Customer reviews for KÖPPEN KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

KÖPPEN KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent

Camping for 3 is a snap with the KÖPPEN® Hamr 3 Person Tent! This technical tent comes with all major floor and fly seams factory taped to ensure a watertight seal that protects from rain and other elements. The attached vestibule allows you ample room to store your gear separate from the sleeping area. The durable CARGO LYTE™ design features a packed weight of less than six pounds, so you won't be weighed down on the trail.
Overall rating:
3.733 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (30 reviews)
5 Stars
(5)
4 Stars
(18)
3 Stars
(3)
2 Stars
(2)
1 Star
(2)
233077%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Review 1 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad, but had a problem with quality...

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOntario, NY
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I am thrilled with how light this tent is for the price, and how much room it offers for TWO people - not three. I use this camping with my son, and it's very comfortable. Set up is fast and easy, and the vestibule has plenty of room for your "stuff" at night. Ventilation is pretty decent, with typical condensation levels.
After the third use, a grommet started to tear out of one of the tent's corner webbing tabs. A second grommet is starting to come lose now as well. Also having some problems with the tent poles jamming into the gromets now, which may be caused by elongation of the rings? Not sure why it's happening.
I'm also noticing that to get this tent to vent better, it really should have had a guy-line in the center of the sides. It can be challenging to set up the fly exactly aligned right so that it doesn't slouch in the middle and reduce air flow.
Having said all that, the tent is great for the price, and perhaps I have a single example of a quality control issue. Just wanted it to last better than it did...
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tent for the money

PostedMay 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCalifornia
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this tent a few days ago not really knowing much about the brand. I set up the tent in my backyard as soon as I got home as a test trial. It was extremely easy to set up (less than 5 minutes) but when was getting ready to set the rain fly up I noticed it was stained orange (probably from sitting on the orange fabric for long periods of time). I'm pretty upset about this and will be requesting a new one. As far as packing it up goes... I read a few posts about how people are having trouble and I had absolutely none at all. I had the tent packed up in 10 minutes. Just take your time and do it right the first time people
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This tent has ample space and is very light. The main drawback is that there is a see through panel in the vestible that allows full view of the entire inside of the tent.The tent poles, when folded, are shorter than other tents that I own. This allows it to be packed into a smaller space.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent purchase

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAlabama
I recommend this product.
Got this bad boy on sale and I couldn't have gotten a better tent. Lightweight, compact, and very roomy. It can sleep two very comfortably, and could sleep three if people didn't mind sharing some personal space. Love it though, and an very happy with my purchase.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I am returning

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age25 - 29
GenderFemale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
Its not the tents fault but I am returning because it's minimum carry weight it 5.6 lbs. It even says it on the box.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not bad so far!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSan Diego, CA
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Only have used it on 1 campground trip so far, everything worked fine!
I would say it fits 2 comfortably, or 3 smaller people ( it was me, my wife and our 2 year old) it was fine for us.
It is more long rectangular shape then the round appearance it gives in the pictures, something i didn't know until i set it up.. it also has 2 pockets on the inside to put stuff which is nice and a little loop on the very top to hang a light from which is super nice!
Really like it so far, cant wait to take it on some backpacking trips!
Only Dis-like it its kind of a pain to put it away, Hard to fit it in the stuff sack it came with, it seems to never go back in the way it came out. ( i ripped the buckle strap on the top trying to stuff it back into the bag, not to big of a deal but still..)
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good basic tent

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this in a panic of an upcoming Boy Scout trip for myself. It seemed a reasonable price and the correct size of the choices I had and expecting to need the room of more than one person in the future. For me, this tent works great so I'm rating it based on my zero tent buying experience and how well it's worked for me, as well as what I understand from later learning. I'll start with the negatives.
COMPLAINTS:
1) Clear Window - it is right on the rain fly looking straight into the tent. It's difficult to cover for privacy. That said, I don't think it's easy to see into unless you are trying.
2) Tent pegs - They are small and seem frail. I've been careful and haven't broken any in about 15 trips.
3) Tent Sack - I used to dread trying to squeeze everything into the bag at the end of a trip. It barely fits in there as it should. Great when it does... but try with cold hands. I decided to use the attached compression clips to hold the poles on the outside of the bag. Hoping that makes it easier. But the bag should have been larger with the idea that the straps will compress the rest.
The pro is that this tent has worked great and seems to be exactly what I need. The size works for my car camping or weekend camping. The tent is simple to set up and just as easy to breakdown. I only had a water issue one night during a very heavy rain. Going to bed it was fine but there was a small drip coming through by morning but this may have been condensation from the humidity. Water came in through the bottom but this was due the tent being set on a platform and the rainfly was not extended far enough so water drained down the fly onto the bottom section of the tent all night. That water only came thru where the fly was dumping it.
The tent also has a reflective "Koppen" on 2 sides that shine with very little light. And I like the foyer area. It's enough for me to get my back end into the tent and get my shows off.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromFort Washington, MD
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Love this tent! Very light weight but with all the features that you need.
Rain fly, extended entrance, light hook, hanging pockets, what more could you want?
Sets up easily and most importantly, folds up to fit back into its sack.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, Great value

