Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Bulk up with the Fitness Gear® 300 lb Olympic Weight Set. These training weights allow you to do a wide range of exercises from squats to bench presses to maximize your workout. This Olympic weight set includes a 45 lb 7' Olympic chrome bar, two spring clips, and several plates at various weights for a customized workout. Having multiple plate sets makes it easy to accommodate multiple users and adjust to any performance level.
Overall rating:
4.324 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(256 reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 256 reviews
5 Stars
144
4 Stars
77
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
10
1 Star
8
23625593%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Review 21 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
I have been lifting for more than half my life and finally got a power rack and weights to add to my home gym. This set was as expected. The weights are not rubber coated so they will chip if they are dropped or stacked aggressively. The bar feels like a 45lb bar, although I haven't weighed it on a scale. Overall, it is a great product for the price and I would definitely purchase again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great weight set

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this product in the store to save shipping expenses. This, combined with a power rack and adjustable bench, constitute a complete home gym. The plates are high quality. The bar is fine enough quality for me as I get back into weight lifting. No complaints whatsoever.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Set For the Price

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSaint Louis, MO
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Being brand new to lifting I do not have a lot to compare to, but this set had everything I needed to get started. The weights are great and the bar seems to be good enough for any beginner. The clips may not be the best but those are easily replaced. Overall I would recommend to this anyone for the set of weights alone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Professional

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCorpus Christi, Texas
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Professional
I wrote this review for another product that I purchased along with this weight set, so you will see my review for the weight set at the forth paragraph below.
Rock solid design without any fancy fluff. The first bar holder slot is 14 inches from the floor; therefore, with the 45 pound disk plates on the barbell the plates themselves remain slightly above the floor which is excellent for dead lifts, and yes the bar holders and safety stoppers fit on the backside just like on the front side. The tallest slot is 60 and one half inches from the floor.
There are 24 total holding slots spaced at 2 and one quarter inches from center to center. The long back pad goes from straight up position as one, and then goes to flat position as two, and there are 5 positions in between for a total of 7 positions; then the pin which is three quarters of an inch thick is pulled out for the eight position which drops the back pad 4 and one half inches from the flat position for an decline press which makes you feel slightly upside down; therefore, it makes a good and safe position for the decline.
Now for the little pad that you sit upon: it has three positions from flat as one to about a 45 degree for a second position, and one more position for in between for a total of three. This is for getting on your knees and doing isolated curls, and for laying down with you head on the elevated small pad to put the barbell behind your head and lift for the back of the arms workout. Nothing shakes because of the rock solid design in keeping it simple. I have been to many Professional Health Clubs and have seen nothing of this extreme for Rock Solid Simplicity that focus on many positions without complicated and unnecessary fluff.
If you purchase the Fitness Gear 300 Pound Olympic Weight set that has all the bells and whistles of the top of the line Professional Weight set, then you are set for life in these two investments with the Top Of The Line Products; however, both products did not ship for free so I went to the store and spent $520 and by that evening I was already working out, and the barbell set is balanced which allows you to put on a 45 pound plate on and walk around to put the other on without the bar flipping to ground, and the plates have Hand Slots; so no more dropping plates on your foot. If you have the money, just buy these two items with confidence, and do not even question yourself in doubt on whether you made a wise investment because once you see it, and feel it all the way through, you will probably sit back for a moment and just be in awe.
If both products are taken care of properly, this could be handed down through many generations, and the investment will practically pay for itself in the first year compared to a one year membership at a Health Club. One more thing to mention, the spacing between each post is far apart; so there is not even a close chance of getting your hand pinched by the barbell and the barbell holder; in fact, you can spread your arms for a wide grip and still not even come close to being pinched because the post are 43 inches apart and that is measuring from the inside to the other inside; therefore, you would have to spread your arms 43 inches wide before you would even come close to pinching your hands.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromManchester CT.
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is great weight set for novice lifters. Weights go for about a dollar a pound so this set is a great value. The 7 foot Olympic bar isn't the best but it's workable. I'm happy with my set.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRock Hill, SC
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The weight set is perfect and the price beat other competitors. I bought this at the Rock Hill, SC store. The Associates and Manager went above and beyond to help me. I am very appreciative of the service I received.
Tricia
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive value

