Customer reviews for ProForm ProForm 510 EX Elliptical

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

ProForm ProForm 510 EX Elliptical

Make strides toward a healthier lifestyle with the ProForm ® 510 EX Elliptical. iFit Live ™ technology, Google Maps ™ workouts, and training programs lead by Jillian Michaels help add excitement to your fitness routine. Upper body arms and pedals with an adjustable stride length provide an effective total body workout. Other features include an iPod ® compatible music port, automatic resistance controls, and 5" backlit display.
Overall rating:
2.35 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (20 reviews)
5 Stars
(1)
4 Stars
(7)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(2)
1 Star
(10)
82040%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Review 1 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initial assembly

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Killer
fromCharlottesville Va.
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this product on Dec. 28th 2012 and began assembly on the 29th. The wiring harness was damaged and I called the service number which is actually Icon Services. Except for the long wait, 30 minutes, which remind you is a holiday week. operator was very helpful. Ordered part and I received today, Jan.8th. I assembled the machine by myself and had no problems. I assume all the complaints about assembly are from people who have no patience. Initial work out seems quite satisfactory. I will update at a later date to status of machine.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall, happy

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Cmblady6
fromOwensboro ky
Age30 - 34
GenderFemale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Took my husband and his cousin about an hour to put together. They had to use a mallet for the tight axels. It gives a great workout. I'm happy with it. Most complaints are for assembly. The hubs is a handy man and where he didn't enjoy putting it together he was able to with help.
It did squeak a little but the hubs fixed.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheaper than a gym membership

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Shrew
fromChocolatetown, PA
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
We have had this elliptical for about a month now. Between my wife and I we probably have used it about 26 out of 30 days. Not a problem so far. We got it on sale for $399 and $69 delivery and set up. With tax less than $480 and that I think is a good deal. Cheaper than both of us having a gym membership for a year. Great pre-program workouts and there is a manual section to do 1/4 mile laps at your pace and resistance level. Overall we a very satisfied. Was concerned by all the negative reviews but haven't found that to be true for us.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great except for the axles

PostedApril 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Christopher
fromSC
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This elliptical would work fine if the five axles, provided with the unit, were the correct diameter. The axles on the unit I bought were too large. The support people were nice, and they seemed to be aware of the problem, but they wanted me to use a mallet to pound the oversized axles into the pivot points. I took the axles to a nearby machine shop and had them "turned" until they were small enough to slide into the bearings. With that modification, the unit works perfectly.
A lot of the complaints about this elliptical are, I think, a result of those oversized axles. They're too tight. That's why the end screws are coming out. That's why all the squeaks and creaks that some folks are reporting.
I'm a happy customer now. I hope the support people will figure this out and get that axle diameter right.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProForm 510 EX

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Heather
fromOhio
I recommend this product.
I love this machine! It took my fiance a little over an hour to put together and he is the "handy-man" type...he said some of the holes did not line up correctly but he was able to get the screws in, it was just very hard. If you are not handy or strong...pay for them to assemble it! A few complaints that I have are that on carpet it is not as sturdy as on the showroom floor, but I do not feel that it is dangerous or that it will fall over, and second, I did not realize that the iFit was needed for all of the programs except the 18 pre-programmed workouts. Very disappointed about that because it lists all of these great features but you have to spend another $100 to use them, and that is if you already have wifi! Overall, I think this is a good elliptical...it is a little expensive but the quality is much better than cheaper models. Also, you can adjust the stride length which is good for my fiance and I because he is a lot taller than me. It is very large, but the rear wheel does fold up to save some space.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Operates Smoothly
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the price if done right

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Cardio man
fromBangor Maine
I recommend this product.
I bought this product from Dick's and had them do the assembly. No problems with it so far, and it gives a great workout.The people at Dick's were friendly and the person who set it up even explained some of the features. Highly recommend this product and recommend reading all instructions before using.This will save you time on the phone. For the price, it is a great buy.
Pros: Gives a good workout
Cons: Not a space saver
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I've had good luck with this product!!

