Customer reviews for Wright & McGill Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Dick's Sporting Goods.

Wright & McGill Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods

With their exclusive S-Curve Technology, Wright & McGill ® brings you the Blair Wiggins Spinning Rods. This series provides enhanced rod strength while maintaining a lightweight feel and sensitivity. Blair Wiggins asked the designers from Wright & McGill ® to provide him with a rod that would not spook fish in clear and skinny water. The result, a "Flats Blue" rod because it is almost invisible when held up against the sky.
Overall rating:
4.017 / 5
4
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
465978%of reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Review 1 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Broke twice

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNorth Carolina
Age:35 - 50
Gender:Male
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The tip broke on the first inshore trip. Dicks replaced it that very day. A few weeks later, the same thing happened. There is a serious flaw in the design. Too much taper toward the end leaves the tip frail and breakable. Very frustrating!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love this rod

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPort Orange, FL
It is the best rod for the money and i have the warranty. I have 4 of them and use in shallow water red fishing from my kayak or flats boat.
Pros: The Blue Grows On You, Flexible, Accurate Casting, Good Tip Action, Durable, Lightweight, Sensitive
Cons: Hard To Transport
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bad to the Bone

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPalm Bay, FL
User submitted photo
I love this rod and the rest of the flats blue lineup. These rods have a very sensitive tip but lots of back bone. You have to be careful with the tips because they will break if you abuse them but when catching fish these rods are strong as steel.
Pros: Flexible, Sensitive, Accurate Casting, Good Tip Action, Durable, Lightweight
Cons: Hard To Transport
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromKeaton Beach, FL
My wife bought the 8ft pole for my birthday. On the second trip out after 3 bull redfish and 3 small sharks, the rod tip broke off fighting a fish. I thought this was surely not the quality of the Mogan Man. Dicks Sporting Goods gladdly sent another pole through the mail. Unfortunately, the new pole arrived broken in almost the same spot. It appears that these poles are not durable.
Pros: Sensitive, Lightweight
Cons: Breaks Easily, Poor Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broke

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Customer avatar
fromHigh Point, NC
My son saved for months to buy this rod. He was so excited. We took it to saltwater in a rod tube with padded ends. When we got to the water, the tip had broken off. We got the warranty, but if it broke so easily once, it'll do it again. I recommend a different product. The balance and feel are outstanding, but rugged it is not. Maybe we paid for advertising and hype instead of quality.
Pros: Sensitive, Good Tip Action, Lightweight, Accurate Casting, Flexible
Cons: Hard To Transport, Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very nice rod

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromJacksonville, Florida
I purchased the 6'9" spinning rod to use for inshore fishing for reds, trout,and flounder. I have not been disapointed. very light with great action. Careful though, the tip is very fragile. I retruned it to Dick's and it was replaced with no problems.
Pros: Easy To Transport, Lightweight, Flexible, Accurate Casting, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

awesome product

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
frommurrells inlet ,sc
I am a fishing guide and own 6 of these rods for personal use and love the sensitivity and feel in my hand
Pros: Good Tip Action, Sensitive, Accurate Casting, Lightweight
Cons: Breaks Easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Whats with that cheap rubber hook keeper

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa Florida
I bought the 8' blair wiggins "aqua rod" and it has done well but the hook keeper has fallen apart from the Florida sun. I contacted W&M and they only told me that the new rods have conventional hook keepers...no replacement rubber ones. I guess I have to go to a rod shop and pay to have a good hook keeper installed.
Pros: Casts very long way
Cons: Poor Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really a great ro for inshore fishing

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromMerritt Island, FL
I've had this rod for about a year now and its never had a problem. It has very good action for when it comes to working lures. I love this rod, probably the best i've had. I have the 7'6(fast and medium action). There is not one thing that is bad about this rod!
Pros: Accurate Casting, Flexible, Good Tip Action, Easy To Transport, Sensitive, Lightweight, Durable
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Worth It

PostedMay 28, 2012
Customer avatar
fromNew Orleans
I purchased this rod and the very first time I used, it broke in half. Thinking it defective,I returned the rod for another one, same kind same brand. The first time I used the replacement rod, it broke in two places on a four pound sail cat.
Pros: Sensitive
Cons: Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Sucks!

