Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent

Field & Stream Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent

Gear up for the weekend with the Field & Stream® Field Lodge 6 Person Tent! This 12' x 8' tent features a full-coverage fly with integrated vestibule that will keep you protected from the elements. The rugged element barrier bathtub style floor helps shield from pooled water, splashes and mud. Zipper-flapped windows provide ample air flow and can be opened or closed when desired. Bring along a friend or five on your next camping trip!
Overall rating:
3.471 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (68 reviews)
5 Stars
(19)
4 Stars
(21)
3 Stars
(10)
2 Stars
(9)
1 Star
(9)
446865%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Review 21 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
The fisherman
fromLayton, Utah
I recommend this product.
We have used it for two campouts. On one, it was hot and the vented tent permitted excellent ventilation while keeping out insects. On the other it poured with rain and with winds gusting up to 40 mph. We stayed perfectly dry and snugly warm in our sleeping bags. This tent was excellent with the extra fly area providing room to stage before entering and exiting. It sets up and down easily with colored poles and matching colors on tent. After first campout I bought another one for my son and his family.
Pros: Windproof, Comfortable, Sturdy, Waterproof, Fly Works Well, Easy To Set Up
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great service

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
TimD
fromLake Mary, FL
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I purchased this item online for a gift, so I do not have any comments on the product other than great price. However I first visited the store and was helped immensly by the clerk who told me how to order what I wanted online. After ordering I was kept informed on shipping and received it when was told it would be here.
Thanks
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ok tent, so-so poles

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Beowulf73
fromBradford, NH
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
loved the roominess of the tent, but while disassembling it after second use the bungee in one of the poles died.
don't know if I got a BAD pole, or if it's buisness as usual for this company/brand, but I personally am more disenclined to buy another F&S tent.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tent

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Cody
fromKentucky
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Half of these reviews seem to be from people who's never camped before. buy a can or two of the waterproofing spray and use it on the tent. during a few down pours i've stayed completely dry while everyone else's tents leaked.
I can fit my double layer queen air mattress with room for another twin or full mattress no problem.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Large but not sturdy.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer avatar
camper
frommemphis, tn
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
This tent would be fine for the occasional camper in fair weather, it has lots of room. However, when fully set up I don't think it can withstand a good storm both in wind performance and keeping the water out. The tent is just not a good design overall for more than light use.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
camper
frombristol ri
Age18 - 24
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
this is a huge tent you can stand up in hard to set up but once it is set up it it worth it
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice tent, excellent service

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Purple Pirate
fromGreenville, NC
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Purchased this tent on sale to use for family and Scout car camping trips. Good price for the size. Set up is a bit more complicated than a simple dome tent. Managed to set up without instructions then later discovered the instructions. The pages sewn inside the bag were stuck together and the set up instructions were on the inside pages.
Hubs on the tent we purchased were heavy plastic and not colored coded as shown in Dick’s online photo. Hubs are a bit asymmetrical and need to go in the more vertical position. During a test set up had hubs in the horizontal position and managed to snap a lower pole. Called manufacturer and talked to one of the best customer support persons I have ever dealt with. A new pole was sent quickly and even came in a little pole bag.
Once set up found the tent to be fairly roomy with some nearly flat ceiling area and walls that are a bit more vertical than a typical dome tent with more wall slope.
Really like having a vestibule as a weather and bug buffer with extra room for camp furniture and gear. Have not camped in rain, but like that the fly provides almost total coverage. Can open up the back of the fly as well as the vestibule for good ventilation. Was also pleased that the floor is oxford cloth and not thinner taffeta or noisy polyethylene.
After some initial concerns about the tent sons love it and looking forward to using it more.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tent for price, but not designed for wind

PostedMay 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Scoutmaster
fromSalem, Oregon
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The tent is a good value, but you should not expect it to stand up to moderately rough conditions. First time used was on a Boy Scout outing (car camping). It was fairly easy to set up. The tent does well in rain, but it failed the wind test. I estimate 25 mph gusts with rain. The tent pole broke at the joint. In all fairness, we had broken poles on two other tents (light weight trail tents) during the same storm.
Despite not sleeping much, the scouts learned great lessons from getting their gear tested. Provided I can order a pole replacement, we are going to continue to use the tent for car camping outings. When you consider Plan B is your car when car camping, how much money do you want to spend on a higher performance tent?
This tent is a good value...what's the customer service number to get a new pole?
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disaster

PostedJune 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Allen
fromRochester, MN
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this tent last week on a Thursday, and chose this one primarily due to the vestibule feature. The following night I put it up in my back yard. It stormed, to say the least. Hard down pours with lightning and thunder. Within 4 hours or so, water was coming up from beneath the floor, and it was dripping in through a couple areas in the roof of the tent, so we left the tent and went inside the house. The following day we moved the tent and pulled out the tarp, to allow the tent to dry. It rained again for awhile, but not heavy rain. Around noon I looked outside and saw a puddle of rain on top of the vestibule roof; one of the fiberglass poles had cracked, became disconnected, and shot through the tent creating a 2 inch by half inch hole. Needless to say, my one night experience in my back yard was a disaster - and I never got to actually go camping with it.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tent

