Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Bulk up with the Fitness Gear® 300 lb Olympic Weight Set. These training weights allow you to do a wide range of exercises from squats to bench presses to maximize your workout. This Olympic weight set includes a 45 lb 7' Olympic chrome bar, two spring clips, and several plates at various weights for a customized workout. Having multiple plate sets makes it easy to accommodate multiple users and adjust to any performance level.
Overall rating:
4.336 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(277 reviews) 277
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (277 reviews)
5 Stars
(158)
4 Stars
(81)
3 Stars
(19)
2 Stars
(11)
1 Star
(8)
25627693%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Review 21 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Biggest Bang for Your Buck

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
fromBowling Green Ky
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Awesome! Really nice press bar! Plates were easy to handle. And a REALLY good price!!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Great product, I have enjoyed it immensely. It has been a great start to adding weights, minus kettlebells, to my home gym
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Set

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFairborn, OH
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've been using these for a couple of weeks so far and I'm very satisfied with the overall quality
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat this deal!

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Excellent price on this set! Looked other places & found the best deal at Dick's.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good weight set at a good price

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Customer avatar
I recommend this product.
I have been using them for a few weeks now and I have no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent set but throw away the spring collars

PostedJune 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
A good set of plates and bar for day-to-day weight training, but do yourself a favor and replace the provided cheap spring collars with a set of lock-jaw or muscle clamp collars.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible value for the price!

PostedJune 26, 2014
Customer avatar
I recommend this product.
I have been weight training as a personal fitness activity for almost a decade since I began in high school. I have used a myriad of different olympic weight sets in gyms during that time. This set is a very solid piece of equipment for about $200. The weights include handles which are a great aid in moving the weights. If you need extra weights, just purchase this product more than once. I promise you will not find a better deal!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sturdy bar

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFlorida
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is a great, sturdy bar. I was happy that it came as a set and I didn't have to buy the weights separately. I use it at least 3 times a week.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set of weights

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromYork PA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is a great set of weights for not a ton of cash. My only gripe, and this is a small one, is that the clips are a little difficult to slide on and off quickly when switching weight. Everything else is great!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

PostedJune 25, 2014
Customer avatar
fromTennessee
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
For the average weight lifter, this is a good set of weights. The bar is balance and the weights are coated to prevent rust. The set included two spring collars too.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Customer avatar
fromFort Worth, TX
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I read a lot of reviews for this weight set and was still cautious about buying it. Now that I have it I couldn't be happier with it. Great product, great price and the sales staff at Dick's are just so polite and helpful, it was my first purchase from them, but it won't be my last!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good quality for price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromcharlotte nc
AgeUnder 18
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
We had no issues with anything. All weights went on bar easily and clamps are adequate.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
fromDenver, CO
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This was just what I was looking for a set of Olympic weights at a reasonable price. I was unable to piece together an acceptable used set on craigslist much less. The paint does chip off the plates easily but this does not affect the products functionality. I would defiantly buy this set again.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Satisfied with Purchase

PostedMay 29, 2014
Customer avatar
I recommend this product.
The weight set was quick and easy to purchase. Store personnel was easy to find and eager to assist. Love the weights!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As expected

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I have been lifting for more than half my life and finally got a power rack and weights to add to my home gym. This set was as expected. The weights are not rubber coated so they will chip if they are dropped or stacked aggressively. The bar feels like a 45lb bar, although I haven't weighed it on a scale. Overall, it is a great product for the price and I would definitely purchase again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great weight set

PostedMay 28, 2014
Customer avatar
fromOhio
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Purchased this product in the store to save shipping expenses. This, combined with a power rack and adjustable bench, constitute a complete home gym. The plates are high quality. The bar is fine enough quality for me as I get back into weight lifting. No complaints whatsoever.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Set For the Price

PostedMay 19, 2014
Customer avatar
fromSaint Louis, MO
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Being brand new to lifting I do not have a lot to compare to, but this set had everything I needed to get started. The weights are great and the bar seems to be good enough for any beginner. The clips may not be the best but those are easily replaced. Overall I would recommend to this anyone for the set of weights alone.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Professional

PostedMay 17, 2014
Customer avatar
fromCorpus Christi, Texas
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Extremely Professional
I wrote this review for another product that I purchased along with this weight set, so you will see my review for the weight set at the forth paragraph below.
Rock solid design without any fancy fluff. The first bar holder slot is 14 inches from the floor; therefore, with the 45 pound disk plates on the barbell the plates themselves remain slightly above the floor which is excellent for dead lifts, and yes the bar holders and safety stoppers fit on the backside just like on the front side. The tallest slot is 60 and one half inches from the floor.
There are 24 total holding slots spaced at 2 and one quarter inches from center to center. The long back pad goes from straight up position as one, and then goes to flat position as two, and there are 5 positions in between for a total of 7 positions; then the pin which is three quarters of an inch thick is pulled out for the eight position which drops the back pad 4 and one half inches from the flat position for an decline press which makes you feel slightly upside down; therefore, it makes a good and safe position for the decline.
Now for the little pad that you sit upon: it has three positions from flat as one to about a 45 degree for a second position, and one more position for in between for a total of three. This is for getting on your knees and doing isolated curls, and for laying down with you head on the elevated small pad to put the barbell behind your head and lift for the back of the arms workout. Nothing shakes because of the rock solid design in keeping it simple. I have been to many Professional Health Clubs and have seen nothing of this extreme for Rock Solid Simplicity that focus on many positions without complicated and unnecessary fluff.
If you purchase the Fitness Gear 300 Pound Olympic Weight set that has all the bells and whistles of the top of the line Professional Weight set, then you are set for life in these two investments with the Top Of The Line Products; however, both products did not ship for free so I went to the store and spent $520 and by that evening I was already working out, and the barbell set is balanced which allows you to put on a 45 pound plate on and walk around to put the other on without the bar flipping to ground, and the plates have Hand Slots; so no more dropping plates on your foot. If you have the money, just buy these two items with confidence, and do not even question yourself in doubt on whether you made a wise investment because once you see it, and feel it all the way through, you will probably sit back for a moment and just be in awe.
If both products are taken care of properly, this could be handed down through many generations, and the investment will practically pay for itself in the first year compared to a one year membership at a Health Club. One more thing to mention, the spacing between each post is far apart; so there is not even a close chance of getting your hand pinched by the barbell and the barbell holder; in fact, you can spread your arms for a wide grip and still not even come close to being pinched because the post are 43 inches apart and that is measuring from the inside to the other inside; therefore, you would have to spread your arms 43 inches wide before you would even come close to pinching your hands.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

PostedMay 16, 2014
Customer avatar
fromManchester CT.
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
This is great weight set for novice lifters. Weights go for about a dollar a pound so this set is a great value. The 7 foot Olympic bar isn't the best but it's workable. I'm happy with my set.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price

PostedMay 14, 2014
Customer avatar
fromRock Hill, SC
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The weight set is perfect and the price beat other competitors. I bought this at the Rock Hill, SC store. The Associates and Manager went above and beyond to help me. I am very appreciative of the service I received.
Tricia
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>