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
jimbo
fromtexas
I recommend this product.
After getting it home it took about an hour to assemble. I don't consider this excessive time spent. Directions were simple and easy to understand. Anyone who has ever used a screwdriver more than 2 minutes can handle the assembly. There was a small amount of squeeking after some use but checking around I found the problem and that was the end of that.
Pros: Ease of assembly, Reliability
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Guitar914
fromHowell, NJ
I recommend this product.
It took about an hour to build. The grease was a little annoying but necessary. It works fantastic. It can be a little noisy if it is on a basement floor. I bought a mat and it cut the noise in half. There is squeaking when at a fast pace, but probably because I weigh 230lbs and not because of anything else. It is easy to move around. The ifit addition looks great, but I'm not up for spending another [$] just yet.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good Price x Poor Quality = Low Value

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Charlie
fromMaryland
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I bough this machine for my wife almost a year ago for her birthday and it performed great for the first 8 months or so. A couple of months ago it started to make some weird noise which was getting worst everyday. Finally, after weeks of complains from my lovely wife I took this machine apart. The noise was coming from the right side ball bearing. Took me a lot of work to get up to there and have it replaced with another set of chinese bearing from ebay search for Ball Bearing R12-Z.
This machine was not build to last, and the design/assembly quality seem to be poor. All four bolt in the right side came damaged from factory, and I have to use a locking pliers and replace them with 40x1.25mm socket bolts from HDepot.
I bought on sale for just over $500, so I guest I got what I paid for.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Read this review before you buy!

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
MomMom 2 You
fromNew Jersey
I do not recommend this product.
After searching and trying three different ellipticals I thought I was buy a good one. Boy was I wrong. This does not reflect on Dicks where it was purchased but with ProForm. The front stabilizer bar is far too small and the machine wobbles with a fast paced work out. The rear wheel well rubs and the cover is plastic so it is slighly bent inwards. It constatnly needs to be oiled after 4 workouts or else it make terrible squeeking noises. It is not easy either to adjust the stride length either. VERY disappointed with this product and would not recommend this model.
Pros: Don't have one
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Axles do not fit!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Chris24
fromSC
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I wish I could give this product a better rating. It does not work. Period. It does not work because the five axles (for various pivot points) are the wrong size. They're not even close. Instructions from tech support were to use a mallet to pound it together. Well, the axles are too big. This is not a small error. The tech support people said they didn't want the axles to slip out. Before they can slip out, they have to slip in. I've never posted a one-star review before. To their credit, they agreed to send me replacement axles. I hope these new ones are smaller. If the machine works, I'll post a revised review.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please read this before you purchase

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
first time complainer
fromYork, PA
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
First let me say that I have never posted a negative opinion before. This time I think I should do what I can to warn people about this product, I would not recommend this product to anyone. We bought this from Dick's and paid extra to have it assembled. We've had nothing but troubles with this product since the first day. Even for the short amount of time that the bolts were tight (1-2 hours) the equipment squeaked so bad that is sounded like an old car. The bolts continually loosen and we've even tried lock washers and Loc-Tite to hold the equipment together. No matter what we've tried, the product is flimsy and poorly designed. I would never spend this kind of money again for any product made by this company.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not waste your money on this

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
KenPro
fromFlorida
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
Tension motor broke within 6 months of very light (once a week) use.
Poor build/construction - the plastic covers (on the arms, cupholder and at the base of the upright) tend to squeak while using it as they are loose.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got what I paid for

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Big Mike
fromFoley, AL
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
For those looking to save money and get a product that works for a little while then this is the one for you. Myself and my wife have had this machine for about 3 months and have not enjoyed it yet. The assembly is very time consuming and a royal pain. Although pretty easy it had several parts that were not easy to match up. The machine creeks the entire time during the workout and I have no idea how to get it to stop. The other day the display started reading the RPM, Strides, and Mileage incorrectly. It is reading about half of what the actual is. During my most recent workout I was about half way through a 60 minute workout and I was doing about 60 RPM and then it changed to 30 RPM. Because the RPM started reading incorrectly the mileage and strides were wrong. Thought maybe it was just acting up stopped gave it some time and tried again and still doing the same thing. Tried contacting the company and have not reached any one yet but will try again. One good feature of the machine is that you can change the stride length but all of the measurements are taken for the 18 inch stride and is does not adjust for the longer of shorter stride. I use it one the 20 inch and I calculated the distance and it was off by about a 1/4 of a mile. I highly suggest either getting a better model of stay away from this brand.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad parts put together