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromNJ
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been looking to purchase a starter weight set for my self for some time. I didn't want to spend too much money on some name brand. I wanted to be for the weights only. I saw this set online and decided to check it out in store and I was very impressed of the quality and design for the price. I didn't not use the bar that came with it because I own a high quality CAP bar I purchased separately. I didn't even take the bar that came with it out of the box so I do not know the quality of it but the weights are fantastic and easy to move around.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves me the drive to the gym

PostedMay 7, 2014
Customer avatar
fromColumbus,OH
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
My husband and I love having this set in our basement. We can fit in a quick workout without sitting in traffic trying to get to the gym.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what I need it to do.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid product. I was starting to feel weak so I decided to get back to basics with this set. Getting myself to 300pounds in any movements like squats, bench, barbell rows or other compound movements will be plenty for an all around strong body. Would recommend to anybody.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quality and price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Customer avatar
fromohio
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This weight set is good quality. weights are all very nice and bar is also. Everything you should expect has smooth painted weights in good sizes and the bar has the rotating spindles. The bar is rated for only 300 but if your lifting more than that then should probably update to a bumper weight set anyways. This is the best price I have found for anything comparable anywhere including wlmrt amzn and eby
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSchaumburg
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was expecting. Good quality Olympic weight set. 300 pounds allows you to do pretty much every exercise you can think of for an average lifter
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Weight Set

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great set of weights. The size of the plates differ a bit from what I'm use to at my gym so just have to double check the plate for the weight number. Easy to handle grip on plates to load and unload bar. Great 7' bar complete with markings for proper hand placement. Consider purchasing weight tree with bundle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set for the price!

PostedMay 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDallas, TX
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The weights and bar are very well made. The cut outs on the weights make it even easier to move around.
What would have made this product even better was upgrading the end clamps. If the clamps had a rubber sleeve around them it would be easier on the bare hands.
Great product, you won't regret it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the money

PostedApril 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromHarford New York
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product for the money. shipping was faster than they said and product was more than expected. when it arrived it was missing 2 45 pound weights , i contacted custumer support , they made it right fast with no questions asked!! A great place to shop, great productsa, and and i look forward to ordering alot more through them!! Thanks Dicks
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set

PostedApril 26, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAllentown, PA
Age:25 - 29
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great set for any beginner it has all the essentials you need for a great workout
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great beginners set of weights

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFairfax, VA
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this as my first set of weights after looking at many options. I have gotten into CrossFit and wanted to get a set of weights so I can do my at home workouts since I am on a budget. These weights are perfect and I appreciate the fact that the way the weights are set up give me the options of using them to do Kettlebell workouts without out having to shell out cash for Kettlebells.
The bar has been great and is braking in nicely. I have seen a tiny bit of flaking on the bar ends but that is to be expected as these things get used. I didn't get them to be pretty I got them to be functional and in that regard they are working flawlessly.
If this is your first set of weights or your budget concious at all your gonna be hard pressed to find a proper olympic bar and weights at this price point......and I say that after scouring craigslist and freecycle and doing random google searches for estate sales. ;)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best weight set for the price!