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer avatar
redneckrebel76
fromSt. Joseph MO
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this tent for the size and the waterproofing and it proved itself within the first two nights camping. on Saturday it stormed very hard for 8hours straight and on Sunday when we tore it down it only had one spot of water in a corner about size of a quarter and that could have been from coming in and out. the only small complaint I have was that the instructions were a little hard to follow at first once we realized the color coordination of the poles and the tent setup was a breeze now I can set up the tent all by myself all in all hey very good tent for the money!
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
bob
fromwestminster, MD
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
BEST TENT EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!
great for camping
alsome
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bought on sale, good buy for the price

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Johnson
fromTampa, FL
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
had been looking for a larger tent to camp with family. also looking for tent with front canopy. found tent on sale.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I wouldn't if I were you.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
thegrappler
fromPortland, Or
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
It appears to be a nice tent with a slick looking porch at a good price.
But, I set this tent up and along came a gust of wind (not a big gust either. I've been in some serious wind storms) and the plastic connector that holds 4 poles as well as one end of the tent up snapped in half rendering the tent useless.
I intend to return this tent and I will not be getting another one. The quality is too poor and I don't need my camping trip ruined again.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Tent Somewhat Minor Setbacks

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Cb27
fromBakersfield, CA
Age18 - 24
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This tent is super comfortable and spacious. We were in pretty mild weather - not hard core campers so it was perfect.
It would have gotten more stars if it hadn't come with a hole broken through the top of it. Even more stars, had they not told us it had already a 1 year manufacturer's warranty when trying to sell us the totally pointless "No hassle, no questions asked" No sweat protection plan. Waste of money.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tent!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Laura19
fromCedar Rapids, IA
Age18 - 24
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I LOVE THIS TENT! It is roomy enough for two air mattress which is great for my family. The instructions were confusing at first but after a few minutes it went together pretty simply. I was skeptical at first about needing such an extravagant tent but I am very happy with my purchase. This is a great product for this price!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst instructions ever

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Frances
fromPocatello, ID
Age51 Plus
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
Two college graduates could not follow the most poorly written instructions we have ever seen. Color coding referenced in the instructions was not present on the materials. Given enough time I am sure we could have figured it out and could then rewrite the instructions so they would be clear, but that is not what we paid for. The tent is being returned.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tent - love the vestibule feature

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Happy Jose
fromWilliamson, NY
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Took the tent out for the first time last week. Plenty of room and air circulation. Instead of rolling up the front flap of the vestibule I put the flap on a couple of staked poles and had a little canopy for shade and allowed more air to flow. Although the description said it was waterproofed, and we did run into some rain, no water entered the tent, but the fly material seemed to absorb some of the water. I'm planning on waterproofing everything for future use.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 6 person tent

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Liz
fromIdaho
Age25 - 29
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Love the lil deck! Bigger then expected . Set was easy. Didn't really follow instructions
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Marc
fromOhio
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
This is a great tent. My wife and I love it. At first it was alittle difficult to set up, but we got the hang of it. Real spacious and it has lots of windows for great ventilation. The vestibule is huge! We put 2 full size lawn chairs on each side and they were not in the way. Love it.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Field & Stream Field Lodge 6 Person Dome Tent
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not bad, but there are better tents

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Privatereviewer
fromNorth Ridgeville, OH
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
This tent is complex to set up but not impossible. The color coded poles help well with the setting up. The design isn't the best for very strong winds, but it is good enough for an average storm. The tent kept us dry during a few average thunderstorms, but in the vestibule it will leak a little because of the design. With rain, the water tends to collect on the roof of the vestibule and a few leaks occurred. Nothing major, just make sure you don't have stuff in the vestibule that can't get wet. On a side note: I did not seal this tent myself as it already have a good coating from the factory and the seams are sealed. I have another tent from field and stream also never sealed and that has held up pretty good over the last years. Only after the 3rd year, we have a small minor leak on the roof (but I expect the leak occurred because of bad setup of the guest users since the rainfly was pulled down a lot where the leak was and one leak at the seam of the tub floor, I hope to fix this with a sealer)
The biggest let down of this tent is the floor. It isn't waterproof or not even water resistant. I already assumed as much when I saw the tent in the store since it it just a thicker piece of nylon used on the tent. It isn't looking like a piece of tarp. I solved most of this issue bu using a tarp under the tent, but also on the inside of the tent. I will not use this tent when they predict big rain fall but it is good enough for us occasional campers.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>