Customer reviews for Barnett Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Barnett Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package

The Barnett Hellcat ™ 175 crossbow has high energy cams and crosswire strings and cables that produces arrow speeds of 350 fps. In addition, the Hellcat ™ 175 crossbow has Anti-Vibration AVi performance laminated limbs that help dampen shock, vibration, and noise. The Hellcat ™ 175 crossbow package includes a quiver, 3 carbon arrows, and an illuminated multi-reticle 3x32 scope.
Overall rating:
3.769 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (26 reviews)
5 Stars
(11)
4 Stars
(7)
3 Stars
(0)
2 Stars
(7)
1 Star
(1)
172471%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Review 1 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't use carbon express or luminocks!

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
fromStatesville, NC
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
I have bow hunted for 12 years, new to crossbows. My hellcat string broke 3 times and twice damaged cams with a total of 20 shots or so. I was alliterating the use of the original bolts with Carbon Express bolts, and was practicing with luminocks. Turns out that after sending it back to Barnett twice, they concluded that the carbon express knocks were not shaped according to the bows specs and were causing dry fires. But since I was noticing stress on the strings at the cams even with primary use of the original bolts And had trouble with the scope luminating, I asked that they send me a different model. The gamestrike they sent is working great, basically the same as their Preditor. Very fast and accurate from 40 yards. They did not charge me repairs or replacement fees, very good service. Just wish I would have known about those knocks sooner than later
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

questionable

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
fromtownsend, DE
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
third time shooting bow at range noticed that the black retaining string was coming undone. also noticed where the front assembly bolt onto the main assemble where the two pieces meet they did not sit flush and true so I put a square on the main piece that the arrow rides on and compared to the string and found that the string line ( that propels the arrow forward) was not square and that it was out of alignment. which make sense the crossbow started out good but after about a total of 50 or 60 shots slowly I whent from 1'' groups to about 5" groups.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not happy

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
fromindependence,ky
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
it has been over 2 weeks and still waiting for all of product to come,no scope with package.how can you use a compound bow without a scope, dicks has been very helpful trying to get us a complete package. with this kind of money they should be ready to ship all of package,together
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

2 bows 2 problems

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWilkes-Barre PA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this bow about 3 weeks ago and after 7 shots the string started to fray and the scope had black spots in it, I had to buy another scope plus this bow never came with arrows (bolts) or a quiver. I brought it back to Dicks where Noah was a huge help. He was such a big help. He had me set up and back in the wood in about an hour, with a new replacement. Problem 2 i take the new bow out and the arrows kept falling out of it and after looking at it i noticed that they are sitting off center and not laying flat. Needless to say i will have no choice but to take another vistit to Dicks again tomorrow. Only reason i gave this bow a 2 for overall was because of the outstanding help recieved from Noah.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

string broke on the first pull

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Customer avatar
fromCarneys Point, NJ
I do not recommend this product.
New to using a crossbow and after I got it assembled went out to try it out and during the first pull the string broke. Taking it back for a replacement and will try again.
Pros: Easy To Assemble
Cons: Hard To Draw
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Still deciding on the product

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
fromWaynesville, Missouri
I do not recommend this product.
The crossbow was easy to assembly, had to make major adjustments to the scope to get on target, after about 6 shots was in the center on the bulls eye out to 40 yards. Did have a major malfunction in the field when the string broke while cocking the crossbow. Had to send back to manufacture for repairs. Been about a week since they had it.
Pros: Easy To Adjust
Cons: Poor Construction
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Strings or pulleys

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
fromRuckersville
The Hellcat has all the power you will ever need I like the design . Everything about the bow is pretty good other than the weight and the string back at the pulleys. I bought my first crossbow it was the hellcat, sighted in at dick's went hunting killed my first bear with a bow I started to see the string looked funny back at the pulleys I thought maybe it was just a defect in this crossbow took it back to dick's they gave me a new hellcat I didn't have it a month I bought it September 27 I took it back October 24 The new is doing the same thing
Pros: Powerful, Easy To Handle
Cons: Poor Construction
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Better choices in a crossbow

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Customer avatar
fromCentral PA
I do not recommend this product.
Been a compound hunter for over 25 years. Decided to try a crossbow this year. Heard the Barnett name a lot, so went with that brand. The Hellcat seemed well made, and felt good in the hands, but at my first range outing, the "finger" that holds the bolt down (cheap plastic) broke after 9 shots. Prior to that, the illumination in the scope failed. Returned it for a Horton, a better made, (aluminum barrel, metal arrow hold down finger, MIM metal trigger) and so far, more reliable crossbow.
Pros: Powerful, Easy To Handle, Accurate
Cons: Poor Construction
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

for the price , not to shabby !!!!!!!

