull material glides effortlessly across the waters' surface and delivers an enjoyable ride every time. Includes bow and stern carrying handles, drain plug, adjustable foot pegs and more!
Overall rating:
4.011 / 5
4
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (89 reviews)
5 Stars
(37)
4 Stars
(33)
3 Stars
(5)
2 Stars
(11)
1 Star
(3)
758984%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Review 1 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good first kayak

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Jason
fromRedondo beach
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
This is my second one of these model kayaks and they work great for kids and adults. I own four pelican kayaks and all work great and you can't beat the price at 200$
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Get what you pay for

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Customer avatar
eelmont
fromphilly
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Great for just playing in the river. Are you the type who likes to go fast? Like a composite bike? This is NOT for you. I was just out on the river. A guy was way behind me. I thought I'd kick some butt and paddle hard. Next thing you know, the guy was right next to me. If you want to be able to get up the river, you need a Kayak that is longer and with a RUDDER ! Otherwise you are just wasting your strength because it zags this way, then zags that way with each stroke. Wasted energy.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kayak

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Kayak fishing
fromTampa
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Love this kayak I have modified it for fishing and take it out in the mangroves and catch loads of fish. I have used it in the rain,wind, and water that is glass smooth and it works great. I went on a 6 mile fishing trip yesterday and you can't ask for a better product.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Read this

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
james
fromCornwall
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The Pelican Pathfinder 100 - 10 footer.
The goods: lightweight, easy to carry and a good value. comfortable, steers well and is simple to use. At 10 feet, fits most cars, easy to tie down.
The bad: The cup holder - ouch..., the water skirt does not stay on and is hard to find. you will have water coming in. bad design.
Verdict: If you're going to be a first time kayak, this Pelican is for you. Take it out and enjoy. its lightweight and easy to maintain.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Timers

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
First Time Kayaker
fromBend, Or
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Purchased two of these because they were on sale. Read the reviews once we got home and became very nervous. I'm 6'-2" and 260lbs and many reviews stated these would tip easy and not handle waves and they don't track well. Took them out this weekend and these are amazing! Tracked well, handled my size well and got into rough water and no problems, very stable kayak. My wife and I are first time kayakers and we both thought these were great. Lite weight enough to maneuver in and out of the water. Excellent purchase.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+20points
21of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cant beat the price and the product

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
LG Kayaker
fromLake George New York
Age51 Plus
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Go for it... I researched for days online re:Kayaks.. and had the BEST ever most knowledgeable salesperson, Ben the Kayak King ,at the Glens Falls NY store... he spent a long time describing all the pluses and minuses of all the kayaks.. and I settled on this one. The bottom foam cushion seat ripped slightly the 2nd time I used it .. but it's fine.. I may have to use a bottom seat cushion if it gets worse.. but its comfortable at least, which in cheaper kayaks that's an issue. For the price this is definitely worth it( if you buy it on sale like I did for $199).. The entire package with vest and paddle was less than $300. - THAT'S a great deal.. and it handles fine.I even tested it in rough waters and it was good..If you are planning on kayaking 30 -40 times a year ,as I do, this is a great deal! My sister has the LLBean Manatee kayak for 2x the price.. and tho it is made better... its heavier, and that one tracks terribly... its only 8.5 ft tho.. so that's probably why.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for money

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
seeboy10
fromPortland, Or
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
We were looking for recreation kayak without breaking our wallet and we found it with this Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak. This kayak Is great for that purpose. If you want a good kayak that has basic features and is easy to manager even for a 10 year old look no further. We saw similar kayak for up to $100.00 more. this price also allowed purchase two for the price of one. Go enjoy the outdoors without the expensive alternatives
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great kayak!

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
ry
fromerie, pa
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I am new to kayaking and this is a great value! I am 6'3" 220# and am able to take my son or daughter 6 & 9 yrs old (seat them directly in front of me) without a problem. It is very simple to manuever and easy for beginners to use. My children can paddle the two of us around fairly easily too. We used it in Lake Erie and also in a small pond so far and love it! No complaints!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the cheap price

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Indyyaker
fromNoblesville, IN
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I wanted a second kayak for my friends to use. Got this kayak for a good price. I liked the lighweight plastic material and the color. However, it tracked horribly. Could not make it go straight. It might be ok for streams and rivers, where you sit back and let the current do the work. However, for paddling lakes, forget it. I took it back.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pathfinder - Catalyst comparison

