Customer reviews for Potomac Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Potomac Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak

Built with the most advanced materials, the Potomac ® Catalyst 100 Kayak was designed for performance. A deluxe padded seat and foot pegs are easily adjusted to the needs of each paddler and ensure ultimate comfort. Take a break from paddling and utilize the integrated dashboard that acts as a working surface while eating, baiting fishing line or taking pictures.
Overall rating:
4.936 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (31 reviews)
5 Stars
(30)
4 Stars
(0)
3 Stars
(1)
2 Stars
(0)
1 Star
(0)
303197%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Review 1 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNorthampton, MA
I recommend this product.
I've wanted a kayak of my own for as long as I can remember and finally went for it. I was a bit apprehensive at the store, as I wanted to be sure I got the right one after waiting so many years to finally purchase one. I chose the Catalyst 100 and love it more every time I use it! It is extremely stable, almost to the point that you feel as if you're in a kayak/boat combination, which I like. There's plenty of room in the cockpit for comfort, or if you want to stash a small bag, blanket or whatever (in a waterproof bag, of course). The color is great for visibility, expecially when you're on the water with motorboats who might not see you otherwise. The "watertight" compartments on deck aren't exactly waterproof when the kayak is left outside in the rain, but I haven't had water get in while leisurely kayaking (no whitewater yet in this boat). I do recommend a paddle length of at least 230cm if you're under 5'5" (like me) due to the wide width of the yak. The only slight drawback is the weight (47 lbs) but after lifting it around a few times you'll be "buff" enough that it won't seem as difficult. The great news? I searched tirelessly for weeks for a cockpit cover and, after getting two in the mail that didn't even come close to fitting (even though the "experts" swore they would) I found that the SEALS 5.5 is PERFECT! This ought to save you a lot of time and headaches. Overall this is one purchase I'm thrilled with...and think I will be for a long time!
+43points
44of 45voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Catalyst + Pathfinder Comparison

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Ok - so reviewed the Path100 about 3 months ago and have since bought a Cat100. We now have a 'fleet' of 2 Path100s and a Flagship Cat100. I have used both - this is for those of you tying to decide between the 2. I am 6 ft. 200 lbs. and use them on lakes and < Class 3 rivers.
Hull - The Path100 has a more 'V' shaped hull which tends to be a little tipsier than the Cat100 whose hull is more of a flat 'U'. Both handle well in the water but you must sit lower in the Path100 to get the same stability as the Cat100. The Path 100 is definitely more tipsy upon getting in and out of the boat. The Cat100 hull also has a more defined keel which means it does track better. The Cat100 handles better with motorboat traffic #always paddle into the waves# the Path100 feels like you are more of a fishing bobbin bouncing up and down.
Storage - The Path100 has a single storage container in stern but it is not waterproof at all - although you could use some silica compound to make the seal more waterproof. The Path100 has storage in stern and bow that are both very water resistant - but not airtight waterproof. According to specs you can carry 50 more lbs. on the Cat100 and I believe it.
Seating / comfort - Both the Path100 and Cat100 have good open space for your legs and body. You will not feel cramped at all in either. The Cat100 does have a much better seat that is more durable and comfortable - especially good for longer trips or picky people! The Path100 seat has torn from attachments already but is still in place and functional for now. I use / recommend a cushion with both boats.
Build / amenities - The Cat100 definitely feels more ridged and stable but it weighs 10 lbs. more than the Path100. Both are 10 feet long. Both can be carried like a suitcase to and from the water. A reasonably strong person can get them up on the roof of a vehicle, both the Path100 and Cat100 can easily be handled by 2 people.
The Cat100 also has deeper cup holders and designated places to mount fishing hardware. Cat100 is definitely has more and better options and stability when it comes to fishing if that is your thing.
A spray skirt could be put on the Cat100 but I don't think the Path100 is cut deep enough to do that.
10 feet is a good length for recreational lakes and up to class 3 rivers. I have no idea about class 4 or 5 and do not care to go there. Longer kayaks go faster and ride smoother but are not as nimble . . .shorter ones are more nimble but slower and do not ride as smooth. It is a tradeoff you must decide . . .
Both these Kayaks float when submerged #not all kayaks do# but I added a noodle to each just bc they are cheap and flex and fit easily and add more floatation without compromising space - a good thing.
Is the Cat100 worth $150 more than the Path100? If you have the $ and think you want to get kindof serious with trips, tougher water and value comfort or fish then definitely yes. If you are just going to be an recreational occasional user then the Path100 is a fine inexpensive boat to get started in then upgrade to Cat100 later.
Hope this helps - Zoomer.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the money.