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
fromSouth Lyon , Michigan
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Ordered it on line , got it in 4 days ! Easy to put together , 15 min. or so . Took it out and sighted it in , 20 more min. and ready to slam some deer !!!! Make sure that you wax ALL the string , cable , cable slide and arrow shelf very good and often . This should prolong the life of the string and cables and prevent the breakage problems that others have written about . don't be afraid to over apply it , rub it in good between your fingers . P.S. That scope is great !!!!
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

hunting with hellcat bow

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
fromwilmington nc
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bougth this bow last year(2012) and used it during hunting season and took two nice deer with it. I also used it during turkey season and took a great eleven inch breaded tom. Great bow for the money,set up was very easy, had it shooting 2 inch groups at 20,30,40 and 50 yards in just a few shots.I would say that if you are looking for a great bow for hunting this is the one.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

WOW!

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRussellville, AR
I recommend this product.
Bought the Hellcat for my wife to hunt with this fall. Sighted it up to 50 yards. Decided to try it out since Arkansas' crossbow season is open until end of February. Shot a deer at 42 yards. Hit it in the magic triangle of the shoulder. The 2219 Easton bolt with a 100 grain expandable knocked the deer off it feet. It laid there with all four feet sticking straight up in the air. Put a second bolt thru the deer's chest. That bolt went thru the chest, guts, and finally stopped after hitting the femur. Unbelieveably leathal and fast. I do feel sorry for my wife though. Now I want to take it back and keep it for myself. The Barnett Hellcat could easily edge out my compound bow to become my favorite. The only reason I didn't give it a five star rating is because the string is stretching already after about twenty five shots where the serving protects the string on each cam. I doubt if the string will be good for more than one season.
User submitted photo
Pros: Accurate, Powerful
Cons: Sting Stretch
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Amazing for a 1st time hunter

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
fromHickory, NC
I recommend this product.
1st shot at 20 yards went through an archery target and 3 inches into a large tree that was used as a backstop. Ruined the arrow (rookie mistake) Be sure to get a target rated for 400fps. Still learning, but was able to get on target up to 40 yards with VERY small groupings. The speed and accuracy is very impressive! The cocking rope is too long, but is easily remedied and with a bit of practice it is relatively easy to use. Looking forward to getting out to get my 1st deer!
Pros: Great 1st timer X bow, Easy To Handle, Powerful, Easy To Adjust, Accurate
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Crossbow for the price Hard Hitting

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer avatar
fromGoodlettsville, TN
I recommend this product.
The Hellcat was easy to set up took about 20 minutes. Was able to get the scope zeroed in about 8 shots. Scope was not adjusting at first had to make a dynamic elevation move before it moved then after that it was fine. It is easy to use and maintain I am very happy about that since it is my first crossbow. The weight can be something that you might take into account if you plan on stalking or walking longer distances make sure you have a sling. I carry a climber in usually and getting use to carrying the Hellcat was something different. I apply wax to the string constantly with this crossbow. I have shot it 35 times and the string is holding up fine. It is hard hitting and very accurate out to 55 yds.
Pros: Powerful, Durable, Accurate
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent power need crank

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
fromFairfax, VA
This crossbow definitely has a good deal of power. You'll have to be fairly strong though to pull the string back though without a crank. Tried several times and was not able to get it half way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great experience for first timer

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Customer avatar
fromDelaware
I recommend this product.
Bought this cross bow for my 15 year old son. He has shot a compound bow but was not crazy about it and wanted to try something else. I am not all that experienced with crossbows so I was not sure what I was getting into. Not many reviews on this particular model out there but it seemed to have everything we were looking for. Setting it up was easy we were ready to go in no time. Here comes the one exception. I struggled with getting the bow cocked. This set comes with a rope cocking cord which is good because I can't imagine getting this thing cocked without it. Suffice it to say that took longer than expected. Once we figured it out, I have to say I was pleased with its performance. It took a little while to understand how it worked but once we did, we were very happy. It produced powerful shots on target and great velocity. The boy was in heaven. We can't wait til hunting season. I have read about the "crank, cocking device, sold separately" and think it may be a wise investment.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate
Cons: Hard To Draw
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crossbow!