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Zoomer167
fromPA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Ok - so reviewed the Path100 about 3 months ago and have since bought a Cat100. We now have a 'fleet' of 2 Path100s and a Flagship Cat100. I have used both - this is for those of you tying to decide between the 2. I am 6 ft. 200 lbs. and use them on lakes and < Class 3 rivers.
Hull - The Path100 has a more 'V' shaped hull which tends to be a little tipsier than the Cat100 whose hull is more of a flat 'U'. Both handle well in the water but you must sit lower in the Path100 to get the same stability as the Cat100. The Path 100 is definitely more tipsy upon getting in and out of the boat. The Cat100 hull also has a more defined keel which means it does track better. The Cat100 handles better with motorboat traffic #always paddle into the waves# the Path100 feels like you are more of a fishing bobbin bouncing up and down.
Storage - The Path100 has a single storage container in stern but it is not waterproof at all - although you could use some silica compound to make the seal more waterproof. The Path100 has storage in stern and bow that are both very water resistant - but not airtight waterproof. According to specs you can carry 50 more lbs. on the Cat100 and I believe it.
Seating / comfort - Both the Path100 and Cat100 have good open space for your legs and body. You will not feel cramped at all in either. The Cat100 does have a much better seat that is more durable and comfortable - especially good for longer trips or picky people! The Path100 seat has torn from attachments already but is still in place and functional for now. I use / recommend a cushion with both boats.
Build / amenities - The Cat100 definitely feels more ridged and stable but it weighs 10 lbs. more than the Path100. Both are 10 feet long. Both can be carried like a suitcase to and from the water. A reasonably strong person can get them up on the roof of a vehicle, both the Path100 and Cat100 can easily be handled by 2 people.
The Cat100 also has deeper cup holders and designated places to mount fishing hardware. Cat100 is definitely has more and better options and stability when it comes to fishing if that is your thing.
A spray skirt could be put on the Cat100 but I don't think the Path100 is cut deep enough to do that.
10 feet is a good length for recreational lakes and up to class 3 rivers. I have no idea about class 4 or 5 and do not care to go there. Longer kayaks go faster and ride smoother but are not as nimble . . .shorter ones are more nimble but slower and do not ride as smooth. It is a tradeoff you must decide . . .
Both these Kayaks float when submerged #not all kayaks do# but I added a noodle to each just bc they are cheap and flex and fit easily and add more floatation without compromising space - a good thing.
Is the Cat100 worth $150 more than the Path100? If you have the $ and think you want to get kindof serious with trips, tougher water and value comfort or fish then definitely yes. If you are just going to be an recreational occasional user then the Path100 is a fine inexpensive boat to get started in then upgrade to Cat100 later.
Hope this helps - Zoomer.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+47points
47of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For $150 stop whining...

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Brown Floater
fromPayson, AZ
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is obviously an inexpensive entry level kayak that is excellent if you are just getting into the sport. All of the gripes below may be true, but it floats and moves when you paddle it, so what do you expect for $150. All of the issues with tracking, tipping, etc. will only make you a better paddler with practice. So if you are physically fit and new to the sport, this is a great kayak to learn on for two reasons: 1) If you find out you don't like the sport or do not have time to put into the process (transportation to the lake, setup, etc.), then you have not wasted much money with the experiment, and 2) The shortcomings of the design will force you to overcome them by learning how to paddle efficiently and keep your weight balanced while in the cockpit. Regarding the premature wear and tear issues, this product is just like any other in that it will do just fine if you take good care of it.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kayak

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Conrad
fromNorth Ridgeville
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This kayak has taken me on some sweet adventures. I bought this kayak because it was affordable and wanted to make sure I liked kayaking before I spend big money on a really nice one. I have taken this kayak out on Lake Erie many of times and it has handled just fine I wouldnt recommend taking it out with anything over a foot or two its not meant for it which I knew that when I bought it. I can say I have stressed tested this kayak out I took it down in the Rocky River Right after some storms and it was a blast going through some ruff and fast waters but again its was not designed for that either I'm just a thrill seeker.
This kayak is a great flat river kayak. I am a big boy 5'8 250 pounds it handled my weight just fine I was worried about being close to the max weight. I have never kayaked before and had no problems using this kayak the seat is vary comfortable and steers straight when paddling. To all the other people who say this kayak is tippy I have had no problems in that department I have had other people who have never kayaked before and none of them said it was tippy. My only flaw I think this kayak has is the back hatch should be waterproof and it would be nice if they made a skirt for it.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great deal

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Steph
fromPlymouth, MA
Age18 - 24
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I purchased this as the first kayak I have ever owned, though I have kayaked several times in my life.
Some basic fact about me:
5'3", 135 lbs, 19 years old, female. Athletic.
I purchased this mostly because I love the outdoors and love exercise, and didn't want to drop over $250 on a kayak. I read up on several, both used and new, and I was wary of this Potomac because of the scarce bad reviews it got.
After going into Dick's and looking at several, I decided on purchasing this one. I am SO happy that I did! I am surrounded by lakes and ponds, and it handles so well on them. It moved perfectly and I found it incredibly stable. I'm sure if you stood up or rocked violently, it would rock, yes, but for general kayaking, this is perfect. It also has floatation in the back and I believe the front so it would be difficult to sink.
Just for reference: my father is 5'7"-5'8" and around 200 lbs, he tried it and could maneuver easily, and did not tip or anything. However, he said that if he were to purchase one for himself, he would probably buy something a little bit longer.
Such a great deal, and I am absolutely ecstatic that I didn't spend more - this is a great little boat for paddling around!
TRANSPORTING IT: I drive a tiny subcompact car - a Saturn SL1, 1999 - and this fits very well with the back seats down and jammed in the back. I have rigged up a rope system where I can close the trunk over it, and it only sticks out a couple of feet #I mark it with an orange flag#. I was also able to take it home in my father's Chevy Impala #though it didn't fit as well#.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

