Customer reviews for Hodgman Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Hodgman Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders

Experience extreme comfort with the Hodgman® Redstone ™ No-Slip Chest Waders. Constructed of new material, Redstone ™ allows for enhanced flexibility and reduced chafing. The Wadelite ® boots comfortable, soft and feature superior abrasion resistance, whirling disease protection and no-slip and sole. Wadelite ® boots are easier to clean and include EVA that equals 400g protection.
Overall rating:
3.211 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (19 reviews)
5 Stars
(4)
4 Stars
(6)
3 Stars
(3)
2 Stars
(2)
1 Star
(4)
121963%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Review 1 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1st time use

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
joe
frombensalem,pa
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Only used them 1 time so far. They worked well. There was a bit of rubbing in the upper boot against the leg,but I had sweat pants on and thick socks. So it wasn't that bad. Wore them for about 5 hours.I did get them cheaper online,rather than in the store. Overall I'm satisfied.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Score

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer avatar
John
fromFresno CA
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
IMG_2317.JPG I was wading chest deep 6 hrs a day for a week in the Klamath River and I stayed dry and comfortable all day. I caught this 37" 18 lb. Salmon with 10lb. test line on the first day! These waders got my recommendation !
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Fishman
fromSchenectady n y
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
I do not recommend this product.
Hodgeman red stone waders ...was excited to receive for Father's Day ....on my first fishing trip ....they leaked badly....spring trip...water was cold....called hodgeman. They sent me a replacement. Next trip....while standing in waist deep water the pain in my ankles and toes was unbearable! Boots collapsed in foot area under pressure in deep water...in 50 years of trout fishing these are the worst boots I ever owned . Have contacted hodgeman again, not so willing to replace, have only offered a deep discount on a new pair. I guess they should test their products more thoroughly before they sell them. Or at least stand by them.....
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This Product Is Terrible

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
CL
fromKent
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
If you want to feel like your circulation is being cut off at your ankles the minute you get in the water, then this product is for you. These are so bad that they bruise your legs. As for being waterproof, forget it. They leak from various points throughout. Don't waste your money.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Thought I was getting a good deal...

PostedJune 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Roger
fromLong Island, NY
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box, these waders looked great. They are lightweight and the boots were easy to put on and remove while I tried them on at the house. I was concerned with the other reviews that said the boot cut into their leg, but I did not have this problem and I have fairly large calves.
When I took them out for the first time to go fishing, they sprung a leak in two locations, the seat and where the wader meets the right boot. Reports of the boot caving in and hurting your feet are somewhat valid, but I kind of expected that in a lightweight rubber boot.
All in all, these were great for the first two hours, but after springing two leaks, I will definitely be returning.
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Stick
fromWinter Haven FL
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Exactly what I needed to rake aquadic weeds and grass around my dock
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor everything

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Jim
fromSoutheastern PA
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I do not recommend this product.
Right out of the box first Time wearing them they leaked from foot to crotch. Legs filled up with air making it feel as if your legs and feet were trying to float away. The boots felt great until you got into the water. They collapsed around my feet hurting my toes.
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HUGE! Not for a slender guy! 200 pounds and up only!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
FishinTheOutdoors
fromDrexel Hill PA
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
The boot itself wasn't very nice, to tight around the ankle. The material was very nice but a size 10 boot, the wader is HUGE! I'm right around 145 pounds and 6 foot tall, this waders made me look like a sack of potato's. My father tried them on as well, he is 6 foot tall, but right around 220 pounds, there still to big.
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Boots are garbage

PostedApril 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Billy
fromNJ
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I do not recommend this product.
Nice waders but the boot will cut you up on your ankles and leg if pants are not between the leg and boot. Usually your pants ride up so you have to really work the pant leg back down or wear under armor to allow it to slide back down.
The ankle in the boot gets cut and you need to double or triple up your socks. I bandage my ankles to create a barrier.
Good but be prepared
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Waders

