Customer reviews for Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Fitness Gear Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

Bulk up with the Fitness Gear® 300 lb Olympic Weight Set. These training weights allow you to do a wide range of exercises from squats to bench presses to maximize your workout. This Olympic weight set includes a 45 lb 7' Olympic chrome bar, two spring clips, and several plates at various weights for a customized workout. Having multiple plate sets makes it easy to accommodate multiple users and adjust to any performance level.
Overall rating:
4.355 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(313 reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown (313 reviews)
5 Stars
(181)
4 Stars
(91)
3 Stars
(21)
2 Stars
(11)
1 Star
(9)
29031293%of reviewers
recommend this product
Customer reviews for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Review 21 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great starter set

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Customer avatar
OneWhoHasShoppedAtDicks
fromNew York State
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
For the money, this is a great set. $200 to get 300 lbs of weight and a half way decent bar is just what I needed to get into strength training. I'm sure if I had to pay $200-300 for the bar and another $200-300 for weights I wouldn't have jumped right in. The knurl on the bar is good, not too smooth and not too rough. I haven't noticed any overt bar bending over 300lbs yet. The collars are nice and tight. The weight plates aren't works of art, and don't fit the bar that well (a little loose, not too tight) but the built in handles are nice when loading a squat rack at shoulder level. The plates are not regulation diameter. For deadlifts, I just bought 2 bumper plates so the lift is regulation. That way, the bumpers are touching the ground and not the iron plates, which helps protect the surface underneath. All in all a great value and a decent product that withstands some abuse.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality set at a great price.

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Thumper07
fromFort Lauderdale, FL
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I've been scouting a new olympic weight set for the past few weeks. They typically run around 450 dollars for a decent 300LB set. Even at the higher price range, the reviews were hit and miss. Then I looked at Dicks. I didn't go to them first because I never took them for a weight lifting retailer, but more golf and baseball. I was pleasantly surprised when I found this set on their website at this price point. Looked at online inventory at my local store at went there at lunchtime to buy it. They loaded my car up for me and off I went. Went home and set it up and went back to work. All within an hour. I am a Dicks Sporting Goods fan now. Great set at a great price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for home gym

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
ShawnEggies
fromNorth Carolina
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
Compare this to any other weight set on here and you can quickly see the price is much lower. So far (only a few weeks) this seems to be really high quality for the price. The weights are not rubber coated, but I knew this going into it. I purchased a couple heavy duty rubber mats to put under my bench to protect the slab in case I drop a weight. The bar has a very new feel and the claps are very tight. Ordered online, picked up following day, they had it to front and helped me put it in back of the truck in just a few minutes, quick and friendly.
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice

PostedOctober 26, 2014
Customer avatar
kwright
frommemphis
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
great product. my son loves it. Everyone its a good price for 300lbs of weights
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Customer avatar
arman
fromIrvine,CA
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
I bought this online a few weeks ago and its great. Best value for the money. The bar only supports the weight that it comes with so u cant add any more, but it serves its purpose.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product for an Excellent Price

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Garage Lifter
fromWest Des Moines, IA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
The bar and especially the weights are excellent quality for the cost. Only complaint was the newness of it; if you're use to broken-in bars and ties, the tightness from being new makes it a little difficult to transition weight.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for home gym

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Missy13
fromAlabama
Age25 - 29
GenderFemale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Good product for the price! Would recommend for home gym use.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Customer avatar
TheHammer
fromMesa, Arizona
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
The Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set is awesome! A $120, 7ft, 45 pound bar, 300 dollars worth of weight plates, plus two spring clips... what are you waiting for! I hate to say it, but this literally is a steal. I ordered it online for in-store pick up. Two hours later, it was ready, and the employees helped me put it in my car too. Quality bar, tons of weight; you really can't go wrong.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good deal

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Jake
fromChampaign, IL
Age18 - 24
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Great set. At less than a dollar per pound, this is probably the best bargain around.
Some reviewers mentioned their bar was light, but mine weighed in right at the full 45 pounds. The weights seem to be good quality.
The people at the store were very helpful when I came to pick this up.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
irongrako
fromvirginia
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Great product for the price. great quality and easy to grip. I've lifted weights for many years and the first thing I noticed was that this is the same weight as weights found in most gyms across the U.S. but it has a different feel to it while benching for some reason. seems like these weights are a bit smaller yet easier to grip, handle and store; but, as stated earlier, a slightly different feel.. don't know if that's good or bad but it's different. I still really like it.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Tony
fromBaton Rouge, LA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
This 300 lb weight set was a great purchase at an outstanding price!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Customer avatar
reyneisme
fromOakley, CA
Age35 - 50
GenderFemale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Just what I needed for my home gym. Love the easy handling of the plates. Great product for the price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent products!!!!!!

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Customer avatar
KingAce
fromMinnesota
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
I recommend this product.
I've had this set for a few days now and everything seems to be what I expected! Immediately threw 225lbs on the bar and it felt great.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great set ONE PIECE SOLID BAR !!!!

PostedSeptember 3, 2014
Customer avatar
willytriscuit
frommargaretville, NY
Age30 - 34
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
i was most excited about the solid one piece bar. the weights are course are great, but most sets in this price range have a 3 piece bar, i love the one piece
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the purchase

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
DaveK69
fromNew Jersey
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Very satisfied with this purchase. I'm getting back into lifting with my boys and we found this set an excellent value. If you can tie in purchase in with a discount even better. It's hard to find weights at less than a $1 / lb
We purchased the Olympic dumbbell bar, and with that came with two plastic clamps which hold the weights much better (These give a better snug fit).
We didn't need 300 lbs, but this set will allow for a full range of weight varying from 100 to 200 lbs.
The grips are good it even has a 'pinky' guide to help you visually locate a comfortable position on the bar.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Flygrl
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Really excellent set for someone building their home gym. Great price!!
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for lowest price

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Customer avatar
AzJz
fromWoodbridge, VA
Age25 - 29
GenderMale
Purchase locationOnline
I recommend this product.
Great product for lowest price.Great product for lowest price.Great product for lowest price.Great product for lowest price.Great product for lowest price.Great product for lowest price.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

outstanding weight barbbell set

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
t
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Very solid set heavy duty strong constructed and beautiful
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great weight set great price

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Eatong
fromWalnutport PA
Age35 - 50
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
Fitness Gear is a high quality Olympic weight set at an excellent price I especially like the easy grip weight plates and chrome bar the bar is evenly balanced the weights hade a painted coating. Much nicer than the old iron bar black plates on my old set. I bought this set for my son and now he has me back into lifting after 15 years!!! If you need a great weight set buy this set you won't be disappointed. We also got the half rack and bench it is quality at hundreds less
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fitness Gear 300 lb Olympic Weight Set

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Customer avatar
scottspe
fromTri-Cities, Washington
Age51 Plus
GenderMale
Purchase locationIn-Store
I recommend this product.
I had previously purchased Fitness Gear Olympic Plate and decided to grab this set to add to my collection. For the price, you can't go wrong for a home gym.
The plates are good quality, cast iron units with a decent finish. If you are looking to get started in strength training at home, this set is an excellent place to start.
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>