Customer reviews for Asics ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Asics ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe

Hit the road with comfort and confidence in the ASICS ® GEL-Platinum ™ 5 running shoe. Biomorphic Fit ® in the upper reduces buckling and irritation for miles of enjoyment. The Impact Guidance System (I.G.S®) employs technology that supports the foot's natural gait. Super light Solyte; midsole provides cushioning, while rearfoot and forefoot GEL ® Cushioning Systems absorb shock during impact and propulsion.
Overall rating:
4.383 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
444794%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Review 1 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great running shoes

PostedApril 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromky
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just bought my second pair of these shoes for running purposes and the first pair lasted about 5 months.They feel great on my feet and where I run the surface is rough part of my run is in gravel so they take a good pounding 5 days a week.This will be my running shoes for the for seeable future.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great comfortable shoe.

PostedApril 1, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBrandon Florida
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a 280 pounder and work in one of the busiest er in the state with 12 hour shifts of not sitting down at all and these are the only shoes that have felt good the whole shift. Just bought my second pair. Just wish they had more color options.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOST COMFORTABLE EVER PURCHASED!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWilmington, NC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are the most comfortable tennis shoes I have ever purchased and I am 38 years old. Normally a Nike fan, but the Dick's rep sold me on these. The Gel technology is the part that reallys help, it is awesome for those people whose feet stay tired or ache or hurt due to hard core exercising or even neuropathy.
Seriously, they have made a world of difference and I wish they would make them in solid colors so that I could wear to work some days when my feet hurt!
If you have alot of walking to do, you must buy these to save your feet!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSan Luis Obispo
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value for the price. I'm a large guy with knees and feet that aren't what they used to be. Was able to run in these shoes without any foot or knee pain. Good stuff
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best gym shoe I have ever worn

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromChicago
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the BEST gym shoe I have ever worn. They are comfortable and light that it makes you feel like you are not wearing anything at all. This is my first pair of Asics...but for sure not the last. I am now a BIG fan of Asics.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ugly but good

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromVA
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I would much prefer to purchase at a store and have a greater choice of colors, It is ugly but a great shoe
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

asics running shoe

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
frombroken arrow ok
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable shoe. Good heal support.I need support for my heal and its difficult to find that anymore iin a shoe. I really like tje gel feel..I hope the feel lasts for a long time and not break down.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding value

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPhoenix
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased these on a recommendation from a sales associate and am very satisfied with the product. Great comfort for arthritic feet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long Lasting

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had the Platinums for six months and no signs of needing another pair yet. I am on my feet all day running around with my students, I walk and play basketball for exercise on these shoes. Normally I have to replace my shoes every 3 months, not this time. I have finally found a shoe that can keep up!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBloomfield Hills, MI
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had heel and achilles pain while running in a Brooks shoe that weighed nothing and provided no cushioning. This was on the advice of the salesman at the running store thinking it would encourage midfoot landing. After months of foot pain I had to try something new and got these Asics Gel Plat 5. What a night and day difference. My foot pain is almost nonexistent with these shoes The support and cushioning make running a pleasure again. If you have foot pain run, don't walk, to get a pair of these.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Shoe - Second Purchase

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRochester Hills, MI
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second purchase of this shoe, so I am quite satisfied. My first pair is still going strong after 500 + miles. Although this is a running shoe, I'm using it for my walking routines. The shoe is comfortable, well-cushioning, and long-lasting. Even as I've significantly lengthened my exercise routines, I've had no problems at all with sore feet or blisters. As long as they keep making this model, I'll keep buying it. It's a pretty colorful shoe too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

marathon shoe

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWest Texas
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I shopped forever looking for an Asics Nimbus that was <$100 to no avail. I got a marathon coming up and need to start breaking one in. I just don't recall the Nimbus costing that much before! What happened? Wearing shoes out in 3 to 4 months, I just couldn't justify the Asics "cadillac" ($140+), again! I found the Platinum at a reasonable cost and pretty good looks. It appears to have most, if not all, of the features of the Nimbus. I took it out on a 17-mile training run and it worked perfect. No sore feet. Knees felt great. I was very happy. Great shoe.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromBloomsburg, PA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I tried on these and the Nimbus 14 in the store several months ago, and I went with these, in part because of the price, but also because of the roominess of the Platinums. I don't know if the Nimbus would have been better, but the Platinums have done the job for me. I run 12-20 miles a week, and I've put about 160 miles on them. Very comfortable. I also like the memory foam aspect inside the shoe; it really molds to the foot. I was having Achilles soreness before I got these, and that went away.
These sneakers are only available at Dick's (which strikes me as odd), so there's limited info and professional reviews out there. They're apparently an ounce heavier than the Nimbus, and they look a bit bulkier, which will be a turnoff to some because many feel the Nimbus is already too bulky. This is not a minimalist shoe, but if you like a heavily cushioned shoe and you don't mind a little bulk, this is a great and more affordable alternative to the Nimbus.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Asics best

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPhiladelphia
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm a road and trail marathon runner who needs extra cushioning. I have used several Asics models and the Gel Platinum is by far the best for my foot issues. Including arch pain, PF and just plain achy feet. The price is reasonable too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great running shoe

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Run 3 miles every morning and these shoes are very comfortable!
Pros: Durable, Cushions Impact, Comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great feeling and last forever

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromEugene Oregon
I am a college athlete and use these shoes every day. I am a neutral runner and these shoes feel great. I usually get around 500 miles out of a pair. I have bought 3 pairs and love every one of them.
Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight running shoe

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWestern NC
Very light and comfortable Can take a bit of time to break in Wear all day comfort once broken in
Pros: Comfortable, Cushions Impact
Cons: Narrow / Tight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good feel

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromdayton ohio
i would buy the same shoe tomorrow !
Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Cushions Impact
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Almost But Not Quite

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSanta Fe, NM
The ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 running shoe lives up to its "gel" promise of comfort. The gel pads catch impact well at the ball and the heel of the foot. But the shoe fails to impress when it comes to sole design (too thick), heel design (too high) and style. The thick sole and 3.5" heel allow for occasional drag when running. Not good. And ASICS follows traditional running shoe style with a classic array of obnoxious color schemes. Gym ready but not camera ready. Almost but not quite.
Pros: Cushions Impact, Comfortable, Breathable
Cons: Poor Stability, Poor Arch Support
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ASICS Men's GEL-Platinum 5 Running Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWest Virginia
The gel insert brings the comfort level of this shoe to the max. You can't get a better feel from anything else. The shoe is light-weight and very comfortable. The top of the shoe is a breatheable mesh which removes any pressure full leather shoes may cause. Plus, they look awesome!
Pros: Stylish, Cushions Impact, Breathable, Comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>