Customer reviews for Nishiki Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Nishiki Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012

Free In-Store Bike Assembly when purchased online or in-store. Click link below for details. Back for 2012 - the Nishiki® Adult Colorado Mountain Bike will takes riding to the next level. Its durable frame with high clearance t is designed to handle the roughest terrain. Deep tread Innova tires improve traction so you can maneuver over loose gravel, dirt and mud. It is the perfect mountain bike for any adventure.
Overall rating:
3.833 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
253083%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Review 21 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Absolutely Awful Bike

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCharlotte, NC
I bought this bike in Jul '12 and within the first several weeks took it into Dicks numerous times because the left shifter kept getting stuck. Then, while riding to the gym the front break completely went out for no apparent reason. About a week after that, while riding at the Whitewater Center here in Charlotte the back derailleur just fell off. I would understand if this happened when I hit a giant tree branch or rock, but that wasn't the case. I was simply going downhill on a fairly tame trail. That was the last straw for me so I took it back to Dicks and luckily they were completely cool and understanding and offered to replace the bike. I'm writing this review as a warning to anyone considering this bike. Maybe I just got unlucky and got a dud, but do yourself a favor and DO NOT get this bike. In my experience it is a giant piece of you know what. Having said that, whatever bike you choose Dicks is a great place to buy and if something like this happens to you they'll make it right. JUST MAKE SURE TO BUY THE WARRANTY!!!! I can't stress that enough. I guarantee you that you'll need it.
Cons: Flimsy Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

just average

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPresque Isle, ME
Just average quality bicycle, tried on some technical section and it ride fine but gears are not reliable at all, don't expect quick shifting... and be prepared to tune gears often they seem to have a mind of their own. Brakes are weak... good I don't brake often :) Good for casual easy trails, just enough for moderate difficulty trails, get a different bike for anything advanced.
Pros: Versatile
Cons: Hard to Configure
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bike for the $$

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRancho Santa Margarita, CA
I bought this bike to ride some of the trails near my house. It is a great bike, especially since I got it on sale for a such a great price.
Pros: Handles Well, Lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bike for the price

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAurora, CO
I bought this bike to see if mtn biking would be a sport that I would enjoy. Love the sport, and this bike has all the right equipment that a begginer needs.I have tested bikes that are three times the price, but the build quality of the Colorado easily compares to those in the $1,000 range. The SRAM components make shifting a breeze, and the disc brakes work great.
Pros: Lightweight, Great Components, Smooth Ride, Rugged, Handles Well, Versatile
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bike for the price.

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCharlotte NC
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have this bike for three months now. I purchase the 2011 model at a clearnce price. same bike just different color. I was reading review on this bike and notice another biker from charlotte who gave a bad review. I have rode my bike at the USNWC trails and everything work fine. took my bike out to the lake norman trail, sherman branch, greenway, you name it i been there. I love my bike. I crash few time and this bike held up pretty good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Very Well Made

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromAttleboro, MA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The chain broke 30 minutes into my first ride. The chain got bound up while shifting from the upper to lower position on the front sprocket and broke.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Meh

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Customer avatar
fromD/FW
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased A Colorado bike about 4 months.Since then I have accumulated about 500 miles(1/5 dirt,1/5 gravel,3/5 road). When i first tested the bike at home.The front disk was rubbing against the brake pads and the chain was also rubbing against the large gear.There was a issue with the inner tube's that I had purchased at the store.The circular part around the stem was to wide and it took about five tries to finally get it to fit.Both of the brake's work very well and the small gear shifts up as smooth as butter,but has a horrible time shifting down. Sometimes it sounds like it shifted but did not. Sometimes it will shift down two gears instead of one.After about 7 miles the small seat will start to hurt.At about 9 miles the pedals start to make a loud noise when riding up hill.As far as off road handling,I have no complaints.I can only use the 2nd gear,Never really fixed the large gear.So it maxes out at just under twenty on a flat stretch of road.Compared to my two old sixty dollar mountain bikes from wal-mart.This bike is a great, especially for it's low price,Yet I would not compare it too a bike costing more then six or seven hundred.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great ride

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer avatar
fromGreenville,nc
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have hard the bike for only two days and have already put 1 miles on this bike the only complaint is the seat wish it had a little more seat and padding but other than that i love this bike.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal all around!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSarasota,Fl
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
For a bike with Disc brakes and my first one to have it, has far beyond met my needs. I had been shopping over a year to get my money's worth since I have been riding for pleasure and my exercise escape adventure. The free offer of delivery, sale and a 25% off was the closer for me. A very good quality of alum lite weight, along with the rapid fire shifters, routing of the cables, and tires of dirt fighting grip are great. The seat was not what I can ride for long but changed it to my liking, and now I ride 2-4 hours no problem. I will change out tires later for better rides on road and rail-trails. I only added the kickstand to my desire. Thanks, Dick's Sporting Goods for another great deal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Nishiki Adult Colorado Mountain Bike 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

4star Bike for the Money

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromPoughkeepsie ny
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bought this bike on clearance at Dicks, was looking for something to hit up the local rail trail, and dirt trails every once In a while, I have owned a trek and Gary fisher in the past. I did 14 miles straight on this the other day, it handled great, front and rear disk brakes are excellent & stop on a dime, adjustable front shock is also pretty decent, im 250lb and tried to bottom it out over a few jumps/rocks and it was nice and absorbing. It shifted gears very smoothly.For $250 you can't beat it. Gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because of a cheaper derailer, and cheapish pedals.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2