Customer reviews for Potomac Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Potomac Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak

The Potomac ® Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak includes everything needed to enjoy a day out on the water. This fun kayak has a stern tank well to store belongings while a paddle cradle is included to hold a paddle when not in use. Ideal for beginners, the Ram-X ™ hull is extremely stable.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (11 reviews)
5 Stars
(6)
4 Stars
(3)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(2)
91182%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Review 1 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromfl
I recommend this product.
this is an amazing kayak for many reasons starting with a great stability to the large storage. great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Newby to Kayaking

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCharlotte, nc
I recommend this product.
I researched many types of kayaks before making my purchase of this little beauty. I am new to kayaking so this is my first kayak. At 5'1", 133 pounds and 56 yo I had a great time my first outing. It's lightweight, I could carry it myself and easily maneuver it in the water. I did not have any trouble with stability other than I had never been in a kayak. After a few tips on paddling, I quickly found my balance. I nerve tipped over!!! This is a great kayak for the short, slender or petite type, and tweens as far as stability and maneuverability. I'm also glad I chose the sit on top model as it seems easy to get in and out of.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great weight and size

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromIndiana
I recommend this product.
I purchased the kayak a month ago. I am 5'4" and about 125 lbs and can easily load and unload it in my family's full sized truck. It fits diagonal without hanging over the sides in the truck bed. Very easy to control in water. GREAT UPPER BODY WORKOUT! I am very pleased with my purchase. The small circular cavity just in front of seat is perfect for holding a water bottle. The ties on the back are also convenient to hold an air/ water tight carrying bag. Has a nice and small rope handle to drag kayak to the water's edge.Like I said before..this is a perfect sized kayak for someone that has to handle it by themselves...very pleased with my purchase!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointed with this product

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSeattle, WA
I do not recommend this product.
Bought this Kayak b/c the weight (26 lbs) and length was very attractive. Problem with it is that it is not stable at all, as advertised for beginner kayaks. I sail and windsurf, so I think that my balance is pretty good. As soon as this Kayak is in the water, stability becomes a big factor. For beginners, I recommend Kayaks that has flat tails (it is slower but a lot more stable). This Kayak is definitely not for beginner. Bringing back to Dicks now.
Pros: Fits inside most SUV 5'9", Lightweight
Cons: Plug in still take water, Not stable for beginner
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNewnan, ga
I do not recommend this product.
Dicks did not explain anything about the kayak, weight limits etc, we had to have 911 come out and get us, we flipped everytime we breathed. Almost drowned. Never again, will I buy from Dicks. Its [@] from now on, they know their products
Cons: Too flippable
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

tidewater 80 dlx.

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
fromst. paul, mn
I recommend this product.
we bought two these kayak's. they are great, just to get use to them. The only issue i'm having is water getting in between the boat. when i stand the kayak up to let the water drain. when i use it, there's like lots of water coming out of the drain plug. when i drain the other kayak that my girlfriend uses. nothing drains out. so i'm not sure what is going on. i'm 167 lbs and my girlfriend is about 150 lbs. we are both under the 175 lbs. so i'm not sure what could be causing this to happen.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lightweight kayak

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromChicago, IL
I recommend this product.
This is my first kayak. I did alot of research and stumbled upon the potomac 80 DLX. Im 5 feet 5 and 140 pounds so it was a good fit. I felt very comfortable in the kayak at all times and really like the paddle holder. It is easy for me to mount on and off my kayak rack. I wish it had more storage space but thats what you get with a smaller kayak. I thought the back rest was not as comfortable but being my first time, I'm sure I will eventually get used to it. Overall I am very satisfied with this kayak.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great beginner Kayak for the money!!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAustin, TX
I recommend this product.
I bought this kayak for my fiance for her birthday. She is 5'4" tall and weighs 140 lbs. She takes the kayak to our local lakes and rivers to excercise and paddle around for fun. She loves it and has no problem loading it and unloading it. This kayak even fits inside her Scion xB. It is small and not as stable as some of the larger kayaks. The bottom is smooth and doesn't create the "suction" that some of the more expensive kayaks have to keep them balanced in the water. As a result, this kayak may not be a good option for those who do not have good balance.
Pros: Welll made, Light Weight, Inexpensive, Duable
Cons: The plug doesn't fit well, Plastic is thin on top, small
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 1st Kayak!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromUpstate, New York
I recommend this product.
We bought this kayak for our 11 year old son for his first kayak. He is able to handle it (getting in, out, and kayaking) completely independently. It is an extremely stable kayak. He tends to rock in it quite a bit (for fun) and it hasn't tipped yet! It even has a spot to hold his fishing pole!! It's lightweight and easy to carry to the shore. It holds up to 175 pounds so he will be able to use it for years and years! The price was perfect! We are extremely pleased with this kayak!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Easy, Stability, PRICE, Good for fishing
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the money!

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLoudon, TN
I recommend this product.
We bought this kayak about a week ago and my wife is truly pleased with the purchase. I found the kayak to be a little more unstable than I expected but that could be due to the fact this is our first kayak and I need to practice the balance aspect. I spent more time in the water than on the kayak, however, my wife got on the first time and paddled around the lake for an hour and never tipped it once. Now I am three inches taller and 35lbs heaver so maybe I need something a little longer or maybe I need to practice a lot more. No matter, we love the kayak and it was worth every penny we paid for it.
Pros: Will fit in a VW Tiguan, Lightweight
Cons: Not the best tracking, A little unstable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Potomac Tidewater 80 DLX Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent kayak!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSaraland, AL
I recommend this product.
Before purchasing this kayak, I had bought two others, and returned them due to various reasons. Then I found this one, and hoped third time would be a charm. I was right! This kayak is very stable on the water, lightweight enough for me to carry by myself (I'm a 5'4 girl) and the seat is pretty comfy, and the backrest adjusts. The bungee cords on the back are perfect for holding my stuff still. (I put a towel, sunblock, car keys, phone, chips and some other things in a waterproof bag.)There's a notched area right in front of the seat that's perfect for holding a water bottle, or in my case- a Dr Pepper bottle. I didn't feel wobbly at all in this kayak, which is one of the reasons I returned the other kayaks I purchased. Speed is good. Overall, this very picky girl gives this kayak 5 stars!
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable Seat, Color options, Stable, Water bottle holder
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.