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWhiteville, NC
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
We bought this tent because it had the features we were looking for in a tent for beach camping. The aluminum poles, waterproof fly and the full coverage of the fly made this tent the standout among the others we looked at. We tried the tent in the backyard one weekend before going to the coast and found ourselves in a downpour of a rainstorm. The tent performed flawlessly. On our first trip to the beach to camp,we set up the tent in about seven minutes, the full coverage of the fly proved to be valuable in keeping the sand out of the tent on the wind ward side. During the night the wind picked up to a steady 25 plus miles per hour with gusts reaching 36. The tent was as solid as a rock and not once did the structural integrity come into question.
The only issue I have with the tent is the design of the door on the fly. I struggle to reach the zipper at the far left hand corner of the fly. Also, when it's raining and the rain has gathered on the top, whenever you open the fly door the rain falls directly into the tent.
Other than that, this is an excellent tent that was well worth the money. I would recommend this tent to anyone who wanted an easy to set up tent and to be dry and secure while camping.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good 3 season, 3 person tent

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
fromMichigan
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The Koppen Hamr is a fairly large but lightweight tent. The poles are light and short sections. It worked very well for bike camping. The only weak point are the stakes. Other than that, good height inside, nice size vestibule, and it kept me dry.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent 1 & 2 person tent

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have two boys in Scouts so I needed a tent, primarily for myself while accompanying the scouts. I'm on the third year with this tent (Hamr 3). Sets up very easy, teasr down just as fast. I agree with others regarding water dripping into the tent via screen when you open the rainfly door. I've used this tent in 100 degree temps and as low as 30 degrees with nominal comfort. I do wish there was an additional vent at the top of rainfly that could be opened and closed to assist with ventilation . In high temps, you either have to leave the rainfly door open, or remove rainfly altogether, which exposes you and all your belongings to anyone passing by.
It packs very nice and with the added cinch straps, I'm able to tuck my floor trap under the straps and tighten all together. Whole thing straps nicely to my backpack and does not protrude passed the sides of the pack (doesn't catch branches or other obstacles while hiking).
Large enough inside that two people can utilize sleeping pads/bags and can also store backpacks between us. I had myself and both sons inside at one time. Tight, but it worked. Very good tent for colder weather due to it's size and ability to trap body temp, given the fact the top of tent is mostly screen. Holds up very well in rain/wind, stayed dry. You can sit down inside tent opening while leaving you space to remove muddy/dirty shoes outside, under the vestibule of rainfly.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a 1 or 2 person tent!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to setup

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBloomington, IN
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This tent is easy to setup - just two poles (plus one small one for the fly). It says it's a 3 person tent, but really it's meant for two adults. I put my twin air mattress in there with plenty of room. A queen air mattress takes up the whole tent but it works. Only complaint is when you break down the tent, the small pole gets jammed into the tent hole and is hard to get out. It often pulls the end of the pole off and you have to reset it. I've gone through two of these tents (gave one to a friend) and it happened on both. Overall a good tent for the price.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

MMass

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
fromColorado
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted to like this tent and there is so much to like. Loved the height, I'm 5'7" and could almost stand up to get dressed. Very warm and did very well in high winds and lots of rain over a 3 day period. Unfortunately the top of the fly opening is angled so that when fully opened it is just to the inside the tent door. Rain/water poured into the tent every time I opened it. Liked the window idea, but wasn't crazy about the placement of it, although for someone to see in they would really have to make an effort. I personally didn't like the door being completely screened. I prefer a little more privacy. Very weak tent stakes. Really a nice tent for the money, other than these few issues that I just couldn't live with. Ended up taking it back.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quick to set up, great in the rain!