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMartinsburg, WV
I recommend this product.
Bought this on sale for the wife that is new to recreational kayaking. She picked it over the popular "P" brand because the seating was more comfortable (she has hip and knee pain sometimes). She tells me that the seating doesn't cause her any pain. I honestly thought it would get used once or twice then sold. However, she loves it! Don't let the lower price mislead you, this is a great kayak! Although not quite as fast as some, it is very stable due to width and hull design. It has a roomy cockpit, which is a big plus for us since we are now taking the dog with us. This yak tracks straight but still maneuvers easily. When I tried it out, I was tickled to see how well it actually handles. I've paddled much more expensive kayaks that didn't handle half as well! It would take a lot to flip this boat, more than the average kayak; I know because I tried. It has a huge max load capacity of around 300 pounds, which is nice because we like to do overnighters sometimes. This is my first experience with the "Ram-X" construction boats but it seems quite sturdy. Since she like it so much we did a few minor upgrades such as adding a Harmony mini-skirt and some additional bungee straps. One tip: due to the width, if you are short, you may need a slightly longer paddle than usual. This yak is sold under the "Potomac" name but is actually manufactured by Pelican. You CAN find a sprayskirt to fit this kayak on the actual manufacturer's website. Size "Large Universal".
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Tracks straight, More stable hull, 300lb load capacity, Inexpensive, Roomy cockpit, High-vis color, Turns easily, Comfortable seating, Wider hull
Cons: Not rudder-ready, Odd size cockpit, few accessories
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great first Kayak.......

PostedJune 6, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCartersville, GA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I like to tell people I'm a boat owner for the first time! When I tell them it's a paddle-powered, single-seater, their excitement for me quickly fades! I guess they realize I won't be pulling them on an inner tube or skis....etc.....oh well....
Yes, just bought this Kayak from Dicks Sporting Goods in Kennesaw, GA on/around end of May 2013. Paid $350 + paddle + leash + taxes....out the door around $420-$430. Did about a couple days of research on the web. Looked at main sporting good stores in the area.....Academy Sports, Sports Authority, REI. Had a lot of good reviews on the store website and in general on the web for the Catalyst 100. It fit me, I liked the build and the storage compartment features. Made it mine. Took it to Lake Allatoona straight way. Never even sat in a Kayak before (except trying them on for size while at the store).
I enjoyed it from the moment I put it in the water. I'm 6', 215 lbs. My shins would sometimes hit the front of the cockpit while getting in/out (I've since learned how to maneuver myself to normally prevent that)....plus a friend of mine just added a little marine trim/weather stripping to the edge that was scrapping my leg and that resolved any scratches from occurring again.
So I've had it out about 3 times on the lake so far......usually for about 2-3 hours at a pop. Easy to use, very stable, comfortable.....cup holder(s) on the dash of the cockpit are useless in their original state, I may modify one or both to support beer cans/water bottles a little better. Shouldn't be difficult to rig something up. The sealed storage compartments are one of the nicer features of this Kayak compared to many others I looked at. Granted, any weight I add to the boat...I also have to paddle around with! I also found some outstanding Dry-Packs at Academy Sports that I picked up to hold the wallet/keys/iPhone. I think they sell the same brand at Dicks, but it's $1-$2 more per item. The iPhone Dry-Pack works awesome.....got an Otter Box on the phone and I could swipe/type/listen/talk right thru the plastic waterproof sack.
All I can say is, if your new to Kayaking, make sure you include going to Dicks and taking a look at this one.
Mahaler'
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has a spray skirt and CAN go in salt H2O