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Will
fromWestminster maryland
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Easy to put on. Keeps me dry while waterfowling. Good price.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heads Up

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Billy
fromNJ
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Nice waders, light weight, can maneuver in them nice. It's a great product BUT the only thing that is bad with it is....
the boot is tight around the ankles, I have skinny legs and ankles...it rubbed the skin off causing me to suffer a week or more trying to walk with my regular sneakers on. I had to put neosporin on the wound, band aids and medical tape to create a barrier from more friction and injury.
There is a warning in the box and it shows a way to stretch the boot part out a little to soften the area up. I did that and it did help a little bit.
So the advice is...if you buy these, take the extra steps to break the ankle part in a little by stretching/bending the area and wear thick socks or use common sense to keep your ankles from getting torn apart.
Aside from this flaw, Yes I would buy this again
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

waterproof and good quality

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
fisherman01
fromphila, pa
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
great product. problem with top of the boot rubbing the skin raw. need really thick socks underneath
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product was okay...

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
SteelheadSlayer424
fromBuffalo, NY
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I got these waders in the early fall of 2011 and used them all throughout the year. I eventually came into a leak early march...but it was my fault. Id say these waders are more for warm water angling... if you use them in the winter make sure you layer up. Also the boots were not bad but would rub against my leg. Make sure when buying these to get a bigger size so you can layer up on socks. Overall id recommend these to anyone who goes out everyone once in a while, they'll do just fine.
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

do not buy

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
harveysid
fromverona pa
I do not recommend this product.
wore these boots twice,they rubbed my leg raw, got infected.now have to take them back to store, only the receipt is in erie, 300mile round trip,going back to stockingfoot waders.
Cons: Causes Blisters
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeds Expectations

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Crash
fromTucson, AZ
I recommend this product.
Past Waders I have owned leaked almost from day 1, and did not have the useful tread of these boots. Cheaper boots I've worn had a very strong aroma of PVC and other toxins but these boots are almost odor free. An excellent, very useful product.
Pros: Dries Easily, Good Grip, Lightweight, Durable, Comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waders

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Adam
fromErie, PA
I recommend this product.
These are just what you are looking for if you need a pair of waders for cheap. I just bought this pair this year and they are not leaking yet. last year B bought a more expensive pair thinking that the more they are worth the better they are. Well I was wrong. They were leaking within 2 months of having them. I love the Hodgeman waders and wouldnt buy any other brand.
Pros: Dries Easily, Durable, Good Grip, Comfortable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Hodgman Redstone waders

PostedJune 18, 2011
Customer avatar
flyflinger
fromCentral, New York
I recommend this product.
These are extremely light waders, especially the boots. They work well on wet rccks but idon't beleive they are as good as felts,I hope they make some with studs. When walking on a wet driveway it sounded like I had suction cups. The were no match for the greasey rocks of the Adirondacks. I had to go back to felt with studs. The boots were nice and roomy. If you are portly in stature they may be a little snug. Still a terrific value.
Pros: Good Value, Comfortable, Super Light, Seem durable
Cons: Needs studs, Narrow waist, Not as good as felt
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Adaquet,comfortable but very slipery on

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer avatar
doc
fromwilmington de
I recommend this product.
very flexible,comfortable to move,easy to get on. hard to get off very slippery in muddy conditions and on the stream adequate waders for the money
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hodgman Redstone No-Slip Chest Waders
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Lite

PostedApril 19, 2011
Customer avatar
flyfisherinct
fromMeriden, CT
I recommend this product.
They do the trick boots grip rocks well. Very light. Being a older guy with a bigger gut they could have a little more room. The will also help the spread of rock snot as well as whirling disease. The State of Vermount has stoped the use of felt soles. for the money you will like them. Havew told others in my fishing club as well as people from my TU chapt. they are getting them just hope Dick dont run out.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.