So so

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Bonez
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
It floats, moves, steers, and... That's about all. Nothing stands out with this kayak. If you can get a really good deal, then it might be worth it. I thought this kayak looked cool when I first bought it at dicks, but looks aren't important especially compared to its performance. This is the most unstable kayak I have ever been in. Any sudden or jerky movements and the edge may very well become submerged in some water. That's how bad it tips so be careful at all times even when it may seem sturdy or calm.. If the water is calm then it should not be much of a problem if you have decent balance. It steers okay and moves forward okay...nothing spectacular. Entering this kayak is the hardest part so do it with caution. Also, The rear storage is extremely small, but serves its purpose. Although, it does not stay dry in there i.e. don't put anything in there that you don't want wet. On then plus side, the cup holder works like a charm.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

First Kayak

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Brain
fromNC
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've never used a kayak before I bought this one, so I can't speak for the handling, design, etc. in relative terms. This thing is cheap, you see the price compared to others...you know it's cheap. You can't expect cheap things to be great, so don't get your hopes up. When you buy something that is cheap you have to remember that it is cheap and treat it as such. The first time I took it out I bent the plastic around the cockpit unloading it. I have stretched the factory straps tight and had a gallon water jug strapped to the front and the straps held and didn't warp the plastic, so it seems pretty sturdy besides that thin edge in the cockpit. I had it out on a crowded lake with a lot of speed boat wake to contend with, which it didn't handle very well at all. The rear hatch stayed full of water just about the whole time. And I'm 6'3" so the cockpit is incredibly cramped, seems like if I had 1 or 2 more notches in the footrests id be fine.
It has problems of course, but what do you really expect from a kayak that regular price is half that of good kayaks?
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Harold42
fromRochester, N.H.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this for a hard shell kayak since I have good in flatables but miss the eas to get in and out of a hard shell with a long cockpit I am 71 yrs and hard to get out of small cockpit, The pathfinder works well for me and is a light as a very expensive kayak that I had in the past. tracks ok for what I want it for and stable enough, all in all a great small investment for this guy.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile, light weight and fun

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Works Fine on Lake Michigan
fromChicago, IL
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I received this as a gift and use it on Lake Michigan at the Indiana Dunes. Last night, with minor chop on the water, my 13 yr old and I took turns and had a great time. This morning, with no chop on the water, my wife and I took turns and had a great time.
For me, @ 6'/190, it is a little tippy when launching. The foam seat cushion ripped after a few trips. The storage compartment on back is adequate for a sack lunch, bug spray and sun lotion.
A couple of kayakers from Ohio appeared at the beach. They happened to have two of the same model and love them. They use theirs on lakes.
Today I am online, planning on getting a second Pathfinder 100.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not the best, but great for the price

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Devin
fromNew Bern, NC
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I'm an avid fisherman and have been fishing solely off shore for the past year or so. I wanted to be able to hit up some of the heavily weeded channels for bass fishing and the brackish water as well. I bought this during Dick's 4th of July sale for $149.99 -- awesome price. I mounted a flush rod holder and a paddle clip in it and it works as intended. I'm 6' 205 and in shape -- this thing feels like it's going to flip over if I'm not on calm water. I have to stop, put my pole in the holder and try to balance myself when it gets too rough. I have taken it out 4 or 5 times since I bought it and I have yet to flip though. The seat pad is extremely thin and mine is about to come apart, I would recommend bringing a towel to put under your butt, or buying a high quality seat cushion. The kayak itself is pretty roomy, so room/storage space hasn't been a problem. I went on a fishing trip yesterday with a buddy and ended up camping overnight after we paddled 3 or 4 miles down river. Brought about 25lbs of gear all together and myself, so it was at about 230lbs (45 shy of the weight limit) and it handled it fine. It is hard to get tracking, it does sway side to side, you feel like you're going to tip over when not on calm water, but I'll be darned -- for $150 you can't go wrong. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Inexpensive for a reason

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Eric
fromMaryland
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
This is a very entry level kayak. I have a couple of nicer ones, and bought this for my kids to use so they wouldn't fight over the other ones. It is pretty decent, and I bought it on sale over the Fourth for 150...figuring I couldn't go wrong. It has a padded seat bottom...and it broke within ten minutes. It makes me worry about what else will be breaking soon. We have used it a couple of times in flat water, and it performs OK. Not great, but not terrible. My kids say it is a little bit "twitchy", and often veers off in one direction or another. It has a "covered storage" compartment in the back, but it is not waterproof, so be careful what you put back there. Overall, it is a decent kayak for the price, but you get what you pay for. I would probably spend a little more next time and get a nicer one.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Potomac Pathfinder 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falling Apart

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Solo Mom
fromCentral CT
Age30 - 34
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
2 days after purchase - 1st trip out - Bungee snapped off of back hatch
2 weeks after purchase - 2nd trip out - seat ripped off
the day after that (In the middle of a large lake) - The left foot brace came off and water started gushing in. I'm glad I didn't have my kids on this last trip or the boat would've sunk.
I would not get this boat. spend a little more on a more reliable kayak.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>