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBurlington, VT
I recommend this product.
Love this kayak. For an inexpensive recreational boat. It's great. Got at Dick's Memorial Day sale. (Best prices of year.) I was worried about previous reviews about not going in salt water so I called the company and they said, "Yes, it can go in salt water, just rinse it well after." I also asked if it had a spray skirt and the company rep. said, "Yes, it's listed under the kayak which model you need. This particular kayak is the KG10. You need look under Pelicansport and then accessories. (The review website wouldn't let me put URL addresses so I'm not able to post the link.) For an inexpensive recreational boat, you can't go wrong. I like the knee pads and seat is comfortable. This boat handled well is some good chop on Lake Champlain. My husband (170lbs.) was able to take our boys (55lbs.) out (individually) and paddle around with them. I am able to get it off the car by myself (5'2") I did get a kayak bag to keep leaves, bugs, etc. out of kayak as it's harder to clean out then a canoe. There are cockpit covers that I may invest in just to cover the hole.
Pros: Light, Stable, Handles Well, Easy to get inout, PRICE
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGroton, CT
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought myself the Potomac Catalyst 100 kayak for my birthday, and man what a gift did it turn out to be. This is my first personal kayak, but have done lake/recreational kayaking before. I researched many kayaks from many different stores and found this to be the perfect price for my application. A group of friends and I planned a kayaking trip down the Quinebaug River which has some class 1 and light class 2 rapids (so the site says). So I took my Catalyst out for her maiden voyage with everyone else. The dry boxes are water resistant like it says, but not waterproof. I ended up with some water in my hatches from rolling once (the drain plug was a huge life saver after this one) and going through some rougher areas, but had my gear in a separate dry bag so I had no issue with it. The cup holder was large enough for my coozie/can combo. The paddle cord was also nice when we were just floating or beached. The kayak itself is extremely comfy and I am 6' 225 lbs. I could also reach the back hatch with relative ease while still sitting in the kayak. The kayak was very stable at all points during the trip and upon entry and exit as well. It was very responsive when maneuvering through rocks. All in all this kayak was the talk of the group with everyone pointing out the different 'luxury' features like padding and the hatches. I would also recommend getting a paddle leash and kayak grips. Both were nice additions to have. Lastly, I pulled the handle out on the bow and stern and inserted a carabiner to secure my tie-down straps to. I then attached the handles back the carabiners to make it easier to carry. Finally, I would have to agree, the Seals 5.5 Cockpit Cover is the perfect fit! I'm super excited with the Catalyst 100 and can't wait to pick one up for my fiance!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Catalyst 100 over Pathfinder a no-brainer!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Customer avatar
fromReading, Pa.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I made a horrible mistake and bought a Potomac Pathfinder last week because it was $100ish less than the Catalyst 100. Picked it up on a Saturday night from Dicks during a big sale and went to the lake the next day....hated everything about this Kayak. Unstable, light, thin skin, seat killed my back, etc. at 6'2" 205 control was even an issue. Went back to Dicks on Monday explaining my "dislike" and I'm being kind of this Kayak, no problem or issues and they exchanged for the Catalyst. Dicks gets an A++ on service!
There is no comparison and could tell from the start since this Kayak didn't almost blow off the car to the lake a week later. The Catalyst is strong, floaty, tracks well, more room in cockpit plus has two locking hatch's, one watertight. All being the same 10' length as the Pathfinder. Long and short, for the tiny difference in cost don't make my mistake. Night and day, the Catalyst is superior in every catagory. Well just a great Kayak!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I expected

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDenver, CO
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this kayak and one other at the end of last summer to kayak mainly on lakes. I read the good reviews on here and thought I would check it out and ended up getting one. I was actually a little worried because of the low price that it might not be so great. I was wrong to worry. First, let me say that it is super stable and easy to get in and out of. I had a friend who was nervous around boats and she handled getting in this boat much easier than my Old Towne. I like it for similar reasons. For it's price point it has subtle little extras like padding on the sides for your knees, drain plug and handle loops at both ends. All of these things come in handy and are not on all boats, especially at this price point. The seat seems to be perfect and I have had two different friends use it and both had no complaints. The boat handles well, super stable, comfortable and transports easily. The weight is reasonable and easy to throw on top of my car (Mini Clubman). I bought two different kayaks and while both are great I actually like this one, the cheaper one a bit more. I also think it is the best choice possible for anyone new to the hobby and wants a boat they will probably like now and later. I fasten a folding chair to the top, put a mini cooler with food in the storage and head out after work or with a friend on weekends. I have done river and lake but no heavy rapids. My friend who weighs 250lb used this one and he really enjoyed it. I think at this price point you simply cannot do better than this boat. If I had a family I would absolutely get a fleet of these. I am headed out to the reservoir today and this is the kayak I am taking! I wish you well in your choice.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE this kayak!

