Customer reviews for Wright & McGill Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Wright & McGill Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods

With their exclusive S-Curve Technology, Wright & McGill ® brings you the Blair Wiggins Spinning Rods. This series provides enhanced rod strength while maintaining a lightweight feel and sensitivity. Blair Wiggins asked the designers from Wright & McGill ® to provide him with a rod that would not spook fish in clear and skinny water. The result, a "Flats Blue" rod because it is almost invisible when held up against the sky.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
465978%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Review 1 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth It

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans
I purchased this rod and the very first time I used, it broke in half. Thinking it defective,I returned the rod for another one, same kind same brand. The first time I used the replacement rod, it broke in two places on a four pound sail cat.
Pros: Sensitive
Cons: Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sucks!

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa, fl
I first reviewed this rod after a few times fishing and loved it. But after further review...it sucks! I went fishing and on my first cast it snapped in half!!! I couldnt believe it! Thank god I didnt have a fish on. I will be returning it today thats for sure...and not getting a "flats blue rod"!l Should know better than to get something a host recommends!
Cons: Poor Construction, Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTarpon Springs,FL.
User submitted photo
i bought this rod thinking it would last. but it didnt. i got home and bent the tip down about 4 inches than CRACK!!!!! it just snapped. i didnt even put any pressure on it. not worth buying. all the eyes are out of place also. the only good thing is the reel holder, the grips, and the cool look it has.
Pros: Looks good
Cons: Hard To Transport, Difficult To Maintain, Breaks Easily, Poor Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY DISAPPOINTED!

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Customer avatar
fromJ-ville,NC
Decided to treat my self and buy a new combo, but wanted to see if this rod was as good as they say. bought it on 8/30, took it out on 8/31. made about 10 cast with a small mirror lure and the tip snapped about 3 to 4 inches from the top. totally ruined my trip. i should have just bought a Castaway, wont make the same mistake twice. [...] Wright & McGill, highly disappointed with your product quality.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Tip Action
Cons: Poor Construction, Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FLATS BLUE ROD SNAPPED FROM FISH ..

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Customer avatar
fromSarasota, Florida
Bought a 7'6 Flats Blue from Capt. Blair recently at one of his stops (super nice guy and very helpful), looked and felt great, but completely disappointed now and regret buying it. Very whippy and poorly constructed. Got to use it once, caught a small snook wading with my buddy, and SNAP..busted the rod about a foot from the tip. Only fish I even caught with it..it's not like I was hung on the bottom or wrapped on a piling or high sticking the fish..just a clean break with very light pressure! Anyway, long story short, returned it to Dick's Sporting Goods the next day (with my receipt and a picture of my snook and broken rod) and they returned it, no questions asked. Additionally, they commented that it wasnt hard to believe, and they get returned on a "daily basis"..bummer..I am rarely the type to complain, but man, what a disappointment and waste of money. On the bright side, I did buy a Wright & McGill Sabalos 2500 reel, and absolutely love it so far. So bottom line, do your homework and read some reviews (Dick's website especially) about it first before you decide to purchase this rod. I love Addictive Fishing and Wright & Mcgill products, so I hate to dis them, but this is poor sub-par craftsmanship here guys..just a fair warning. I would give this 1 out 5 star rating, and the one star is being generous, just cuz it looks pretty! LOL. Happy fishing and tight lines folks!
Pros: Accurate Casting, Looks pretty, Lightweight
Cons: Poor Construction, Snapped like a toothpick, Breaks Easily, Difficult To Maintain
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Snapped in two spots :(

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Customer avatar
fromCorpus Christi, Texas
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had the rod for about 4 months and had no problem until I hooked into a 24lb Black Drum. As I was pulling it into the boat, the rod snapped about four inches from the top and the again about six inches down. I was in shock, and my buddies really had a great laugh. :(
Pros: Accurate Casting, Lightweight, Sensitive
Cons: Poor Construction, Breaks Easily, Hard To Transport
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

blair wiggins blue fishing rod

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Customer avatar
fromhomestead,florida
Was looking forward to a great weekend fishing in the Florida Keys.Had just purchased the Blair Wiggins blue rod.On my first cast I unfortunately hooked a small catfish and while it was still in the water and by the boat my fishing rod snapped about 4 inches from the top.Found out later that this was not an uncommon accurance with these rods.Very thankful that I had my ten year old rod on board or my entire weekend would have been shot.Wonder how many takes they have to make on his show before he can land a decent fish without his blue rods snapping in half. THANKS BLAIR
Pros: None
Cons: Breaks Easily, Poor Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromKeaton Beach, FL
My wife bought the 8ft pole for my birthday. On the second trip out after 3 bull redfish and 3 small sharks, the rod tip broke off fighting a fish. I thought this was surely not the quality of the Mogan Man. Dicks Sporting Goods gladdly sent another pole through the mail. Unfortunately, the new pole arrived broken in almost the same spot. It appears that these poles are not durable.
Pros: Sensitive, Lightweight
Cons: Breaks Easily, Poor Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broke

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHigh Point, NC
My son saved for months to buy this rod. He was so excited. We took it to saltwater in a rod tube with padded ends. When we got to the water, the tip had broken off. We got the warranty, but if it broke so easily once, it'll do it again. I recommend a different product. The balance and feel are outstanding, but rugged it is not. Maybe we paid for advertising and hype instead of quality.
Pros: Sensitive, Good Tip Action, Lightweight, Accurate Casting, Flexible
Cons: Hard To Transport, Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Whats with that cheap rubber hook keeper

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa Florida
I bought the 8' blair wiggins "aqua rod" and it has done well but the hook keeper has fallen apart from the Florida sun. I contacted W&M and they only told me that the new rods have conventional hook keepers...no replacement rubber ones. I guess I have to go to a rod shop and pay to have a good hook keeper installed.
Pros: Casts very long way
Cons: Poor Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Third times a charm?