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Customer avatar
fromOrwell, NY
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This tent, to me, has been a great deal for the money. I have used it numerous times now. It is a snap to set up--with my 2 kids and me it takes less than 90 seconds. Packing it up did take some practice but we have it down to less than 10 minutes. Earlier this month we endured a heavy downpour and stayed completely dry. I like that the raincover covers the entire tent, whereas similar tents from other companies have raincovers that only cover about half the sides of the tent.
I do have to say that the tent is a tight fit for the three of us in sleeping bags, with little room for gear in the tent, though there is a vestibule that is handy. The tent is a bit more of a perfect fit for 2 people, in fact, my next tent purchase will be a four person tent so the three of us have more room, then I will use this one only when I have only one teen with me. For our recent extended backpacking trip, though, it was nice to have a small lightweight tent that took up so little space in the backpack.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Buy

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromLC, TN
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The tent is a good buy for the money. Packs well even though it is not the easiest to pack. Getting the fly and the tent itself folded to the right length is kind of difficult but once you figure it out after a couple tries it isnt so bad. Setup is a breeze.
It requires a lot of stakes to get the rain fly tight. If the rain fly is not tight it will leak because it will touch the tent. There is only a screen between the fly and the inside of the tent and there is a window on the fly that cant be covered so outsiders can see directly into the tent. not a problem for me but for some it might be.
I was debating on whether or not to return just because i was thinking about spending a little more money for something that might be better but for my purposes it will do just fine.
car camping and maybe some light backpacking in the future.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value. Recommend.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Quick and easy setup and tear down. Light enough to pack-in, too. Other reviewers are right about the window issue. It should have a shade, but its a really minor issue as the privacy issue is dampened by having to look through a plastic window and the tent screen door to see in, so the view is highly distorted. The stakes are junk, too, but all tents come with low-budget stakes. I recommend heavy duty plastic stakes. Last longer and are easier to drive into the ground. Tent fits back into case well, too. I find it easiest if you stack the rain fly on the tent, fold them together and then use the poles at one end to start a tight roll. I've owned a mess of tents and would say for the money, you can't go wrong with this tent.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Koppen, top-notch

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBlacksurg
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This tent was excellent in quality, it was super easy to set up and dismantle. The first time I even used this tent it went though intense storms and relatively high winds and it held up perfectly. For the money I would say this tent EASILY equally compares to a $400 north face tent. 3-person tent only comfortably fit 2 people though
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the tent. Some of the included accessories not so much

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCentral Arkansas
Age18 - 24
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
We've used this tent twice plus a test in the yard on day one. Set up is so easy. I'm a petite, early 20s female, and I can easily set up the tent by myself in minutes. I love that the sides and back are half solid half mesh and only wish that the door was as well. On the tent itself, the front being completely mesh is my only complaint and really doesn't bother me that much.
We've not used this tent in the rain yet, but we did put up the fly and soak the tent with a hose when we set it up in the yard. No leaks so far. We also put a small tarp under the tent to function as a footprint, so I haven't had any leaks from the ground either.
The reasons I gave this a 4-star rather than 5 are the included stakes and carry bag. The stakes are very small and flimsy. We bent one badly the first time we used it while camping. I'll definitely be replacing them as soon as I can.
The carry bag is pleated to allow it to expand while you're stuffing everything in it and has compression straps to squish everything down for travel. This is wonderful. Too bad the mouth of the bag is fixed to the size of the bag without the pleats. It takes upwards of an hour to get the tent torn down and packed up (minutes to take down the tent and fold up poles, maybe 10 minutes to fold and roll tent, half and hour or more to fight it into the bag, possibly start over to roll it tighter). I don't mind that too much for a stationary camping trip (ie campground). But if I'm on an extended hiking trip, I want to get packed up as quickly as possible to take advantage of the cool morning for travel. I'll either be modifying or replacing the bag before I even consider backpacking with this tent.
Overall though, this is a fantastic tent and is very reasonably priced.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for the money.

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromCharlotte, NC
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've owned tons of tents and this is one of the best. The tent construction is great, the stakes and poles are high quality, and the rain fly is more than adequate. The window is pretty cool, but other reviews state that they dislike the lack of privacy. If you go on long camping/ backpacking with friends, then I promise that you've seen them at their worst moments, so privacy is the least of my concerns when it comes to purchasing a tent, but if the need did arise to have privacy (in a family campground) then most people would take their huge family tents instead of buying a tent meant for wilderness camping.
The first time I set it up was at 10:00 pm and it only required 5-10 minutes of my time. I spent the night in it with one of my buddies and the temperature went in to the lower 40's but it remained closer to 50 in the tent. There was a variable wind that night that blew between 10 and 15 mph all night and I felt air circulating but never any more. I woke up the next morning and it didn't feel like an oven inside and there was no condensation to be found.
Also, when I took the tent home, I set it up in my back yard and hosed it down and did not get one drop of water inside.
Happy Camping!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KÖPPEN Hamr 3 Person Tent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nope.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCleveland, Ohio
I do not recommend this product.
I like everything about the tent except that all our stuff got wet. It was pouring rain and actually the tent held up very well; it was the dew that got us. Within 45 minutes of setting up the tent (hours before it started raining) the entire floor area was wet. I definitely want a refund as I will not be using this tent again.
Pros: Lightweight, Fly Works Well, Windproof, Easy To Set Up, Sturdy
Cons: Collects Condensation
-8points
2of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>