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAshburn, va
I recommend this product.
This is a great kayak for the money you spend. After a failed attempt to get a different kayak that would not go straight, I returned it and picked up this kayak. This was a great choice to make! This kayak has a lot of room for a 10 foot kayak. The est part may be that even while on the water you can access the sealed compartment. For someone like me that doesn't like my legs to be restricted, this is perfect to allow me to keep my food and drinks out of my way, but still in reach. The boat is very stable when both getting in and moving around. Hitting a few small rapids yesterday and had no problems maneuvering around them and keeping the kayak upright. I even hit a few rocks on purpose to see how it handled and the kayak performed beautifully. For the stability, it doesn't seem like you give up too much speed or tracking capability. This yak is pretty quick for its size, and although it doesn't track like a touring kayak, it did a pretty good job at staying in the direction you point it in. Worst case, it takes a small paddle to correct you course. You never feel like you are fighting against the yak. The kayak seems tough, but with all the scratches on the bottom after one trip, I am not sure this is something I would have for a lifetime. The kayak is very sturdy though and is well balanced making it very easy to move around and store when not being used. The only negative that I have is that the clips on the deck bungies are weak. I didn't even notice that my paddle holding bungie was missing until it was too late to exchange it at the store. It's a 2 dollar part, so no big deal at all. I have floated in a lot of kayaks before I finally got one, and I am not disappointed at all with this one. You can explore with this one, you can fish with this one, and I'm pretty sure you could take it up to a class 3 without any problems. Fun kayak that was exactly what I was looking for. Glad that the last one was so poor that I returned it and got this one instead!
Pros: Comfort, Storage, Maneuverability, Stable, Quick
Cons: CHEAP PARTS
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great boat - purchased 2

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAtlanta, GA
I recommend this product.
Primary use is stillwater swamps, beaver ponds, and blackwater rivers. With the understanding that I was not buying a thousand dollar sea kayak, this boat is ideal for recreational use, is durable, and very well designed. The dry hatch design system far exceeds any other boat in the price class. The boat tracks well in open water as well as 3 inch depths over mud and vegetation. The boat is very stable, but I have yet to travel in any fast water or rapids. I don't believe it is the ideal model for fast water environments. Highly recommended.
Pros: Value for cost, Dry storage, Lightweight
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Affordable

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer avatar
fromEaston, PA
I recommend this product.
After reading many reviews and trips to multiple stores I decided to pull the trigger on this one. It was really between this one and a $900 Necky Kayak. I figured since this is my first kayak that it would probably be best to try a less expensive one first. I would have to say so far so good with my choice. I've taken this out on a decent sized lake and a moderate flowing river. Tracking and stability are pretty solid. This kayak has all the features of a much more expensive one. The front and back compartments are working just fine, no sign of water. Overall I am very pleased with my purchase. You really can't beat the features for the price. P.S. If you have a roof rack, I would advise getting two rachet tie down straps. I tried using bungies and it was moving all over the place. I bought the straps and it worked like a charm.
Pros: Features
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Catalyst 100

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWenatchee, Washington
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I shopped around local and on the web, read reviews and choose the Pelican Catalyst 100. I'am 6'3 185 and fit in the cockpit with room to spare. There is lots of leg room also. It tracks very well even when paddling hard. Took it out on a river that has class 2 rapids and put it through lots of white water with no complaints. I would buy another one with no hesitation.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy this kayak

PostedJune 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromHuntsville, AL
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
We bought two of these. They are spacious and comfy. They stay straight without a lot of fight with the paddles. The cup holder holds my drinks and the lockboxes hold my phone and camera so they do not get wet. The kayak is roomy so my 6'1" husband fits comfortably as well. I have been in Perceptions and Old Towns, but this one rides the smoothest for me. Stop researching and get this one.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kayak

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMuskegon, MI
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought two of these last June and used them all sumer long. they track good without taking from maneuverability. Stable enough for kids but big enough for adults. Planning on buying two more in the next few weeks.The only thing that I would change is the backrest, it rides a little low on my back but I put a cushion between me and the backrest and works perfectly.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Kayak - very reliable and stable

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBatavia, NY
I recommend this product.
We bought two Potomac 100 Kayaks in the beginning of June and are very happy with our purchase. They are very stable, go smooth and swift across the water and stay on course. We moved up from a cheap, unstable Kayak to the Potomac 100 and they were the best investment ever. We feel like these are the "Cadillac" of Kayaks. Well worth the money.
Pros: Easy to get in out of, Tracks straight, Stable
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful & Tough!