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
fromS.E.Michigan
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this Crossbow at Dicks in July,I have tweaked it only by buying Goldentip carbon bolts and muzzy trocore 100gr broad heads.I have extreme confidence in this bow! Its dead on at 15 to 40 yds with no drop and is shooting close to 370fps.I shot my 1st deer with a crossbow this year with it and ,the bolt went thru so fast he didn't know he was hit,dropped 30 yds from where I smoked him.just wax the cables and string after every use,and keep it clean and itll last a long time.Ive shot over 80 bolts with it so far and it hasn't let me down yet! GREAT CROSSBOW! Scope is great,just have to remove the battery after each use for longer life. This is one awesome weapon,I definatly recommend it! Those who have complained about the strings fraying etc,must not be using it correctly,if you use the right bolts,broadheads and don't dry fire it,everything will last,suggested cable and string replacement is every 3 years.Personally I love this HellCat!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Crossbow

PostedNovember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWoodridge Ny
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
The new Barnett Hellcat crossbow is well made, an ease to assemble , it's fast, accurate, powerful and a pleasure to shoot. Bow is shooting one inch groups out of the box. Well balanced and ADF trigger makes it safe. Would highly recommend to anyone interested in a crossbow. Great value for the money and equal to high dollar bows.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Barnett HellCat Crossbow

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Customer avatar
fromAnnArbor area Michigan
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this in July after months of research and testing of other brands.This by far exceeded my expectations for quality and price! I am shooting Gold Tip 20 inch Carbon Devastator bolts with half moon knocks ( flat knocks and aluminum bolts will destroy the string) im shooting 100 grain Muzzy Broadheads and getting a 3 shot group the size of a quarter at 30 yds.I don't even have to use the other 3 sight dots on the included 3X32 scope.Its shooting 375fps at this yardage. My friend shot it and fell in love,he sold his Horton and bought a HellCat. You have to wax the string and grease the shooting rail after each use for it to stay in new condition and to keep the string from fraying.This is by far the best crossbow I found for quality and price! Ive already shot 2 raccoons and a ground hog with it at between 25 and 40 yds.I cant wait til Oct for deer season!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

better then the public view

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromsalem county, NJ
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I bought this bow 14 months ago. I was going to buy a different crossbow that was cheaper. When i went to dicks it was on sale. I liked the looks and bought it. It only took about 5 minutes to sight in. I have shot 4 deer with it, none have went farther then 40yds. This year it was right on target, no sighting in needed. had to change the battery in the scope. I have shot this bow over a 100 times the strings are showing some wear, but I won't change them until next year. This thing devistates deer, the energy just shatters everything in its path. The down fall is buy planty of bolts and only use the Block as a target. I destroyed 8 bolts with other brand crossbow targets before hunting. Also a luminated nock will help out when hunting. I have 2 bolts I have never found and never seen the impact when shooting the deer. This bow sinks arrows deeper in the target then my father in-laws x-caliber. he spent twice the money for half the energy. I would reccomend this bow to anyone, even if you have to replace the cables after 1 season, they are only $50. this by far is a way under rated bow in the shooting community. I compare this bow to a $1000 Horton any day, a little wider but only by 6 inches.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Barnett Hellcat 175 Scope Crossbow Package
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this bow

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMARYLAND
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Recently, my Ten Point went out of service and after receiving zero customer service. I was in a pinch for a crossbow with the rut on the horizon. Went to my local Dick Sporting Goods and found a very helpful person in their hunting lodge. He guided me to this bow and gave it a two thumbs up based on speed reliability and overall performance. It was on sale so I purchased it and I can say I could not be more pleased with it. After ten minutes of shooting it was dialed in and I have harvested three deer with it so far.
Three things to condiser, this bow is almost impossible to cock without a cocking string dont leave home without it. The bolts fly so fast its impossible to follow them invest in lighted knocks if you can. Dont shoot fixed blade broadheads..
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>