Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Bulk up with the Fitness Gear® 300 lb Olympic Weight Set. These training weights allow you to do a wide range of exercises from squats to bench presses to maximize your workout. This Olympic weight set includes a 45 lb 7' Olympic chrome bar, two spring clips, and several plates at various weights for a customized workout. Having multiple plate sets makes it easy to accommodate multiple users and adjust to any performance level.
Overall rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(267 reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 267 reviews
5 Stars
153
4 Stars
78
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
10
1 Star
8
24726693%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Review 21 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent set but throw away the spring collars

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A good set of plates and bar for day-to-day weight training, but do yourself a favor and replace the provided cheap spring collars with a set of lock-jaw or muscle clamp collars.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible value for the price!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been weight training as a personal fitness activity for almost a decade since I began in high school. I have used a myriad of different olympic weight sets in gyms during that time. This set is a very solid piece of equipment for about $200. The weights include handles which are a great aid in moving the weights. If you need extra weights, just purchase this product more than once. I promise you will not find a better deal!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sturdy bar

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great, sturdy bar. I was happy that it came as a set and I didn't have to buy the weights separately. I use it at least 3 times a week.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set of weights

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromYork PA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great set of weights for not a ton of cash. My only gripe, and this is a small one, is that the clips are a little difficult to slide on and off quickly when switching weight. Everything else is great!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTennessee
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For the average weight lifter, this is a good set of weights. The bar is balance and the weights are coated to prevent rust. The set included two spring collars too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFort Worth, TX
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I read a lot of reviews for this weight set and was still cautious about buying it. Now that I have it I couldn't be happier with it. Great product, great price and the sales staff at Dick's are just so polite and helpful, it was my first purchase from them, but it won't be my last!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good quality for price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromcharlotte nc
Age:Under 18
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We had no issues with anything. All weights went on bar easily and clamps are adequate.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDenver, CO
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was just what I was looking for a set of Olympic weights at a reasonable price. I was unable to piece together an acceptable used set on craigslist much less. The paint does chip off the plates easily but this does not affect the products functionality. I would defiantly buy this set again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied with Purchase

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
The weight set was quick and easy to purchase. Store personnel was easy to find and eager to assist. Love the weights!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
I have been lifting for more than half my life and finally got a power rack and weights to add to my home gym. This set was as expected. The weights are not rubber coated so they will chip if they are dropped or stacked aggressively. The bar feels like a 45lb bar, although I haven't weighed it on a scale. Overall, it is a great product for the price and I would definitely purchase again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great weight set

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this product in the store to save shipping expenses. This, combined with a power rack and adjustable bench, constitute a complete home gym. The plates are high quality. The bar is fine enough quality for me as I get back into weight lifting. No complaints whatsoever.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Set For the Price

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSaint Louis, MO
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being brand new to lifting I do not have a lot to compare to, but this set had everything I needed to get started. The weights are great and the bar seems to be good enough for any beginner. The clips may not be the best but those are easily replaced. Overall I would recommend to this anyone for the set of weights alone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Professional

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCorpus Christi, Texas
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Professional
I wrote this review for another product that I purchased along with this weight set, so you will see my review for the weight set at the forth paragraph below.
Rock solid design without any fancy fluff. The first bar holder slot is 14 inches from the floor; therefore, with the 45 pound disk plates on the barbell the plates themselves remain slightly above the floor which is excellent for dead lifts, and yes the bar holders and safety stoppers fit on the backside just like on the front side. The tallest slot is 60 and one half inches from the floor.
There are 24 total holding slots spaced at 2 and one quarter inches from center to center. The long back pad goes from straight up position as one, and then goes to flat position as two, and there are 5 positions in between for a total of 7 positions; then the pin which is three quarters of an inch thick is pulled out for the eight position which drops the back pad 4 and one half inches from the flat position for an decline press which makes you feel slightly upside down; therefore, it makes a good and safe position for the decline.
Now for the little pad that you sit upon: it has three positions from flat as one to about a 45 degree for a second position, and one more position for in between for a total of three. This is for getting on your knees and doing isolated curls, and for laying down with you head on the elevated small pad to put the barbell behind your head and lift for the back of the arms workout. Nothing shakes because of the rock solid design in keeping it simple. I have been to many Professional Health Clubs and have seen nothing of this extreme for Rock Solid Simplicity that focus on many positions without complicated and unnecessary fluff.
If you purchase the Fitness Gear 300 Pound Olympic Weight set that has all the bells and whistles of the top of the line Professional Weight set, then you are set for life in these two investments with the Top Of The Line Products; however, both products did not ship for free so I went to the store and spent $520 and by that evening I was already working out, and the barbell set is balanced which allows you to put on a 45 pound plate on and walk around to put the other on without the bar flipping to ground, and the plates have Hand Slots; so no more dropping plates on your foot. If you have the money, just buy these two items with confidence, and do not even question yourself in doubt on whether you made a wise investment because once you see it, and feel it all the way through, you will probably sit back for a moment and just be in awe.
If both products are taken care of properly, this could be handed down through many generations, and the investment will practically pay for itself in the first year compared to a one year membership at a Health Club. One more thing to mention, the spacing between each post is far apart; so there is not even a close chance of getting your hand pinched by the barbell and the barbell holder; in fact, you can spread your arms for a wide grip and still not even come close to being pinched because the post are 43 inches apart and that is measuring from the inside to the other inside; therefore, you would have to spread your arms 43 inches wide before you would even come close to pinching your hands.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromManchester CT.
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is great weight set for novice lifters. Weights go for about a dollar a pound so this set is a great value. The 7 foot Olympic bar isn't the best but it's workable. I'm happy with my set.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRock Hill, SC
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The weight set is perfect and the price beat other competitors. I bought this at the Rock Hill, SC store. The Associates and Manager went above and beyond to help me. I am very appreciative of the service I received.
Tricia
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive value

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been looking to purchase a starter weight set for my self for some time. I didn't want to spend too much money on some name brand. I wanted to be for the weights only. I saw this set online and decided to check it out in store and I was very impressed of the quality and design for the price. I didn't not use the bar that came with it because I own a high quality CAP bar I purchased separately. I didn't even take the bar that came with it out of the box so I do not know the quality of it but the weights are fantastic and easy to move around.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves me the drive to the gym

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColumbus,OH
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
My husband and I love having this set in our basement. We can fit in a quick workout without sitting in traffic trying to get to the gym.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what I need it to do.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid product. I was starting to feel weak so I decided to get back to basics with this set. Getting myself to 300pounds in any movements like squats, bench, barbell rows or other compound movements will be plenty for an all around strong body. Would recommend to anybody.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality and price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromohio
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This weight set is good quality. weights are all very nice and bar is also. Everything you should expect has smooth painted weights in good sizes and the bar has the rotating spindles. The bar is rated for only 300 but if your lifting more than that then should probably update to a bumper weight set anyways. This is the best price I have found for anything comparable anywhere including wlmrt amzn and eby
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSchaumburg
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was expecting. Good quality Olympic weight set. 300 pounds allows you to do pretty much every exercise you can think of for an average lifter
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>