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCentral Michigan
I recommend this product.
Just bought mine!! My friend bought one a month ago and can't stop talking about how amazing this boat is... I have to agree 100%! It's got all the creature comforts and still the most affordable, comfortable, quality ride you can find... Looking forward to many, many happy adventures :)
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I searched around for a good, affordable kayak for my wife to use while I solo paddle a canoe. I wanted one with at least one storage compartment and was happy to find this came with two (although the front one is fairly small.)
I have a Yakima Roof Rack with gunnel brackets but nothing specific for kayaks. I was able to get both this and my Old Town Pathfinder canoe on the top of my Jeep and securely fastened so off to the nearest lake to try it out.
To cut to the point, she loved it. We were even caught in a heavy downpour with strong winds and she was able to keep the kayak moving straight forward to shore, while I struggled to keep my flat-bottomed canoe aimed the right way. If you look at the bottom and it's "tri-keel" (my word, not theirs# design, you can see why it held its course so well. Toward the end of our outing, I got in it for a bit and found that while it does do a good job going straight, turning is pretty easy as well.
I can see us taking this on some of the local rivers, but probably would not feel comfortable in it beyond Class III rapids #and more likely Class II.) But that's ok, we didn't get it for whitewater, just for recreational paddles.
The rear storage compartment is lined with a "dry bag" but I assume you could go so far as to put ice in there and anything you want to keep cold, rather than dry. As I said, the front storage is fairly small, but I put my phone, camera, keys, and other small items in and they stayed safe and dry. I like the twist-to-seal method of locking the compartments.
We did not adjust the seat, but that basically means tightening two straps for a more upright position. The footpegs do move as noted and work fairly well, though the actual peg seemed a little small and I am only in size 9 shoes.
There was a T-shaped piece of Styrofoam in the front of the kayak, beyond where your feet reach. I wasn't sure if we remove it or not, so I left it in for extra buoyancy and structural support.
The only negatives I can think of is that I wish it had a hole somewhere for a cable-lock and maybe for some additional color choices, though as yellow goes, its not a bad shade and looks more orange-yellow when you get next to some bright-yellow boats.
The other kayaks I found that had the feature set of this one were quite a bit more expensive, but were also better suited for whitewater. Since our needs weren't so rugged, this one worked out perfectly. Now, I just have to fight off the urge to get one for myself. My garage space is limited, after all...
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stable and Comfortable

PostedJune 25, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHarrisburg, PA
I recommend this product.
Before I bought a kayak, I had borrowed a friend's (different brand) and found it uncomfortable. When I went to Dick's I sat in a bunch of them to see which I thought I'd be most comfortable in. I liked this one because the seat was thick enough, and there was padding under my legs and where my knees might hit the side of the kayak. Fortunately, it did not disappoint when I took it out on the water. I am using it mostly for rec kayak runs down a creek with only a few mild rapids. It's got storage, a cupholder to keep a drink handy, and a paddle leash to secure the paddle to the side of the boat. It is stable and stays straight in the water. It is perfect for my needs--very happy with it!
Pros: Stable, Comfortable
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I was looking for

PostedJune 24, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMidlothian, VA
I recommend this product.
I just bought this kayak on sale yesterday at Dick's. I live right on a beautiful reservoir and decided that I needed to begin taking advantage of it. Just got back from a 1-hour 6 AM excursion. This is a great little boat. The seat is by far the most comfortable of all the kayaks I tried at Dick's. It is very maneuverable, but still holds a true course. It seems very stable as well - after about 3 hours total in the boat, I've never felt like I was about to flip it (of course, I've only been on still water). The water proof compartments are true to their word so far. This boat is light enough for me to lift it out of the water and place it on my canoe rack with ease. I don't know much about kayaks, but I'm really enjoying this boat just to paddle around on the lake. By the way, if you push yourself, you can get a pretty good cardio workout!
Pros: Stable, Easy To Maneuver, Comfortable, Easy To Lift
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Potomac Catalyst 100 Kayak
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

two are Great

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer avatar
fromnew hampshire
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
My Wife And I Just Purchased 2 Catalyst 100 . We Took them To A Near By River and They cut Through The Water Fine of a Very Windy Day. Very Comfortable seat , Plenty of Room to store gear. Great Kayak, Great Way To Spend Time With Family too.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>