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa, fl
I first reviewed this rod after a few times fishing and loved it. But after further review...it sucks! I went fishing and on my first cast it snapped in half!!! I couldnt believe it! Thank god I didnt have a fish on. I will be returning it today thats for sure...and not getting a "flats blue rod"!l Should know better than to get something a host recommends!
Cons: Poor Construction, Breaks Easily
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTarpon Springs,FL.
User submitted photo
i bought this rod thinking it would last. but it didnt. i got home and bent the tip down about 4 inches than CRACK!!!!! it just snapped. i didnt even put any pressure on it. not worth buying. all the eyes are out of place also. the only good thing is the reel holder, the grips, and the cool look it has.
Pros: Looks good
Cons: Hard To Transport, Difficult To Maintain, Breaks Easily, Poor Construction
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I now have 3.

PostedMay 16, 2012
Customer avatar
fromtampa,fl
Nice, lightweight, casting rod. The 6'9'' is my favorite for inshore flats fishing.
Pros: Lightweight, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best rod I've ever bought.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPalm Bay, FL
I got three of these flats blue rods 7'2", 7'6", and the 8' and I am in love with all three. These rods are very sensitive and have the back bone to take down all sizes of fish. I have used these rods for redfish, trout, snook, jack crevalle, tripletail, and even large tarpon. If you try it one time you will be sold.
Pros: Accurate Casting, Sensitive, Easy To Transport, Flexible, Lightweight, Durable, Good Tip Action
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right for the Price!!!

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa Fl
The is the best rod I own. Period. I have Red Bone,Blue Runner,Penn,Ugly Stix and more and hands down The Wright n McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Has the best feel,action, and response of any of them!! Had one to try. Bought three more. If your serious about fishing.This is the rod for you!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good rods at a decent price

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
fromTampa FL
I use mostly light in-shore gear and I tend to be rough on rods. After breaking a couple of the more expensive rods and waiting for replacements, etc. I decided to try the Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve series. The first one I bought was a light action, fast rod that worked great for nine months of weekly fishing until I snagged it on a rock and broke it. Since I had paid the $10 +/- for a warranty, I called the company and I had a check for the same value within a few weeks. Now I own a half dozen (light, Medium, Heavy) of these rods and love them.
Pros: Sensitive, Good Tip Action, Flexible, Accurate Casting, Great value for price, Lightweight
Cons: Breaks Easily
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Rods

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Customer avatar
fromPalm Bay, FL
I recently bought the 8' and 7'2" rod and fell in love with both of them. They are extremely light and very sensitive. I had a 7'2" ugly stick and my friend had the 7'2" flats blue and I noticed his top water lure action moved so much better. I gave his rod a try and that was it I had to have one. The 7'2" flats blue makes lure action so much smoother. As for the 8' I put it up against some nice 20 lb plus jack crevalle in Sebastian inlet and had no problems at all pulling them in. I like to use the 8' with live or dead bait not so much for lures though. I think I might go get the 7'6" this week to ad to my arsenal.
Pros: Accurate Casting, Easy To Transport, Lightweight, Durable, Flexible, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

used the 8' for amberjack!

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
fromtampa bay
went out with friends for some amberjacks and kings yesterday. only had one heavy boat rod...an ugly stick spinning rod. decided to also take my new flats blue rod--8' with the pflueger medalist reel. let me tell you, i was the ONLY one who brought fish in the boat. i caughet several large bonito, 2 amberjacks, and one king on this rod and it was awesome. amazing performance and great backbone. i love this rod!
Pros: Flexible, Durable, Sensitive, Accurate Casting, Lightweight
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!!!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Customer avatar
fromVero Beach, FL
Hi, i am a forteen year old boy who loves to fish. I have owned many rods including g loomis, st croix, good old ugly sticks and many more. Don't let the price fool you! This is the best rod I have ever used! It looks awesome, has a great price, and an ultimate fish catcher. My g loomis 8 foot surf series was a gift from my dad and the flats blue cast farther and more smoothly. I got the 7'9 flats blue and put a 4000 shimano Stradic on it, it is amazing! I live in vero beach, Florida and it is perfect for beach fishing for snook and tarpon and amazing for big trout, snook, redfish, and tarpon on the indian river. I also live in Nantucket, mass during the summer and I plan to bring it with me for stipers and bluefish. I'm going to get some 20 lb fins wind tamer soon and am very exited!
Pros: Good Tip Action, Accurate Casting, Flexible, Sensitive, Lightweight, Durable
Cons: Hard To Transport
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wright & McGill Blair Wiggins S-Curve Spinning Rods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Will purchase a second of the same.

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
fromWeatherford, TX
Superior sensitivity. Holds up to the largest of Redfish. Teams well with my Quantum Boca spinning reel. Perfect combination.
Pros: Accurate Casting, Lightweight, Durable, Sensitive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>