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMilwaukee, Wi
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After nearly a month with this set I have been very satisfied and would purchase it again if needed.
Here are my thoughts:
PLATES:
- The convenience of grip plates is the biggest reason to buy this set especially at such a great price! You'll be hard pressed to find a better deal on another 300lb grip set or a non-grip set for that matter.
- As other reviewers have mentioned, the plates are not standard size plates (in terms of diameter). But, standard or not, put in the hard work and lift and you'll still get results so it's not a big deal.
- Also, as some have mentioned, the plates may be off +/- a pound. I weighed my plates and all but two were as stated. The two that weren't were over by less than a pound. Again, I didn't see this as a major issue and believe it's fine as long as it's +/- a pound of the stated weight. Go to any commercial gym and weigh their plates and chances are from gym to gym or even within that gym you'll find discrepancies with the weight of their plates. So unless you're competing in power lifting where the calibrations are nearly 100% accurate than these plates should be fine.
- I checked my plates for burs as other reviewers noted this may be an issue. A few of my plates had burs I had to clear out but nothing major that takes away from their value and intended use.
- Some had issues with their plates fitting on their bar. I didn't have any issues at all and found that all my plates fit perfectly.
- The plates look great and have a nice finish to them. I'm sure over time the paint job will start to chip and they won't look as nice but again this is a value set. But, if you're busting your butt in the gym every day, chances are you're more concerned with your aesthetics and not the aesthetics of some weight plates. Whose gym is going to look nice and new if they're hitting the weights hard regularly anyway?
BAR:
- Yes, it is a cheap bar as many others have already mentioned. You'll want to invest in a better quality bar if you don't already have one. I have the Cap Barbell OB-86PB and love it! But, this bar is really just a bonus as the plates and the price of this set is what makes it worthwhile.
- My bar came in at 45lbs whereas others seemed to have issues with the weight of their bar being between 30-35lbs. Again, cheap bar, value set, so things aren't going to be perfect. Without the bar the plates are already a steal. $209 for 255lbs of weight (not including the bar), that's less than a dollar a pound. Plates are typically a dollar a pound if not more depending on the brand, type, etc.
- The sleeves on my bar are threaded and that is a negative for me in this case. The threading is very sharp and if you're not careful loading/unloading the weights you can get cuts/scratches or metal slivers in your fingers. I'm not sure if this was an issue with others who purchased this set. I purchased a similar weight set years ago and had the same issue with the bar that came with that set so I made sure to examine this bar carefully. Fortunately for me I have my Cap bar so I don't worry about this as I don't use this bar anyway. If you have no other option and find the threading to be an issue as well, I would suggest using a file to smooth out the the threading.
- According to Dick's the bar is rated at 600lbs but that may be a very generous rating as one reviewer noted it failed at about 300lbs and others had issues with the durability of their bars as well. Regardless, the less than spectacular bar doesn't outweigh the amount of weights you receive at this price point and the overall value of this set.
SPRING COLLARS:
- Others noted issues with their collars not fitting properly, etc. but mine were fine and fit my bar perfectly with no issues.
- I also prefer shorter collars which these are that came with my set.
OVERALL THOUGHTS:
I highly recommend purchasing in-store if you have a local Dick's as they charge an arm and a leg for shipping online! I initially planned to order online because I had a 10% online-only discount and they had a deal on shipping at that time. However, after clicking everything shipping still came out to nearly $200 which was insane! So I decided to just go to my local Dick's. Once there I asked if they would honor my 10% coupon since it was online only and the manager just decided to give me $25 off which was more than the coupon. On top of that she let me use another coupon I had for $10. So I ended up paying $174 before taxes which was awesome!
Overall, this was an excellent purchase (despite the shortcomings) for anyone looking to make gains and is on a budget. The quality is inconsistent as the set has been hit or miss for many as stated in their reviews. But, for the price and overall value it's well worth picking up and just contacting Dick's if you have any issues. Also, very happy and appreciative of my local Dick's store fore being so accommodating and making this deal even sweeter for me!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set for the money

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromStillwater, MN
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've searched the web for a good Olympic weight set and I kept coming back to this. You really can't beat the price for this set. The plates are easy to grab and change out than the old traditional style plates.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weights

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromManchester ct
Age:51 Plus
Gender:Male
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value very good product I would recommend this product to anyone
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it for the price!

PostedApril 22, 2014
Customer avatar
fromGreenville, SC
Age:30 - 34
Gender:Female
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only complain I have with this set, if you can even call it a complaint, is there is a little burr on one of the 25lb plates in one of the hand holds. That's it. The bar is a 45lb bar, the plates have hand holds which lets you use them for kettlebell style swings, and it's just a really good overall set. This set works well with the power cage I just purchased.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>