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
mintu
fromnj
I do not recommend this product.
I tried to put it together on the day I bought it. A metal 1.5'' by 1.5'' chip just fell off, it was suppose to be welded. I called Proform parts, who agreed to send me the replacement part (top left arm of the machine). Part came 11 days later, and this time 1.5'' x 1.5'' metal chip was welded at wrong spot. It was off only by an inch, but enough to have one arm at totally different resting spot than the other. Finally I gave up with trying to put together a bad machine and returned it to store.
Cons: Hard To Store, Parts don't fit together, Difficult To Use
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money don't purchase this

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Dutch
fromwilmington de
I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this item yesterday 08/11/2012 put it together my self no problem, The directions were easy to follow, my issue is that its unsteady even after adjusting the stabilizing legs,Than 10 min into my first work out the screen went blank and has not worked since than. I wish I had read the reviews before a paid that kind of money for this item, I can't return it I threw the box away plus I had to pay someone to deliver it . If i can get them to return this item I'm going to get my money back.
Cons: Noisy, Cheap Materials, Wobbles Under Use
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Assembly Issues !!!

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Mad Mark
fromW. PA
I do not recommend this product.
MAYBE IF you PAY to have it ASSEMBLED - it will be OK. But I guess if you never get to the point of actually using it, because it is impossible to assemble; then it's tough to give it a good review. This is not a good design for a piece of gear that a company sells where they should be expecting many people to just assemble it themselves. BAD DESIGN. You are expected to grease axel rods with grease that is included (mine was not included, so I overlooked that - got some from my garage, and continued). These axel spindles do not fit properly where they are intended to be; and you have to pound them in with a hammer or mallet. Even then they do not go easy. Then you have to try to pound the left and right arms onto the axel while trying to keep the axel perfectly centered in the machine which requires more pounding on it. Again, they do not fit properly and while trying to pound the arm on, the inner, soft metal "bushing" of the arm broke. I have worked in construction, and in communications systems engineering, and I am very mechanically inclined - far beyond that of the average homeowner for whom this installation should have been intended. This is bad design. These axels/pivot points are the main stress-bearing points of the machine. This could have been designed so they come pre-installed and lubricated - and during home installation, just bolted to the machine. This will be going back.
Cons: Difficult To Use
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

unsatisfied!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
JohnDent
fromFoster, WV
I do not recommend this product.
This product is a major let down, I've waved the pro-form flag for years. Praising all their products, this product was the first let down. Needs oiled after every use, wield breaks and within' the first 15 minutes the LED screen just blacked out (thank God I bought it from Dick's and they were nice enough to give me another screen from a floor model), very unnstable and squeaks very loud! But it's a pretty machine. Now the LED Display works but but you can't change nothing on it, buttons don't work
Pros: It's pretty
Cons: Noisy, Wobbles Under Use, LED Display is horrible
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Delivery Issues

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Customer avatar
Kris
fromMilford CT
I do not recommend this product.
I bought this elliptical Monday at Dicks in Milford, CT. #1 the purchase included free delivery and assembly, delivery came today, but no assembly, just dropped off the box inside and left. #2 I start assembling it and realize that the wiring is missing!! I had to call Proform and they are shipping the wiring to me which means I cant use this until after Christmas. I wish I could even submit a rating for this product however it looks like I will go about 3 weeks from purchase before I can use it once!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ProForm 510 EX Elliptical
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No worth it!

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
Fit in Colorado
fromDenver, CO
I do not recommend this product.
I have bought Proform products in the past and really enjoyed but had a major problem when it came to this one. First was the price, in store Dick's has it marked almost double over the highest I have ever seen it online. Second, I could not get Proform/Iron Health and Fitness customer service to help me when I had an issue with this product. No joke, 16 calls!!! I have yet to get help with the issue. Overall, NOT WORTH IT.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.