Customer reviews for Columbia Columbia Women's Paddler Booney

Columbia Columbia Women's Paddler Booney

Whether you are on the beach, out on the trail, or out on the lake the Columbia Women's Paddler™ Booney is the perfect hat for your next outdoor excursion. It features two of Columbia's top technologies, Omni-Shield™ and Omni-Shade™ for advanced repellency and UPF 30 sun protection!
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
2121100%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Review 1 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Didn't know it was a woman's hat (says so on the size tag, though)

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColumbus, OH
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Zero comfort
High comfort
High comfort
I'm a 36 year old dude and I'm bald. I do not want to have chunks of skin cancer removed from my head, face, or neck, so I keep myself covered, thus the hat. Oh, and I'm a 2x Army combat veteran (Iraq in 2003, 2004-2005)(civilian now). I used to wear my desert tan Army Boonie caps ALL the time, but have worn them out and the brim is getting too short. My family and I like to travel around the world and sometimes places are hot and sunny. We're active, too (parasailing, sailing, zip lining, hot air ballooning, etc.) It's a great fit, gets the job done, offers 30 SPF, and it saves me 10-15 minutes that I would normally spend putting on sunscreen. Did I mention I have 5 kids? We keep covered and spend more time in the pool, rivers, lakes, etc., and can do so without toxic sunscreen poisoning aquatic life/ourselves. Hat is great, wet or dry. Doesn't look girly, either, in my opinion. Color is great, too. well-designed. Dark color (navy blue) on underside of the brim (absorbs albedo, or reflected light from water surface), helps with "glare". Adjustable inside headband, which is great because everyone ISN'T the same dome size. Adjustable chin strap for those windy days on the beach or outside mowing the grass/doing yard work. The wide brim saves my nose and neck from burning as well. I spent 7 hours at the pool with my kids and was NOT burned. That was this hat's true test. We were at the pool and the hat was frequently wet (soaking wet....I swam with it on, even underwater, snorkel style!) It earned my respect.
By the way....The display at Dick's where I found this hat was a train wreck. It was a mess of hats. I grabbed it because of its features. I could care less if it's a woman's hat. It will keep me from burning in Costa Rica, Ocean cruises, and when mowing/pulling weeds. It'll keep my face dry in downpours, drizzles, and good old Ohio weather. Wish I had it when I was in Playa del Carmen (Mexico) and Dominican Republic. It's a good hat. See for yourself.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the sun off!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
I didn't know if I would enjoy wearing a sunhat! My husband and I are avid boaters and with aging, my face is showing signs of sun exposure!!! I bought this sunhat mainly because of glowing reviews! I am SO GLAD I chose this!!!!! Very light but enough coverage to cover my entire face!!! Folds up nice and compact without wrinkles!!!! LOVE, LOVE IT!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sun hat

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTampa, Fl
Too small
True to size
Too big
Too loose
Just right
Too tight
Zero comfort
High comfort
High comfort
I have a small head and the additional adjustment strap in the headband allows me to "snug-up" the fit, so I seldom need the chin strap adjustment which holds hat on in a wind if needed. Color goes with anything, and the wide brim is a plus in the intense Fla. sun. UPF a must for me as I have had multiple skin cancer events.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sunburned-less yakking!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOC
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
This hat rocks!!! My neck wasn't burnt and I could see the water better!! Love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly as desired!

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFt. Myers, Fl
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect in every way - even the price, especially for the quality!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice hat

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
frompennsylvania
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This hat is comfortable and functional, keeps the sun off your face so your skin is protected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has nice features

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer avatar
fromWestchester,ny
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good size brim to keep sun off face,neck and ears. Light weight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Has it all

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Customer avatar
fromflorida
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I like many smaller petite women have smaller heads. The top of this hat can be adjusted which most hats don't have this feature. Love it, keeps the sun away & material is great & soft. Washes good too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromDenver, Colorado
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Light and breathable - snugs down nicely for the wind.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this hat

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Customer avatar
fromParma, Ohio
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was looking for a large brimmed hat to keep the sun off me as much as possible. This is the first really nice looking hat I have found. I love the color, the construction, and it is completely washable. The embroidered stitching in the same color around the brim gives it a feminine look. Love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hat

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer avatar
fromManahawkin NJ
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this hat, good for sun and rain, travels well, great quality. I will look for more Columbia merchandise in the future.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

protection and style!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
My skin is very sensitive to the sun. After applying spf 70 to my face every 1-2 hours I still get a burn. i finally gave in and went looking for a hat.I looked at many hats and found them all to be very manly looking. This hat was perfect and i love the wave detail going around it. The brim of the hat isn't as wide as others 3.5in vs 5in which i preferred since i felt it didn't block as much peripheral vision.
I will be using this hat while at my son's sporting events and at the beach. I tried it out today at an outdoor party and received many compliments on it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sun protection

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRed Lion
Great coverage from the sun and still lightweight enough not to retain the heat even on very hot days
Pros: Durable, Breathable, Waterproof, Lightweight, Dries Quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sun hat!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromLuanda, Angola
This hat provides great protection from the sun. The drawstring on the outside of the back brim secures the hat under windy conditions. I didn't even have to use the chin strap. Hat is crushable and great for traveling.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect sun hat!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromRussellville, AR
This hat provides great coverage against the sun! I love that this style has a simple elegance that is very flattering, even though I need it for such a practical purpose as a sun shield. I have received many compliments on its design. Thank you!
Pros: Great quality, Excellent Value, Waterproof, Durable, Dries Quickly, Lightweight, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Hat

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPhoenix, AZ
I bought this hat to go tubing on the Salt River. Because I would be in the sun and wind all day, I needed a water-resistant, lightweight hat with a neck strap. This hat fit the bill perfectly! It has a cute stitch detail on the brim and is black under the brim. I looked at a lot of hats and am so happy I bought this one!
Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof, Durable, Dries Quickly, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Satisfied with this Hat

PostedJune 27, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMI
Not only did I wear this hat on our recent canoe trip, but I wear it outdoors while gardening and cutting the lawn. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromCicero, Indiana (near Indianapolis)
Great feature that hat can be folded for traveling.
Pros: Lightweight, Breathable, Dries Quickly
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just right!

PostedMay 14, 2012
Customer avatar
fromSt. Joseph, MO
I wear this for walking mostly. It is a great size and the chin string comes in handy if it is windy. I keep it in the car and have it whenever I need it. It is even easy to stuff in a bag. The black underneath makes it fun and more stylish.
Pros: Lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Columbia Women's Paddler Booney
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Hat!

PostedApril 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMackay, Idaho
I wear this hat while mowing our two acres of lawn, going camping, fishing and walking. It is lightweight, not hot, keeps the sun off me, fits well and looks great!
Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Dries Quickly, Breathable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>