Customer reviews for Gamo Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun

Gamo Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun

The Gamo® Big Cat 1250 Air Rifle shoots down your target with ease. The air rifle features a single cocking system with two-piece solid mount. It offers a non-slip checkering on the grip and forearm for a solid hold while shooting. The Big Cat also includes 50 rounds of PBA Platinum ammo for plinking any target.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
616594%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Review 1 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

super quality

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Customer avatar
frompennsylvania
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
works well but I wish I could have tried the one with the noise supressor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great but faulty

PostedJune 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromnew york,ny
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i had to take it apart after a year of use because a pin became unhooked but its an easy fix
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

My last springer rifle ever!

PostedJune 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sorry, but I have had it with springer rifles. This is my fourth one and best one I've had but still never matching the DEPENDABLE ACCURACY of a CO2 or PCP. I've been shooting and working on firearms and air rifles for 40 years and have tried everything in the book(and websites) to make a springer reliably accurate and I have come to the conclusion it can't be done. Many will disagree with me but it is true. Do the research. This rifle is nice and well made for it's price, that's why I gave it three stars but as with every springer I've owned or seen you got to prep the heck out of them. The three main stock screws will all have to be removed and coated with lock tight and repeated eventually again. The scope mount will have to have lock tight also and constantly checked if you do a lot of shooting. The scope is usable but is poor quality. So now you have to go buy a better scope if you want any type of accuracy. I've had this rifle for 2 weeks now and have put about a thousand pellets through it and it has ruined two scopes, the one that came with it and another air rifle scope I had that had been working perfectly fine, but no more. Springer rifles are terribly hard on scopes, period! The scope mounts are not the best either, there's another purchase. to be made. Plan on buying about $100 of different good quality pellets to see which one it prefers. If you don't already know about holding and shooting a springer rifle you better get educated, they are as finicky as a house cat. After about a thousand pellets now I still can't get dependable accuracy. It will group well for a while and then flyers. I can blame a bad pellet once in a while, an improper hold on the rifle, loose screws too, but not all the time. The barrel on mine was bent to one side which caused me to max my scope out to correct for it. I was able to bend it back#with care not hard to do on pellet rifle) and correct the problem. All the things you have to do and look for to get a springer to shoot dependably accurate is a pain in the bum for an old pro and a nightmare if you're a newbee. If you want a simple dependably accurate air rifle then buy a CO2 or PCP. What good or fun is a rifle that always shoots everywhere but the bullseye.!!!! By the way, Dick's was very good to deal with and I hold nothing against them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCentral Massachusetts
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This model was recommended by the salesperson in your store. It is very accurate and powerful for a pellet rifle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy plinking

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCalifornia
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought the Gamo Big Cat 1250 in .177 Caliber and I am very pleased with it.
It comes with a scope that I mounted and proceded to sight it in. One click in elevation and I was right on target.
I recommend this rifle to adults and older youth only, as it is a little hard to cock for a smaller child.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid air rifle

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromUpstate NY
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my first air rifle and I got it primarily for varmit control around our home. It is well made and feels good in the hand. It is quite powerful and accurate after you get the scoped zeroed. It took me a good while to get it zeroed but I have never owned a rifle with a scope so I have nothing to compare it to. The scope is not great but works well enough. It does not produce a crisp image at any distance. The plastic trigger has a long pull and feels sort of soft. I bought a metal replacement trigger but haven't installed it yet.
For the price I think this is a great value. If you want a gun with a good scope and responsive trigger I think you'd have to spend considerably more money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to handle even for 9year old

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCanton, Ms
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasantly surprised at the power of this rifle and how easy it was to cock, even for my 9 year old grand son who is not that large of a youth. Very accurate and I even enjoyed some target practice with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am very happy with this gun.

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I shopped around for an air rifle, compared many, and found the Big Cat to be the best value for my needs. Excellent for all uses.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good value

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMoriches, NY
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This rifle wasPurchased for our children. 4 of them have enjoyed its ease of use. In particular we endorse the face that the scope does not have to be mounted
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good air rifle, but a bad scope.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMuskegon Michigan
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The big cat 1250 is a great air rifle with a horrible scope. Gamo should entertain the idea of putting a better scope with the gun, and raising the price, or just flat out leave the scope out of the package.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

worth the money

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
frompennsylvania
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This pellet gun delivers what it advertises. Easy to assemble scope, easy to use. My wife has an no problem cocking and loading although it is a little heavy for her. One drawback is noise. It is almost as loud as my .22 caliber. Headphones are a good idea.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Made

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got this for Christmas and since then I had it outside and I was sighting it in when I slipped on ice and dropped it. It was absolutely fine, not a crack or scratch anywhere. I continued to sight it in and was able to get 1" groups at 25 yards. I also tried it on some squirrels and it works perfect. My only complaint is the scope. Invest in a little higher quality of one if your going to shoot at a longer range.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good pellet gun

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Accurate and not too loud. Effective for use against tree rats. The scope is a bit cheap but does the job. You'll need a little bit of muscle to cock it but it's not that hard for an adult. For $150 it was a little pricey and if you shop around you can get a better deal or a different rifle with more tech features.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible shooting gun

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Bought this gun for my 13 yr old daughter for Christmas . Being an avid hunter and shooter for 30yrs I was as excited to shoot as she was . After mounting scope and bore sighting for her we were both sadly disappointed after shooting three different types of pellets and several hrs of frustration trying to get gun to group remotely good . Gun would not shoot good enough to even consider taking into the field and ethically trying to hunt squirrels with. I mounted it in a Caldwell shooting bench that cost double what the gun does and still couldn't get the gun to shoot any better than a 6" three shot group at 20yrds !
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gun and good service

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Customer avatar
fromGrand Rapids Michigan
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was not my choice of air rifle,but why not spend a little more money for a lot more quality? It hits like a .22 and a is way less expensive. The scope that comes with it is pretty good and ain't comes with free pellets. This is a good choice for a semi experienced shooter but youngsters could operate it with a little help form an adult. For a younger kid, it would be a little harder to cock, but once you get it, it comes pretty easy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing gun

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This an amazing gun! I have had it for about 5 years and it has not broken down once. It is amazing. To load it, it is not hard at all
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gamo Big Cat

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromBloomington, IN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pleased with the gun so far. The clerk was very helpful and took the time to explain the gun to my son. Also he laser sighted it in without a charge which he said the policy would be changing and you would be charging for that service, to bad. It's those types of little things that would bring me back. Overall I was VERY pleased with my purchase and the sale reps time and attention.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAsheville, N.C.
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a highly researched purchase and a quality air rifle for the price!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the money you can't beat this gun!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quiet, accurate, and smooth break action. A great gun!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gamo Big Cat 1250 Pellet Gun
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An amazing air gun

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
fromwest palm beach, FL
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This gun is absolutely amazing. I just bought this gun and the price is great for such a good gun. I mainly shoot at targets but I have also shot some rabbits and a couple of birds. The gun is amazing but the scope is okay. The scope is not the best but it will do the job for any hunter. At first the crack barrel was hard to pull back, but after a while i got used to it. Great price, great quality, overall an amazing gun.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>