PostedApril 17, 2011
Customer avatar
fromRockledge,FL
On my third pole,first one laminate began peeling off,second one snapped in two above first eyelit closest to reel.Good thing for lifetime warranty.
Pros: Accurate Casting, Sensitive
Cons: Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Broke twice

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The tip broke on the first inshore trip. Dicks replaced it that very day. A few weeks later, the same thing happened. There is a serious flaw in the design. Too much taper toward the end leaves the tip frail and breakable. Very frustrating!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

after use

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer avatar
fromca
Upon further review of this 8' rod i just got, the blank is a decent blank, but craftsmanship is poor. Guides are positioned off from the backbone of the rod. The blank itself is crooked. The finish is poor. The foam and cork handle is cut lopsided, there are areas on the handle where the cork n foam is not flush. The reel seat could of been better engineered imho. After a day of use, the rod is a little more top heavy than anticipated paired w an okuma cedros cjf40. The clear finish is scratched very easily. However, after catching several double digit stripers well past 35", the rod did not break a sweat. Sensativity is excellent. You feel every bump on the bottom and the slightest movement of your bait or lure. I would prefer a little more backbone...though it did not break a sweat on 15-20lb stripers, anything bigger will take some time n coaxing and correct drag settings to land. Good hook setting power too and throws 2oz of weight a country mile. Overall, if the attention to details were higher, it would of made the blank that much better. I would recommend this only because of the warranty, even though it will cost 30$ for a replacement. There are better choices in rods of this stature that can be had if you are willing to spend a few extra bucks. But for a bill, not bad.
Pros: Flexible, Sensitive, Good Tip Action
Cons: Poor Construction
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

look great on the boat?

PostedMay 21, 2011
Customer avatar
frompanhandle fl.
good thing i could take it back and trade in on on a different rod
Pros: Sensitive, Accurate Casting, Flexible
Cons: Breaks to easy, Poor Construction, Hard To Transport, Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love this rod

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPort Orange, FL
It is the best rod for the money and i have the warranty. I have 4 of them and use in shallow water red fishing from my kayak or flats boat.
Pros: The Blue Grows On You, Flexible, Accurate Casting, Good Tip Action, Durable, Lightweight, Sensitive
Cons: Hard To Transport
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome product

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
frommurrells inlet ,sc
I am a fishing guide and own 6 of these rods for personal use and love the sensitivity and feel in my hand
Pros: Good Tip Action, Sensitive, Accurate Casting, Lightweight
Cons: Breaks Easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I now have 3.

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromtampa,fl
Nice, lightweight, casting rod. The 6'9'' is my favorite for inshore flats fishing.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good rods at a decent price

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa FL
I use mostly light in-shore gear and I tend to be rough on rods. After breaking a couple of the more expensive rods and waiting for replacements, etc. I decided to try the Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve series. The first one I bought was a light action, fast rod that worked great for nine months of weekly fishing until I snagged it on a rock and broke it. Since I had paid the $10 +/- for a warranty, I called the company and I had a check for the same value within a few weeks. Now I own a half dozen (light, Medium, Heavy) of these rods and love them.
Pros: Sensitive, Good Tip Action, Flexible, Accurate Casting, Great value for price, Lightweight
Cons: Breaks Easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Will purchase a second of the same.

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWeatherford, TX
Superior sensitivity. Holds up to the largest of Redfish. Teams well with my Quantum Boca spinning reel. Perfect combination.
Pros: Accurate Casting, Lightweight, Durable, Sensitive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not the best, but worth giving a try.

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Customer avatar
fromca
Just received the 8" rod today. Excellent packaging by dicks too. Overall, the rod rod is not too shabby. I have a 7'11" shimano crucial swimbait rod med hvy 15-30lbtst, 3-5oz(more like 1-3oz) fast action that i'll be comparing this to since the #s are similar. Flats blue power, i would say, is not as heavy as i would rate it, because of the softer "sensitive" tip. I'de rate it med-hvy/hvy. The rod has a nice bend, but not a fast action bend. The bend starts right at the lowest guide...there is actually bend throughout the whole rod, but noticeabley more from the lowest guide on up. I wouldnt call this a fast action rod. Most/ majority of the rods i have experienced w a fast action/ hvy rating have a stiffer backbone n action starts about 2/3 of the way up. Action on this starts at about 1/3 way up. I'de rate this as a med/fst action. Never the less, it is a pretty balanced rod. The finish on my rod is a little sloppy. There are resin residue leading from a couple of guides down as if not wiped or the maker was moving too fast n did not let it cure before working on the next guide. Cpt. Blair says this is his meat stick, and there is a "lifetime wrrnty" on this rod; that was what sealed the deal for me. If it fails, 30 bucks for replacement, i'll give it a try. Wiggns vouches that he puts this rod up againts 100lb tarpon and fish in that catagory. So, i will test his words n see if he/ this rod is as worthy as his testament. I purchased this rod as my striper rod, but i will pit it up againts ca delta sturgeons as well. To be continued.
Pros: Flexible, Durable
Cons: Well see
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>